Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fletcher's Transmissions

Phone: (916) 925-7706 Fax: (916) 925-9815 2545 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815 http://www.fletcherstrans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fletcher's Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fletcher's Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fletcher's Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1952 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 143752.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Carver, Owner Ms. Peggy Carver, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Carver, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Products & Services

Fletcher's Transmission specializes in transmission service, repair, and rebuild.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 2545 Del Paso Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 925-7706

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 2014 had Fletcher's rebuild my transmission on 2003 Mazda Tribute ES. The total cost of the rebuild was $1700.00. I had a local mechanic remove and replace the rebuild which was another $2000.00. I do VERY little driving. In fact, less than 8000 miles since the rebuild! I don't EVER tow and hadn't even attempted to tow until Friday April 3rd 2015, an empty 4X8 U-Haul as I had a part-time consulting job waiting for me in Seattle. I mention this as **** the owner indicated that based off his analysis of my transmission he believes I towed constantly since his rebuild, which is patently false. As I was backing into U-Haul to connect the trailer, I had a slight problem getting the vehicle into reverse. I thought, I KNOW!!!! We hooked up the trailer, when I put into gear, the vehicle would not move! The attendant was standing there watching the whole thing unfold. After several attempts, turning off restarting, sliding into gear, I was able to pull forward, however, the moment I stopped, the transmission came out of gear. So yes I towed, 15'. I promptly returned to U-Haul and was refunded the cost and my deposit THE SAME DAY SAME HOUR ALMOST SAME MINUTE, yet **** will not warranty his work! Being he is MONK, he told me on the phone the trailer ball showed signs of wear and that if he had KNOWN I was towing would have never rebuilt my transmission. He also lied telling me he contacted the manufacturer and said they told him my 2003 Mazda/Ford Tribute/Escape wasn't made to tow period. Below are the manufacturers specs, public to all. Sadly, I'm suing in small claims and it will be costly for Fletcher's transmission. Weights and CapacitiesMAXIMUM TOWING CAPACITY 2000 lbs. DRAG COEFFICIENT.41 Cd CURB WEIGHT3455 lbs. CARGO CAPACITY, ALL SEATS IN PLACE33.1 cu.ft. MAXIMUM CARGO CAPACITY63.9 cu.ft.

Desired Settlement: Initially I just wanted my transmission fixed, and fixed correctly this time. **** said after inspecting that this transmission was fried, his words. Well I have done NOTHING in any way that would somehow make ME liable for his poor workmanship. I also learned that my vehicle was not serviced by **** or his top transmission mechanic (apparently they had a falling out), and my transmission was one of the first ones his replacement did. And it's MY fault. I drove less than 8000k miles.

Business Response:

The complaint ******* ********** is not my customer. He is the customer of ***** *********. Who is my customer.

***** brought me the transmission out of a tribute for a bench rebuild. I only did this because ***** worked for Anything Automotive at this time. When the transmission was brought to me there was no mention o a tow hitch at this time. I do not know where the removal or installation of the transmission was performed.

The work was performed around 4/7/14, ***** picked up the transmission around 4/24/14. Not, on 7/1/14 as stated in the complaint. The claim amount of $2000.00 for removal and installation is not what ***** ********* stated to me during a phone conversation. ***** stated he charged $75.00 for R&R. According to all data the r&r time is 8.6 hours.

The rebuild technician that was used, has 20 years experience rebuilding transmissions.

***** ********* was told that I require the vehicle after installation for a test drive and inspection. As, I require of all shops and mobile mechanics that I deal with. I also require the license and mileage of the vehicle. This was not done on the vehicle in question.

I called done some research on the mazda in question. And, found out thru Maita mazda parts department that is tribute by vin. #4f2cz96143km01227 does not come with the tow package option from the factory.

the cd4e transmission is considered a light duty transmission. And if it was known to me at that time it had a tow hitch I would not have built it the first place.

Enclosed:

1 copy of the original work order

1 copy of a print out from alldata

***** ******

Fletchers Transmissions

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  **** will not stand by his work. I never towed and the tranny still went with very low miles on the rebuild. It is NOT my fault and your business owner doesn't get it. I asked for a refund of only his portion and he flattly denied my request. Nope, this is going to court where Fletchers can learn the law at a terrible price. To think its my fault ****'s shop did poor work is unacceptable. And for him to refuse my refund request goes beyond comprehension. I only want my money back at this point. ****'s arrogance is gonna be costly to him in court.  See ya there!!!!

Business Response:       The offer made to our customer ***** ********* still stands, we will warranty  all defective parts and workmanship, as per our last response.    Fletchers transmission  **** ******

Consumer Response:

Hello,

 

In the last response to me from Fletcher’s Dave indicates I am NOT his customer.  According to my records I indeed paid Dave directly from TWO accounts for his work on MY transmission.  For Dave to make such an insinuation indicates he is desperate and unprofessional.

 

Please communicate such to Fletcher’s transmission. 

 

Thanks kindly,

 

******* ** **********

7732 Smoley Way

Citrus Heights, CA 95610

 

If you think you can do a thing or think you can't do a thing, you're right ~Henry Ford

10/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Replace Steering Gear Box Change that one put another one in still leaking broken my front window broken both tie rods etc. Told me dont want to have anything else to do with my car, said dont have the righ tools and more things or getting broken. Cannot travel to work in car . When turning the wheel and backing up their is a popping noise.

Desired Settlement: My money back or fix the problem. $191.40 (cash) + $131.40 (CC) Missing sub frame bolts + broken windshield + catalytic converter. Fix steering rack problem. $23 x 3 oil cans.

Business Response:

This is a response to the above numbered complaint. When the customer first brought her car to us for a power steering leak, she stated that she had an unlicensed mechanic IE. (***** **** ) do the first power steering gear box replacement with a used unit that the Customer provided. When the car was put up on a lift it was noted that the return line from the box was leaking. The hose leaked so bad that fluid was everywhere. The customer authorized the repair. The replacement of the return hose was completed. Also the technician noted that possibly, there was bolts missing from the sub-frame. And, we recommended an alignment shop or *** dealership to check the front end and sub-frame.

The customer left here she went to an alignment shop. The alignment shop told the customer that the steering gear box was still leaking. The customer returned to us where we confirmed the other shops findings. So, then the customer asked if we would help get a warranty from the used part supplier. They agreed to warranty it. We quoted a price to install the second used power steering gear box that the customer supplied. We installed the used steering box.  We, also recommended to take the car to a car wash to get off as much fluid as possible.

She went back to the alignment shop where they told her that we damaged a tie rod end boot and that the center link was on backwards preventing a proper alignment. We did not remove the center link during our repairs. We attempted to put the center link on correctly as the alignment shop stated. We found that the center link can only go on one way. In attempting  this our tool damaged the seals on the center link, at that point we purchased and Installed a new tie rod end and center link at no charge to the customer.

The windshield had a rock chip where the crack began. We did perform a road test after we installed the steering  box, the road test was once around the block at the speed limit. The windshield was cracked when it first arrived at our shop.

The catalytic converter is an item we had nothing to do with.

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** *******, Took my truck into Fletcher's Transmission on 3/8/12. I wanted them to upgrade my transmission to pull my 7000 lbs Trailer. The service asked was not fulfilled and extra was added that was not requested. There was no difference after they supposedly upgraded my transmission for the cost of $3997.52. I took my truck back three times because it would not shift into the third gear. They told me it is some other problem not theirs. After the third time I finally had to take it to another shop. I took the truck to L & L Transmission, they told me they would tear down the transmission and tell me what was wrong. They found that only part of the transmission was upgraded and it only had factory clutches. After they rebuilt the transmission, The truck shift fine and has more power and is able to pull my trail much better. The cost for service was $2089.93.

Desired Settlement: I would like payment in full for $3997.52 from Fletcher Transmission.

Business Response: re. ****** ******* complaint.  The transmission that we built for 1993 Dodge truck was built heavy duty .The clutches in question where not factory clutches. They are what we recommend & installed in the unit.These were Borg Warner.These are among the very best clutches in the industry.I will provide BBB with documentation for every part we built the transmission with.I will call for an appointment with BBB & bring docs.to you.  Sincerely ***** ******

Business Response: In response to the BBB complaint# ********, the following is an explanation of the parts put into the complaint. The documents that are enclosed shows the parts that were put into the transmission were heavy duty parts. The planets that were put into the transmission are heavy duty upgrades, the friction clutches are Borg Warner, recalibration kit, and the torque converter are all part of the heavy duty package. Enclosed are the invoices that show all the parts that were installed in the transmission. Also; enclosed is a copy of L&L Transmission work order # **** that states there was nothing wrong with the transmission.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I have read Mr. ******* response to my complaint. I do not know transmissions, but I do know that if another transmission shop can build by transmission, with more strength and power, why couldn't Mr.******.
 
I know the parts that he put into my transmission would work but, Mr. ******, did not do what he promised. Mr. ****** stated he could do exactly what I requested, but he did not. I had no more power than when I went into his shop orignally.
 
