BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Marrokal Design & Remodeling

Additional Locations

Phone: (619) 441-9300 Fax: (619) 588-5917 9474 Kearny Villa Rd #205, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.marrokal.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers design-build services including complete interior and exterior renovations, kitchen remodels, bathroom and master bedroom remodels, family rooms, second story additions, and all-season outdoor rooms.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marrokal Design & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marrokal Design & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marrokal Design & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1984 Business started: 07/18/1980 in CA Business incorporated: 09/08/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The license number is 593914.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Marrokal, CEO Ms. Lori D Bryan, VP / COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lori D Bryan, VP / COO
Principal: Mr. Gary Marrokal, CEO
Number of Employees

21

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - General Green Builder Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Construction Estimates Contractors - General Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
Marrokal Construction Company
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 9474 Kearny Villa Rd #205

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 9842 River St

    Lakeside, CA 92040 (619) 441-9300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Marrokal Design & Remodeling

DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Complimentary Seminars. Being your questions and meet the designers. Visit marrokal.com to RSVP. 

This company offers full service design build home remodeling.

To receive this discount, contact 619-441-9300 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I payed Marrokal $1,800.00 to get a written quote and design to have a portion of my house remodeled. I worked with **** ********* at Marrokal on the design along with the architect/designer. Since that time I have requested to get a written quote for several proposed construction options. I have asked for the quote from **** via phone and email numerous times. **** has essentially refused to provide me a written quote even though I have asked several times on the phone and email. i essentially paid $1,800 for nothing. I have gotten no quote or final design.I want a refund of my money since they did not hold up their end of the contract. ***** ********

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my money since they did not hold up their end of the contract.

Business Response:

I wish that Mr. ******** would have contacted our office for resolution, but this is the first that I have heard of his issue. Our process obviously did not align with Mr. ********'s expectations.

This company was built on doing the right thing, therefore we will issue a refund check in the amount of $1800.00 today as requested.  I will forward a copy of the check to the BBB as well for your records.

We wish him the best on his project.

**** *****

VP/COO

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Primarily based on an A+ BBB rating, we employed and paid Marrokal $1500 for a bathroom remodel design fee. We were then asked by the Marrokal design consultant to put a $1000 deposit down with Marrokal for the proposed construction project. We were also informed by the Marrokal design consultant that we could not take the Marrokal proposal from their offices to review before signing (a clear pressure selling tactic). The design consultant insisted that we had to initial/sign the proposal in their offices. My wife and I reluctantly signed the proposal on 11/17/2010 because they had a A+ rating with the BBB. We were told by the design consultant at that meeting on 11/17/2010 that the agreement needed to be reviewed and signed by an officer of Marrokal before the proposal could be legally binding. To date, we have never received a fully executed agreement with the required Marrokal signatures. After fully reviewing the proposal at home and finding extensive hidden and missing costs not included in their proposal,we advised the design consultant on 12/31/11 that we were clearly being misled and cancelled our proposed project with Marrokal via phone and email. We requested our $1000 deposit be returned since no additional work was done by Marrokal, i.e., permits, materials purchases or work done on our behalf. We have attempted to simply part company and have our construction deposit returned. Instead, **** ****** *** ***, has attempted to deliver what we believe to be the fully executed agreement via certified mail today. We did not sign for it and as a result have been forced to file this complaint. Marrokal has clearly been deceptive in their selling practices, low ball/hidden cost estimates, ethics and integrity. We have discovered that the overrun in costs would have increased the project by approximately 25% - 30%. We have since heard that numerous former Marrokal clients have had similar experiences to ours. More detailed information is available if needed to prove our claim against Marrokal.

Desired Settlement: 1.Refund check for our $1,000 deposit 2.A written release signed by a company officer regarding our proposed bathroom remodel project with Marrokal Design & Remodeling, also known as Marrokal Construction.

Business Response:

The ********'s requested to be allowed to cancel their home improvement contract 6 weeks after signing. You can read their reasons, but without addressing them individually, none of them grounds for them to breach their contract.  Our contract does have language stating that the agreement is not binding upon the contractor (it does not mention the buyer) without the contractor's signature.

While we believe that we could have taken steps to enforce the contract, we made a business decision that we would not want to pursue holding them to their agreement based on the tone of their messages, the untrue statements about the reputation of the company and **** ********'s current position within the company. Our response was mailed to them twice, as acknowledged in their emails. Based on the date the complaint was filed, they made this complaint with the BBB when they knew a response was in route to them. They refused receipt of the certified mail and returned the regular mail unopened even after we explained that we would accomodate their wishes upon receipt of a signed release and return of the preliminary building plans that were provided them as an attachment to the contract that they wanted to back out of.

Their final response was basically "keep the deposit" so we had closed the matter in our records, until notification of this complaint was received. We ask that this be marked as resolved in your system as well. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Firstly, we never had a fully executed construction contract with Marrokal. All work done by Marrokal was in regards to design fees which we paid $1500 for (we never received full construction plans, only rough designs... no Title 24 or embossed/signed plans).

We got so frustrated with trying to get our $1,000construction contract deposit back that we finally decided to tell them to keep it and try to work through the BBB to resolve this issue.

We know  that Marrokal is a large supporter to the BBB of San Diego and pays the BBB for their outstanding award level. We except that the BBB will do right by the consumer and get Marrokal to return our $1,000 deposit for work never done.

It is against the law to keep a consumer's deposit for work not done. They received $1500 for their design work and if they had ethics and integrity they should just return our $1,000 construction deposit.

Regards,

******* ********

 

Business Response:

The facts of the situation are as follows:

The client signed a Home Improvement Agreement on November 17, 2011. The agreement was signed by a Marrokal representative and was binding on the client once the Three Day Notice of Cancellation had expired (11/22/11) and was not binding upon the contractor without the contractor's countersignature. They were provided a copy with all blanks completed the day they signed.  The contractor signed the agreement on November 18, and the rep was scheduled to meet the client to deliver it but had to cancel the meeting due to illness. He did not have occassion to see them again and so it remained in the representatives possession.

The client met with our interior designer and Marrokal proceeded with development of construction documents. On New Year's eve, six weeks after signature, the client began a series of emails that was enclosed in the original response demanding immediate response even though it was a holiday. By January 2, the first business day after their initial email, they wanted to cancel the agreement based on two stated issues:

1) They had been given an estimate that the plumbing fixtures that they were to provide would cost them $3000-$4000 depending on their selection. The fixtures they selected were very upper end at $6000.00. There are many, many brands that are available in the estimate range they were given.

2) They did not understand that painting and flooring were not included in the agreement, even though they both initialed the paragraph that states that painting and flooring are by owner, as well as a seperate paragraph that excluded flooring and painting.

They make accusations that they were not allowed to take the agreement home to review and were forced to sign that night. Due to the propietary design aspects of Marrokal's projects, it is our policy that plans and/or written scopes of work do not leave our office unsigned as we have no way to control potential clients from taking the design we have worked with them on for a period of time to other contractors. We do not offer "this night only" pricing, and would allow someone to take whatever time they needed to review the plans and agreement in our office so we are available to ask whatever questions might occur. Most importantly, we include the Three Day Notice of Cancellation (not required when signing in one's place of business) which allows the client three business days to cancel without penalty. After the three day period,any cancellation is considered breach of contract and the contract and the law entitles us to not only keep the construction deposit, but to also collect any lost profit and overhead.

Marrokal made a business decision that we did not want to proceed with work for this client and therefore would not seek the damages that were due, but sent a request that the plans be returned to Marrokal and any unspent monies would be returned. The offer was refused. We then offered to return the full deposit amount upon return of the plans. This offer was met with"Keep your money, the plans were shredded". Marrokal has witnesses at other firms  that state the client has taken the plans to them for pricing, albeit with the company name cut off the plans.

After replying to Marrokal to keep the money and quit wasting their time, the client moved into a mudslinging mode, posting negative reviews on multiple on line sites, filing complaints with the BBB and CSLB when they were the ones that breached the contract, and could be held liable for thousands of dollars. I am hopeful that you will respond to their accusations against the BBB with regards to the Torch Awards, as we know what work goes into earning one.

Marrokal does not want to do business with this client and will refund the $1000.00 as per their request on the complaint. If the client is honest, they will accept some responsibility for not reading/ questioning the agreement during the six weeks they had it in their possession , they will return the plans to Marrokal and they will update their nasty reviews to indicate that in the end they were refunded their construction deposit.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

For the record, Marrokal neglected to state that we paid $1500 upfront for complete design service fees. For that fee we should have been provided with complete plans, instead of rough layouts, which would be of no value to any other contractor.

Please note that the issue that has been in dispute is the construction deposit only. No construction or permits were ever initated. Under the laws in the state of California,  a construction deposit must be refunded if no work is done.  That said, we will accept a return of our $1000 construction deposit.

Regards,

******* ******** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.