BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers credit union services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Diego County Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Diego County Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Diego County Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 24, 1995 Business started: 01/07/1938 in CA Business incorporated: 01/07/1938 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Teresa Halleck, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Teresa Halleck, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Jaci Williams, Administrative Assistant
Number of Employees

700

Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
SD County Credit Union SDCCU
Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 13179 Black Mountain Rd #3

    San Diego, CA 92129

  • 1004 Rosecrans St

    San Diego, CA 92106

  • 10715 Sorrento Valley Rd

    San Diego, CA 92121

  • 11965 Bernardo Plaza Dr #169

    San Diego, CA 92128

  • 12330 Carmel Mountain Rd #C1

    San Diego, CA 92128

  • 12980 Carmel Country Rd #C-100

    San Diego, CA 92130

  • 14099 Stowe Dr

    Poway, CA 92064

  • 1475 W Vista Wy

    Vista, CA 92083

  • 150 E Valley Pkwy

    Escondido, CA 92025

  • 1650A Garnet Ave

    San Diego, CA 92109

  • 1875 Center City Pkwy #F

    Escondido, CA 92025

  • 2036 Dairy Mart Rd #130

    San Ysidro, CA 92173

  • 2245 Fenton Pkwy #107

    San Diego, CA 92108

  • 2280 Otay Lakes Rd

    Chula Vista, CA 91915

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25165 Madison Ave

    Murrieta, CA 92562

  • 2530 El Camino Real

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    29097 Overland Dr

    Temecula, CA 92591

  • 303-1 H St

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • 312 W Main St

    El Cajon, CA 92020

  • 31693 Temecula Pkwy

    Temecula, CA 92592

  • 3180 University Ave #100

    San Diego, CA 92104

  • 32341 Golden Lantern #A

    Laguna Niguel, CA 92677

  • 32341 Golden Lantern #A

    Laguna Niguel, CA 92677

  • 3366 N Torrey Pines Ct #100

    La Jolla, CA 92037

  • 3455 Sports Arena Blvd #120

    San Diego, CA 92110

  • 501 N El Camino Real

    Encinitas, CA 92024

  • 5500 Overland Ave #190

    San Diego, CA 92123

  • 5555 Mildred St

    San Diego, CA 92110 (858) 453-2112

  • 625 College Blvd

    Oceanside, CA 92057

  • 6545 Sequence Dr

    San Diego, CA 92121 (877) 732-2848

  • 665 San Rodolofo Dr #110

    Solana Beach, CA 92075

  • 6705 Mira Mesa Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92121

  • 7708 Regents Rd

    San Diego, CA 92122

  • 790 W San Marcos Blvd

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • 8555 Fletcher Pkwy #101

    La Mesa, CA 91942

  • 286 Town Center Pkwy

    Santee, CA 92071

  • 31693 Temecula Pkwy

    Temecula, CA 92592

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had lots of resources with the entity and they send 1099 DIV to submit with my Taxes 2014/2013.

Desired Settlement: Copy of Form 1099-DIV for Tax purposes ASAP! Or plan to call IRS by Tuesday and turn them in. Thanks.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding your request for 

a 1099-DIV for tax purposes. 
 
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today regarding your request for a 1099-
DIV form for your account. As we discussed, the total interest you earned in 2013 of $6.31 
was below the IRS minimum requirement for filing a 1099-INT on your account. You may 
reference the IRS website for further details at http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1099int.pdf. 
 
We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing San Diego County Credit Union to 
meet your financial needs. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact 
me directly at (877) 732-2848 extension ****. 
 
 
Sincerely, 

**** **********
Senior Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The business has performed the action and, and consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SDCCU: Performed a Breach of Contract in May of 2013 by failing to pay guarantee funds issued to Sports Authority in the form of a cashiers check. A draft was issued by SDCCU for the requested amount and promised to official agent of Sports Authority. The unclaimed property was requested in the form of a Financial Asset Recovery contract. And the notice was posted on the state of CA unclaimed property website listed as Sports Authority. And SDCCU,reissued the guarantee funds to Sports Authority before 5-31-2013,expiration date expired. SDCCU,reissued the property to the posted owner listed on the state of CA unclaimed property website. SDCCU, reissued and posted a new check payable to Sport Authority and added a none associated name ***** ****** to the new reissued draft. The none associated third party name ***** ****** was not included in the original notice posted on the states of CA website or Sports Authority financial asset recovery request. Sports Authority agent investigated the third party posting and contacted SDCCU financial officers to make them aware their where no agents listed with Sports Authority by the name of ***** Farmer. And the draft was a legal transaction Mrs **** a financial officer of SDCCU gave assurances again that SDCCU, would reissue the draft and Sports Authority would have a new draft sent the next day. After several request and a unpaid draft in Sports Authority accounting department. Sports Authority has been damaged for lack of payment and accused of fraud. Based on the supporting documents and notices from the state of CA website and the actual post mark draft in the recovery proposal department of Sports Authority a case and claim of action is required. Again Sports Authority requested payment in full and was issued a draft to its mailing address for processing before the property in question was to be turned over to the state of CA unclaimed property division and we where not paid. The damages will exceed $10,000.00 in business lost by court dates in 2014

Desired Settlement: Sports Authority, would like a replacement check in the original amount ASAP Next Day Air Attention Agent. ******* ** ***** **** **** *** *********** ** ***** Cashiers Check anything less than FedEx next day air Sports Authority will see San Diego County Credit Union in Superior Court in the first quarter of 2014

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached response for claim #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

Dear Better Business Bureau:
This letter is written in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint received by San
Diego County Credit Union (SDCCU) regarding Mr. ******* *****' claim for "Breach
of Contract." SDCCU denies such breach. It is our understanding that Mr. *******
***** claims to be an official agent of Sports Authority. Upon investigation, Sports
Authority notified SDCCU that Mr. ******* ***** is not an employee of Sports
Authority nor does he represent the company in any capacity. As such, Mr. *******
*****' claims should be presented directly to Sports Authority.
Should you have further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at
###-###-#### Ext. ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into my bank after I had received a check for a job I was starting. My instructions were to cash this check and send the rest via wire to the other person helping me with this advertisement job. I asked if they can cash this today because usually there is a waiting period when I deposit a check via atm. He said no problem cashed the check and I was on my way. Four days later the check was returned and depleted my account $2950. I was in shock and after several attempts to contact the person who issued the check I realiz we were scammed and realized as well that my husband's direct deposit work check had gone in leaving the balance only -$1200, but left our family of 5 with literally nothing. I had received another check that same morning from the same person. Of course, I received a letter from sdccu telling me they were going to report us like we had tried to commit fraud against them. I went to the La Mesa Police Department. After hearing what had happened, he inspected the check I had received. He said "I know you feel stupid when something like this happens, but your bank had no business cashing this check, I can tell this is a fraudulent check and any teller would be able to as well. Banks are supposed to protect your money as well as theirs!" He also told me to file a report with the online scam/fraud website which I did. My husband and I went to speak to the manager of the La Mesa branch and explained the scam that had occurred and asked why the teller would have cashed a bad check? Basically she said the responsibility was all on us. Their job is just to be an institution and do as we asked whether it was a bad check or not. She just wanted more money and offered no help to us. After having to plead with creditors to extend bills, paying extensive fines auto draft bills that were returned, and sort of catching up, they have filed us under chex systems which will close our account in our new bank. I feel like I'm the criminal here and they take no responsibility at all and are trying to ruin our credit further.

Desired Settlement: I want the report taken off the Chex systems, and as much as I think I should get back our paycheck, I just want them to close our account with no negative affect. They did receive 2/3 of the amount.

Business Response:

BBB of San Diego 
5050 Murphy Canyon, Suite 110 
San Diego, CA 92123 
 
 
Re: Complaint ID ******* 
 ******** ****** 
 
 
To Whom It May Concern: 
 
We received the above referenced complaint regarding Mrs. ******’s account with San Diego 
County Credit Union. 
 
A review of the facts has shown that our customer deposited a check into her account which was 
subsequently returned unpaid, causing the account to be overdrawn and a number of overdraft 
fees to be assessed. 
 
We have been in contact with the joint account holder, ******* ******. In an effort to come to 
an agreeable resolution, as a courtesy, we have refunded the overdraft fees associated with this 
returned check, for a total of $425.00. In addition, Mr. ****** took care of the remaining 
balance. ChexSystems is being notified that the outstanding balance has been satisfied. 
 
Should you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at 
(877) 732-2848 x 6563. 
 
Sincerely,  
 
****** ******** 
Senior Vice President 
Regional Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a $27 overdraft fee on my checking account when it was never actually overdrawn. The banks own website shows the details of my account in which by balance remains positive, yet the fee was assessed anyway. I called to complain and they refused to reverse the charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $27 fee AND a written letter of apology for having to waste an hour of my time dealing with something that should never have been an issue.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached response for consumer complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

August 19,2013

**** ******* *******
***** ******* ** ******* ** *****

Re: ACH Courtesy Fee

Dear Mr. *******:

We are in receipt of your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding an ACH
Courtesy fee assessed to your account.

A review of our records notes that on August 14, 2013, when an AMEX EPayment
transaction you authorized was presented for payment, your available balance was
insufficient to cover the amount of that payment. As a courtesy, the AMEX
EPayment was paid and a $27 ACH Courtesy fee was assessed. On August 15,
2013, this fee was waived as a courtesy to you.

As has been explained to you previously, outstanding authorized Visa Check Card
transactions affect the available balance in your account. You need to be aware of
these outstanding items when determining the availability of funds for other
subsequent transactions.

Should you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to
contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Senior Vice President
Regional Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did a SDCCU shared secured loan program on automatic transfer to help build credit. They said and still say when you call if in the event your account is closed, the remaining balance would be refunded. Not only did they not automatically transfer the payments, and return them to my savings like they said, they transferred payments late to pay the loan only which made me have late fees when it was their responsibility to automatically transfer the payments! I have contacted nearly every person in the organization and they all give me the run around and say those funds do not belong to me now but when you call up the loan department and have them explain it like you are new, they promise you in the event that your account is closed for some reason, you get the remainder back. In my opinion it appears they completely contradict what they say within the organization from one department to the next. I have been trying to deal with them directly for 2 years regarding this issue. I've been hung up on many times. I had to fight to even get the transaction records. I am filing this complaint in hopes of resolving this issue.

Desired Settlement: I want my original shared secured loan returned as promised, my $50 account deposit refunded, refunded late fees I was charged for them not transferring the payments on the secured loan automatically like they promised, and I would like additional compensation for damaging my credit rating as well.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached response for consumer complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

July 31, 2013

**** *****
**** ******* *****
Escondido, CA 92026
Re: Better Business Bureau complaint

Dear Mr. *****,

We are in receipt of your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding the pay-off of
your Share Secured Loan.

On May 10, 2011 you opened a share secured loan with San Diego County Credit
Union in the amount of $1,000.00. At that time we secured or “held” the equivalent
amount in your account and deposited the loan proceeds of $1000.00 to your savings
account. As per your contract, your payments were due on the 12th of each month.
However you never made a payment to your loan despite numerous attempts to
contact you. We attempted to notify you of your delinquent status on the following
dates:

6-23-11 Letter sent
6-30-11 Statement sent
7-3-11 Letter sent
8-17-11 Left message
8-17-11 Left message
8-23-11 Letter sent
9-2-11 Letter sent
9-19-11 Left message
9-19-11 Left message
9-23-11 Letter sent
9-30-11 Statement sent
10-3-11 Letter sent
10-23-11 Letter sent
11-2-11 Letter sent
12-19-11 Left message
12-19-11 Left message
12-23-11 Letter sent
12-31-11 Statement sent
1-2-12 Letter sent
1-14-12 Final demand for payment

Due to your failure to make payments when due, your loan was in default. All
payments that were made to the loan were withdrawn from your savings account by
our Collections Department to protect our security interest and were reflected on
your quarterly statements. When these payments were made, held funds equivalent
to the principal payment amount were made available to you in your savings
account, which you subsequently withdrew between July 14, 2011 and February 3,
2012.

Due to your lack of payments and failure to contact us, as per the contract that you
signed on May 10, 2011, we exercised our right against the collateral in your savings
account and withdrew the final balance due of $865.03 on February 3, 2012. As a
result, there was no remaining balance to be refunded as requested in your letter.
If you have questions regarding this information, or I can be of further assistance, please
contact me at (877) 732-2848 x ****.

Sincerely,

**** **********
Senior Vice President
cc: Better Business Bureau

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My SECRET clearance was flagged because SDCCU refuses to plug in an ******* code to remove an old auto loan from a dispute status. The account was paid several years ago and I was confused as to why the account showed "SUBJ DISPUTES/INVESTIGATING CLOSED OR PAID ACCOUNT - ZERO BALANCE" on my credit report? I called into SDCCU this morning and spoke to customer service who told me I would have to pay a fee to have the dispute status removed from my account which I thought was unethical. I then asked for a supervisor and I explained to the branch manager that my situation was very URGENT and I needed the dispute removed immediately. She told me I had to go into a branch to speak with a branch manager who would be able to solve my issue. After I got off of work; I picked up my three children and drove all the way down to **** ****** ******* ***** *** *** ***** ** *****. I was exhausted and asked for the branch manager only to get a receptionist, ***** *******. After explaining to ***** my URGENT issue and telling her I needed the dispute status changed to a resolved status or removed from my credit report immediately, ***** gave me a "Credit Report Dispute Form" and told me it would take up to 90 days to get an answer back. I have been a member for some time and I wasted time, gas and my URGENT issue was still not taken care of.

Desired Settlement: Before, I send a email complaint to the POCs at the FTC, NCUA and other federal regulators for timely assistance. I would like SDCCU to remove the "disputed status" from all three of my credit reports within 24 to 48 hours.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached copy of the letter sent to Ms. ***** in reference to complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

July 9, 2013

******* *. *****

 

**** ***** ***** *** ****** ** *****

 

Dear ******* *****:

I am in receipt of a complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau of San Diego regarding an

alleged credit reporting item for an auto loan.

I apologize for the incorrect information previously given to you by one of our representatives with

regard to a research fee when filing a direct credit dispute with the credit union, and the length of

time required for processing the dispute. There is no fee associated with this service, and the

credit union has 30 days from the date of receipt of the dispute to review and provide a response.

Your complaint states the account shows "SUBJ DISPUTES/INVESTIGATING CLOSED OR PAID

ACCOUNT - ZERO BALANCE" on your credit report. In reviewing an Experian credit report as of July

9, 2013, SDCCU's trade line on this credit report for the auto loan shows as "PAID" with no other

comments. The trade line does not show any type of dispute or investigation.

We attempted to contact you at our phone number of record on July 3 and July 9, but you did not

answer or provide a return call. We were contacting you to see if you could provide more

information or a copy of a credit report showing the alleged comments.

The Fair Credit Reporting Act allows consumers to get one free copy of their credit report from

each of the three national credit reporting agencies (Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion) once every

12 months through a central source. To request your credit report, visit

www.annualcreditreport.com, or call ###-###-####.

To further discuss this item and provide additional information, please contact me directly at

***** ********

. Thank you for your response.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Vice President, Collections

CC: Better Business Bureau of San Diego

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 22nd, 2013 I received a letter from the San Diego County Credit Union Insurance Company dated May 16th, 2013, informing me that my vehicle insurance has expired and that I should visit the www.imcovered/sdccu website to enter my insurance information, which I did.After entering the insurance information, which was renewed on April 1st, 2013 and now expires on April 15th, 2014, I noticed that the right side of the webpage listed 3 communications sent on May 9th, May 23rd, and June 6th. Realizing this is the first notice I received from the company I was intrigued about what the additional un-received communications were about so I clicked on the latest, being June 6th, 2013, and to my horror read that a letter dated June 13th, 2013 was sent informing me that since I never provided proof of my insurance and that a subsequent Payment Increase for the purchase of comprehensive and collision coverage was being added to my loan with SDCCU.I have always maintained uninterrupted insurance coverage with the same insurance company for the past 10 years and SDCCU is listed as the LOSS PAYEE for the collateral vehicle on the coverage. In addition to this, I provided SDCCU with proof of this insurance and I was not told that this would be an annual requirement. We have never had to do this with American Honda or any other loans we have had in the past, so this is quite surprising that SDCCU requires its members to provide proof of insurance annually. Also, if the insurance had expired, the insurance company is obligated to notify SDCCU of the lapse in payments or cancellation of coverage, which they never did because the insurance was renewed.

Desired Settlement: I am refusing to suffer a financial loss for SDCCU's clerical error and omissions; I have met my obligations under the terms of the loan. Also, the requirement to provide proof of insurance on an annual basis was never communicated to me at the inception of this loan.I would like SDCCU Insurance Company to acknowledge that I did meet my obligations and to cancel any insurance coverage they opted to select, and refund any premiums added to my loan including the reversal of interest.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached response for compliant #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

June 25, 2013
Mr. ******* *******
***** ***** ******** ******** **** *** ****** ** *****
Dear Mr. *******:
I am in receipt of your letter dated June 22, 2013, and a notice from the Better Business Bureau of
San Diego regarding a notification you received concerning your auto insurance. Please be assured
that SDCCU has not added any collateral protection insurance (CPI) to your loan, as your insurance
policy renewal information was received.
Upon review of your loan file, the insurance documentation initially provided for your auto loan
showed an expiration date of April 15, 2013. SDCCU did not receive a renewal notice from your
insurance company, so “reminder letters” were sent. SDCCU did not receive any verification of
your insurance renewal until you entered the information into our site,
www.imcovered.com/sdccu. Once SDCCU had the insurance renewal information, the process of
adding insurance was stopped.
I understand you found the letters related to this matter to be upsetting, and I apologize for any
inconvenience. If you have additional questions, you may contact me directly at ###-###-####,
extension ****.
Sincerely,
*** *****
Vice President
CC: Better Business Bureau of San Diego

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

The business has informed that that this action has been taken and I now consider this complaint resolved.

I would like to add that their methods of notification could use improvement. I was never contacted via. phone/email/online banking account about this matter.

If they had contacted me using an alternate medium (phone/email/online banking), I would have quickly resolved the matter and we would have also identified that the apartment number was not included in their postal correspondence, hence the delay in my receiving their correspondence.

I would like this suggestion to be passed onto the business in the hopes that they are able to imporove their customer service in cases similar to mine.

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had two refinances fron San Diego County Credit Union and experienced a low quality and abusive service from this organization. The ccomplaints are:1. I asked them to lock the rate on Feb. 12, 2013 and **** ****** (SDCCU agent) did not fix the rate and on Feb. 19, 4:30pm **** called me home and asked me whether I wanted to lock the interest rate. The next day(Feb. 20) SDCCU raised the rate. If I had missed the phone call, I could have a increased interested rate. During the week of Feb. 12, **** asked me to submit the surporting documents for loan.2. I asked for a change to a new representative, and ********* *** was assigned. She sent me an eMail on March 15(Friday) afternoon, and asked me to prepare a closing cost (~$3,000) in a cashier's check of my out-of-town bank (TN) or SDCCU check instead of ***** ***** Bank issued cashier's check, and close it by the weekend, or I may lose my interest lock and pay higher interest rate. I complied and paid with SDCCU deposit.3. ********* *** asked me to order a condo survey from another service organization through a website. I tried but could not order the condo survey because it is so complicate. I asked an help from the condo billing/management people, and after two hours plus effort, I order the condo survey. Later, the survey reporting website person called me by phone and said, I had ordered two surveys, and asked me which one I wanted. I wsa not sure, and I asked the service person whether the request is by loan applicator or financial institution. She said mostly by financial institution. I called ********* *** and told her that the condo survey request was done by SDCCU, but she insisted on me to order, and I had to pay extra $185 for the cost to complete the refinance.4. Reuquested numerous documents some multiple times. The final HUD statements were changed five times, yet the one we signed was not final, and they sent me another one after signed all documents as the final HUD. Also, asked us to sign on 10 page document

Desired Settlement: Official apology from the head of the organization and appropriate compensation for the trauma and abuses I went through, and time and energy spent for the completion of the refiance loans. I have copies of all emails and other documents to support my claim.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached response to complaint #*******.

Have a nice day,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

******** ******** *** ** ** ***** ****** *** ****** ** *****
Dear Mr. ***;
We have received a copy of your Better Business Bureau complaint. Your frustration
with the processing of your loans was evident in your letter. Please accept my apology
for the lack of satisfaction that you had with the experience. San Diego County Credit
Union (SDCCU) funded two loans for you and we will address them separately.
You applied for the ****** *** loan on February 9, 2013. Our Loan Notes indicate that
you were hoping to take advantage of the rate float down option on your loan asked that
your interest rate be locked the next week. Representative **** ***** waited an
additional week before locking the rates hoping for a decline that would allow you to take
advantage of the rate float down. Again, I apologize for the delay in locking the rate.
However, your rate did not increase. The 4.125% rate quoted you was disclosed to you
and locked. The actual rate on your loan was lower than the one we quoted because the
appraisal on the property came in a little higher than your estimate and allowed us to
offer a .25% point, or $725 rebate that was credited to your closing costs.
On March 12, 2013 you talked with your Condo Homeowner's Association and asked
Representative ********* *** to join the call. We are sorry that you were unable to
obtain the required condo survey from the Association. Our notes reflect that you asked
********* to obtain the survey on your behalf and add the cost to your loan fees.
Although SDCCU generally does not provide this service, we accommodated you in
order to facilitate the closing.
Finally, you were provided several "Estimated" not "Final" HUD statements to comply
with the Mortgage Disclosure Improvement Act (MDIA). MDIA requires us SDCCU to
re-disclose your costs for most changes. Changes in your costs occurred due to the $725
rebate, $185 Condo Survey fee, and changes in daily interest due each time we prepared
an estimate for you. A "Final" HUD statement was issued after closing.
You applied for the Tierra Tesoro loan on January 15,2013. There were several factors
that delayed the processing of the loan and nearly caused you to miss the March 18, 2013
rate lock including:
• You received copies of your Initial Disclosure documents on January 15,2013 but
did not return the signed copies needed to close your loan until March 13,2013
nearly two months after you received them.
• On March 8, 2013 Loan Notes show that you advised **** **** that you did not
want to fund your loan until April. Your rate lock would have expired March 18,
2013.
• Our request for tax and insurance information on a rental, needed to underwrite
your loan, was not provided until March 13, 2013.
• On March 12, 2013, you discussed bringing in cash to close your loan of
approximately $3,276.32 from your ******* Credit Union account where we had
verified "good funds." However you provided a check from ***** *****, where
we did not have sufficient verification of funds to use that account for the
payment.
On March 11, 20 13 you were advised by ********* that SDCCU would not extend the
rate lock because you had not provided all of the information needed to process your loan
on a timely basis.
As a service accommodation to you, we will refund your $350 Application Fee as a
tangible expression of our regret over your unsatisfactory experience.
********* * ******** * ***** ******
Executive Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed my accounts with SDCCU in end 2008 early 2009. The accounts were zero'd out and closed inside the branch. Shortly after I learned they had put a massive amount of fees onto my closed accounts and put me on the check system for all banks to not allow me to open an account. Fortunately Wells Fargo allowed me open an account with them but at this time I need to switch to my husband's bank. They will not allow me to until I'm off the check system. Sdccu needs to remove those false fees that they added to an account that was closed. Had the account been closed properly when.I did it then it would be at a zero balance like I left it. I want the fees taken off since they accrued from an error on SDCCU's behalf. And I need to be taken off the check list that states I owe money, since I do not.

Desired Settlement: The account needs to be zero'd out and remove the false fees that were added to an already closed account. I need to be taken off the check system restricting me from banking at other places.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see the attached letter in response to complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

April4, 2013
******** ** *****
**** ******* ***** ** ** ****** ** *****
Re: Account Closure
Dear Ms. *****,
We are in receipt of your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding the closure of
your account.
In your statement, you indicated that you closed out your account inside one of our
branches in late 2008 or early 2009. A review of our records shows that the account was
actively being used until September 2009. On September 17, 2009, the account became
overdrawn based on a Check Card transaction you initiated at **** ******* ******. Six
additional Check Card transactions were subsequently processed, bringing the checking
account balance to -$205.02. A series of letters was mailed to you concerning the
negative balance. Having received no response from you, the account was charged off on
November 13, 2009. After reducing the negative balance with your $50 membership
share, the remaining outstanding balance owed to the credit union is $155.02.
The reporting of information to ChexSystems was accurate based on the facts outlined
above. At no time was your account found to have been at a zero balance and closed
prior to being charged off by the credit union.
If you have questions regarding this information, or I can be of further assistance, please
contact me at (877) 732-2848 x ****.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Senior Vice President
cc: Better Business Bureau

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband had called San Diego County Credit Union yesterday on 03-25-2013 and had spoken with *****. My husband had inquired about new auto loans and had asked ***** about the bankruptcy guidelines before proceeding with the application over the phone. ***** had informed him that there needs to be a minimal one year credit recovery period after a bankruptcy, which was fine with us because we met that minimal. My husband had then proceeded to ask if there was anything else as far as guidelines go and ***** had asked before we started if we already had an account with SDCCU, and my husband replied no, so ***** had informed him that prior to the application we would just quickly need to make a new membership and when we would get approved for the loan, if that ended up being the case, we would just need to pay a one time membership fee of $1.00. We then proceeded with the auto loan application over the phone, which included me as a co-applicant. After all was done, ***** had said that we would either get a call back within a couple of hours, or be mailed/emailed about the application, or we could call back later on to check on it. After a few hours my husband had called back and talked to someone else who said his name was ***** as well, it sounded like the same guy. When my husband gave him his social, ***** had stated that the socials didn't match at all from hat my husband gave him to the one on file, and he had said there was nothing he could do and that my husbanded needed to visit our nearest branch in San Marcos, CA. My husband went in this morning and spoke with a representative that said nothing about the socials matching, but had informed us that there was no way we would be considered for an auto loan unless we have had a checking and/or savings account with them for at least one year. ***** had failed to mention any of that to us over the phone and we had our credit run for no reason, and it's hurting us and dinging our scores for something that wasn't right at all by not informing us

Desired Settlement: We would like for SDCCU to do something about this. I'm sure that we are not the only ones to be misinformed like this. It really hurts people when they're looking for a car loan and they keep running their credit because they are not given the right information at all. It is not hurting them at all, but it is hurting our scores and our future application requests.

Business Response:

Good morning,

Attached is the response to complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union


BBB of San Diego
Re: Case # *******
******* *********
To whom it may concern,
Thank you for your letter regarding the above member complaint. At San Diego County Credit Union we
pride ourselves on our level of service. We are equally proud of our commitment to resolving member
grievances in an equitable and timely fashion.
I spoke with our member, Mr. ********** ********* on April 1, 2013 in regards to his auto loan denial. I
addressed that there is a requirement to maintain a savings account with San Diego County Credit Union
in order to qualify for membership and apply for an auto loan. However, there is no time requirement
necessary in order to qualify for an auto loan. We discussed that we were unable to extend credit to
Mr.*********** based in whole or in part on information obtained in a report from the consumer reporting
agency, Experian, Inc. The details were addressed in a letter sent to Mr. ********* on March 25, 2013.
If I can be of further service, please feel free to contact me personally at ###-###-####, extension ****.
Sincerely,

**** **********
Senior Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mailed a a pre-approved letter stating that I could transfer funds from other credit cards to the San Diego County Credit Union up to $10,000. Nowhere on the letter did it say "only if you already have a $10,000 credit limit" nor "pre-approval required." In fact, the letter stated that I was already pre-approved for the offer.I proceeded to send 3 credit companies checks for the balance of what I owe them to be transferred to SDCCU. Two were rejected, and one credit card was paid over $400. Now SDCCU is saying I am over my card limit and that I must pay $428 immediately (today, in fact). Their transfer balance letter was unclear and misleading and has led to financial difficulty that would never had happened had their letter been clearer. I have pursued a solution through the union's customer services, to no avail. Thus I am now submitting this complaint and contacting a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: If my credit card rates have not been effected, then simply raising the amount of my credit line to cover the new amount would be sufficient. If, however, my credit rates have been affected and I am facing penalties, than they should be held accountable for causing this financial hardship.

Business Response:

San Diego County Credit Union (SDCCU) is in receipt of the above referenced correspondence from Miss
******-******. However, her assertion that we sent her a credit card balance transfer promotion offer that
was misleading is not correct and in fact, the promotion material is very clear.
The promotional material states in two conspicuous places the offer amount details. In the main body of the
promotion, it states “Your maximum credit line, up to $10,000, is available for this balance transfer
promotion.” Further, in the required disclosure box, it states “You may transfer up to your credit limit or
$10,000, whichever is lower, through 4/1/2013.”
SDCCU strives to provide thorough, clear details for all promotions. Thank you for the opportunity to
respond to this complaint. Please let us know if further information is necessary.

***** *******
Senior Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******-******

 

Dear BBB,

In the world of writers, filmmakers, and other creative professionals, there is something called "framing." Framing is what is emphasized in a given text so that the rest of what is presented is read through a particular lens. In this case, the offer addresses me directly, by name, and states in bold letters: "Transfer your balances today! Taking advantage of this offer is easy!" The letter then states that I can simply use the included checks to access the offer. For a credit union that prides itself on being a small, community-oriented institution with good customer service--and a credit union that I am a member of and have been doing business with for over two years--it did not occur to me that they would send me an offer for which I did not qualify.

If the credit union had already rejected two checks that I sent as balance transfers, then clearly there was something amiss in this process. A simple e-mail or phone call to clarify about what to do for the third check would have avoided this whole scenario. However, SDCCU was unclear in the initial offer letter, did not follow up with me, their member, and went on to create a situation that meant I suddenly had to pay $428 all at once--clearly the opposite of what I was trying to accomplish by using these specific checks.

SDCCU has failed at several points along the way to clearly communicate its offers and services, and as a result has put me in a difficult financial situation. I do not have $428 to put towards one credit card all at once right now, so another alternative payment plan needs to be created.

Thank you and best wishes,

****** *************

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Attached is the response for complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union


March 21, 2013
BBB of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110
San Diego, CA 92123
Attn: **** *****
RE: ****** ******-****** BBB ID *******
Dear **** *****,
San Diego County Credit Union (SDCCU) is in receipt of the above referenced
correspondence from Miss ******-****** stating that she is not satisfied with the credit
union’s original response.
Accordingly, on March 18, 2013, one of our Executive Vice Presidents reached out to Miss
******-****** by phone to personally address her unresolved concerns. We believe that such
concerns have now been resolved. Should further questions arise, we would be more than
happy to continue to correspond with our member.
On behalf of all of us at San Diego County Credit Union, we thank Miss ******-****** for
her membership and for the opportunity to serve her financial needs.
Sincerely,

***** ********
Senior Vice President
CC: ****** ******-******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently open a credit card account with this company. In the terms of the original offer it was for no interest for a year. I accepted the offer and opened the account. Around October I had a merchant dispute where a merchant had overcharged me.After a very intense serious of questions they put the charge in a dispute status. They also made a comment "that is what you get i guess when you donate to the Obama Campaign. That was the merchant dispute. I was offended by the comment but took the high road and said nothing. They said they would be mailing me a form to fill out and send in that I never got. Than in November my card was lost and someone used the card overseas with a merchant. I reported the fraud immediate and they said to destroy the card and they would send a new card. They did send a new card but never sent any paperwork for me to fill out for the fraud.I contacted the credit union 12 times concerned that the fraudulent chargers are still on my account (and they still are to this date) and that it was going to put my account over the credit limit. They told me 3 times they would be sending me forms to fill out that I never received. I finally called and said this was unacceptable and I am paying intertest of fraud and they had reported my account over the limit to the credit agency. They acted as if they could care less. The mailed me a form that said clearly at the top do not use this form for credit card fraud. I contacted them and requested a supervisor to call that after 13 emails and calls this was unacceptable. I then got a notice that they had closed my account due my account being over the limit. I was so upset I have written documentation stating that I was worried this would happen if they did not take care of this fraud. I finally had a supervisor by the name of ****** contact me and gave me a phone number of ************* I called her and told her the story start to finish. She asked that I please print all the messages I sent and this was a huge error

Desired Settlement: To honor the original terms and take responsibility for multiple mistakes that caused my credit score to drop. I would also like to sit down with the CEO and let her read the promises made by her employees and then 5 minutes later explain to me why a lady named ******* called me and basically made excuses and not one time apologized for what they have put me through. I have never been treated so badly by a bank or lending institution. I just want reasonable explinations.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Attached is the response letter to complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

San Diego County Credit Union (SDCCU) is in receipt of the above referenced correspondence from Mr.
******. However, his assertions conflict with our records. Mr. ****** is correct he applied for and
accepted a credit card, but such was not at 0%.
In September, Mr. ****** disputed four domestic charges made to his credit card account totaling $108.00.
A new credit card was issued in October and provisional credit was provided for $108.00. A letter
requesting additional information was mailed to Mr. ******, requiring him to submit a signed and
notarized Cardholder Fraudulent Use Affidavit. Since the requested information was not received by the
November 7, 2012 due date, the provisional credit was reversed and the case was closed in December.
In January, Mr. ****** contacted us about a different set of unauthorized charges. A representative from
the Member Services department offered to mail or email a Cardholder Fraudulent Use Affidavit, but Mr.
****** stated he already had a fonn and would visit a branch the next day to submit the claim. Mr. ******
then left the same representative a message stating that he was told by an unnamed representative that the
affidavit was not necessary. Once again, the representative from the Member Services department caJled
Mr. ****** informing him that it is necessary for him to complete the Cardholder Fraudulent Use Affidavit
in order to process a fraud claim. To date, we have not received the required information.
In summary, Mr. ****** did not complete the required documentation despite being advised to do so. As
of today, SDCCU has provisionally credited Mr. ******'s account for $108.00 and $246.10; however, such
will be reversed and the case closed if the required Cardholder Fraudulent Use Affidavits are not received
by SDCCU within the next ten business days.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint. Please let us know if further information is
necessary.

Sincerely,

******* **** AVP

Consumer Response:

This is all unacceptable. I have proof in writing stating begging for help. I have them all printed and saved. I g is ovot a letter stating my account has been closed due to being over the credit line. It was only over because of the stolen card charges. They still refused to fix it. I also faxed the CEO office asking for a call to discuss this situation and have not heard from them. The response they are giving is untrue and are not factual.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****** 

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

San Diego County Credit Union has been in contact with Mr. ****** and have addressed his concerns.

Thank you,

**** ********

San Diego County Credit Union

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please see complaint #*******. It says it is assumed resolved but is not. I did speak with a man by the name of *** on several times. I told him that I had a letter stating that my account was closed due to my account being over the limit. I also explained to him that people at lower leadership positions that had promised that as long as I come in and provided documents that my account would be reinstated and they would fix the mistake they had made. I did go to the branch as they requested and was treated very rude but none the less they did take the documents. In an letter they wrote to you it stated that I had not signed papers and they had been trying to contact me. That was not factual and a downright lie. I took in all the emails I sent to what they call the online banker with the responses. They never answered to me of how this happened and why the banker did not ad these notes to my account that woud have not caused my account to be over due to the unauthorized charges. I explained to them that Bank of America, Chase, American Express, and money other of the "big" banks did everything perfect and certainly did not close my account for no reason other than bad information that was never relayed to the team. The did remove the unauthorized charges as they had to by federal law but this guy named pat made call several times and made me wait nearly a week while he made his "decision" to open my account. He told me yesterday he could not open my account that it appeared i may be headed for bankruptcy. That was insulting and after doing EVERYTHING they asked I still have a closed account when they promised to come to the bank with papers and I did that. Its also sad the only way to get anyone to talk to you is file a report with the BBB,. I also am missing my points and credits for disibility that I requested to be removed the month after I got the card. I would like the case reopened as it has not been closed nor resolved. I still have frequent flyer points. Thanks


I want my account reopened as promised and my miles. The letter send clearly states my account was closed due to over the limit and it was not it was unauthorized charges. They act as if they have done me a favor by removing the fraud and that is the resolution... that is not a resolution that is the LAW. I want what was promised. I will continue to write to the president and then move on to FCC and credit union association. I am just asking for what was guaranteed to me by the company. 
Desired Settlement: Replacement

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

1/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been disputing ******* with the credit reporting agencies and direct to SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION asking them to investigate and verify what they are reporting under FACTA 312 because I believe that what they are reporting is inaccurate, erroneous and unverifiable. I understand that if I send in a written dispute they are to conduct a reasonable investigation into this account and verify that this account is reporting 100% accurately per The Fair Credit Reporting Act. The credit reporting agencies continue to send me reports showing that SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION has verified the information with them to be accurate but they are ignoring me. How can this account be correct when there is different information reporting? Experian is reporting this account closed and late payments in October and November of 2010 where Equigax is reporting this account open, with no late payments and payment history until September 2012. I thought ALL information reporting had to be 100% accurate? I need your help to get them to remove the inaccurate data on my credit report. To date, I have not gotten any response from SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION.

Desired Settlement: Since they have most likely violated FACTA 312 and The Fair Credit Reporting Act and continue to report inaccurate information, I ask that this account be deleted from my credit report at once.

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********:
I am in receipt of a letter from the Better Business Bureau of San Diego (BBB) regarding a notification
you provided to the BBB concerning SDCCU's underwriting criteria. On two occasions, I called our phone
number of record to speak with you about your comments. However, on both occasions you did not
answer. I left a message with my name and direct phone number, but you have not returned my calls.
In your comments to the BBB, you stated, "The bank clearly discriminates against people of color and
uses a different yardstick to measure financial credit worthiness for people." SDCCU uses nondiscriminatory
set criteria when reviewing a loan application for all applicants. SDCCU reviewed your
request for credit using this set criteria, and you did not qualify. Enclosed is a copy of the adverse action
letter mailed to your address of record notifying you of the adverse action reasons.
You claimed in your notification to the BBB that your credit report " ... has errors on it ... " If you feel there
are errors on your credit bureau report, I encourage you to contact a credit reporting agency to remedy
the situation. Contact information for an agency, Experian, was included in your adverse action letter.
If you have additional questions, you may contact me directly at 877-732-2848, extension ****.

Patrick Cosgrove
Executive Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your company holds the account and I asked that your company conduct a reasonable investigation into this account per FACTA 312 and verify that the information reporting on my credit report is 100% accurate. I asked that you send the investigation in writing with payment history so I can verify the information as well. I never indicated that you were discriminating. You must have got that off of another complaint and are confusing that with mine. I have already contacted the credit report agencies and they stated that YOUR COMPANY verified the information but I never received how and why you came to this conclusion that everything was 100% accurate. Why did it take me filing a complaint to the BBB for your company to respond when I have already sent 2 letters before regarding this same issue. So again, conuct an investigation and send me in writing the results.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Attached is the response to consumer complaint #*******.

Thank you,

**** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

What does it matter what report I use. I asked for your company to investigate and verify this account under FACTA 312,(Upon notice from a consumer that inaccurate information has been furnished to a CRA, the creditor must conduct a “reasonable” investigation and issue its findings within 30 days, with one 15-day extension allowed. This is the same amount of time credit bureaus have to investigate and respond to a consumer dispute)  which I am legally entitled to and your company is refusing to conduct a reasonable investigation and send proof of what you are reporting. Do you have something to hide? Why are you asking me to do all the work when you hold the account and have to provide the information? Your company is way over the time limit and I either want proof of what you are reporting or you to delete this account.

Regards,

**** ***** 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I posted a check for $320 in August through the smart phone mobile deposit service. SDCCU deposited that check twice into our account. In Sept. my wife noticed the double deposit and called SDCCU to have one transaction removed. What we didn't know is that the check was deducted twice from the payor's account at California Coasta CU. SDCCU has still not credited the payor's account and after six hours on the phone today, SDCCU is uninterested in putting a person in charge of the problem that has the authority to do something about it. It remains unfixed and the payor's is out $320 through absolutely no fault of their own.

Desired Settlement: Immediately deposit the correct amount, with interest, into the payor's account.

Business Response:

Re: Duplicate Mobile Deposit

Dear Mr. ******:

We are in receipt of your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding a duplicate
mobile banking deposit dated August 3, 2012.

A review of our records notes that the duplicate deposit was adjusted from your
account on September 27, 2012; however, as was previously shared with you, San
Diego County Credit Union is unable to generate an adjustment to the Federal
Reserve as regulation requires that the “harmed party,” in this case California Coast
Credit Union, must initiate that action.

We have been in contact with California Coast Credit Union based on your call to
us on November 5th, and confirmed that they have credited the payor for the
amount of the duplicate check and have submitted the appropriate adjustment
through the Federal Reserve.

Should you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to
contact me at (***) ******** x ****.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Senior Vice President
Regional Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We discovered SDCU was advertising great rates for auto loans. We wanted to purchase a GEM (full electric car). I contacted SDCU on Friday the 18th and spoke to ***** ***** in detail about the vehicle and I informed him it was not freeway but street legal. He said there would be no issues and proceeded to run my credit report. We qualified and a letter was emailed to us and we went looking the next day. We didn't find anything and decided to go in and take care of our account requirements to receive the loan and the rates, as we were going to order from the factory. Almost a week later, we are being contacted by SDCU stating that our vehicle does not qualify as it is not allowed on the freeway. This is very frustrating as we were very transparent with them about the vehicle prior to committing to opening the account and setting up our electronic transfers. If they would've been honest with us, we would not have set up the account and had them run inquires on our credit. Now they are stating, they can help us with a personal loan at a significantly higher interest rate. I am sorry but I truly feel as though there is some sort of bait and switch going on here. We did everything we were asked to do by SDCU, they have truly made me feel like another statistic for their account openings for the month. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Do what they committed to do.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

Thank you for your letter regarding the above member complaint.   At San Diego County Credit Union we pride ourselves on our level of service.   We are equally proud of our commitment to resolving member grievances in an equitable and timely fashion.

 

On Friday, May 18th, SDCCU processed an application for membership and an auto loan over the phone for Ms. ***** ******** and ****** *****.  Ms. ******** advised the

representative that she wanted to purchase a GEM-4, an electric vehicle made by Chrysler.  Our representative advised Ms. ******** that he was unfamiliar with the vehicle type but would check with an underwriter to confirm that we could secure a loan.    The underwriters confirmed that this vehicle could not be financed as an automobile loan due to the fact that it is not legal to operate on a freeway.  The members were advised of this information and given the option to finance a different vehicle type (approved by SDCCU) or finance the GEM as an unsecured loan.

SDCCU is prepared to remove the member’s credit inquiry and issue the member a cashier’s check in the full amount of her account if she decides to close her account.  However, after personally speaking with Ms. ***** she indicated that this was not satisfactory since she had already established direct deposit to the account.

If I can be of further service, please feel free to contact me personally at 877-732-2848, extension****.

 

Sincerely,

**** **********

1st Senior Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ask the credit union to refinance my house loan and they sold it to ******* Loan Services with a new loan number *********. I decided to pay the amount of $878.01 on 12/1/10. Why would they (SD Credit Union) charge me for deffered late charges for $43. I believe the charges should have been made to ******* **** for giving them my business.

Desired Settlement: Why would they?

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

Thank you for your letter regarding the above member complaint.   At San Diego County Credit Union we pride ourselves on our level of service.   We are equally proud of our commitment to resolving member grievances in an equitable and timely fashion.

 

In November 2010, Mr. ****** opened a mortgage loan with San Diego County Credit Union.  His established monthly payment scheduled for payment on the first of each month is $878.01.  On February 21, 2012, Mr. ****** made a payment in the amount of $871.01 instead of the scheduled $878.01.  Since the payment was short the correct amount, a late fee of $43.90 was incurred.  

 

As a courtesy, we have waived the late charge of $43.90.

 

If I can be of further service, please feel free to contact me personally at 877-732-2848, extension *****

 

Sincerely,

 

**** **********

1st Senior Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had multiple car loans with San Diego Credit Union over the last 5 years, and have always made my payments on time without any problems. Recently I was contacted by them and told that I had a late payment. After looking into the issue further it turns out the payment that was missed was from December of 2009, which is over 2 years ago. He told me that the reason he was contacting me was because the missing payment was flagged as 30 days overdue. It was also discovered that there had been late charges applied to my account for the 26 months prior at a little over $15 a month. During all this time I had not been notified by either email, phone or mail that there was an issue with my account.I called their customer service and asked to speak with a manager to see what could be done about the charges. I explained that until my account had been flagged as 30 days overdue I was not notified about any problems and that other then the issue in question my account shows a history of having been paid each month on time. I asked them to take my payment history and the multiple loans I have had with them into consideration and to remove the late charges from my account.At this point I started getting excuses as to why the charges were legitimate. Initially it was due to my address on file not being up to date. After informing the manager that the address was valid for over a year and a half after the issue in question I was informed that they have made multiple attempts to contact me by phone and mail. Regardless of how many attempts they say were made, it is obvious that none of them had been successful. The conversation ended with the manager emailing her director to find out how to deal with the situation.When I was contacted again I was told they would be willing to refund 2 months out of the 26 and that I should have read my statements and noticed the late charges. In all my time with them the only statement I have ever received was recently and was when I first noticed the late charges.

Desired Settlement: I would like the late charges removed from the account for every month except December, 2009.

Business Response:

May 1, 2012

 

Re: Case #*******

To whom it may concern,

 

Thank you for your letter regarding the above member complaint.   At San Diego County Credit Union we pride ourselves on our level of service.   We are equally proud of our commitment to resolving member grievances in an equitable and timely fashion.

 

On March 18, 2009, Mr. ***** opened an auto loan with San Diego County Credit Union.  His address at the time was ** ***** *** ***** ******* ********* ** *****. Mr. ***** failed to make the December 2009 payment resulting in a late fee clearly stated on his quarterly statement dated March 31, 2010.  As a result, subsequent payments were late.  These late charges were communicated to Mr. ***** on eight quarterly statements as well as delinquency notices sent each month since December 31, 2009.  Mr. ***** did not change his address on file until February 16, 2012.

 

According to regulation, if Mr. ***** felt there was an error made on his loan he had no more than 60 days after we sent him the first statement on which the perceived error or problem appeared to file a dispute.  As a courtesy, we have reversed two months of late charges.

 

If I can be of further service, please feel free to contact me personally at ************, extension ****.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** **********

1st Senior Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They claim the issue was related to an old address on file, which prevented me from receiving the notifications they sent me by mail monthly and quarterly.  The address they listed was valid until May 2010.  Mail forwarding was active on the address until May 2011.  This means that from December 2009 through May 2011 I should have received over 20 letters sent to the address on file, yet not once during this time frame did I receive either mail or phone calls informing me of the issue on my account.  It not was until my account was showing as 30 days late in February 2012 did they seem to not have a problem contacting and notifying me of the issue of the missing payment, with the subsequent quarterly statement showing the late fees applied to my account for the 3 months prior.

I accept responsibility for the missing payment, regardless of the circumstances that caused it.  Once notified of the issue, and once I was able to verify with my bank that the payment was not sent, a payment was made to bring the account up to date.  This does not change the fact that there was also a failure in policy on the end of San Diego Credit Union that caused this issue to go unresolved for so long.  It is unreasonable to assume that any notifications were sent and that I either chose to ignore 20+ letters informing me of increasing late fees added to my account or that I was negligent and chose not to even read mail sent specifically from San Diego Credit Union.  In return I could easily assume that the issue was purposely kept quiet in order to add as many late fees to the account as possible, but would it be fair to them to make such an unjust accusation?  I just ask for the same consideration, especially considering my payment history prior to and following this issue.  

If they are willing to work with me and remove half of the late fees in question I will consider this issue closed. 

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

May 14, 2012

 

 

BBB of San Diego

 

 

Re: Case #*******

****** *****
***** ***** ******
********* ** *****

 

To whom it may concern,

 

San Diego County Credit Union's initial position on this issue has not changed.

 

If I can be of further service, please feel free to contact me personally at ************, extension ****.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** **********

1st Senior Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1