BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

FMPGURU

Phone: (760) 295-0047 Fax: (760) 295-0338 4263 Oceanside Blvd #106-167, Oceanside, CA 92056 http://www.pleinairco.com View Additional Web Addresses ! BBB Business Review on FMPGURU is being Updated by BBB!

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells arts and crafts supplies.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • 4263 Oceanside Blvd #106-167

    Oceanside, CA 92056 (760) 295-0047

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered more than 4 weeks ago and when we emailed and called to check on the order we received no response. Reading other complaints on their Facebook page suggested we file a complaint here.

Desired Settlement: We want our money back of course, and their A+ rating that you gave hem to be downgraded to F.

Business Response:

Hi ****,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - excellent - no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, payment, and refund info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. 

In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an online purchase from www.pleinairco.com on May 9, 2014. The invoice number is 4863, with a Confirmation No: ***********. The item was:Bamboo Hardwood French Style Full Size Sketch Box EaselManufacturer: PleinAirCo MPN: E255 SKU: E255 UPC: ************* have not received this item yet (5/28/14) and when I call their phone number ###-###-#### the mailbox is full. I attempted to send an email to 'support@pleinairco.com' but was unable to get through.

Desired Settlement: I would like to item that I purchased. So please send this item.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - excellent - no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, payment, and refund info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. 

In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product from their web site (order #***********). I can not get anyone on the phone or respond to emails. No update on order status from the web site.

Desired Settlement: I would like an update on the order and it delivered ASAP or a total refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered art supplies on April 27,2014 for a total of $151.06. As of today, still have not received anything. I have gone on site and still no shipping date set. Tried calling 3 times, voice mail full! Emailed requesting information 4 times with no response..... Order# ***********

Desired Settlement: I really want the order as this was a birthday present for someone. never had to wait for an internet order from other sites more than a week. Do no understand why company does not reply. Should not have an A+ rating from BBB: deceptive for someone checking on a company's reliability.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been charged for a product that I never received. I have not been able to contact anyone from this company via phone or email for over a week.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice to hear a response from this company, an apology, and a refund. This was supposed to be a Mother's Day gift!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a artist h frame studio easel/ beech wood professionally frame for 124.95 shipping was 31.07 total of 156.02 for a birthday gift for my mother on March 16 th. Confirmation said it was mailed on March 18 th. Waited and waited nothing came. I have called several times no answer no call back nothing. I have e mailed and still call and no response what so ever. Spoke to the owner once said he would check in to it and get right back to me and nothing still. I continue to call leave messages and still nothing. I would still love to get the product shipped to my mother ******* ********* but if this company is not going to I would like my money returned to me as I work hard for my money and I feel awful that my mom was excited to receive this as a gift and I let her down to trust this company and this is what I get nothing..it been nothing but lies and silence for all the calling I have down. Just want some answers not being not listen to.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I also have paid for my merchandise but not received it, 17 days and counting! The email I was sent did not have a UPS tracking number, so I cannot track it that way. I have sent emails and not received and response. I have called and no one answers the phone and you cannot leave a voice mail as the message box states it is full. When I entered my confirmation number on their website to check my order status the message states the confirmation number dos not exist! VERY frustrated.

Desired Settlement: Would like product sent expediently

Business Response:

Hi *******,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation I started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - excellent ('no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, and PayPal info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know  - what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

 

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and would very much like to continue with my original order placed.  I have not been given a refund and much prefer the item.  As a Registered Nurse of 25 years, I understand and am sorry to hear of the owners situation and certainly understand the delay.  He has offered a gift as well which is very much appreciated. If my original item is delivered soon this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Best wishes to him in his recovery, and prayers of a speedy one.

Regards,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Hardwood French Easel and complete acrylic, oil and watercolor painting art supplies set on 5/8/2014. I received an order confirmation literally minutes after placing the order. My credit card was charged on 5/9/2014 for the total price of the product. I have continually checked with the company to monitor shipping but as of today, 5/23/2014, there is still no shipping information listed. I e-mailed the company approximately 1 week after placing the order and have received no response. I called a couple of days later and nobody answered. I could not leave a message because the phone memory was full. I called back again with the same result. I was able to get through on Monday, 5/19/2014 and left a message. Still no response. I left another message 5/22/2014 asking for some sort of communication in reference to my order. I have still received no communication.

Desired Settlement: I would like the products that I ordered - they are a gift for my daughter who's birthday has since passed. I even asked, upon ordering, for the product to be shipped as soon as possible because it was a gift. I ordered from this company because they had such a high rating, but I would not recommend it to anyone due to the poor customer service. The delivery delay would be more understandable or reasonable if it were the holiday season, but it is May with no major shopping holiday in site! The company had no problem charging my credit card immediately. It's a shame they don't have the same policy when concerned with shipping. Please inform me of when I can expect to receive my order.

Business Response:

Hi ********,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - 

and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - 

excellent 'no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, and PayPal info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. 

In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *******

 

Dear ******

I am so sorry to hear about your injury and I really appreciate you contacting me. 

We have not received any refunds for the product.  

This order was for my daughter's 10th birthday which was May 14th. She has shown an extraordinary talent in the arts and we are trying to foster that interest in her. She has struggled academically and suffers from mild forms of ********** and *******************, so when she was able to create such amazing paintings, we were not only surprised but impressed by this hidden talent. Her confidence has dramatically increased and her grades have come along with this newfound skill. We want to provide her with as many different media as possible to keep her on this upward progress. 

We simply wish to receive the original order so she can keep creating and growing. 

I also work for a small business in the fiber art industry so I understand how customer service is of utmost importance. I truly appreciate your communication and your offer of the art supply gift basket along with our original order.

Thank you so much and my hope is for you to have a speedy recovery!!

Sincerely,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase of art products on line from FMPGURU,Oceanside,Calif. on 04/28/2014. Order # ****, for the sum of $124.95. On several occasions I have attempted to call and e-mail the company but I have only fail to do so . Receiving only " memory full "on there answering service and /or no reply to my several e-mail sent for status on my purchase. I have not received my purchase or any reply to my inquiries and frankly after a month wait I think FMPGURU business efforts are not the BEST! I sincerely hope you can help me sort this matter "out" with my purchase from FMPGURU.With all do respect; ****** *******.

Desired Settlement: I would like my order complete,filled and delivered , or a complete refund of my purchase. Thankyou.

Business Response:

Hi ******,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - excellent - no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, payment, and refund info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. 

In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me, only if I can receive my order as it was made. As the business is aware the order was payed in full including shipping charges, and NO Refund has been made since it was posted to my acct. on 04/29/2014. I'am sorry to hear about Mr. Schwartz health issues, hope for a speedy recovery,but will keep the BBB posted as far any action that he takes. I hope this matter can be resolved speedly, since the order was made as a gift for my daughter to help her in her art class. Thankyou and God bless.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order on 5/10 and received an order confirmation email that day. My credit card was charged on 5/12. The order has never been delivered. I called and left a voicemail over a week ago asking for order status information with no response. I also emailed a week ago asking for status information, again no response. I emailed again earlier this week and got no response. I attempted to call again today but was unable to leave another message because their voicemail box is full.

Desired Settlement: since clearly they are a scam and are never going to deliver my merchandise I want a full refund. I also think they should not have an A+ rating from you all!

Business Response:

Hi ****,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - excellent - no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, payment, and refund info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. 

In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.


Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

 

I have, in the meantime, received a refund from my credit card company.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an easel on 5/13/2014. The charge posted the same day. The product has not been delivered. I have sent 2 emails, posted on their facebook page and attempted to call their service number only to reach a voicemail box "FULL". The lack of communication is unacceptable and unprofessional. Multiple people on their "FMPGURU" facebook page have indicated the same problems I am experiencing.

Desired Settlement: Communicate with me about my purchase or refund my money. Set the correct expectation on lead times for purchases and enable your customers to make informed buying decisions. Respond to ALL inquiries from your customers.

Business Response:

Hi ****,

I am so sorry about this.

I have a few of these complaints. I've been away (unfortunately) for the past 8 weeks**.

I'll be reviewing the details of your order so Ill have a complete understanding of how best to approach resolving the problem providing a very rapid resolution of both the order problem - and demonstrate the kind of customer service that is a core foundation of this small operation started nine years ago. I expect every customer to consider transactions with us - excellent - no matter what' it takes.

If you can provide an update on whether you received a refund through your credit card company, or PayPal? This would be very much appreciated.

I am going through emails, chargebacks, payment, and refund info now.

Whether you have already received a refund or not, I'd like to know what I can do to make up for this inconvenience?

By default we'll be sending you an art supply gift basket, relative to your order, at no expense to you of course. 

Thank-you.

***** ********

**

About 8 weeks ago I suffered a major spinal cord injury. The unexpected accident is the primary cause of what went wrong with your order. 

In nearly all of our years in operation, I've had a veteran staff member more than capable of doing my job. This was unfortunately not the case at the time of your order

I'm deeply and sincerely apologetic- this shouldn't have affected your order.


Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10077204, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  While I have filed a complaint with my bank, no refund has as yet been issued.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased an easel from the company. I've been calling and emailing to find out when item will be shipped. They don't answer the phone, nor do they respond to my emails. They took money from my account and I'm concerned that I may not get my item.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the item, and I just want to know when it will be sent. If I don't receive item, I want my money to be refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered art supplies online 12/1/13 for $63 (order number ******************* They were sent to the wrong address and returned to the company 12/11/13 (via tracking info). I never heard anything from the company or received any sort of refund (paid via PayPal). I have sent emails to customer service (as advised on the website) 12/27/13, 1/16/14, and 2/2/14. I also called the customer service number on 2/20/14 and 2/26/14 both times having to leave a message on their answering machine. I have received zero response from any of these attempts. I no longer wish to have any products from this company, but only want a refund of my money.

Desired Settlement: Refund of money via PayPal.

Business Response: Hello Ms. *******

 
I'm issuing a full refund for your purchase immediately.
 
I understand a refund should have been issued but was not.
 
This isn't the kind of business we run here, this is exceptionally bad transaction. 
 
My sincere apologies for your inconvenience. 
 
Additionally, I would like to send you an art set, a few special items, a hardwood art case, paints, brushes,
a canvas and art instruction book...
as a free gift - a demonstration of good faith and with respect for the time you had to spend.

USPS Priority Tracking 
**********************************************************************************
*** ****** ******** *** ** **** ******* ****** **** ***** 

(The tracking number should show activity by the end of the day today March 28th)
 
If there as anything else I may do please let me know.
 
We can be reached at the ************ number during normal business hours
(Pacific Standard Time)
 
Thank you.
 
***** ********
 

Consumer Response:

I received a full refund after filing the following complaint:

Complaint ID *******

I am happy w/this resolution...thank you.


****** *******
*****************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to Christmas, I placed an order that was to arrive well before Christmas. The order was for a 4 pack of 24"x36" stretch art canvases. the order was charged to my visa but i never received the order. after christmas i contacted *****, the owner. he said he would be sure to locate the shipment and get it to me. never received product and never heard back from *****. now all my calls go directly to voicemail. i've left 4 messages and no return call. i would like my money back or my items.

Desired Settlement: delivery of order or refunded money

Business Response:

Hi ******,
 
About a week about, we had re-discovered this, and the canvases were sent out.
 
They were in transit when your complaint was filed?  The canvases were re-Sent on 1/24/14
 
https://www.fedex.com/fedextrack/?tracknumbers=***************&language=english
 
It appears the canvases were delivered today 1-30-14 after tracking the delivery.
 
Additional Possible unresolved issue.
 
I also noticed that we had talked about replacement of three legs for the french easel
in your original purchase.
 
Let me know if those still need to go out.
 
My sincere apologies in not being able to reach us.
 
'just give me a green light on those easels legs and I'll priority them out to you.
 
Thanks
 
***** ********
PleinAirCo
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1