BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

USE Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 795-6000 Fax: (858) 795-6007 View Additional Phone Numbers 10120 Pacific Heights Blvd #100, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.usecu.org

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers checking, savings, home loans, credit cards, auto loans, etc.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that USE Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for USE Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on USE Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 28, 1994 Business started: 04/30/1936 in CA Business started locally: 04/30/1936 Business incorporated: 04/30/1936 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Coleman, Branch Manager Ms. Joann Field, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nicole Anderson, VP of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Donald Coleman, Branch Manager
Principal: Ms. Joann Field, Branch Manager
Number of Employees

215

Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
University & State Employees Credit Union Inc
Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 10120 Pacific Heights Blvd #100

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 795-6000

  • 3100 Gilman Dr

    La Jolla, CA 92037 (858) 453-5620

  • 5500 Campanile Dr

    San Diego, CA 92182 (619) 286-0798

  • 8697 La Mesa Blvd

    La Mesa, CA 91941 (866) 873-4968

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 795-6100(Phone)
  • (619) 589-6978 (Fax)
  • (858) 795-6085 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* *******, Sr Mortgage Specialist, mislead me and false advertised me into agreeing to a refinance on my house without doing his due diligence to make sure the refinance would be possible on his side. He basically led me into false sense of security that told me that I would be able to refinance my house and to go ahead and close all my credit cards and schedule an appraisal on my house. He did not do a background check, that should be basic practice of all mortgage brokers to make sure there will be no issues on my house before telling me to go ahead and close all my credit cards and order an appraisal on my house. Shortly after he told me to go ahead and do all these things, he disclosed to me the hidden lean on my house that blocked me from being able to refinance. I believe if he would have taken the time to look at the records on my house, he would have been able to see this lean and prevent me from closing my credit cards and scheduling the appraisal on my house. I am now stuck with all my credit cards being closed, ruining my credit score, and also out a $500.00 appraisal that I cannot use. He has basically put me in a really bad situation that might force me to have to take drastic measures such as bankruptcy or foreclosure.

Desired Settlement: Because he gave me a sense of false security, I think the $500 fee should be either forgiven or reduced.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding information regarding the above referenced complaint. 

We’ve since been in direct contact with our member, and as of September 9th, we believe we’ve 
provided a solution that not only fulfilled our member’s original settlement request, but exceeded 
their service expectation. 

Again, thank you for forwarding this valuable information. We never stop trying to improve.

Sincerely, 

****** ********
VP, Marketing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They contacted me offering a possible solution with an FHA loan instead of a conventional loan. On September 9th, ******* ******* said someone would contact me regarding the loan but I have not heard from anyone nor am I sure if the loan will be approved or not.   I really don't know much details except for the estimate that was given to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: Dear BBB Representative, 

As of September 19th, our member has been notified of the current status of his loan request; 
and as originally requested by our member, no fees in relation to the loan request were 
charged. 
 
Again, thank you for forwarding this valuable information. 

Sincerely, 

****** ******** 
VP, Marketing and Retail Delivery

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I have had an account with USE Credit Union for approximately 2 1/2 years and only utilize the La Mesa branch. I received the most recent monthly statement (July 2014) on August 7th, 2014, and while reviewing it, noticed that $210.00 had been debited out of our account on July 9th. The coding for the debit was an electronic fund transfer for "loan servicing loan payment ******". We have never had a loan through USE, never used a debit card with this account and generally have little financial business with USE. We keep minimal amounts of money in the account and use another, out of state credit union for our primary bank. I went down in person to the credit union to sort out the issue and was very disappointed that the representative could give me no information about how this had occurred. I believe this unauthorized debit out of our account is theft and the fact that we did not authorize it and were not made aware of it by the credit union is appalling. I demanded that the funds be returned to our account and was asked to sign paperwork that would go to the fraud division for further investigation. My husband came down later in the day and spoke to the branch manager who could provide little information regarding who or why the money was transferred out of our account. He speculated that the account numbers were somehow transposed or confused. If this was the case, why wasn't this error caught and corrected immediately? It only came to light when I went down to the credit union to complain. My husband called the fraud unit for assistance and was told that it was a "3rd party vendor that handles transactions for multiple companies" and would call us back with more information. We are still waiting for additional information or resolution of this issue. I sent a written complaint to USE Customer Service and have not received a response within the timeframe they have.

Desired Settlement: We have transferred most of our money out of the USE credit union, as we do not believe they have the fiscal controls in place to prevent something like this happening again. We would like a 12 month audit of our accounts to make sure this had not happened before and we do not want to pay for it. Finally, we would like USE to understand that the theft of money from a customer's account is not so very different from a bank robber coming into the branch and walking out with money. This is theft, this is a crime and there needs to be accountability. Also, it would be nice to receive some kind of apology or acknowledgement that USE takes this kind of theft seriously.

Business Response: The following email was sent directly to our member on Wednesday, August 20th:

 
Dear Ms. ******,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you have experienced upon discovering that an unauthorized transaction posted to your account.  I also regret that you did not feel that the employees you have interacted with gave detailed explanations or understood your alarm at the situation.  Our own knowledge of back office processes and interactions between institutions, and our recognition that this was human error rather than fraud, was not sufficiently communicated to you. I wish to address those issues and answer each of your questions, below.

There are times when a key entry made by an individual member or another financial institution can result in an error that is not filtered out.  In this case, that unintentional key error resulted in an unrelated member presenting an automated transaction request with a number that happened to match your share draft number. Rather than being rejected as “account not found” or “invalid account” and causing a review, this item did not reject.  Based on sheer volume, no financial institutions would have the ability to manually review every transaction presented; all protocols and policies were followed by the originating institution and by USE as the transaction recipient. 

Ms. ******, the very industry processes that keep transactions moving smoothly through the system can sometime include flaws that allow errors to occur.  The same possibility of error exists with all transaction channels including checks, electronic transactions, ATM or credit card transactions.  Fortunately, the frequency of such errors is very low compared to the many millions of electronic transactions that are successfully processed each day.  Additionally, consumer protection laws and regulations outline the circumstances in which you may notify us of any errors, and your account will be promptly reimbursed. We encourage all members to regularly review their statements online or on paper and to immediately report any unrecognized transactions, just as you have done.

USE Credit Union takes attempts at fraud or theft very seriously, and works with local law enforcement, merchants, banks and other entities to investigate and pursue whenever possible.  For security purposes, there are other policies in place which are confidential and specifics cannot be shared.  Safeguarding our members’ information is a high priority to us, and when a notification is received we quickly move to differentiate between processing errors and attempts at fraud or theft. 

In this case, the institution that originated the transaction for the member is a payment center known as California Republic Bank and they process payments for many other financial institutions. While they will not give out any information about their customer who entered the incorrect information, I did speak directly to their representative ******** about your concerns and confirmed they also understand this to be a human error. You may reach them yourself at 714-277-1603. USE reimbursed your account from our own funds, and then submitted a request for adjustment to California Republic Bank for reimbursement, indicating that we had your signed statement that the transaction was not authorized by you. That is the standard process for ACH transaction errors. 

We value your relationship with USE and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our members deserve the very best.  My goal is to meet your expectation of understanding how this could occur, and let you know we appreciate your taking the time to provide us feedback on how we can improve our communication with you in the future.

If you have any further questions or comments regarding the matter, please do not hesitate to contact me directly by phone at 858-795-6192, or by email at *******@usecu.org.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Central Operations Manager

USE Credit Union

858-795-6192

Fax 858-795-6017

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

While we did not receive an offer to have an audit of our account with USE, we are willing to drop our complaint. We appreciate your help with this-I honestly do not believe we would have received such a timely and thorough response to our concerns without your intervention.  I would appreciate having this complaint and related materials available to others on your web site.  This is my response to the letter received from Ms ******:

Thank you for your detailed response to our questions and concerns.  We also appreciate your apology and your apparent understanding of our frustration and concern regarding the unauthorized transaction in our account.  There are two points, however, that we believe should be addressed:

1.  Why should it take the intervention of a high level executive, such as yourself, to successfully explain to a customer what went wrong?  Because we were given no information and mis-information from a variety of USE employees, our confidence in USE dropped to zero.  It appears that your branch employees and those reached by phone in your central office could do with some training in both technical areas and in customer relations.  It is never wise to ignore an upset customer or to neglect to return a phone call.

2.  Your explanation does not give us any confidence that a ‘key entry mistake’ would not occur again, nor that it would be detected by your systems.  A key entry mistake of $210.00 is significant, but what if the amount had been $2,100? I strongly believe that consumers should monitor their own financial transactions but I also believe that those financial institutions trusted with our business should be using the highest level of security systems available. 

Again, thank you for taking the time to address our concerns. 

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continually over the past two years, USE Credit Union has put hold on my debit card and/or cancelled my debit card without contacting me first (even though they have my phone number on file). This has resulted in my card being unexpectedly denied when trying to use it or being captured and destroyed at ATMs without prior notice from USE, which has resulted in my inability on several occasions to access money from my account and has left me stranded at times since the only recourse it to go physically to a shared branch to withdraw money, which have limited hours, so I have often been about to pay for services or need access to money and have had no way to access my funds. Even after several complaints by me that USE places holds or cancels debit cards without prior notification to the customer, USE continues this practice. This most recently happened to me on 3/18/14, when I attempted to use my debit card to complete a purchase and my debit card was declined. I spoke with a customer service representative who could not help me or release the hold on my card. The customer service representative assured me that the problem would be resolved the morning of 3/19/14 and when I went to go use the same debit card the afternoon of 3/19/14 it was captured by the ATM and not returned. I was also told that a manager would be contacting me the morning of 3/19/14, which never happened. I have since went to a shared branch location, withdrawn all of my funds, and I am in the process of canceling my account with USE. I have been a customer with USE since 2001 and find their handling of important customer issues, like placing holds on or canceling debit cards without notifying their customers and therefore unexpectedly denying them access to their money, is absolutely appalling and places their customers in very difficult circumstances and situations (especially when their is not immediate access to a branch location). Also, the inability of managers to follow through with these issues or to apologize for such negligence absolutely makes the situation worse. I cannot believe an institution that is responsible for the personal finances of individuals would conduct business in such a manner.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the BBB to have on record the appalling business practices of this institution.

Business Response:

Dear BBB Representative, 
 
Thank you for forwarding information regarding the above referenced complaint. Please share 
the following response with Ms. ********. 
 
Dear Ms. *******, 
 
Thank you for sharing your recent feedback via the Better Business Bureau. 
 
First, we’d like to apologize for the unfortunate series of events that led to service interruptions 
related to your debit card. Please know that these interruptions were not due to service failures 
on our part but rather attempts by our Card Services Department to ensure your account was 
protected from potential fraud. As you know, we tried on many occasions to reach you regarding 
potentially fraudulent transactions, but were unsuccessful. Our only recourse when this 
happens is to block your card to protect both you and the credit union. 
 
Further complicating matters was a recent data security breach at a large national retailer. Your 
debit card was identified by our card processor as potentially part of the breach, causing us to 
notify you of the breach and send you a replacement card. We regret this action caused yet 
another interruption in accessing your account. 
 
Thousands of members every day count on us to be their trusted financial partner – so we’re 
truly sorry the interruptions in service – while not under our control – caused you to lose faith in 
your credit union. 
 
Again, thank you for sharing your valued comments. Your voice matters. We’re listening and we 
care. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
****** ******** 
VP, Marketing and Retail Delivery

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to state, for the record, that USE Credit Union did NOT contact me by phone prior to interrupting my service and canceling my debit card as stated in the resolution letter. Therefore, while they state it is "no fault of their own" for the interruption of services, which I find unprofessional (their inability to take responsibility for their failures of service), I still contend that not notifying a customer when you suspect a fraudulent purchase and not notifying a customer prior to canceling their debit card is bad business practice and irresponsible while also putting customers in compromised situations. I would love to see a record of when they tried to contact me prior to each time they canceled my debit card to check against my own phone records if they continue to make such claims. 

Regards,

********* ********



Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********, 

Thank you for following up in regards to our response. It’s disappointing when you do not 
get the resolution you were expecting. We are committed to offering you a resolution that 
meets your needs. To ensure your privacy, we would like to speak to you directly so that 
we may share detailed information in regards to this particular situation. 

Please call *** *****, VP Card Services, at your earliest convenience. He can be reached at 
858-795-6117 
 
Sincerely, 
  
****** ******** 
VP, Marketing and Retail Delivery

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a loan with USE CU in July 2007 for a Prius that I purchased from a dealership. The original loan amount was for $28,892.99. With 72 scheduled payments (at $478.56 per payment), the total I was to have paid them at the conclusion of the loan is $34,456.32. Therefore, as of this month, they have collected $5,563.33 in interest charges from me over the course of six year.. The July 2013 payment is my last scheduled payment. Because I pay just a bit more per month with each payment ($48)), I phoned in a week or so ago to find out my exact payoff amount for this month Druing that phone call, I was informed that I owe another @$120.00 in "late fees" from 2008 and 2009, plus interest charges. As it has been over five years, I cannto say that I recall ever receiving any notice of those supposed late fees. However, I certainly would not have allowed them to accumulate interest charges over the course of a five-year time span had I known that they existed. Addtiionally, had I not phoned in to inquire about the final payment I would not have any knowledge of the fact that USE CU was even claiming to be "owed" the @$120 for these fees as no one from the organization has ever made it a point to contact me. In the six years I have had this loan, I have made every scheduled payment. USE CU has made almost $5600 in interest charges off of this loan - a net gain to them of more than 19% of the original loan amount. I have been a stellar customer, earning them money on a loan that never had to be collected on or reduced in any way. After learning of the balance on the account, I asked that they remove these suppposed "late fees" so that the car will show that it is paid off in full, and so that I can obtain title to the vehicle. However, their loan department turned down my request stating that my "history" affected their decision. As my "history" with USE CU has been nothing but lucrative and beneficial to their organization, I can only surmise that the reason they are attempting to extort money from me for "fees" is because they no longer wish to have me as a client due to the fact that I have had a recent foreclosure on my home, making their decision highly suspect. I did not borrow any money from USE CU that has not been paid back in full; these are fees that they are now claiming I owe.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that in good faith, and as a testament to the fact that the credit union has already received almost $5,600 from me in interest, that they waive the $120+ in whatever fees they have tacked on, and report to the credit agencies that the loan has been paid in full. Additionally, I would request that title to the Prius be sent to me forthwith as they have now been paid the final installment on the 72-month loan - of which the July 2013 payment was the last.

Business Response: Good Morning Ms. *****, 

We received the BBB complaint and were able to contact the member concerning a resolution.  USE did explain to the member that she was late for the following payments;  July 2008, September 2008, December 2008, and January 2009.   She also had her January 2013 payment come back as an NSF.  We explained that each late charge was $23.99 and the remaining $24.41 was interest accrued on late payments, not the actual late charges themselves.  We agreed to waive $60.00 of the remaining balance of the account.  She agreed to pay the other $60.00 to pay off the loan.  As of  August 12, 2013, the account is paid in full and closed.

If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

*****

***** *****
AVP, Financial Solutions Department
******@usecu.org

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2006 brand new truck, my first time, left the dealership witha contract at 3.90% and 3 days later the dealership theatened to take my truck away unless i came down and signed a new contract at 8.60%. Not realizing i had been tricked for another $6,000.00. So i sucked it up because i needed the truck for work and started paying my payments and have been making payments for over 6 years. I have put 2 payments at the end of the loan due to tough times and have been late on payments, buy I have been paying consistently. My contract was soppose to end October 2012. But due to very tough times i have been 60 days behind almost all year. Well now it is January 2013 and i have paid 60 past the end of the contract andI am being harrased and threatened to rrpo my truck after all this time of paying. They say I owe another 4000 or so and wont send me any explanation of so called intrest and late fees that they say I owe. I have requested a written explanation in october and have never receivedanything except rude pay now or repo phone calls. I have paid over 55,000 for a 42,000.00 truck. I dont feel like i should get threatening phone calls at the end of my loan. And i really feel like I have paid more than enough and my loan should be done. The letters were saying 60 days behind and I have paid 60 days over the end of my loan.

Desired Settlement: I feel like I have been taken advantage of since the beginning, when they tricked me into signing a new contract. I would like them to honor that original contract or at best call this loan done and send me my pink slip. I feel like they are not trying to help me but only trying to get this truck back from me after I have worked so hard to pay for 6 years right at the end.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau of San Diego:

USE Credit Union is happy to respond to a consumer complaint (ID *******).   Our member's loan was to have been paid in full, contractually, in October 2012 and unfortunately, our borrower did not meet the scheduled contract terms.  USE Credit Union's Financial Solutions Department reviewed the members unique situation and determined that a refinance option would significantly reduce their current monthly payment( from $750 to $220/month).  In discussion with our member, they understood the reasoning behind the outstanding loan balance and were very appreciative of the solution to lower their monthly payment.

Sincerely,

****** ********

Vice President of Marketing

USE Credit Union 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues