BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

San Diego Auto Connection Inc

Phone: (858) 546-1222 Fax: (858) 546-1272 View Additional Phone Numbers 1561 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108 http://www.sandiegoautoconnection.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto buying services and auto sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Diego Auto Connection Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for San Diego Auto Connection Inc include:

  • 20 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for San Diego Auto Connection Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Diego Auto Connection Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 29, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1992 in CA Business incorporated: 05/19/1995 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The license number is 52474.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Hodsdon, CEO Mr. Max Brown, General Manager Mr. Brian Epperson, Vice President Mr. Robin Zimmerman, Finance Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Epperson, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Steve Hodsdon, CEO
Number of Employees

95

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto & Truck Brokers

Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • 1561 Camino Del Rio S

    San Diego, CA 92108 (858) 546-1222 (858) 974-3924

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 974-3924(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not had the car for a year and I been having problems with it. A week after I got the car I called them to let them know that there is leak. So they had the car for 4 or 5 hours before I got the car back. Did not give a receipt. Two weeks later the engine light come is on and it smells let oil burning. They kept the car for 2-3 hours and said everything is fine . A month later or so I called them told them the engine light was on again and that I was smelling oil again. They connected me to a mechanic and he told me my warranty ended and it would cost $65 an hour to get it fixed I don't remember his name. I told him that I want to give the car back,he told me I can't do that .I told him this car don't work and I was given a lemon. I had to take it to another mechanic he fixed and it wasn't $65 an hour. The next that happen was cooling system blew out. I was driving next thing I knew the car was running hot. I got to a gas station and they told a house blew and it is best not to drive so I filled it with when it cooled off and drove home. So I called them again to let them know what happen they connected me with someone and he told me I have extended warranty. He told me to take it to a service place that they deal. I called place and I will be down do you have truck to towed said no. So I had to call a tow truck and paid $103 for the tow. The mechanic told me that he will call me and let know how much it will and it is on the warranty paper. He called and told me on the warranty it is not covered. And said it figures. And how will it cost and he told me $356.00. The only way I was able to pay was I just got paid and let a bill go in order to get my car out the shop. I also had told him about the leak and he said would have check it but I need my transportation. I am tried of paying to get it fixed. Now I don't want the car anymore and what should I do?

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the car and explain to fiance company why the car came back and working for. Now I am on a fixed income I definitely don't want where it will always being in shop

Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint from ******.  We searched our records on the 2004 Mercury Sable she purchased on September 27, 2013.  Each vehicle we sell comes with a 30 day warranty that covers specific components.  Our records do not indicate any issues presented to us that were a part of that warranty.

 
Ms. ***** did purchase an extended warranty for 36 months.  We would be happy to assist her with any communication with the warranty company to see if any of your concerns are covered components to help her with this vehicle.
 
Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since I have had the vehicle, it has caused me nothing but service repairs in my own pocket. I have, under my contract, a warranty that should last for 3 years or 90,000 miles. Having bought the car on 09/04/2013 I have stated on the repairs that there were certain problems with the car. As promised, the company took the car in hopes to fixing the problems. After having taken the car more than 3 times, SD Auto Connection has failed to repair the important parts of the car. The paint was noticeably different from the rest of the car and the right front passenger headlight wobbles as you drive. I had mentioned it to the service repair personnel and they had just "brushed me off" with the problem. The personnel indicated that it was never in an accident, but they found nothing wrong with the paint or the front passenger headlight. I have also went to have them fix a tire balance or alignment problem. The steering wheel shook as I drove the car. The repair personnel simply shifted the rims, as suggested for a tire balance. I went to a different service plan and checked to see the problem. The service personnel said that one of the tire rims were cracked and the reason for the steering wheel being unstable was because of it. I eventually bought a new rim and replaced the cracked one. Afterwards, I was informed that I was not able to put the new rim into the car until I purchased a set of tires. The establishment stated that the 2 back tires of the vehicle were so worn out that it was dangerous to continue driving on. After purchasing the 2 back tires, the replaced rim was also installed.

Desired Settlement: After all of the hassles, I would like SD Auto Connection to value their initial promise. They handed me a print out stating that the vehicle was a 96 out of 100, prior to purchase. Along with the warranty, the establishment should have honored their written statements or at least have repaired the vehicle prior to selling it. I have invested too much money out of my own pocket for the vehicle to constantly be repaired due to their false advertisement.

Business Response: To the BBB of San Diego,

 
We have had an opportunity to review the vehicle inspection performed on the vehicle sold to ******* *****.  During that thorough inspection, it was identified that the rims were in operating condition (no cracks) and that there were no issues with the tread of the tires.  Please understand that a rim of a vehicle can become cracked by something as simple as hitting a curb when parking.  As such these are not items that are covered under a warranty since they are wearable items.
 
Understanding that Mr. *****, has a concern, could he provide a document from the service center he went to that would document what they found in their inspection, including the condition of the rim, the tread depth of the tires, the date it occurred, and the mileage on the vehicle at that time.
 
Regards,
***** ********
VP, Operations
San Diego Auto Connection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle two weeks ago and purchased a 3 year warranty. The car comes with a 30 day warranty. bumper to bumper…The battery went dead and they refused to replace the battery.

Desired Settlement: I had to replace my battery. I think they should refund my money.

Business Response: Each vehicle our company sells includes a 30 day / 1,000 miles warranty that covers 100% of core powertrain components.  Covered components are listed on a document provided to and signed by the customer during the contracting process.  

Due to the nature of a battery being a wear and tear item, it is not a covered component of either the warranty we provide or extended warranties available for purchase from warranty companies.  Again, this is due to the fact that it is considered a wearable item.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harassing phone calls. Harassing texts. Promised to pay me $12,000 for my car during their phone call, then changed their offer to $9,000 after I drove 35 minutes to meet.

Desired Settlement: Pay $50 for my lost time.

Business Response: Our protocol to make an offer to purchase a customers vehicle is very consistent.  It is strictly done after a mechanical and cosmetic inspection of the vehicle.  We are then able to make an accurate offer based on the true market value of their vehicle.  We do not make offers on the phone.  Our goal is to offer as much as possible to the customer, again based on the inspection.  I have inputted this customers information in our Do Not Call list, so that he will not receive any calls or texts in the future.

 
Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response: Copies of texts and calls from San Diego Auto Connection:

Hello my name is ***** I work for San Diego Auto Connection and I was wondering if your Pontiac is still for sale?

Hello my name is ***** I work for San Diego Auto Connection and I was wondering if your Pontiac has a clean or Salvage title and has it been in any accidents?

Hi, My name is ****** and I'm calling one San Diego auto connection were corp brought a buying company and we buy used cars all over southern California reason why I'm calling is. I see that you have a Pontiac on craigslist and provided that it is still available. I have Dodge buyer that is. If interested, and taking a look at your caravan provided that it is in good condition and there are no major mechanical issues, we would like to put her offer on the table. So, please, We are interested. I do have a dodge buyer for you, so please give us a call back. At ###-###-#### and please ask for **** Thank you so much and I'm looking forward to hearing back from you.

Hi, My name is ****, I work with San Diego auto connection. I'm calling in regards to your 2008 Pontiac. We were very interested in making an offer on it. If you could please give me a call back. At ###-###-####. Thanks. Have a great day.





BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my vehicle in late August along with the extended warranty. I was told I have 60 days to cancel the warranty if I wish for a full refund. I had decided to do so and contacted SDAC, they told me that I had to do so with Century, the extended warranty provider. I called Century and they had notified me that I needed to go into the dealership and cancel the warranty with them. I went in to the dealership, SDAC, in mid October to cancel the extended warranty. *****, the finance person had me fill out paperwork to cancel my warranty and told me he will fax the information over to Century and I should receive my refund in a few weeks via Century. Its now been 2 months later and I still have no refund. I called Century and they told me they never recieved any paperwork canceling the extended warranty. I tried callin ***** from the finance department on Thursday, December 12 and left a message, then again on Monday, December 16 and Tuesday December 17 and still have not received a return phone call. I want SDAC to give me my full refund on the extended warranty in which I went in to cancel before my 60 days was up. Its very disappointing that this dealership has not followed through with what they were supposed to do. I tried to go about things the right way and now I have to go to this length tp get back the money I deserve.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund of $2295.00

Business Response: This customer did have a conversation over the phone with one of our Finance Contractors, *****.  She originally thought that a refund check would go directly to her, but in reality, it goes to the lender (bank) the customer makes their payments to.  ***** did not choose to cancel at that time.  Mr. *********, our Finance Director, did speak with ***** recently and she stated she would like to cancel her warranty.  He reviewed our registry we have that identifies who has requested to cancel a policy and when the cancellation form was issued to the customer and submitted to the warranty company.  He emailed the cancellation form to ***** and she has confirmed receipt of it and has completed and mailed it to us.  Once we receive it in the mail, we will process the cancellation promptly with the warranty company.  We have advised her that the warranty company will process it, which can take up to 60 days and the funds will be issued on her behalf to the lender by the warranty company.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

The first half of the response is incorrect. I went in to SDAC and filled out a cancellation form with ***** and was told by him that he would fax the paperwork so my extended warranty would be cancelled. I was told it would take 6-8 weeks for my bank to receive the check. I made it clear that I did NOT want to keep after he had asked me numerous times. ***** never turned in the paperwork to Century and my warranty was never cancelled as initially requested.

However, I was contacted by ***** 2 days after I filed my complaint and he did speak with me and is willing to follow through with my request. He emailed me the necessary form and I did mail it back. So far we are on track and once the check is received by the bank this shall be resolved.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern. I'm **** ******* emailing about my 2005 Chevy Suburban. On August 26, 2013, I purchased my truck from San Diego Auto Connection here in San Diego, CA. I've had a tremendous amount of problems with my truck since the very first day of purchase. I took in for service because it turned off on me the same night I purchased it, and did the same thing the next day. The dealer used their own mechanic to look at the truck, however the problem persisted. My interior/exterior lights turns on and off, and again I took my truck in for maintenance. I was told I needed a new battery, which I paid for, because I was outside the 30 day threshold for help from S.D. Auto Connection. (please note, I'm in the US Navy and I was out to sea so I couldn't take my vehicle in again prior to my 30 day warranty expiration) Today, I have a oil error that comes on, a transmission is hot error, I can't go over 30 mph, my lights still flickers on and off and this truck continues to blow hot air. I've lost all confidence in SD Auto Connect fixing my truck and I'm filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, the Legal department on base and with Chevrolet. I'm stressed out enough with my military duties, and the last thing I need is to have paid $10k for a vehicle that I can't even drive after 45 days.

Desired Settlement: Since I've lost confidence in with this company, I request that San Diego Auto Connection purchase this vehicle from me, and pay off my balance in full to the company financing my loan.

Business Response: We sold the vehicle to **** ******* on 8/26/13.  He was provided with a buyers guide warranty that covered specific items on his vehicle for 30 days or 1,000 miles.  We understand that he went out to sea, but has put over 3,000 miles on the vehicle.

 
We have attached a copy of the warranty provided that he signed acknowledging what coverage he had, as well as what was NOT covered.  Further I have included a copy of the Due Bill, which shows that no other things were due to Deon.
 
Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

**** *******


The truck had issues on day one...cutoff on me twice. A thorough inspection should have been done.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

 
We did reply to the BBB complaint again on 11/13/13.  Here is an update on the complaint filed by this consumer.
 
The customer received a buyers guide warranty valid for 30 days or up to 1,000 miles covering specific components of the vehicle at the time of purchase in August.  The day after purchasing the vehicle, he returned to the dealership with some specific concerns of the vehicle, which were checked out and addressed (see attached).
 
The customer came  back 45 days later with a concern about his vehicle starting.  We checked out the vehicle and identified that the vehicle needed a new battery.  Batteries are not a component covered by warranties as they are an item that can be worn out by a consumer.  We offered to replace the battery at our cost.  The customer declined (see attached).
 
The customer contacted our dealership over 60 days after purchasing the vehicle with an issue with the transmission.  At that point the vehicle had over 3,000 miles on it from the date of purchase.  At neither visit to our dealership previously did the customer state they were having an issue / concern with his transmission.
 
We have spoken with the customer a couple of times and attempted to reach him again last week (left a detailed message).  
 
Regards,
***** ********
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
I believe the dealership should have conducted a thorough inspection of the vehicle after I took it back the very next date of purchasing, complaining of the vehicle cutting off on me on the interstate, and again in my drive way. I'm not well versed in a car's operation, so ultimately after having two independent auto shops inspect my car, that it was detailed that I needed a new transmission. I truly believe San Diego Auto Connection new of my transmission problem(or as a pillar dealership in the community), they should have identified this issue...and I believe, with nefarious intent(seemingly not wanting to pay), that they totally ignored this fact. I didn't like going up there for assistance after a while, as I felt I was getting the run around and a cold shoulder from the individuals there. If I'm experiencing these issues as a Naval officer, I'm extremely concerned on what our junior Sailors and Marines is possibly going through. I'm gathering all of the facts and my experience, and will report it through the appropriate channels on base. For me to accept final action on this, I would like for the dealership to pay for the price of my transmission, which I've already paid for, in full.
Regards,

**** *******



Business Response: As previously shared, neither in August or October could our service center identify any issues with the transmission.  In fact, when we purchased the vehicle from its prior owner, our service center checked the vehicle at that time as well and there were no issues identified with the transmission.  When Mr. ******* did have a issue in November, he chose to take it to other service shops.  Again, the vehicle had over 3,000 miles on it when this occurred (not even factoring the time of over 2 1/2 months since the date of purchase), this vehicle was over 2,000 miles over the coverage provided by the buyers guide warranty from our dealership.  Further, Mr. ******* elected not to purchase any extended warranty coverage that may have coverage some or all of the transmission issue he states that he had.  Unfortunately, vehicles are mechanical items that work all the way up until the second they stop working - that is why many consumers from dealerships (even other things such as computers, cameras, etc) choose to purchase extended warranty coverage.  SDAC did its due diligence in having this vehicle checked both times it was brought to our dealership after the date of purchase.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never been treated so poorly in my life by a company. There customer service is terrible and they do not care about there customers. They are all extremely unprofessional and dishonest. I was told they go threw there cars and do a safety check on every car before they put them back on the lot for resale, well not true I took my car to a shop to have it looked at before I purchase car and the mechanic found over $800 in safety issue and this car should not had been put on the lot for resale, got Auto Connection to fix after having to prove this was a safety issue. With that being said it took them over TWO days to replace repairs and not one phone call was made to me to keep me updated on car. In fact was promise three different call backs didn't receive one, They told me my car comes with a 30 warranty to have anything replace NOT TRUE complete lie. I found a issue I wanted fix and warranty did not cover it, after terrible customer service and being lied to dealership still didn't want to fix issue. Managers Gabe and Curtis do not care about there customer service at all or anybody after they purchase there car, I waited for an hour and half waiting for a ride to get my vehicle and not one manger could say I'm sorry nor did I receive a phone again telling me they are going to be late. When they FINALLY arrived and had to wait 5 minutes for me to get my shoes on and lock up my house, they TOOK off and said they waited over 20 minutes, well phone history does not lie and it was a 5 minute wait. Called dealership back and they told me tough find you own ride here. What kind of business does this, CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN.

Desired Settlement: Just wont one simple repair fixed then I will never step foot back on this lot.

Business Response: As the attached documents show, this customer received a buyers guide warranty covering specific items as well as excluding specific items.  Further, there were specific items listed on the Due Bill that were to be addressed by our dealership, which we have done.

 
We have gone above and beyond to try to assist this customer with their concerns and insuring all items covered by the warranty we include are addressed.
 
The customer also purchased an extended warranty that covers them for additional time on specific items that they can utilize for the coverage of future issues.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a used car on August 11, 2013, from San Diego Auto Connection. I was pre-approved for a $20,000 loan with my bank (I had the letter from the bank stating I was approved). I found a car I wanted at San Diego that is titled San Diego Auto Connection. I visited the dealership, test drove the car and negotiated the price I wanted. I used the letter from my bank as proof I’d been approved for over 2/3’s of the cost of the car and paid cash for the remainder. They informed me they would be running a “soft credit check” to insure I was who I said I was. I clarified with them that it was soft, stating I did not need funding, wasn’t interested in exploring other funding and I had been working on repairing my credit, so I didn’t want a credit check run. I even offered to take the paper work to my bank and return with a check for them before taking the car. They re-iterated, it was simply to insure I was who I said I was and that it would not be a recorded credit check I was notified later when I checked my credit report that three hard inquiries were run on my credit with requests for loans, one with Wells Fargo Dealer Services, one with CREDCO and with Capital One Auto Financing. Hard inquiries effect your overall credit score, hence the interest rates you receive, ability to apply for and be approved for credit, etc. I am disputing the inquiries with the credit report agencies. I am someone that has worked very hard to repair my credit over the past few years. This action caused my credit score to be dropped over 40 points, of which I have documented proof of from Experian. I was very clear about asking what they were doing, the response back to me was very clear, they told me they would not be doing it. They obviously did and while in financing to finalize my paperwork, several times the manager offered to get me a lower interest rate than what I had with my bank. I continually told him I wasn't interested and I have financing I'm happy about. They completely lied to my face.

Desired Settlement: I'm not sure what my desired settlement is. I haven't heard back from the credit bureau yet about my disupute, but this has taken me time, effected my credit score negatively and they should be held accountable.

Business Response: The customer came to purchase a vehicle with a contigent pre-approval from their credit union.  Since they are taking delivery of the vehicle, we must secure back up financing for the customer in the case that the credit union who offered the loan did not approve the final purchase.  The customer did acknowledge this credit inquiry in order to see what we could approve them for in the case where their credit union did not ultimately approve the purchase.  They acknowledged this by signing the credit application, the credit report disclosure form that they received a copy of and the optional contract disclosure that they signed as well (which would allow us to fund their loan with the alternative bank if their credit union did not approve the purchase).  What was done was in standard best practices and would not cause for a drop of 40+ points in their credit score.

 
Regards,
***** ********
San Diego Auto Connection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My loan was not contingent upon approval. I was 100% approved I have the letter that I shared with the dealership, it was not contingent upon approval, it was 100% approved and just waiting on the paper work from the dealership to issue the check. Here is the exact language of the letter and I I've attached a copy of it for you.

***** *********
*** ******* ********* **** *
*** ********* ** *****
Re: Auto Loan

Dear **** *********,

Thank you for choosing ************ ******* ****** ***** as your financial partner.
You are approved for a loan in the amount of $20,000.00. This approval is good until
October 4, 2013, but in order to fund your loan, the following conditions must be met:

Proof of auto insurance required

To fund your loan or if you have any questions, please call us at ************.

Sincerely,

Consumer Loans Department

This is the exact letter I showed them and I provided them proof of auto insurance. In addition, I informed them I would get the check prior to taking the car if necessary, they told me that was not necessary. Once again, as my complaint states, they are not being truthful.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: Our staff did not do anything that would cause an adverse affect on this individuals credit score.  All information gathered was authorized by the customer at that time.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have already provided all the details of my complaint and what happened. The statement by San Diego Auto Connection that their unapproved actions with my credit did not effect my credit report and that your staff only took action that was approved by me is completely inaccurate. My credit score dropped 48 points after the 3 inquiries for financing that the dealership submitted that I did not approve. When I was told they would be checking my credit, we had a very detailed discussion about not needing funding, not being interested in any funding that they could get me, and that they would not do a "hard inquiry" on my account. I've already provided all these details and I have a witness that was there for the conversation. San Diego Auto Connection 100% ran credit finance inquiries on my credit without my approval. I had all my funding, all my proof of funding, and was told by them at the time they would not do that.

I am very disappointed by their poor business practices and at this point, I expect retribution for having dropped my credit score 48 points. I wanted to refinance my auto loan with my bank within the first 90 days after making several large payments to it and receive a lower interest rate, I can not do that now because my score is now lower than it was before I was approved for the loan because of those hard inquiries.

San Diego Auto Connection's responses to my complaints are false and incorrect. I have all the proof and provided it in my first complaint.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: We did secure a signed privacy notice, credit score disclosure and optional contract form from **** in case his lending institution could not transfer funds to our dealership within 5 days.

 
The Fair Act & Lending Law states that an inquiry will not drop the credit score due to the type of credit report we run at our dealership (which had to be done in case the credit union he was utilizing could not transfer the funds to our dealership within 5 days).
 
Again, **** was aware of what was transpiring and what we did in no way caused a drop in his credit score.  His payment history (good and bad) with those creditors on his report is what affects his score.
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Correct, and as I stated in my first letter, which you continue to ignore, is that I agreed to a soft inquiry, not a hard inquiry which is what was submitted by your dealership the day I was in there buying my car. You continue to ignore that fact. And yes, your hard inquiries did drop my credit score, and I have the proof to show it through Experian. Below are the alerts of the inquiries:

Hard Inquiry
Reported on 8/12/2013 by Experian

Company: WELLS FARGO DEALER SERVICES
Date: 8/11/2013
Company Phone: 8002898004
Company Address: PO BOX 1697
WINTERVILLE, NC 285901697
Hard Inquiry
Reported on 8/12/2013 by Experian

Company: CAPITAL ONE AUTO FINANCE
Date: 8/11/2013
Company Phone: 8009460332
Company Address: 3905 N DALLAS PKWY
PLANO, TX 750937892
Hard Inquiry
Reported on 8/12/2013 by Experian

Company: CREDCO
Date: 8/11/2013
Company Phone: 8006372422
Company Address: 10277 SCRIPPS RANCH BLVD
SAN DIEGO, CA 921311273

I have not EVER requested or inquired about auto financing through any of these companies. The dates they were requested were on Sunday, 8/11/2013 when I was in your dealership almost the entire day. In addition, as I already provided you, I was GAURANTEED funding by my bank, contingent ONLY on proof of Auto Insurance, which I provided you guys at the time of negotiation and purchase of my car.

5 days after that, with NO OTHER ACTIVITY on my credit report, my credit risk level was increased to high and my score was dropped 48 points by Experian. I have proof of that through Experian as well.

So, my question for you is, are you going to continue to act like you did nothing wrong despite ALL the proof I've showed you that your staff has? I was clear with your staff that I did not need financing. When I was told a credit check would be run, they clarified with me it was NOT a hard inquiry, they simply needed to clarify who I was, it was a soft inquiry. In addition, I offered to get the check from my bank if it was going to be an issue before taking the car and was told it was not an issue and wasn't necessary.

You clearly submitted 3 different hard inquiries on my account and per Experian, dropped my credit score 48 points. The fact you're dismissing the facts in front of you show that your dealership is dishonest.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: Attached are the documents signed by **** ********* authorizing us to secure his credit information when he was here to purchase a vehicle.  Further, there is a copy of the privacy notice which was provided to **** as well as the Credit Score Disclosure.  Please note that all three of these documents were signed by ****.  SDAC did not do anything without the acknowledgement of the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Employee's from "San Diego Auto Connection" consistently contact me on a weekly basis regarding the purchasing of a vehicle of mine. I have advised them on numerous occasions, that I do not desire to conduct a business transaction with them, and to refrain from contacting me. Their persistent contact is unprofessional in nature, and adverse action should be placed on their permanent BBB record.

Desired Settlement: Adverse markings on their BBB record, for failure to obey/conform with a request to stop contacting.

Business Response: The customer's request and phone number have been noted.  Unfortunately, we cannot verify if he places an ad somewhere to sell his vehicle and "hides" his email address that he won't be contacted again via email as we will not know it is him (such as through Craigslist or AutoTrader.com)


Thank you.
***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle has frame damage and we talk to Dealer sales Rep. Mr ******** y Manager of Dealer they said if vehicle had frame damage they cut not sale vehicle also we hace Due Bill and never was fix properly

Desired Settlement: They Need to take car back that they sold to us with frame damage and return my money i do not want a frame damage vehicle is unsafe for my family

Business Response: We have been speaking with ****** and have inspected the vehicle.  We have an appointment with him at 5:30pm today (July 18th).

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday April 6, 2013 I purchased a **** ******* ****** from the dealership. Dealership did a very strange thing in not providing my contact information to the installation company. I could speculate why they performed this unprofessional practice, but in a public posting this would not be appropriate.In any event, I had to track down the contact information for the installation company and learned that the dealer had provided them with the phone number of the dealership sales manager. The installation company attempted to contact me at that phone number several times (I can provide this number if needed). At no point in time did the sales manager attempt to contact me to inform me about the installation company's attempt. Nor did the sales manager contact the installation company to let them know they had the wrong number.I reached the installation company via research and learned more about the product that the dealership company sold me. It is not considered an anti-theft device.

Desired Settlement: Based on the game and the product representation, I am requesting the company cancel the product sales contract, reimburse the funds associated with that product to the bank, and these amounts are deducted from my auto loan balance. In addition, for any future product sales the contact information for the installation company be immediately provided directly to the customers purchasing any product or service, if the dealership is not the direct provider.

Business Response: Our Finance Director, ***** *********, was able to reach *** **** today and shared with her that the credit for the items she wished to cancel would credit to her ***** ***** loan next week.  She stated that this was satisfactory.


This should resolve any concerns of hers.

Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They have made this promise 2 times yet they have not fulfilled it.  Each time they made a specific commitment in terms of action, date, and amounts. Yet, no action has been taken or fulfilled.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: Ms. **** did receive all refunds requested.  Unfortunately we were restricted by the speed by which the bank that funded her loan could process things.  We did respond and address things promptly during each step of the process.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

No refund has been provided and bank will confirm this.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: *** **** emailed us over the weekend alerting us that she had received her refund.  See copy of the email below:


*** ********************
8:29 PM (12 hours ago)
to me

Received check yesterday directly to me.  You guys made me whole – and included the interest.

 

I will call BBB tomorrow and close case.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

4/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently bought a car there. I love the car but asked them to come down on the price like $300, so then it was cool and everything was supposed to be worked into the loan. Then I get a bill for $180 because they only charged me $15 for registration. Which means they were literally off by 1,200% and they said this is ok because it says on the contract that it is an estimate, so you know we can be off by over 11X the amount I was charged and well I guess that's ok. I think he just did this on purpose so he could keep the money for commission and make it look better on paper for the moment. I would never go back. Weren't even williing to do anything about it, honestly this should have come out of the salespersons comission it was his "mistake" (maybe, probably not), not my mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would be satisfied with them to put some money in since it wasn't my mistake. I would understand if it was like maybe even $50 over which is still 3x what my estimated payment was of $15, but $180 with an estimate of $15, honestly is a pretty bad estimate. I would like them to at least split it with, but I would be really satisfied if it was reasonable and they refunded all but $50 and I would (and already have) put in the rest then it would be a true estimate to me. Being off my 1,200% not ok

Business Response: At the time a vehicle is sold, we utilize a tool connected with the DMV to estimate the fees due for registration.  If that vehicles registration happens to be nearing its expiration date during the time between purchasing the vehicle and the vehicle actually getting registered to the customer by the DMV the actual fees may adjust.  This was the case for this consumer.


This situation occurs on a daily basis with dealers and consumers across the country.  Unfortunately the DMV does not have a better system to estimate the fees due to the amount of time it takes for things to process from time of purchase to completion of the registration process.

I understand this individual did meet our General Manger the other day in person to address this matter as well.

Regards,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Ok. so basically they can be off by 1,200% and that's ok it was just an estimate. Even 100% off should be too much. I would think they could have done a better job estimating the cost. I was charged $15 then later had to pay a bill in the correct amount of an ADDITIONAL $180. That doesn't seem like a very correct estimate to me. This was all supposed to be put into the loan. Instead I had to pay about half of a payment for no fault of my own. I am not satisfied with the response. I feel they need to estimate better. Estimates should never be this far off. If you got an estimate on work on your car or house and it was twice as much as estimated, you would reject it right?! Well, they were off by 12 times that amount, with their estimate, bad business practice, probably just to make the #'s look better on paper so I would buy the car.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: We will convey this customers frustration onto the California DMV.  We are equally disappointed that there are discrepancies.  


Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not sure what you need for documentation. Can you please let me know and I can get it to you.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PROBLEM DESCRIPTION Regularly receiving e mails from this business--from ******* ******San Diego Auto Connection************ RECEIVED A E MAIL ON 01 13 2013I am advertising for PRIVATE PARTY ONLY TO SELL MY VEHICLE AND SAN DIEGO AUTO CONENCTION E MAILS ME REGULARLY NOT IDENTIFYING THEY ARE A COMPANY. IN MY OPINON IT IS FALSE ADVERTISING AND I REQUEST THEY STOP DOING AND STOP CONTACTING PEOPLE IN CRAIGS LIST WHO ARE LISTING TO SELL ONLY TO A PRIVATE PARTY.San Diego Auto Connection Inc **** ****** *** *** * *** ***** ** *****

Desired Settlement: HAVE THIS COMPANY STOP CONTACTING PRIVATE PARTIES UNLESS THEY IDENTIFY IN THEIR FIRST E MAIL THEY ARE NOT A PRIVATE PERSON AND ARE A COMPANY

Business Response: We are sorry that the customer was not interested in considering an offer to purchase their vehicle from our company.  We will note their contact info and log their phone number as a "do not contact" in our records.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have numberous problems with this dealer with my contract and paperwork.I havent recieved a copy of my title or my license plates after many repeated phone calls they have said they will call me back with an answer and never have. Now they want more money for a fee I shouldnt have to pay before I get my plates, I feel I have been lied to and taken advantage. I been their 2 times at there request to talk to ******* and he is never there.

Desired Settlement: I want a copy of my title and license plates as promised and gas money for 2 wasted trips.

Business Response: There were outstanding registration fees due in the amount of $58 for this vehicle Mr. ****** purchased.  We have contacted him today to advise him that he can come pick up his registration and license plates.  The delay has been due to the fact that there existed $58 in outstanding fees.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was first contacted by phone from customer service regarding a car I listed for sale on Craigslist. I asked several questions about the company and she assured me that they had a buyer for my car and that's why they contacted me. I explained to her that i didn't want to waste my time or theirs if i'm not going to get an offer near my asking price. She said she didn't know but she got a gentlemen on the phone that said he was with sales. I think his name was ***. He took all the info about that car and said as long as its in good condition and looks great when he sees it he could offer me $9700. I said ok but i just want to make sure we are on the same page and when i get there nothing is going to change unless of course my car is a piece of junk. He agreed.When I came in 7/30/2012 ****** helped me. He did the run through with my car, then took me in. While waiting for the offer he kept repeating that military families are always upside down on their loans and thats just how it works out and how he just had a chief come in and he was $7000 upside down when he sold his car. First off we are not Military any more so that discrimination doesn't apply to me and Second why would you want to put our Military personnel out on blast like that, they do deserve allot more respect than that. He also kept telling me that EVERYONE comes in their saying they don't have to sell their car and they all think they know what their car is worth. It was a very uncomfortable situation for me. The things he was saying was making it sound like everything out of my mouth was BS. He then proceeded, after all that, to offer me $7900 and some change. I laughed! He then said let me walk you to your car. No, sorry we couldn't help you or wish we could have come to an agreement. Just very bluntly, let me walk you to your car. It was VERY confusing. I then said to him that i was confused because when i spoke to the sales guy on the phone he said $9700. ****** stated "well that was last week!" It was 4 days before. I emailed customer services with the above complaint and asked it to be forwarded it to the GM and Sales Manager. I received a call from the Brian the VP of operation. He apologized for what happened and said he would be looking into why I was given 2 different numbers. I called 2 days later and left him a message and have never heard back from anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for $9700.00 for my car that i was originally offered.

Business Response: SDAC did contact ***** in an attempt to purchase her Jetta she was selling.  She did request an idea what the vehicle could be worth before coming in.  A figure was shared but contingent upon a mechanical and cosmetic inspection of the vehicle (dent's, scratches, cracks, etc).  Any items found that would need to be factored into the final offer made.  There were some items that did in fact need to be repaired in order for it to be in a condition we could resell it.  As would make sense, the value of a vehicle has a lot based on how it runs mechanically and how the condition of the interior and exterior is, both items that cannot be gauged over the phone with someone. The costs of those repairs were factored into final offer we made of $8,252.  In a good faith gesture, we will honor that amount presuming the condition of the vehicle has not changed (though our purchase offers are only valid for 5 days or 300 miles of additional driving).  ***** may contact me directly to coordinate a time to come in if she would like to do so.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I agree with the fact that the $9700 was contingent on the vehicles condition, that’s what i stated in the original complaint. The interior and exterior is in perfect condition according the ****** the sales guy that looked the car over. He also stated the mechanically everything was exactly what it was supposed to be. The only issue that I told ******, because he didn't recognize it, is that the driver’s side door window button for the passenger side back window sticks when you roll the window up. That was the ONLY issue on my car. As for the price of $8500, that was never offered to me! The only offer that was brought to me was $7900 and some change. So my understanding is that the only thing wrong with my car is worth $1800.00 to fix. That sounds like just as much of a scam as the rest all of this does.

San Diego Auto Connection is a scam. I was first told there was a buyer for my car and is waiting to see it, to telling me a price just to get me into their offices, then giving me the worst low ball offer for my car while putting down our Military Personnel and then pushing me out the door when i said no to $7900. The worst part is that when I told ****** i was told $9700 for my car his response was "that was last week and the numbers change every Friday", not , well you have this issue and that issue with your car that we would have to fix it and that made the offer lower, sounds me like you need to get your story straight. Is it because i have a piece of crap car or is it because that was last week and the numbers changed or is it because we were Military and according to ****** all Military Personnel are upside down on their cars? I would have appreciated dealing with at least one person from SDAC that was honest, but after talking to 4 people and getting 4 different stories, I don't think anyone is.

I will not be recommending them to anyone, especially my Military friends and family.

 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Unfortunately the customer disagrees with the condition and value of their vehicle.  We assist hundreds of customers each month and earnestly do our best to offer the most we possibly can while maintaining some margin of profitability when buying each vehicle.  I would personally be will to inspect and review this customers vehicle myself to provide them with a current and exact offer on their vehicle that is valid for 5 days.  Unfortunately due to the volatility of any commodity (especially one that is being used and mileage is being added to), the value does fluctuate, just as with other similar products.


As for whether we had a buyer our not, we do have buyers that are employed by us to purchase vehicles.

Again, if the customer does wish to deal with one person directly, I would be happy to assist them and evaluate their vehicle myself in person.

Brian Epperson
858-546-1222 x***


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I won't be doing any dealings with SDAC ever. My favorite part of your response was when you said "we do have buyers that are employed by us to purchase vehicles." FYI: those are called employees. Trying to make scam not look like a scam isn't justifiable. You can sugar coat it all you want but SDAC was in the wrong in every manner of how the dealt with my situation.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

8/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the San Diego Auto Connection in Mission Valley to purchase a car. I found a 2008 Nissan Altima, with decent mileage and apparently great shape. The Price was right around where a used Car of that make and model should be, and right around what I expected to pay. I had asked if they had CarFax and the salesman said they had something else and it was verified to never have been in an accident. I took his word for it and bought the car. There were no real problems with the vehicle. We drove it for about 4-5 months and decided we needed a bigger vehicle. We had paid quite a bit on it and decided to trade it in. I limited my budget for a new vehicle, based on what the trade in should have been for the Altima. We found a Brand new Van that we liked and started the trade in process. The numbers I gave them they said sounded good. They ran a car fax report and found out the vehicle HAD been in a major accident. That accident caused over $2,000 worth of negative equity on the car, therefore another 2,000 added on to what I expected to pay for the new car.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the $2,000 I lost on the trade in value. I was told the vehicle had been verified to have never been in an accident, and paid more for the vehicle than I would have if I had been told of the accident. I ended up having $2,000 of negative equity that I had to add in to my new car payment.

Business Response: I met with ******* ****** this past Friday and we resolved his concern.  He stated he would advise of the same.


Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  San Diego Auto Connection has absolutely resolved the issue.  If I am in the market for a used car while I am still in the area, I would defininately go there first.  Thank you BBB for the assistance, and Thank You San Diego Auto Connection for taking care of your customers.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car on June 16,2012 from this business. @ weeks later it begin to make a very loud clunking sound coming from the back rear end of car. I had a close friend/mechanic drive the car and he agreed there is something wrong with it. On July 2, 2012 I contacted the dealership and spoke to a George Cova (Sales Manager) and set up an appointment with him on July 6, 2012 to meet with me. It was on a Friday and after we dicussed what they needed to do in order to look at the car we then agreed that I would bring the car back in on Tuesday, June 10, 2012. June 10, 2012 I was at the dealership at 9:00 am and dropped off the car. They DROVE me back to my place of resident in El Cajon and I was to wait to hear back from them. A few hrs went by I gave them a call and this is when the fiasco began. I began hearing that they weren't able to get my car to the mechanic until after 1:00 (remember I made an appointment) and was told at the end of business day Tuesday that the car had not been looked at. June 12, 2012, fiasco began again. Was continued being told I would have the car back within an hour ALL day. Spoke to a **** at 4:30 who said car was looked at and they could NOT find anything wrong and was on its way back. Went to get car at 6:30, car wasn't even there yet. Spoke to a *** ******* who is suppose to be HEAD salesperson told him complaint. When trying to ask what mechanic had the car I NEVER got a straight answer.Asked for paper work on the car and they refused to give me anything as if I was never there. Drove car home it still has the same sound now worse. As of today have left 3 messages as not one has been returned. The warranty on car runs out on Monday, July 16, 2012. They are doing EVERYTHING possible to avoid the repair and waiting for time to run out! I was sold a LEMON and I want something to be DONE!! I can not believe how they have handled this and how I have been mistreated. I will continue to leave messages..

Desired Settlement: I want the car REPAIRED!!!!!

Business Response: We have been working with ****** for the past couple of weeks since she first contacted us that she was hearing a noise from her vehicle.  She did bring the bring the vehicle in and initially the noise was not able to be replicated.  ****** brought the vehicle back and this time we were able to identify the noise and found that the rear differential needed to be worked on.  We did resolve the issue and have delivered the vehicle back to ****** with the repair completed on Tuesday, July 17th.  As a gesture of good faith for her inconvenience, we did install four new tires on her vehicle as well.  Finally, I provided ****** with a copy of the work performed via email today (7/18) and spoke with her to notify her of the email. 


***** ********
Vice President
San Diego Auto Connection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The problem has NOT been resolved and the car is still NOT FIXED. It is stil making the noise which is the differential on the passanger side. I believe they think buying new tires for the car was cheaper than replacing the part. This whole sitution has been nothing but a nightmare and how it has been handled from the very beginning, They sold me a lemon car ... that is the bottomline.  I want the car taken to a CERTIFIED mechanic and get this taken care of as I am already looking into legal action. Attached in the service repair receipt that was given to me a DAY later of what was done on the car. Also they had the car for two days saying they couldn't hear noise which it was making the noise when I pulled the lot that Wed. And beleive me it is VERY loud, you can't miss it.  Took it back on a Saturday and didn't pick it up until Tuesday. They offered a loaner and when requested it never got one. What I got was a still broken dirty car with new tires. I don't even feel safe driving the car now.  I WANT HELP getting this taken care of correctly.  Thank you.

Regards,

****** *****

 

Business Response: We did offer a loaner vehicle to Dot and she stated that it was not necessary unless the vehicle could not be returned to her by a certain time.  We picked her up and brought her to the dealership to pick up her vehicle prior to that time she requested.


I have left a message for her on Friday and emailed her as well to work to identify the noise again (which was not heard by several different personnel who road tested the vehicle).

We are awaiting a reply from *** to see what further assistance we can provide her.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have lost complete faith dealing with this company directly. From the very beginning all they tried to do was drag this issue out so the warrenty would expire and be done with it. They showed sympathy to my needs are request and took the act of GOD to get someone to take a look at the car. It is still making a noise and I want it checked out by a certified mechanic and have them be responsible.  I do NOT want to deal with any of THEIR mechanics from seeing first hand how they operate. I want it up on a rack and inspected by a Ford dealership as they are familar with the car.... and that is all that I will take or I continue with the legal action. Thank you.

[Regards,

****** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 24th of 2011, the business known as "San Diego Auto Connection" illegally performed a credit verification without my express written consent, and against my verbal instruction. The business owner (****** ****) also agreed to match the financing terms of the financial institution which I originally sought to use as a means of restitution, and then reneged on the deal. As a result, the financing institution which currently holds the title on the vehicle I traded in (2007 Mitsubishi Eclipse), is continuing to seek payments on said vehicle from myself because the dealership has failed to finalize the sale on the new vehicle (2004 Mazda RX-8)and submit the pay-off amount. As of this dispute submittal, my credit score has dropped from a "704" to "659", a total of forty-five points in only two weeks time due to the negative posting of the original lien holder posting and multiple credit inquiries.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that San Diego Auto Connection either abide by the terms of the agreed upon deal, or completely void it and return my original vehicle. I am also requiring that any attempts to resolve this matter include explaining to the original lien-holder on the trade in vehicle that the dealer was at fault for not finalizing the deal, and assist me in any way necessary to restore my credit rating.

Business Response: We have assisted ******* with the financing of his vehicle purchase.  Contrary to his statement, there was nothing our company did to negatively impact his credit score, thus there is no action we can take to assist him in changing it.

Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Though I am unable to substantiate whether any actions taken by the named business in the complaint have in fact damaged my credit rating, I am able to offer evidence of a violation of California Penal code 530.5 (a); I have already submitted a complaint with the following state/Federal agencies:

*The California Department of Motor vehicles

*The Federal Trade Commission

My next step is to also notify the San Diego City Attorneys' Office regarding the misappropriation of my personal information and the repeated misrepresentation on the part of San Diego Auto Connection staff regarding this incident and the sale of the vehicle.   

Regards,

****** ***** 


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2008, Chevy Colorado truck in October, 2011. Paperwork is under the name ******* *. *****. Upon completing necessry purchase-paperwork, I understood that the seller would handle the DMV transaction and have license plates sent to my home address. Contacted seller about plates in November and, again in December. I was informed that the truck required a smog check/certificate. I was offered two options; drive the truck to their place of business in San Diego for the smog check or have the check performed at a local, north county shop, for which the seller agreed to reimburse me for the charges. I elected the second option and paid for the smog check. On January 9th ***** ******** of San Diego Auto Connection was e-mailed the receipt and my request for reimbursement. She confirmed receipt on Janaury 10th and said the check was ready, only awaiting signature which would be done on Wednesday, January 11th. It would be sent upon signature. Janaury 20th, a third email was sent stating that the smog reimbursement check still had not been received. To date, January 27th, I am still awaiting reimbursement. Thank you for your assistance with this problem. ***** *****

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for smog certificate, as agreed to by the company.

Business Response: We have provided this customer with their reimbursement for their smog inspection.

Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  I am in receipt of reimbursement and the situation has been resolved.

Regards,

******* ***** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1