This business is not BBB accredited.

Pro Trans

Phone: (530) 722-9500 Fax: (530) 722-9595 1113 Center Street, Redding, CA 96001 http://prftrans.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pro Trans include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Trans include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Pro Trans
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2002 Business started: 04/25/2000 Business started locally: 04/25/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 211548.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steven Shaidell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Shaidell, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

Pro Trans provides complete automotive services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pro Trans has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1113 Center Street

    Redding, CA 96001 (530) 722-9500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 06/15 I took my 2002 dodge ram 1500 to pro trans. They replaced a heater core, ac compressor , throttle position sensor, evap core total came to $2497.00 my invoice said I had a 1yr warranty. On 10/26/2015 I noticed a lot of leaking fluids under my truck and I lifted up the mate in the truck and notice antifreeze all over my carpet. I called pro trans and Steve said to bring it down. He said he will look at it and call me back same day, I let him know I think it was the heater core he had just replaced. I never received a call that Monday so I called back the next day. He said it was the heater core but I needed to be patient with him because it's an 8hr job he now has to do for free. He was yelling at me. I told him I wasn't wanting to rush just checking on time. The next day came and still no call on my vehicle , I called again that evening and he said your trucks ready but you can't get it until the morning. He was still upset and very rude about the situation . The next morning my wife went to pick up the vehicle . She was informed at pick up that the dash cracked when he took it off because of the previous work done to it. I let him know he was the only one that had every worked on it. He argued with her about it. My wife wasn't going to get into a fight with this man so she said she would take the truck and look at it. The dash was broken into 8 different pieces all vents facing the windshield were broken out. The stereo is loose where it sits in the dash and only gets 4 stations so I know the antenna is loose. The area that the air bag goes on the passenger side can be pushed in like there is no air bag in place the passenger side vent aren't aligned with the dash. The dash light on the speedometer don't light from10-50mph . My trucks dash was I. Perfect condition prior to bringing it in. It always has a cover on it since it was purchased to keep it from sun damage. He refused to fix it even after bringing it back. He was so rude and unprofessional. I question his work still loud fans .

Desired Settlement: I would like for my money to be fully refunded so I can pay another shop to complete the repairs or have him fix all the issues and replace the dash. Because of the poor work and distraction on the dash and still very loud fan noises coming from the dash when I accelerate I don't want to bring my vehicle back but if it's the only way to have this matter resolved I understand. I just need a good working vehicle for my family that doesn't look like an anger mechanic beat it up because he was mad.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a slow dripping leak in one transmission hose. We received a quote from Pro-Trans of "no more than $400" to replace the hose and replace filter & fluid. The repair bill was $409.41 and written on the invoice is "Replaced Hose Assembly with High Pressure Hose to Repair Trans Fluid Leak". We were told that this high pressure hose would last a lot longer. One year later, on 12/23/2013 we were in Luling, Texas. As we accelerated at an intersection, the transmission would not engage. ALL the transmission fluid had poured out. Looking underneath we could see that the hose had come apart at a point where it had been connected with 3 hose clamps. Our transmission hose had not been replaced, it had been patched!! We have had email communication with Pro-Trans owner, ******* ********. He agreed to reimburse us $300 and we accepted, but he did not come through on this agreement. In Texas, we had to be towed to the dealership. They replaced all 3 transmission lines with new for $545. ******* at Pro-Trans was dishonest in his service and overcharged us.

Desired Settlement: $391.03 Service Bill (less cost of Filter)$137.00 Towing$528.03

Business Response: The company states that the consumer was fully aware that they were not getting new hoses, he put in a hose assembly. The bill included the transmission service and the labor, they were not charged for any hoses. The invoice they were given stated 3 months/3,000 mile warranty and that they do not take care of towing charges. This consumer received a deal on the work and the bill. The consumer is not entitled to anything more.

10/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had shop install new seals in transmision and transfer case, rebuild transmision and install new part that was broken (trans tailhousing). Took vehicle into shop on 3-07-2013. They inspected vehicle and told me would be $1650 to resolve the issues and would take aprox a week to be fixed, I agreed and they went ahead with the repairs. The transmision had broke at the rear tailhouseing such is a replacable part. And they were to fix the transfer case leak. I called a week later and vehicle wasn't ready and couldn't give date upon estimate for completion. It wasn't till 3-24-2013 I was told truck was done so I drove down to pick up vehicle, the transfercase was still leaking so they had to pull into shop and fix the issue. 3-25-2013 vehicle was ready to pick up when I showed up at the shop the price drastically changed to $2000.31.. and was informed it had a 1 year 12000 mile warranty and that he would need for me to pay in cash. On 7-19-2013 I notice drips of oil on my driveway and took back into the shop pro trans and he had truck for about 50min then notified me that the part that was replaced had cracked again and that's were it was leaking. He tried blaming "something in the truck is causing it to break" but his tecnician looked it over and could not find any clearance issues. Then informed me to keep fluid in it and he would find another new part. Assuming he would be replacing under warranty. On 8-25-2013 I went to pro trans and talked to ***** the owner and asked what was going on that I need to have my truck fixed. ***** at pro trans then said he can find that part no problem and that he would only charge me half of what the original repair costs where and that he would not repair under warranty.

Desired Settlement: Everytime I call pro trans I am told something different from ***** and if I go into the shop he acts as if he doesn't care its not his problem. When u install parts u should make sure everything is going to be ok and not guess. Especially if transmisions is the shops specialty. He doesn't do what he says and tries to nickel and dime clients and aparently not a good job. From the customer service and run around I was giving I do not feel comfortable with pro trans servicing any of my vehicles let alone repair. I took the truck to another reputable transmision shop to have them inspect everything and fix anything that needs to be. Basically re do pro trans work. My overall goal is to get my truck fixed whether pro trans pays for the cost of the repairs or to refund my money as he is refusing warranty work and delaying the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This was a repair, not a Rebuild. It is out of Warranty, As the invoice and complaint shows. I offered a solution, but he declined.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This was not just a repair. ***** had to tear down my complete transmision and he is the one that verbally told me on the phone and in a voicemail wich I still have on my phone that the cluth and syncros and all internal parts are fine. On my receipt it states I have a 1 year warranty and XXXXX mile warranty, I am not even close to the mileage warranty, the vehicle has 2356 miles on it after his service. And not even a year after service, its been 4 months due to ***** at pro trans giving me the run around and not following back up with his customer. If all parts were good when he tore town and rebuilt trans then why did all the internal parts incluiding bearings fail in the transmision in sush short mileage after service, and why did he install a used tailhousing that had stress cracks? He installed used old bad parts that he knew would fail. If it was a repair he wouldn't of had to disassemble my entire transmision, in his voicemail it clearly states that ***** says "we have to tear down the entire transmision and rebuild it. Please call me back and I can give further information, your estimate is $2050.00". I have all my old parts that ***** claims that had no issues, I also have a receipt from another trans shop that noted the bearings and syncros were bad and ***** at pro trans should of seen it because the items had severe play. It also states that the houseing and shift forks failed due to improper installation and had clearances issues inside the trans and why the truck would vibrate. I can take him to small claims cour and file a formal complaint with bar with all the evidence and findings regarding ***** at pro trans but I would prefer ***** to come to a resolution as I do not want to take matters further and find a peaceful agreemant as a refund or him to reimburse me for my receipt of having another shop fix what ***** mechanic at pro trans obviously could not.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Pro Trans
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart