Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Evergreen Arborists

Phone: (530) 757-2548 Fax: (530) 661-7178 View Additional Phone Numbers 1296 E Gibson Rd Pmb 231, Woodland, CA 95776

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Evergreen Arborists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Evergreen Arborists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1986 in CA Business incorporated 01/07/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00751206.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Miles Danforth, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Miles Danforth, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Plants - Interior Design & Maintenance

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, checks, Visa, Mastercard and Discover.
Alternate Business Names
Evergreen Arborists, Inc
Products & Services

Evergreen Arborists specializes in tree care services.

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring a Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Evergreen Arborists has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1296 E Gibson Rd Pmb 231

    Woodland, CA 95776


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Evergreen Arborists gave me an estimate for work to be done at my home and the home of my son, which is adjacent to mine. I had used Evergreen before and they had cut off foliage from a volunteer palm which had sprouted in front of my Mugo Pine. It had sprouted again and I had asked on this visit what could be done to permanently get rid of it. The estimator said they would again remove the foliage for free or they could grind the stump for $75. They included $75 in the estimate for that purpose. When the workers arrived on March 17th to complete the work they informed me that it was not possible to grind the stump without killing the pine. Instead they spent about 10 minutes cutting the foliage and "digging out a couple of roots with hand tool." I told them I would hang on to the check which my son had left with me for the total amount of the work for the two properties ($1250) and discuss the adjustment for the work not done with ******** (the office person). My son was also interested in having an additional amount of work done which was not included in the original estimate.I did speak with ******** on March 19th regarding the price adjustment and the request for some additional service. She advised that she would check into the matter and call me back. When I had not heard from her within the next three days, I elected to call Mr. ******** regarding the matter. He came by my house on March 25th to discuss the matter. We agreed verbally that he would credit me with a refund of $37.50 and apply it to the additional work for which he would charge an additional $50 and schedule to be done the following week. At his request, I gave Mr. ******** the the check for the total amount, trusting that the agreement we made would be honored.The work was not done as promised and I have not received a refund for the amount credited. I sent Evergreen Arborists a certified letter on April 7th requesting that our agreement be honored. I have not received a response from the company to date.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a check in the amount of $37.50.

Business Response: I will keep this brief.I did meet with Mrs. ********** and made the verbal agreement she referenced. My office manager made at least 3 attempts to schedule the extra work she requested. Each attempt was met with resistance due to her not feeling like walking over and opening the gate or some other excuse.  Keep in mind this was about a 20 minute job, and we made multiple attempts to try and get it done.  We schedule 8 men daily and perform an average of $3,500 per day in work. Most customers are agreeable to our schedule. We cannot schedule a 20 minute job when it exactly pleases the customer. They must be flexible.  I have mailed a check for the $37.50 to Mrs. **********.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Information provided in the complaint is untrue. 

As per our agreement of March25th, Mr. ******** was to have completed the additional work during the week of March 30th, during which time his workers would be in my area. As he had indicated that they would need to access the neighbor's property to complete the work, I had asked that they contact  me ahead of time as I would need to notify the neighbors and make arrangements for dogs at both properties. 

Since March 25th, I have  only been contacted once by anyone from Evergreen Arborists.  It was a tree trimmer who called in  the mid-morning on May 7th---8 days after Mr. ******** received the complaint I filed.  He indicated that he was in the area and wanted to come by at that tie to complete the work. I was on my way out the door to begin an out of town  trip and could not accommodate him.

Additionally, as I stated in my complaint,  my desired outcome, after waiting a month for Mr. ******** to satisfy our agreement is to receive a check in the amount of $37.50  for the credit which we agreed .  I have not received that check to date and will advise you when and if I do.  

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the check has been received, as it was sent to her son's address. 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Evergreen Arborists
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart