Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Shift Management, Inc.

Phone: (916) 381-4700 Fax: (916) 381-4768 View Additional Phone Numbers 1060 National Dr Ste 3, Sacramento, CA 95834 http://www.smitrans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shift Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Shift Management, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shift Management, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 1995 Business started: 11/30/1990 in CA Business started locally: 11/30/1990 Business incorporated 11/20/1990 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 174871.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ervin F. Kral III, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ervin F. Kral III, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Differentials - Automobile Transmissions - Truck, Tractor Cylinders - Rebuild & Repair Wholesalers & Distributors

Products & Services

Shift Management Inc. rebuilds Domestic and Imported Wholesale Transmission.


Additional Locations

  • 1060 National Dr Ste 3

    Sacramento, CA 95834 (800) 242-8727 (916) 381-4700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new rebuilt transmission and torque converter online. I asked SMI if they could adjust the linkage correctly. They said sure and that it would be no problem. My car has been running a 200r4 transmission for the last 5 years with no problem. So I am not changing to a different transmission just a new rebuilt of the same kind. They called to say that they would need to drop the transmission and convert it to a lock out transmission. Paying them almost $700. They told me I needed a new torque converter but they did not give me back my other one. It still did not shift correctly. Took it back to them again. Again they said it was ready. And again on the way home I found the car did not shift correctly. I drove it back and Red the owner test drove it and said it needed a Servo. He said I should just have them rebuild the transmission. Remember this is a new rebuilt transmission. And if they can not even get the shift lever to shift in the correct position after 3 visits. I called **** several times. I wanted to talk to Red. But **** kept telling me he is busy but he promised Red would call. No phone call ever came in. I called several times. Now after 2 months of waiting for a phone call and the car not shifting correctly I really feel like first gear is now a problem from all the slipping it has done for the 2 months. But their response was to offer to rebuild a the new rebuilt transmisson. That they had already been inside of and if anything were wrong I would think they would have seen it. So to me they are using the old bate and switch game. The lets tell him it needs rebuilding because we have not been able to make it shift properly. They knew it was a new rebuilt, they had it opened up so if they had seen anything wrong they should have said so at that time. I am sure all transmission shops rebuild transmissions the same way only different material vendors parts but rebuilt the same way.

Desired Settlement: I feel they should repair the first gear that is now slipping and make sure the car shifts correctly like it is suppose to. Or refund all my money because they have not completed what they said they would do for my car.

Business Response: Tell

The conversion 200R4 transmission that Mr. ********* is referencing was purchased from another vender out of Florida. Mr. ********* had another automotive shop install the unit, but they were unable to adjust the linkage. Mr. ********* brought the vehicle to us to adjust the linkage. The customer picked up the vehicle, returned a few days later unhappy with the way the lockup felt. It worked correctly, he just didn’t like the way it felt. He then decided to convert the unit to a non-lockup in order to achieve a firm shift. Keep in mind that this unit is not ours. We only converted the unit. To achieve and install the non-lockup requires removing the unit, removing the front pump, installing a non-lockup valve and provided a non-lockup torque converter. We converted the customers torque convert in to a non-lockup, there for there isn’t one to return to the customer.

The customer brought the vehicle back again, unhappy with the feeling of the non-lockup. We suggested to change the servo, thus providing a firmer shift. It was expressed to the customer that the work we are providing is simply a band aid effect since we don’t know how the transmission was built. The servo was not installed.

All transmissions shops are not the same. Going through and tearing down a unit is much more intensively involved then just removing the front pump. One cannot identify how a transmission is built simply by removing a front pump.

Our professional opinion is that the unit Mr. ********* purchased works fine. We feel that the unit was not built to his specification / preference.

It was expressed to Mr. ********* that without going through the unit and making the necessary adjustments, we can only adjust the linkage and try to achieve his request the best we can.

us why here...

Business Response: This is the first time we have heard about any slipping with in the transmission. Only the adjustment of the linkage has been mentioned and addressed. In order to fix any slipping with in the Transmisson , the unit has to be torn down and gone through. My suggestion would be to address this issue with the supplier, since the unit is under warranty. FYI; should you choose to let another shop disassemble the unit , this will void any warranty. Unless you get permission from the supplier . 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

 

          So soon they forget or change what I had told them. I came back each time telling them that the transmission was not shifting correctly and that it seemed to slip between shifts. They seem to hear or say what they want and not what I told them. And as for returning the transmission to the vendor they voided my warranty when they opened it up to change things.  They blame everything on others and do not live up to their word. So bottom line I would not use this company again.


9/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a remanufactured transmission from Shift Management, Inc. through ******** **** ***** in 2009 or 2010. The first transmission I put in my truck lasted for a grand total of about 3500 feet before it gave out completely. I was able to return this one to ******** and get a warranty replacement. When the warranty replacement arrived, the shifter arm was incorrect. Upon contacting Shift Management, they told me I should have read the tag which told me I might have to change the shift arm out. However, this involved complete disassembly of the lower portions of the transmission to do so and is therefore not a task any normal consumer should be expected to perform. After some debate, I was able to get Shift Management to have the correct shift arm swapped in, as it should have been all along. Now, a few years later, a steel band broke in the transmission. The truck was not a daily driver and therefore had under 10,000 miles on the transmission. I called Shift Management to find out about this being a warranty issue as the transmission didn't even have 10,000 miles on it. However, the first person I spoke to told me that their 18 month/18,000 mile warranty was no longer in effect, despite the fact that the transmission had barely made it through half of the warranty mileage. Upon further debate and speaking to a manager, it was offered to do work on the transmission for the cost of parts if I shipped it from Phoenix to Sacramento (over $200 EACH way). As the shipping costs were completely unreasonable, I took it to a local transmission shop to get repaired. Upon disassembly, the shop found that the torque converter, provided by Shift Management, was failing and putting metal through the transmission, resulting in premature wear and damage to a number of parts. The transmission essentially required a complete overhaul, AGAIN. In addition, the shop felt that a number of parts were inappropriately reused and not replaced as they typically should have been in a remanufacture.

Desired Settlement: Because the transmission had to be re-overhauled after not even 10,000 miles, and shipment to California would have been completely unreasonable in terms of both cost and time, I would like to request reimbursement of all or some of the cost to repair the transmission locally.

Business Response: In response to a letter from the BBB of a complaint form ***** **** ******* regards to a product failure. Mr. ******* stated he purchased a FOC4 transmission from Oreillys store in 2009 or 2010. This puts the unit 3.5 to 2.5 years out of SMI warranty. And 2 to 1 year out of Oreilly's warranty.
In response to Mr. ******* statement about the shifter arm being incorrect. Having to change out the shifter arm on C4 (FORD) units is very frequent due to the fact Ford has such a variety of linkages on obsolete vehicles. This is stated by a tag that is wired to the unit. The consumer is advised to have the unit installed by a licensed shop when unable to perform the required task. SMI will not honor any labor claims when our unit is installed by an unlicensed shop. This is stated on our warranty tag attached to the unit. Mr. *******  purchased the unit from ******** and ******** ordered the unit from SMi. Therefore our customer is ********s. When Mr. ******* contacted SMI and talked with the president of  SMI in regards to his transmission. It was offered out of good gesture  to fix his unit for free (with out inspecting the unit first) if he absorbed the cost of freight to and from SMI.  This was not acceptable to Mr. *******. He felt the he could get the unit repaired cheaper by a local shop then what the cost of freight would cost him for SMI to fix the unit. It was explained to him that SMI would not pay for another shop to repair a unit that was so far out of warranty and that once the unit was repaired thus disassembled by another shop that the unit is no longer an SMI unit it would be the property of that shop.
All automatic transmissions  re manufactured by Shift Management Inc meet or exceed original manufactures specifications and are re manufactured to the Sate of California Bureau of Automotive repair guidelines. SMI made an honest effort to assist Mr. *******.


Thank You
****** ****
Shift Management Inc.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I have already mentioned that, yes the transmission was out of warranty by TIMEFRAME ONLY, but by mileage it hadn’t even gotten through half of it.  So essentially since I didn’t drive the truck every day, it feels that I was cheated out of over 50% of my warranty on the transmission.  I am perfectly capable of changing the shift arm, but I was told that opening and disassembling the transmission to do so would void the warranty.  If the warranty won’t cover a DIY install, what is the point of selling it at a DIY auto shop?  This, however is not the issue at hand, I simply mentioned the shifter arm and the first transmission not even making it a single mile, to demonstrate what appears to be a severe lack of quality control.  The issue is that the transmission was shipped with MANY sub-standard parts.  I was never told that the unit would be fixed for free, I was told it would be fixed for the price of parts if I were to pay for the shipping (and as I have already mentioned, this was completely unreasonable at $200 EACH WAY, which is more than I paid in labor locally).  Furthermore, this woeful attempt to provide assistance was when it was thought that the broken band was the only issue (a band which, according to the local shop, appears to have just been one that was lying around from another old transmission).  When the local shop disassembled the transmission for estimation purposes, it was found that parts provided by shift management (specifically the torque converter) were faulty and causing premature wear and failure after under 10,000 miles of use.  The transmission I originally had in my truck was original from Ford and lasted over 130,000 miles with almost no issues.  Having lasted only about 8% of that mileage, the SMI remanufacture was clearly not done so to exceed or even meet the quality of an original manufacture’s unit.  While SMI did make an effort to assist, it was severely lacking, and the issue appears to have been brought on by the use of sub-standard parts in the first place.

Business Response: I understand your feelings and am truly sorry more can not be done. Our offer to you was the best we could offer giving the following  circumstances.  

1. the unit is out of SMI & ******** warranty. The warranty was 18000. miles OR 18 months which every comes first. This was also stated on the warranty tag tied to the unit. You agreed to these terms when you purchased and signed your invoice with ********. 
2. you purchased the unit from ******** and ******** purchased the unit from SMI, therefore ******** is our customer.
3.  with out having our unit back for inspection. We have no way of knowing what king of ware and tare the unit sustained over a 4 to 5 year period .
These are very large factors we have to consider as a company 
 
It was offered to you by the president of the company to fix your unit for free as long as you we're willing to absorb the cost of freight to and from SMI. This offer was more then generous considering the circumstances listed above.  This offer was not to your liking. You felt you could get the unit fixed at a local shop cheaper then freight. 
Please understand that this offer is now revoked due to the fact you had the unit disassembled by another shop. 
 
Best Regards,
****** ****
Shift Management Inc

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

It is not helpful, nor is it appreciated that you continually feel the need to repeat things which I already have understood and have already mentioned AND addressed.

YES, I realize the unit is out-of-warranty by TIME ONLY.  YES, I know I agreed to warranty terms upon purchase.  This does not change the fact that the unit was coming apart after not much more than HALF the warranty mileage, if even that much.

So my understanding now is that because you are a vendor for ********, you don’t care as much about those who will actually use your product.  With that I will reiterate, why sell units through a DIY auto shop if you do not wish to support those who do DIY work on their vehicles?

To address your comment about the kind of WEAR and TEAR on the unit in the time since I bought it (if you read the initial complaint, I purchased the first unit on 3/22/2010, so it is a 4 year, 5 month period, not including the time when the first unit failed after not even a single mile): the unit had UNDER 10,000 miles in that period, this should not have been enough mileage to cause a failure, regardless of the time frame in which that mileage was put on the transmission.  A transmission (especially the torque converter as in this unit failure) fails from mileage in-use, not from sitting in a driveway.

Again I will reiterate, the offer I was told was that the unit would be fixed for the cost of parts if I covered shipment.  The shipping alone would have outweighed the cost of labor by double.  Either way, when the local shop disassembled the transmission, it appeared to them that the transmission had failed because the torque converter had been coming apart, causing premature wear and failure.  If this is the way your work holds up in-use, I have no interest in your repairs, even if they are free.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shift Management, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)