BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

First Choice Debt Relief

Phone: (877) 956-1500 Fax: (888) 207-8666 8880 Rio San Diego Dr #800 PMB 823, San Diego, CA 92108 http://www.firstchoicedebtrelief.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt relief and reduction services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Choice Debt Relief meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Choice Debt Relief include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Choice Debt Relief
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 13, 2012 Business started: 01/31/2008 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/2012 Business incorporated: 01/31/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Salamipour, President/Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Salamipour, President/Operations Manager
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

DEBT RELIEF SERVICES COMPLYING WITH FTC RULE

Alternate Business Names
American Debt Relief Services Inc
Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Foreclosure Rescue Companies

Additional Locations

  • 8880 Rio San Diego Dr #800 PMB 823

    San Diego, CA 92108 (877) 956-1500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am paying $200 in fees every month which was never explained to me when I agreed to the debt settlement offer on my ***** account. When I spoke with them yesterday they told me that the fees are 35% of the debt they saved me. This information is not in the welcome packet they send you and when asked for transcripts of recorded conversations with them they could not give it to me. I cannot afford the service fees anymore and have offered to pay part of their fees monthly now and pay the rest monthly after my account was settled, however they would not accept this offer. They told me that my account would be paid off in February 2013, but I have scheduled payments through August of 2013. This was never explained to me either. I would like to continue the program because they did get settlement offers for me, but with their current fees I can't afford too. I propose that they reduce the $220 service fees I'm paying to $50, and pay off the remainder monthly after February 2013. If this isn't resolved quickly I will not be able to pay my phone bill, mortgage, gas bill, internet bill, sewage and water this month. There have been times when I could only work two days a week due to not having gas money after their payment was taken from my account. It's a vicious cycle and I would like to get it resolved in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: I propose that they reduce the $220 service fees I'm paying to $50, and pay off the remainder monthly after February 2013.

Business Response: Spoke to consumer and she understood that the fee was issued after the account was already negotiated and services complete. Consumer also acknowledged our disclosure of the fee as part of the savings we obtain and provided in the Good Faith Estimate. Provided consumer with requested payment plan to accommodate their budget. Consumer was pleased with the response and is satisfied. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1