Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Tax Tiger helps individuals and businesses resolve virtually all tax related issues.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tax Tiger meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

64 Customer Reviews on Tax Tiger
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 64
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 64

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 2002 Business started: 10/01/2002 in CA Business incorporated 12/15/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Tax Education Council
Phone Number: (877) 850-2832
The number is 258273.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Hill, CEO Mr. David Krueger, Ops Manager Ms. Patricia Lanning, Tax Tiger Colorado
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Hill, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. David Krueger, Ops Manager
Business Category

Taxes - Negotiators Taxes - Enrolled Agent Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
Upon cancellation, refunds are provided after reconciliation of time/hours spent on case.
Alternate Business Names
Tax Tiger Franchising, LLC
Additional Information

BBB serving northeast California processes complaints regarding all locations of Tax Tiger. The information contained in this report is reflective of that.

Products & Services

Tax Tiger specializes in tax resolution services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Trustworthy Tax Service Tax Preparation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tax Tiger has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tax Tiger was paid for services that were not performed. After no contract was signed and no services rendered refund was requested after several months of getting no response from anyone at Tax Tiger and being past the time frame of being able to dispute charges through ********** our options are limited. This company lied to us and stole our money.

Desired Settlement: I just want the $1000 back that was paid to Tax Tiger.

Business Response:

***** ***** had contacted Tax Tiger on August 6th, 2015, for a free consultation regarding a tax liability she had incurred, as well as needing to file a past tax return. Options for resolution were discussed, and Mrs. ***** agreed to an initial $1000 deposit/fee for investigation with the IRS to determine her liability and which years needed to be filed, and then we would revisit an additional fee upon knowing what resolution services we could provide after the research/investigation was complete. Mrs. ***** agreed to four payments of $250 ea, one on Aug 10th, Aug 14th, Aug 21st, and the last one on Aug 28th.

Over the next eight months we have many actions on their case which include forty-two initiated contacts to Mr. & Mrs. *****. they completely ignored ALL of our emails, phone calls and texts over the right month, until April 13, 2016, when they emailed asking for a refund. We attempted to reach them the same day by phone to get their case on track and to also explain that our work is not free/complementary after they hire our firm. We did not hear back from Mr. and Mrs. ***** and they now reached out to the BBB. Hopefully they receive this explanation via BBB and understand who no refund will be given.

Additionally, we have continued to reach out to Mrs. ***** through voicemail, as recently as today, with no return call or contact.

Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.



***** *******

Director of Operations

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Tax Tiger in September 2015 to assist with my 2012 and 2013 tax liability notices. I paid over $1900.00 for them to investigate and provide direction on next step options. We discussed at the time of setting up the services that the returns in question were joint returns with my ex-husband. We discussed the need for a completion of a POA for their representation and was told I was the only POA needed. I received a call shortly after the services were contracted that the IRS had been contacted on my case and in order to proceed Tax Tiger would require a POA from my ex-husband in order to proceed with their services. Due to some extenuating circumstances causing the inability for our obtaining the POA from my ex-husband; we have not been able to proceed. On February 29, 2016 I formally requested a refund based on the fact that they had been unable to provide the services they were paid for and I could no longer place the investigation and ultimate resolution on hold. I would need to as the taxpayer investigate the issues myself. They refused to any refund stating they had put too many hours of work into the case and my payment had been more than used calculated at their hourly rate of $250.00/hour. I understand perhaps a couple of hours submitting the POA I completed to the IRS and the conversation with the IRS that they had advising them they could not obtain the requested information without my exes POA. Other than that; I have received 4 brief touching base emails and a couple of brief conversations over the phone. The core issue is that Tax Tiger was aware within an extremely short period of time from taking the case that they could not proceed without the additional POA and IF they spent time 'discussing' the case it was to use up my money as they have not been able to provide nor will be able to provide the actual service that was paid for and should be refunded minus perhaps a couple of hours of work

Desired Settlement: I feel a fair resolution is a refund of my payment for services which was a total of $1996.72; less 2 hours of their work at $250.00 per hour. Net refund of: $1496.72

Business Response:

***** ******* contacted and hired Tax Tiger in September of 2015 to investigate her IRS liabilities, negotiate an installment agreement, and abate penalties. After our investigation we recommended Mrs. *******, that we also amend some prior year tax returns which would result in an approximate 90% reduction in the her total tax liability, a substantial savings of approximately $200,000. Mrs. ******* agreed and was very happy with this recommendation. Unfortunately our client’s spouse was sentenced to prison during this process, and apparently refused to cooperate with Mrs. ******* to sign the amendment of the tax return. Mrs. ******* is understandably frustrated with the situation and we feel that frustration is unfortunately misdirected towards Tax Tiger. We have already completed all of the work necessary to finalize the resolution for our agreed to services, but our client did not want to move forward in mid February 2016. We are still willing to submit all of the paperwork that we prepared towards providing the best resolution possible for our client, but as of this response our client is not returning our phone calls. Considering the amount of time and effort we put forth toward this clients case, over 5 ½ months, we believe the fees billed have been earned and are justifiable in accordance with the agreement our client signed and dated in early September 2015. We will not be able to provide a refund based on all factors above, although we will still continue to assist Mrs. ******* in filing the amended return should she so desire, or is able to obtain the cooperation of her spouse.


Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.


***** *******

Director of Operations

(**** ********

8/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested Tax Tiger ****** & ******* to draft a week later. They said they would. They did not and caused our bank account to overdraft since it was tied up for a week until we got paid. During the meantime, we couldn't buy milk and food for the baby let alone get through the week. Anyway, contacted them and they said the financial institution they went through takes 30 days to refund and asked us what we wanted to do. Told them we wanted a refund immediately. They ignored us. After several attempts, they said they would refund us. Instead of refunding us, they billed us again the following week. They hemmed and hawed again and told us it was a systems error. BUll CRAP! Supposedly, they said they would send a check out to refund but no check and they want to charge us again next month. Unbelievable. We went to them seeking help for some tax relief. Instead of helping us, they put us in a worse financial situation being fully aware of our situation. If nothing is done here, then this will be reported to both the California State Bar!!!

Desired Settlement: We asked them what they should do for their error and both of them being attorneys could not think of anything. For starters, they should refund us 1 month payment ($561.68) and pay for our overdraft fee of $34. We understand we had only 2 payments left. We are willing to concede 1 month to them to finish their job and hope they do a better job represent us. We will not accept anything less. We gave them an opportunity to prove to us that they are aware of the problems they caused our us.

Business Response: We have been in communication with the client and they understand that this was an oversight in our billing system related to moving payment dates.  Mr. **** originally agreed to a certain date each month for his payments to be automatically debited, and while we have worked on multiple occasions to adjust Mr. ****'s payment schedule at his request, in July the system was not updated with the request unfortunately, and in our error.  We have not only refunded the $561 charge back to Mr. ****'s credit card, but we have also sent him a check for the inadvertent payment that was charged for an additional $561.  We have asked the client to confirm that they have received both, the credit back to their card in the amount of $561, as well as the check sent directly to them for $561.  We have also offered to cover the bank fees of $36 that were incurred as a direct result of our error.  We apologize for the error and will ensure that our billing system gets updated for all future payments.  We believe the BBB complaint here was a bit unnecessary, since it was made after we already refunded the funds to the client, and have made adjustments to the billing schedule for Mr. ****.  We look forward to a successful resolution Mr. ****'s tax issues, and apologize for any inconvenience we have created.

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Tax Tiger on March 26 of 2015 because I owed money to the IRS. They were supposed to send the documents to the IRS and they hadn't done anything until I received a letter from IRS that I didn't owe any more money. The reason they released it was because I submitted documents to the IRS before and it took about a month to get a response. Tax Tiger charged me $1500 for their service, which I believe they didn't do anything to resolve the IRS issue. I talked to the ****, who works at Tax Tiger, and he told me he would talk to the supervisor and see if they were going to charge me. He got back to me a few days later and told me they were charging me $1,500.

Desired Settlement: I believe I should receive a full refund of $1,500 because I feel that Tax Tiger didn't solve the IRS problem I had. I had submitted the requested paper work to IRS myself. Tax Tiger didn't do their job or anything to solve the issue. All that they claimed to have done was prepare the proper paper work, but they never sent it out to IRS.

Consumer Response: Consumer states: The company has reached out to me and gave me a proper explanation of my return. They have resolved my issues.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Tax Tiger 4/15 to help assist me with old IRS debit problems. My tax liability was $15,000.00. I couldnt resolve my debit without help of a lawyer. I had a lien on my home preventing me from taking a second mortgage to pay off debit. I hired Tax Tiger to help remove the lien and decrease old debit( old penalilites and interest). Immediately, I had a monthly payment to Tax Tiger of $300.00 for 6 months to pay a total of $2000.00. I immediately re-started a payment plan to the IRS for $190.00/mo. After 6 months and i paid my retainer. After 6 months, Tax Tiger began communicating with the IRS about my lien. I contacted Tax Tiger (***** *******)regularly by telephone and email every month starting 4/15. After paying my retainer, Tax Tiger stated the IRS couldnt remove my lien unless I paid a additional $3000.00 cash. I could not. ALso, there was nothing from the iRS stating this. I requested Tax Tiger file a abatement penalty requesting my previous penalities and interest come be removed. Several months later this was done in March 2015. In April 2015, I sold my house due to debit.At that time the IRS was paid $16,000.00. I discussed my debit personal and with ***** ******* from 4/14 to 4/15 with absolute NO HELP FROM TAX TIGER. ALso, she presented herself and firm as legal respresentation and as a lawyer and in fact was not a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: I would to a refund of my attorney fees of $2000.00 paid to Tax Tiger in 2014. Tax Tiger resolved NOTHING with my IRS debit over one year and ultimately misrepresented me.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

******** ***** contacted Tax Tiger in January of 2014 related to an IRS tax liability she had. After speaking with Ms. ***** and analyzing her situation, she was informed based on certain conditions that she did not qualify for a negotiated settlement offer with the IRS, but that we would be able to help her negotiate a reduced payment arrangement and assist with the removal of a tax lien based upon information provided. Ms. ***** retained our services on removal of a tax lien based upon information provided. Ms. ***** retained our services on April 28th, 2014. Upon receiving Ms. *****'s signed client documents; we researched the balances due and ordered transcripts, then decided the best course of action to remove the lien. We established an installment agreement, confirmed with IRS, and scheduled a lien withdrawal request after the third installment payment to the IRS, which is required prior to the evaluation of a lien removal.

Upon submitting a lien withdrawal request to the IRS in August of 2014, we were notified that the request was denied due to an older liability that needed to be settled prior to a release. We informed Ms. ***** of this situation and her options, as well as provided copies of the account transcripts from the IRS related to the liability. Ms. ***** advised us that she could not pay the oldest liability needed in order to remove the tax lien under the current installment agreement, but she did advise us that she was in the process of selling her house, which would settle the entire IRS liability in full based on the equity in the home.

Tax Tiger then submitted a penalty abatement request to the IRS in March 2015 in an effort to further reduce the liability, which is a process that can take upwards of 6 months for the IRS to process, review, and accept/deny. On April 29th, 2015, we received communication from the title company handling the sale of Ms. *****'s residence prior to closing, stating that they had received the tax lien payoff information related to the IRS liability to settle upon the closing of her home. The Title Company advised us the payoff was correct, Ms. ***** advised us of the same, and we confirmed. The only items not included by the IRS into the final liablity were the penalties and interest, which was currently in submission for abatement on each year.

The very next day after verifying the liabilities with title and IRS, as well as verifying that her installment payments would cease, we received this complaint.

Ms. ***** was advised prior to becoming a Tax Tiger client that she did not qualify for an IRS Offer in Compromise, but rather an installment agreement and penalty abatement request. We also informed her that based on the information provided; we felt we could also apply for the removal of the tax lien, and that we would do that at no extra charge. Ms. ***** was charged a flat fee for our services of $1800, an additional $45.45 for breaking our fees up into payments. Tax Tiger worked on Ms. *****'s case for over a year and kept her very informed each step of the way, and have all of our communications documented in our system. Ms. ***** has also received a copy of our case file with all documentation submitted to the IRS.

Tax Tiger has performed every action we told Ms. ***** we would, and we are currently awaiting a final determination on the penalty abatement request submitted on each year that had a liability. Ms. ***** has a spreadsheet outlining all of tax penalties for which we are seeking abatement on.

Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns. 


***** ******* ******** ** ********** ***** *****************************

4/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm having a tax issue. I spoken with SEVERAL tax defense companies!!! Then I get a response from "Tax Tiger" from California. They tell me 500 down and 343 a month for 3 months, plus additional charges for bringing my taxes up to date. They promised penalty abatement, plus others! NOW THEY CLAIM the 1500.00 was just consultant fees, and I owe another 2,500.00 to start taking action!! IRS is willing to settle for 8,500Why would I pay another 1500 to listen to phone sales? THE 1500.00 IM PAYING IS FOR SERVICES TO DROP PENALTIES AND INTEREST , NOT CONSULTANTS !!

Desired Settlement: Ive given 1,200 already,, AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE, After they promised to get state and feds off my back IMMEDIATLEY!! AND THEY HAVE NOT!!

Business Response:

Tax Tiger has five offices nationwide. Sacramento California, San Diego California, San Francisco California, St. Paul Minnesota and Denver Colorado. This customer was serviced at our San Diego California office. Please know that our San Diego California office. Please know that our San Diego office had gone 1,924 days without a complaint, so we are surprised and disappointed to receive one.

The customer, Mr. ******, hired Tax Tiger on February 7, 2015 and we continued working on his matters until April 3, 2015. Mr. ****** signed and dated Tax Tiger's Service Agreement(provided to the BBB) which covered only he service of Researching his back tax liabilities with the IRS and state. The research was 100% completed by a licensed tax professional and presented(with options towards resolution) in a concise and understandable way. The total fee for this service was $1,500.00 which Mr. ****** accepted by signing our fee disclosure(provided to BBB). Mr. ****** has only paid a total of $838.38 towards this service, and although our service was 100% delivered, we agreed to write-off his remaining balance of $656.62 on April 3, 2015.

We have enclosed the necessary signed forms by the client related to the services we provided and the fees. 

Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

9/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The tax Tiger firm quoted a price and keeps jacking up my price. They are the most crooked company i have ever had to deal with. i have cancer and missing so much work, and dont have a leg to stand on but keep paying them. help me***** *****

Desired Settlement: Just keep these people from doing it to others.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** contacted Tax Tiger in March of 2014 related to a tax debt he had with the IRS. After
 consulting with Mr. ***** on his options, we offered our services to negotiate an installment agreement with the IRS and to submit a penalty abatement request. Our fees for such were $3,950, but we gave Mr. ***** a $1,000 hardship discount because of his specific situation. Upon performing a full review of his filing history with the IRS, we determined that Mr. ***** had a few unfiled tax returns. We explained to Mr. ***** that he would need to tile those returns, and offered to perform that additional service for an additional fee, since it was unknown prior that there were unfiled returns. We explained that Mr. ***** could prepare the returns himself or we could do it for approximately $600- $700 total depending on the complexity of the two returns. Mr. ***** asked Tax Tiger to prepare the returns, but then he did not have the funds to pay, so we offered to add the additional fees to the financed fee of the original service of $2.950 and carry it out over a few more months.

We are very much aware of Mr. *****’s situation and have been working diligently to accommodate him as we resolve his situation and get him squared away with the ¡RS moving forward. Mr. ***** did sign a repayment agreement with Tax Tiger for our services in monthly installments, and none of this should really be a surprise based on our communications with him. We have also explored other alternative options to resolve Mr. *****’s debt or repayment to the IRS, and are currently awaiting Mr. ***** to return our calls from August. Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.


8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and myself went to tax tiger to see if they could help with a offer of compromise for our federal tax's. we talked with ***** and **** ***** they both said , that due to our hardship and the amount we owed that they were certain we could though them and there service, qualify for an offer of compromise. But some cases can take up to a year and a half to settle. Well everything seemed to go somewhat fine for quit some time. But when **** ***** was no longer there everything seemed to go down hill we were handed off from rep. to rep. without our case going anywhere the last person I talked to said we would have to pay them more money to reopen our case but IRS that I talked to said there was nothing on file from tax tiger on our behalf. Now mind you we paid the $4500.00 that ***** said it would cost. there was never anything said about more than said above amount. It has been two years now and have'nt gotten anything from tax tiger you woukd think for the money we paid that if they were a serious company a phone call would happen. my next step i guess is small claims court. at this point i would never refer tax tiger to anyone.

Desired Settlement: A check for the full amount we paid them.

Business Response: We have reviewed the BBB complaint by Mr. ******, and we have also spoken with Mr. ****** after receiving the complaint. The reason Mr. ******'s case has not moved forward is due to compliance reasons by the client. Sometimes
there are requirements that need to be met before a case can be reviewed by the IRS, and we have reached out to Mr. ****** to explain our requests and requirements. We have also informed Mr. ****** that we would still continue his representation and complete his case, but we would require his assistance in becoming compliant with IRS requirements. He has agreed, and we are continuing to work his case.

Consumer Response:  
I have read the responce from tax tiger about my complaint. And i do agree in spirit with there statment about requirements that IRS has. But i do believe commuication on both sides was poor at best. ***** **** was very gracious in our phone conversation and we both agree'ed that everything that happened earlier was water under the bridge and the main goal was to move forward at this time. I feel very confident that ***** will see that this happen's. At this time I'd like to thank ***** for her time and phone call. And i'm forwarding all paper work to her office.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Tax Tiger $3500 over two years ago to help us settle an *** debt from when my husband was overseas. The debt was about $11,000 and they have made no credible offers and want more money to make another one. Two offers of $20. Yeah, right. By now, the debt is down to $5,000 thanks to his tax returns being kept, and I just want our money back so we can settle it ourselves. We were concerned about garnishment, but since Tax Tiger has dragged their feet so long, we can just take care of a settlement on our own if the lying cheats would just give us our deposit back. We did not withhold information, as they will claim. All requests were responded to in a timely manner.I did complain to them today, so we will see what happens. Their company is a scam. Plus, they are now advertising that they can settle debts for $20. Really? That is a fake claim and should be stopped. Please contact me with any questions. My husband travels for work and is not always available via phone.

Desired Settlement: I want my $3500 back. If I was greedy I would ask for interest. Just pay me so I don't have to sue.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the complaint from **** ******* that was that was submitted on June 6th, 2014, regarding contract dispute issues. Ms ******* has not retained us for the services outlined in her complaint, but rather tax preparation services. After speaking with Ms *******, we determined that the complaint is really not for her, but her boyfriend and services that were provided for him, Mr. ********.
It is Mr. ******** that is the client under tax representation, not Ms. *******. Tax Tiger is more that happy to meet with Mr. ******** in person or via conference call and attempt to cure or resolve any questions or concerns he may have about his tax resolution case and the comprehensive services that Tax Tiger has provided him already. Tax Tiger has contacted Mr ******** to resolve this situation and we are awaiting his response.

As client focus is a core pillar of the Tax Tiger organization, Tax Tiger takes matter like this very seriously. Tax Tiger reiterates its standing as America's #1 Tax Representation firm and has a proven track record with a consistently high success rate. As Ms. ******* has touched on the offer in compromise (OIC) process, Tax Tiger feels that it is necessary to briefly address this topic.
In general, an OIC is an agreement between a taxpayer and the *** that settles the taxpayer's tax liabilities for less than the full amount owed. An OIC is generally not accepted if the *** believes the liability can be paid in full as a lump sum or a through payment agreement. The *** looks at the taxpayer's income and assets to make a determination of the taxpayer's reasonable collection potential.
Per Internal Revenue Manual, Public inspection of Accepted Offers-in-compromise, after redacting the taxpayer's personal information, the *** publishes all accepted offer in compromises for the general public to review upon request. A search of recently accepted offers in Mr. ******** area would clearly show that there are many offers that have been accepted with Mr. ********' similar circumstances for $20 or less.
Tax Tiger takes pride in regularly researching the *** statistics, facts and circumstances on offer in compromise acceptance types and rates before making any assertions with advertising or the pre-qualification process.
Furthermore, Tax Tiger strictly adheres to the guidelines and polices of any and and all applicable Federal and State rules of ethics. Finally Tax Tiger maximizes quality assurance by assigning a licensed practitioner before the *** (attorney, CPA or enrolled agent) as the case manager for every tax resolution case the organization service.
We believe that this specific complaint from Ms ******* should be removed and we hope to speak with Mr. ******** again for resolution of and issue he may have.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tax Tiger retained on 11/4/13 to re-file taxes to obtain sizeable refund. Instead they collected a $2500 "research fee" and then refused to refile the taxes.

Desired Settlement: I want my $2500 refunded, or the tax return re-filed.

Business Response: Mr. ******* hired us to do research on his 2008 partnership/personal tax return, where he had believed that he may have overpaid the tax amounts in great excess of what was due. This was a very high income and tax liability that had an original return filed, and a subsequent amended return filed in 2010. Mr. ******* stated to us that in 2012 he received court papers reflecting sale proceeds that would further reduce his tax liabilities. Upon the conclusion of our research, we then informed Mr. ******* that we could amend the return, but would need to see the court documents, as well as the original return and amended return that were filed in 2010, prior to quoting him a fee for the amendment. Mr. ******* wanted us to amend the partnership returns and reduce the gains without providing the documentation we are required to have in hand based on the due diligence requirements of IRS Circular 230, since we are signing our name to the return. We refused Mr. *******'s request at that point, and referred him to his CPA for the amendment of the return.

We sent Mr. ******* a letter with the results of our research of the potential refund available based on filing dates of the original return and amended return, the examination by IRS, and the court order.

We also spoke with the IRS on two separate occasions for verification of options, and received the same information we relayed in our letter to him. Mr. ******* was insistent that we did not understand his issues, and began addressing them in an email to us. We replied with the explanation of the results of our research of what options Mr. ******* had regarding amending the returns, and the date and time to do such, in order to receive his additional refund. We further provided the IRS IRM references for his CPA to use when amending the return, which we gathered from our research that he originally had hired us to perform.

We spent an estimated 15 hours of researching and reviewing items in order to recommend the best solution for him. We cannot even estimate the amount of time needed to amend and file a return of this magnitude had Mr. ******* provided the necessary documentation from the courts, and retained us to do so.

We have reached out to Mr. ******* on a fee occasions to explain, discuss, and potentially further clarify any confusion.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

64 Customer Reviews on Tax Tiger
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart