BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Moore Legal Center PC

Find a Location

Phone: (877) 760-9212 Fax: (619) 940-5634   http://moorelegalcenter.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers litigation, legal, civil, mediation and arbitration services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Moore Legal Center PC include:

  • 41 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Moore Legal Center PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 41 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 36
Total Closed Complaints 41

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moore Legal Center PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 08, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2000 in CA Business incorporated: 10/05/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of California
845 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles CA 90017
http://www.calbar.ca.gov
Phone Number: (213) 765-1000
The license number is 148698.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom A Moore, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom A Moore, President
Related Businesses
Brownstone Law Group PC Consumer Affairs Law Center Inc
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Litigation Attorneys & Lawyers - Mediation & Arbitration Attorneys & Lawyers - Civil Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Attorneys & Lawyers

Service Area
Serving All of San Diego County
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

State Bar of California 845 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles CA 90017 Phone Number: (213) 765-1000 http://www.calbar.ca.gov

California Attorney General PO Box 944255, Sacramento CA 94244-2550 Phone Number: (800) 952-5225 http://www.ag.ca.gov

Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvanis Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20580 http://www.ftc.gov

Industry Tips
Credit Repair/ Credit Counseling Debt Collection Rights Debt Negotiators/ Debt Settlements Fair Credit Reporting Financial Industry Identity Theft Immigration Consultants-Spanish
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered an agreement with Moore Legal Center in June 2013 for them to assist me with debt settlement. I paid them a total amount of $5,100 between June 2013 and June 2014. Prior to June 2014, I informed them that my income situation had changed significantly and I would not be able to keep the initial agreement with the amount of monthly drafts. They informed me that they were cancelling me from their program and that they were not willing to refund any of the $5,100 that I had paid. They provided virtually no service to me, other than sending out a power of attorney letter to three ******or accounts. I asked on multiple occasions if we could reach an agreement on a refund amount, but they flatly refused. Product_Or_Service: debt settlement ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am looking for a partial refund of the fees that I paid. They are entitled to keeping a reasonable fee for the minimum service they provided, but to keep all of the $5,100 is not reasonable.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.   First point - I have provided Moore Legal Center with copies of all correspondence from my *********.  I have not received any new correspondence since the last recorded document., so I have complied fiully with their requirements in that regard.  They have refused to accept that fact. Second point  - I am not arguing the payment facts.  However, after the initial agreement in June 2013 and followng my divorce settlement in July 2013, I was required to pay alimony to my ex-spouse of $600 per month.  Also, in the fall of 2013, my income level changed dramatically.  I was very clear with Moore Legal Center about this and told them I could no longer meet the $840 monthly amount.  At that point, they decided to remove me from the program.  The ******** they provided to date are minimal at most.  I do not have a problem for them to receive a reasonable amount for their ********, but the $5,100 I have paid them is execessive for the amount of ******** they have provided.  I am therefore requesting a partail refund. Regards, ****** * *******

Business Response: Hello,   This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ****** *******.    We did not remove the complainant from the program until this month (July 2014) and we worked with him as much as we possibly could before terminating the agreement. Unfortunately, we are not able to successfully complete a debt settlement program for a client if they cannot consistently set aside funds and abide by the Schedule B in the agreement. We were not able to finalize any settlements because of the complainants lack of consistent drafts into his debt settlement program. Again, the agreement clearly states on page 9, section 8 that the service fee is earned upon payment and not subject to refund. It also goes on to state that upon each payment of the legal fee, that fee is earned and is not refundable unless Moore Legal Center, P.C. has committed an error or omission in the provision of the ********. We did not make any errors or omissions in providing our ******** so the complainant is not entitled to a refund.  Please let me know if you need to see a copy of the signed agreement or if you need anything further.    Sincerely, Moore Legal Center, PC

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Moore legal service to help with my financial issue. I sent them 1,630.00 and then decided to go a different route due to there record with the bbb, I asked to close my account and they did but they have refused to refund me the money.

Desired Settlement: I would love to receive the money that I have given them for service not rendered. For the full amount of 1630.00

Business Response: Hello,


Mr. ***** enrolled with our company on 5/6/2013 for debt resolution services. He made 3 payments into the program before cancelling on 7/25/2013. When Mr. ***** sent in his cancellation letter we immediately processed a refund of his account balance to go directly back into his bank account. I have attached the full account statement. I have also attached a copy of the signed contract including the retainer agreement and the Schedule B (payment schedule.) Please advise if you need anything additional. 

Moore Legal Center, PC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep getting notices in the mail at my condo that state someone by the name of ******* ****** is in financial trouble and Moore Legal Center is offering to settle the debt. The person they are addressing the letter to does not exist. There is an estimated creditor balance of 41,200.00 that does not exist. I want them to stop sending this mail to my address. It looks like a creditor letter from the outside and it is embarrassing to me if anyone would see this. Especially because there is not a problem and the person they keep sending mail to doesn't exist. On another note, if they have information of this nature I would like to know where they got it from. Is someone stealing my identity? Is the a social security number attached to this claim that might actually be mine. Can you help me?Thank you, ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know how they got their information and if there is a social security number attached to their claim. (last 4 digits will be fine. I want to make sure it isn't mine) I would also like an apology if they find themselves in the wrong. And they will find themselves in the wrong. I would like to know if they got my address and the false name off a mailing list. If so, what mailing list.I would like them to take me off their mailing list.

Business Response: Dear ****,


The letter that was received by ******* ******* is just an advertisement for debt resolution services. If the person that the letter is addressed to does not live at that address the letter should be returned to the postal service with a notice stating that the addressee does not live at that address. We will add the name of ******* ****** and the address of * ****** ***** **** **** ******* ** ***** to our removal list so that the consumer will not be mailed to again. We use a modeled database company for our information. If ******* ******* is suspecting someone of stealing his identity he should contact the credit bureaus. We do not use, or have access to, credit bureau information so we cannot help him investigate. Please let me know if you need anything additional.

Thanks!

Moore Legal Center, PC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The resolution that any mail that is addressed to ******* ****** (who does not exist) be returned to the post office marked "this person does not live here" is ludicrous. My last name is ******* and returning the letter marked above would put my actual mail in jeapordy of being delivered. If my name was **** *** then this resolution would work.

Being taken off the mailing list should solve some problems but I would like to know the name of the company that supplied this false name with my address so I can contact them and get this false name with my address off their permanent mailing list.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Hello,


We only advise consumers to mark mail that way because of the laws regarding obstruction of correspondence. 

The information comes from a modeled database company which uses demographic, behavioral and attitudinal consumer data. They do not have a mailing list. They are a database company. I have removed your address from our mailing list already. You will not receive anymore mail from us.

Thank you,

Moore Legal Center, PC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like the database company to be informed that the person ******* ****** at the address you mailed me your correspondence does not exist. It appears to me that if you have it within your power to inform them about this, then you should inform them of this. I don't understand why you wouldn't. If you don't want to inform them, then I will do the work. Just give me the name of the company. By evading the issue I am finding it hard to believe this database company you speak of actually exists.

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw this scary notice in pink, that has a $2,000 fine or 5 years imprisonment warning for failure to deliver, and a Settlement offer of $13,800 on my credit cards that I am NOT about to endanger. When I called, they after I refused to answer personal information, they hang up on me!

Desired Settlement: Never call or threaten me again. Older people will be dumb enough to answer questions and ruin their credit.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


The advertisement that ****** ****** received is for debt resolution services. The US Code listed on the advertisement is regarding obstruction of correspondence that applies to all mail and the code states: 
Whoever takes any letter, postal card, or package out of any post
office or any authorized depository for mail matter, or from any
letter or mail carrier, or which has been in any post office or
authorized depository, or in the custody of any letter or mail
carrier, before it has been delivered to the person to whom it was
directed, with design to obstruct the correspondence, or to pry
into the business or secrets of another, or opens, secretes,
embezzles, or destroys the same, shall be fined under this title or
imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

When a prospective client calls in from a mail advertisement we ask for a reference number, not personal information. I located the phone call from ****** ****** into our office on 3/30/2013. I can provide it upon request. We did not contact ****** ******, he contacted our office, and we would not contact him in the future as he was not interested. The only question that was asked of ****** ****** was if he owed more than $10,000 in unsecured debt because we cannot help anyone with less than that amount, it is not beneficial to the prospective client. He said he had no idea and did not know who we were. If the advertisement is not applicable to ****** ******, please have him disregard it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent threating mail on debt claiming to be BBB acredited demanding money 1st letter stating final notice not saying where this debt came from I owe no debt to any one

Desired Settlement: stop the fraud scaming people with false threating letters

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


The advertisement that **** ******* *********** received is an offer for debt resolution services. The mail piece states that it is an advertisement on the outside of the envelope once and on the body of the mail piece twice. If the advertisement is not applicable to Mr. *********** he should just disregard it. We do not demand money by any means, we offer debt resolution. We do not know who owns the debt because we do not use credit bureau data. Please advise if there is anything further that I can assist with.

Sincerely,

Moore Legal Center

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moore Legal Center, P.C. is using SCARE Tactics to force you to call them for debt consolidation!It is outrageous!!! They mail you an "Official" letter with a large BBB stamp on the top & tell you to call immediately so they can facilitate your settlement. At the top they give you aReference number, an Est. Creditor Balance & a Settlement offer. They even propose a monthly payment! Talk about misleading. I thought I owed someone money, not that I could imagine who!VERY DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING! You only get the real story, when you call and listen to the services they have to offer. They should be STOPPED from soliciting business in this sneaky manner!

Desired Settlement: They need to be stopped from creating fear in peoples mailboxes! They want business, and force you to call them to ask what the charges are all about!!! At least get your logo off their business Bull!!!

Business Response:

Re: ****** ******
ID No.: *******
To BBB of San Diego,
This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ****** ******.
The advertisement that ****** ****** received in the mail is an offer for debt resolution. The advertisement reads that we may
facilitate a settlement offer if the client is facing a true financial hardship. There is a reference number, estimated creditor balances and
a settlement offer amount at the top of the advertisement. The data that we receive comes from a modeled date marketing company so
we are not aware of whom the actual creditor(s) are. We do use the approved BBB logo for print advertisement. The advertisement is
not deceptive because we are showing what we really can offer to consumers that are in need of debt resolution with a financial
hardship.
If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a legal-looking letter regarding collection of my "debt" of $27, 000 and that I could make a settlement payment of $16, 200. I was convinced my identity had been used by someone else because I don't have this unsecured debt. When I was able to finally reach the office at the number listed on the letter, I was told it was the marketing department. I was then asked what my debt amount was. After telling the representative it wasn't any of their business, she hung up on me. I then searched for the main office number and called them. That customer service representative acknowledged the two offices were connected and I needed to call that first number again. How many people have they managed to reach and solicit money from who actually don't have any debt to settle? Where does that money go? I'm not the only person who received this letter. Was I targeted because of my age? I live in Illinois; how in the world did they get my name and address?Again, this legal letter came to me through the mail. I plan on filing a complaint with the post office as well.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive an apology letter for my files. I would like to know someone followed up on this complaint and I would also like to know that this practice has stopped.

Business Response:

Re: ********* * *******
ID No.: *******
To BBB of San Diego,
This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ********* * Bordoni.
The advertisement that ********* Bordoni received in the mail is an offer for debt resolution. The advertisement reads that we may
facilitate a settlement offer if the client is facing a true financial hardship. The client called twice on 11/27/2012. I have attached both
of the recorded calls for your reference. During her first call the consumer was never told that she reached the marketing department.
The consumer disputed the amount of estimated creditor balances listed on the advertisement (which comes from a marketing
company using modeled data) so she was asked the actual amount of unsecured debt that she had. The consumer began, and
continued, to talk over the representative and acted very condescending. The representative answered the questions asked of her. Once
the consumer requested to be taken off the list, the representative said “OK, have a good day” and ended the conversation as the
consumer continued to speak over her. The consumer also called into our processing department later that day. We do not receive any
money from consumers that do not enroll into our debt resolution program. In order to be qualified and approved into our program an
attorney in the client’s residing state has to approve the file and the consumer has to meet with a representative of our law firm, faceto-
face. Money is not exchanged from consumers that do not have any debts to settle. Again, the data comes from a marketing
company using modeled data so if the advertisement is not applicable to the consumer, it should be disregarded.
If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As the letter I uploaded to your site showed, this was not in the form of an advertisement.  It was a very leagal-looking letter.  My getting upset on the phone was completely understandable in view of the fact I thought someone had taken my information and I was now responsible for $27,000 in debt.  The person I spoke to on the phone then asked me what my debt was.  This was my clue that this letter was not a legal letter from a law firm trying to collect on a debt.  This is a very frightening way to "advertise".   

I called the main phone number for the company after finding it on the internet.  That was when I was told I had originally been contacted by their marketing department.  I would venture to say I am certainly not the first or last person to complain about this company in reference to that type of letter.  I am not happy with the fact the company is standing behind this type of scare-advertising.

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response:

Moore Legal Center, PC

401 Hall St SW Ste 134

Grand Rapids, MI 49503

 

 

BBB of San Diego

5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110

San Diego, CA 92123

 

 

Re: ********* * *******

ID No.: *******

 

To BBB of San Diego,

This letter is in response to the rejection filed by ********* * *******.    

The consumer indicated that she uploaded the mail piece that she received to the BBB website. If you look at the bottom portion of the mail piece it clearly states: This advertisement has been approved... We are a law firm so our name is on the advertisement and it is in a letter format. The letter does not state anywhere that the debt is owed to us, that we are trying to collect a debt, etc. It actually states that we are offering a program for consumers to participate in a credit card hardship plan. Our intention is not to frighten anyone. 


I provided both phone calls on the initial response. Please let me know if you need anything additional from our office. 

 

 

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us.

Sincerely,

Moore Legal Center, PC

Moore Legal Center, PC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunately, there seems to be no reaching this company and they are unable to understand why their "advertisement" is unethical.

Regards,

********* ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service