Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

M & S Wesley Tree Service

Phone: (530) 343-6809 177 E 20th St, Chico, CA 95928

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that M & S Wesley Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on M & S Wesley Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2010 Business started: 07/09/2009 in CA Business started locally: 07/09/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 935326.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Marc Wesley, Owner Ms. Shuree Wesley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Wesley, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Shuree Wesley, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Paving Contractors Arborist Landscape Contractors

Alternate Business Names
M&S Wesley Tree Service
Products & Services

M&S Wesley & Tree Service provides complete tree pruning, trimming, and removal services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Tips for Hiring a Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

M & S Wesley Tree Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 177 E 20th St

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 343-6809


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: M&S Wesley is a tree removal company who chopped down two oak trees on the lot next to my property and allowed one part of the tree to fall on to my property and break the fence between the two properties.The company made no attempt to remove the tree from our property. When an attempt was made to communicate with the W&S Wesley by contacting the property management company who is handling the rental of the property where the trees were cut, the Wesley company claimed that they knocked on our door and asked permission to come on our property and remove the wood.That is just a lie. They did not knock on our door and ask to remove the wood.They claim that we refused to let them remove the wood and since they will have to come to our property they will charge us $250 per hour to remove the wood.The tree that has fallen on our property is a FIRE HAZARD. It is a large pile of limbs with dried leaves and a large stump that the limbs are connected to.This company believes they can chop down trees and allow them to fall on other peoples property and then take no responsibility for removing the trees that fell on the property.This company promotes the belief that they should be able to lie about the situation in order avoid responsibility.The fact is that this company did ask to bring their wood cutting equipment on to our property so that they could cut from our side of the property BEFORE THEY BEGAN CUTTING THE TREE. We told them that they could not cut the tree from our side of the fence. We did not know that they planned on having the tree fall onto our side of the property and then leave it here.This company needs to complete the project of cutting the two oak trees by cleaning up the mess that they made on our property.

Desired Settlement: We want the company to apologize to us for allowing an Oak Tree to fall on to our property and then failing to admit that they were committing a problem during their project, and we want them to come to our property and remove all of the tree in a clean and timely fashion. And they need to assume all financial responsibilities for the damage that they did.They need to apologize for telling us that we need to pay them to remove a tree from our lot that they caused to fall on our property.

Business Response: Hi, we would be grateful for a phone call reguarding this complaint. This complaint is completely  inaccurate. We have plenty of witnesses that this person told our employees that under NO circumstance were we allowed onto her property to pick the wood up. Our company ALWAYS asked for permission before entering onto a property and they told us no. We do this work everyday with our community and very rarely will someone tell us no to cleaning up wood. She is not the client that hired us to do this job. We have never done business with this lady. We feel this is a neighborly dispute and she is angry with us. Again. we DID OFFER to clean this up and she had the choice and refused. We cannot understand why she changed her mind days later and would like an apology? This is not necessary to ruin a businesses reputation over. Thank you for your time.

  ****** ******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern. The company is telling you a lie.

I live next door to where two large oak trees were cut. I did not employ the company to cut the trees.

One of the trees fell on my fence and on to my property.

When that happened I was in my home. However, there was no one knocking on the door to ask if they could clean up the tree.

When I did talk to this company on the phone, they claimed that they had knocked on my door and asked to clean up the tree.

I know that no one knocked on my door and asked me if they could come on my property to clean up the tree.

They told me that since I refused to let them on my property to clean up the tree that I would now need to pay them $250 to come and clean up the tree.

Business Response: Good morning.Our Company has no reason to lie  about anything and we are very suprised by the accusations that are ocurirng. We always ask the surrounding neighbors if we can have permission before going onto their property. Our employee ****** did ask the gentleman that was in his back yard and he told him no. He words were " no way in hell". He told our employee that his insurance says that no one is allowed onto his property due to them not being covered by their insurance to be on the property. Our employees did call us about this because they were concerned about leaving the wood on someones property. We get a lot of positive feedback from the Community because our clean ups are typically above average.
 I do apologize that in my previous response I said "She instead of "he". And I wish that that our employee had spoken to the lady complaining instead of the gentlemen first. But I do have to say if they were home and seen the work being done that day and did not want the wood on their prooperty that they had every chance to ask us to please remove it rather than wait for us to leave. We worked there for two days and would have gladly cleaned it up while we were there.If we made a habit out of not asking for permission before entering someones property we would have a lot more complaints on the BBB site and lawsuits against us. Also, if we left wood onto someones property on a daily basis the same complaints wood occur. Also, the fence was never broken or we would have fixed it right away. This complaint was never told to us on the phone and this is the first that we have heard  about it on the BBB complaint. I am sorry this lady is upset but we do not understand why our company should have to suffer a complaint for their regrets. Also, she is correct on the $250 charge for coming back out. This is a standard charge our our industry. It would have been free if we had permission while the work is being performed. We cannot pay out with no money coming in to run the company. I hope that you can understand and really take this into consideration. It is not our intent to be unreasonable.
Have a nice day.

****** ******
M & S Wesley Tree Service

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The wood cutters asked to have permission to enter our property before they began cutting. There was no reason to give them permission to drive their equipment on to our property to do the cutting. Is there some unwritten law that gives wood cutters permission to allow a tree to fall on a neighbor's property when they are cutting it on someone else's property? Yes, we told the man he could not come on our property to cut the tree. No, the man did not come and accept responsibility for a tree falling on to our property. Those are two very different items. This would be setting the rule that if the TREE FELL ON OUR HOUSE that the company would not be held responsible any more than the fact that the tree fell on our fence and on to our property. The man did not ask permission to come on our property to clean up afterward. He asked permission to come on our property before they began cutting.

Business Response: ****** ****** has been responding to this but she is out of the office this week. ******, our foreman, had talked to her husband in the back yard and he told ****** that their insurance would not let anyone on their property under any circumstances. We do apologize for the oak limb that had fallen on the other side of the fence. No damages had been done to the fence; only a limb had fallen. Normally neighbors are happy to give us permission to clean anything up that goes on their side, but we were told that it was an insurance issue that under no circumstances, so we do not go on someones property without permission because that is against our company policy. We were asked after we left to come back, which would be a 30 minute drive back up to go get this limb. We would be happy to have done it while we were completing the job because that was the job at hand, but once we leave, it costs a lot more for us to have to send guys back with the fuel costs and over head. We said we would be happy to for the $250/hr to cover the overhead. I spoke with ****** that talked to Mrs. ****** and he said the husband was in the back yard, so if she could kindly talk to her husband about how he had told ****** we did not have permission that would be great. ****** did not ask to cut the tree on her side of the property because we did not need her side in order to remove the tree. We just wanted to make sure that the debris would be all cleaned up. Thank you. 

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Wesley 1500.00 to take down 2 large oak trees. I told him where the wood was to be placed and it was to be in 16in rounds. There were some that 22 7 26in. The 2 crotches were huge, probably 3 to 4 hundred lbs ea. His crew did not place the the rounds where they were to be and in crushed 3 oleander plants and destroyed a planter. They left after dark and the next morning I went out and found the biggest mess. I had to hire 2 men to finish getting the wood and cleaning our yard.

Desired Settlement: Return 500.00 of my money that it took to clean up a very very poor job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Mr. ***** had recieved a estimate for work to be done at his home to remove two large oak trees for a price of 2500 dollars, this would include the removal of all debris and wood as well as having the stumps cut as low as possible. Mr. ***** was unhappy about the price, so he called in to the office later asking us to reduce the price. Our office felt it would be ok to help out a repeat customer so it was then approved by our office to do the work for 1743 dollars, this would include the removal of the debris and wood. Mr. ***** still was unhappy with the price so he asked us if he could pay 1500 dollars and we could leave the wood so he can sell it in the future to try and make money back. Our company approved the price for him and scheduled the work to be completed. Upon arrival at Mr. ****** home he asked us to move all the wood to the left side of his driveway, which was never previously discussed, so we told him that normally this would cost extra because it takes more time but we would help him out. Our crew set up the work zone to protect people and property by placing plywood over the grass and rocked areas, as well as garbage cans over smaller delicate plants and cones over sprinklers. We did the work that we agreed on and our crew was very respectful and helpful to this client as they always are. Mr. ***** was very disrespectful to our staff and verbally abusive to our foreman and office manager because he felt that wood down to the 1 inch diameter should be cut into firewood and left there instead of going through a 12 inch chipper. Our foreman explained to Mr. ***** that this would take to much time for the job and it should have been discussed with the estimator prior to work beginning. At the end of the job Mr. ***** expected our crew to move all of this wood to his neighbors property at this time it was explained again to Mr. ***** that this was not in our description of work and it would be easier to remove the wood than to keep moving it around. Mr. ****** property was protected, the contract was fulfilled and extra work was done at a already discounted rate at no extra cost to Mr. *****. I feel Mr. ***** felt he made a mistake in wanting the wood after he figured out how big and heavy it was. He could have paid the price on the contract and had the wood removed for a extra 243 dollars so I do not understand why he would pay someone else 500 dollars to remove it later. To sum this up I feel Mr. ***** is a very unhappy person and nothing can make him happy, he is a client that I do not wish upon any company. We will not do any more work for this man in the future due to his verbally abusive anger issues. He called our Foreman a little f** *******. This is a very unfortunate circumstance. We tried to help Mr. ***** more than once. I feel he is trying to take advantage of our kindness. In which makes it very difficult for business owner's to keep their reputation that we work very hard for. Thank you, for your time and understanding.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on M & S Wesley Tree Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart