Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Smith Pool Service

Phone: (916) 206-6721 7005 Sunburst Way, Citrus Hts, CA 95621 http://www.smithpoolservice.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smith Pool Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smith Pool Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smith Pool Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian Smith, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Smith, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pools - Maintenance Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Products & Services

Smith Pool Services provides weekly service, pool cleaning & new plaster start up equipment.


Additional Locations

  • 7005 Sunburst Way

    Citrus Hts, CA 95621 (916) 206-6721

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday January 11th 2016 I was informed by the individual who cleans my pool that he accidentally broke the pool sweep wall mount I asked him how it happened and he said that it just snapped. Like the one he had a week ago at a customers house. I informed him that I was going to call the company his boss ***** and ask if they can cover the cost to fix it because it wasn't broken before. So when I called and spoke to the owner ***** he informed me that they would not replace the item without me paying for it because it's an item that goes in the pool and overtime will get brittle this item was replaced by the company at least a year ago and it doesn't show anywhere or brittleness it looks like it was accidentally snapped while trying to put a hose on I inform the owner I understand that this probably was an accident and that his service tech has broken my water spicket in the past and he left me a note saying it was an accident I never made a big deal about it and replaced it myself at cost so when I asked if this item for the Pool can be replaced by your company I'm informed that I have to cover the cost myself ***** informs me that he doesn't want his pool tech to be afraid to work on my Pool I informed ***** that I once worked in the customer service area installing dishes or cable and I to understand accidents do happen but the company should cover the cost for that item to get fixed not the customer I feel this is bad practice and bad customer service and I've been with him for at least a couple years already and I would think he would want to keep me as a customer a good paying customer who is rarely ever complained again I understand accidents do happen but that is why companies are bonded so when accidents do occur it can be taken care of I was forced to go find the replacement part online . The owner ***** wanted to charge me well above the actual cost he wants to charge me $38 on A part I found on line for price of $21 and never should have been paid for in the first place. ** ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like to do have my Bill adjusted for the cost of $21 and apology from the owner for not willing to take responsibility of an item that was broken by one of his workers

Business Response: I understand the position of the client but respectfully disagree. The part in question was older than 1 year and broke only when standard pressures were applied to it when the sweep it was connected to needed to be emptied. The part is plastic and expands and shrinks with drastically changing water temperature. If the part was within a year old it would have been covered by warranty. However, I am willing to go above and beyond the request of the client and supply him a brand new part free of charge. We will no longer come on the property to maintain the pool, so we will refund 50% of the January service. We have serviced the pool 1/4 and 1/11, leaving 1/18 and 1/25 not serviced. Upon agreement to settle the complaint, we will deliver the part free of charge and issue a refund of $50.

 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: It is very apparent to me that, the owners only concern is the bad mark on his record rather than the satisfaction of his customers. To drop me from his company because I do not agree, and do to the fact, I am dissatisfied with his response to our phone conversation yesterday is disturbing as a consumer. Also in his phone message to me today. Mr. ***** stated that before any refunds are given back to me, that he wants me to take back my complaint that I submitted to the BBB. If the owner wants to cancel my business with him, that is his right, but I want my refund of service not tendered, and the cost of me buying another part, I already purchased. 50.00 + 21.00= $71.00 total.

I will not recant my complaint, because other customers need to know, how he deals with honest and long time paying customers. That is not how you do business.

 

Mr. ***** *******


Business Response: Since the client purchased the part on his own at $21, we would be happy to issue $21 + $50 ($71 total) to resolve the complaint.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.