He, Mr. ******, stated he would  build my transmission to give me more power to pull my 7000lbs 5th wheel trailer. He did not fulfill his promise. After while driving my truck,sometimes, it would not go into 4th gear until I let off my gas pedal and that would slow me down even more where I could not gain my speed back until I went down the hill.
 
I then took my truck back to Mr. ****** and l left it over night. Mr. ****** stated it shifted fine for him. But he then siad I had another problem.
 
I then took it to L & L transmission, who I have done business with before. I then explained that my truck was doing, he stated all i needed was an adjustment on the linkage. He did exactly so and from then on I had no more problems. I then explained what Mr. ****** was suppose to accomplish but he did not. Still no power. L & L Transmission then said he would take a look at my transmission to see what Mr. ****** did L & L Transmission said he could rebuild my transmission with more strength and power. I then requested to have it fixed. L & L Transmission did what the promised. When I drove it, it had 75% more power on hills, Something that should have been corrected by Mr. ******.
 
I then to the conclusion that Mr. ****** did not do what he stated to do. When I originally went to Mr. ******, my transmission did not need rebuilding.I just wanted my truck to pull better.
 
When I came to Mr. ****** originally, I explained I went to another transmission shop (***** ****** **** ******** ***** ********** ** *****,###-###-####) which quoted me $4000.00 for all the work needed. Mr. ****** stated he could do it for less. At the end he was only a saving of $2.00. He then charged me $500.00 for a flex plate when the Dodge dealer charges only $119.22.
 
I could have went to a transmission shop and had my transmission rebuilt for $1500.00, but thats a stock transmission. What I wanted was a transmission that can pull my 7000lbs wheel trailer.
 

Business Response: The engines of all gas and diesel powered car and trucks is what produces the power. The transmission is the component that gives you forward and reverse. The transmission does not produce power. I did not tell Mr. ******* that it would increase power. 

The contract with Mr. ******* was to rebuild the transmission in his 93 dodge 2500 4x4 with a 5.9 diesel, heavy duty. I built the transmission for 3304.15 dollars. Imler Diesel quoted him 4400.00 dollars.

After the removal of the transmission for 3304.15 dollars. Imler Diesel quoted him 4400.00 dollars.

After the removal of the transmission it was found that the flex plate was broken. I contacted Auto nation, and they list the flex plate for 500.00 at the time of the repair. The only way to get a correct price on the flax plate is to use the VIN. The VIN for this truck is 1b7km26c7ps194518 if you contact the dealer you will find the price for the flex plate has gone up to 544.00 dollars.

In the original complaint Mr. ******* stated there was no third gear. In his rejection of my response he states that he had to lift off the throttle pedal to get fourth gear.

If you review the work order from *** ************ it states there was nothing wrong in side the transmission.

This is a response to complaint #*********

Consumer Response:

I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A RESPONSE FROM FLETCHER’S TRANSMISSION AND HAS NOT RECEIVED ONE AS OF YET. I WILL BE GOING ON VACATION 09/17-09/25/2014. I WOULD LIKE TO GET THIS MATTER SETTLED.

I DO NOT CARE WHAT FLETCHER TRANSMISSION SAYS. HE DID NOT GIVE ME WHAT HE PROMISED TO DO. $4000.00 IS A LOT OF MONEY FOR A TRANSMISSION TO BE REBUILT. IF HE COULD NOT FULFILL WHAT HE STATED, HE SHOULD NOT HAVE TAKEN THE JOB.

AS FAR AS *** ************ GOES. HE DID WHAT HE PROMISE TO DO. HE ADJUSTED THE LINKAGE AS A FAVOR. HE DID IT WHEN HE PUT A TRANSMISSION COOLER IN MY TRUCK. AT THAT TIME HE TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEM WITH THE TRUCK NOT GOING INTO 4TH GEAR. I TALKED TO HIM ABOUT REBUILDING IT TO GET MORE POWER. HE SAID HE COULD DO IT A MONTH LATER AND I LET HIM DO IT.

WHEN I GOT MY TRUCK BACK RIGHT AWAY I COULD TELL THE DIFFERENCE. THAT IS WHAT FLETCHER SHOULD HAVE DONE. I AM PLEASED WITH *** ************. HE DID WHAT FLETCHER TRANSMISSION SHOULD HAVE DONE AT HALF THE COST. I AM PLEASED WITH *** ************ AND WILL RECOMMEND THEM TO OTHERS.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fletcher's Transmissions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)