Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Tree Care

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 224-4736 View Additional Phone Numbers 6500 16th St, Rio Linda, CA 95673

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Tree Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Advanced Tree Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2007 Business started: 05/27/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 933050.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Jeffrey Newrider, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Jeffrey Newrider, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring a Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Advanced Tree Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2316 Mogan Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95838 (866) 713-9340 (916) 224-4736

  • 6500 16th St

    Rio Linda, CA 95673


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ******** had an employee reach out to my household on his behalf, to see if were interested in having his company remove a tree and another tree's stump. During this exchange, my mother advised that we were only interested in the tree stump removal. The employee and my mom verbally agreed upon it costing $100. **** later contacted my mother via phone and stated when his team could do the job and again, reiterated the $100 cost. When the team arrived on 4/27/16 to do the job, they noticed a nearby bush was cut down and said it wasn't there before. My mother asked how much extra would it cost to remove the rest of the bush and pack up the pieces that were already cut. The same employee that had given my mom the card said **** was in his car in a meeting and he'd check. **** came out of his car and told her it would cost an extra $60. My mom agreed and paid a total of $160 after the job was completed to the same person that gave her the card. This employee counted the money and said my mom was short. She told him it was $100 for the tree and $60 for the bush but the employee said he needed to discuss it with ****. He again went to ****'s car and came back and said his boss would speak with her when his meeting completed. **** called my mom and in a threatening tone said he would file a claim against her if she didn't pay. She told him fine and advised me of the situation. When I spoke with **** the next day, he immediately tried to intimidate me on the call by saying he would file a claim against me and ultimately have a lien placed against our home. **** claimed the original cost to take out the stump was $250 but that he was giving her a $100 discount. I advised **** there was a miscommunication and it appeared he was trying to take advantage and intimidate my mother.

Desired Settlement: It's important for other potential customers to be aware of ****'s tactics and the miscommunication between him and his employees - the impression I got is he thought he could take advantage of an older woman with an accent. I do not appreciate him taking a threatening tone with myself, or my mother, and I encourage others to take their business elsewhere. If **** thought there was an issue with the amount paid, then he should have discussed this with us professionally as he sought our business.

Business Response: I have reviewed the below complaint and disagree.  I provided a fair price quote upfront.  This was a very small job and a fair price of $200.00 which was agreed on between the undersigned and the property owner- please note that the person submitting the complaint to BBB is not the property owner or the contact to whom agreed upon on price.

When I arrived at the property with my crew went right to work, the property owner was present during the work being completed once finished the owner came out and asked if we could remove an additional branch from their tree- we did at no additional cost.  During cleanup and loading the trucks the property owner ran out and only gave my foreman a check in the amount $150. ($50.00 short) I was notified and immediately called the property owner she apologized and said it was a mistake and to stop by in the morning and she would provide me with an additional check in the of $50.00. I returned to the property as agreed and no one would answer the door.  I attempted collection to no avail.

Best regards,
**** ********
Advanced Tree Care Services

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Advanced Tree Care
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart