Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cookie Cutter Pools

Phone: (888) 825-7665 Fax: (916) 652-6647 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 6687, Folsom, CA 95763 http://www.cookiecutterpools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cookie Cutter Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cookie Cutter Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cookie Cutter Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2008 Business started: 06/01/1974 Business started locally: 06/01/1974 Business incorporated 04/05/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 295133.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Evans, President Mr. Justin Evans, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Evans, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

Cookie Cutter Pools provides residential, commercial, and Industrial pool service.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 6687

    Folsom, CA 95763 (888) 825-7665 (916) 532-0133 (916) 873-7772

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2014 Cookie Cutter Pools finished constructing a pool and outdoor kitchen in my backyard. On May 22 I bar-b-qued on the new bar-b-que for the second time. On May 23, at four a.m. I was awakened by my neighbors and fire engines announcing that my home was on fire. It was determined by the fire inspector that the cause was the bar-b-que which was installed too close to the house and the frame of the outdoor kitchen was made of wood. Cookie Cutter Pools was determined to be at fault. I was nave enough to believe that Cookie Cutter Pools would take responsibility for the fire that caused great damage to my home and could have cost us our lives. They have refused to cooperate with my insurance company and so I am out $2,500 which is the deductible on my policy. It is bad enough that they endangered by home and my life by their careless installation of the outdoor kitchen and bar-b-que , but refusing to take responsibility for their actions is inexcusable and just plain wrong.

Desired Settlement: I would like Cookie Cutter Pools to do the honorable and professional thing by cooperating with my insurance company and taking responsibility for their actions. I would also hope that they would no longer build flammable wood frames for outdoor kitchens and read the instructions on how close they can install a bar-b-u=que to the house.

Business Response: Cookie Cutter Pools was notified of the fire AFTER the complainant had already received compensation from her fire insurance company. Cookie Cutter Pools has not been refusing to cooperate with the complainant's insurance company. There have been several communications with the complainant's insurance company since we were notified of the fire. Cookie Cutter Pools was fully insured at the time of the fire and the claim has been submitted to Cookie Cutter Pools insurance company for investigation and processing. Cookie Cutter Pools has been in communication with there own insurance company and emails sent as recently as this month (July2015) attempting to resolve this claim have included a "cc" to the complainant's insurance company.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There so many complaints about this company I'm not sure where to begin. #1) The pool was 13" smaller in width then agreed upon.#2) The water feature & wall was never completed as agreed upon in the contract. #3) currently my house has no electricity to the front yard & hallway. The circuit continues to break... This occurred immediatley after the electrician installed the pool electricity through my attic. My wife & I have paid the full & agreed upon amount & identified the aforementioned electrical issues with no response.....

Desired Settlement: Please correct mistake

Consumer Response: The contract number is my address which is *** ******* ***** **

Business Response:

We are writing in response to the letter dated January 5, 2015 regarding a complaint filed by ******* ***** against our company, Cookie Cutter Pools, Inc. (CCP).

Mr. ***** signed a contract with CCP for the construction of his swimming pool on 6/7/14. The pool was completed the first week of August 2014. Mr. ***** indicates he has "so many complaints about this company I'm not sure where to begin" however since he lists only three I will respond to those three concerns.

1. The pool was 13" smaller in width than agreed upon: We do not dispute this. The pool is smaller in one area by approximately 10 square fee. When the shortage came to our attention we offered to fix it, however Mr. ***** asked if we could give him extra concrete decking in lieu of fixing the pool size. We have attached the agreement (contract addendum) signed by Mr. ***** on 7/27/14 that documents this agreement between Mr. ***** and CCP.

2. The water feature and wall was never completed as agreed upon in the contract: The water feature and wall were constructed as agreed upon and per the contract. If there are issues with the functionality of the water feature we will be glad to fix or repair as needed.

3. No electricity to the front yard and hallway-allegedly due to pool electrical installation: I was not aware of this concern until I received the above referenced letter from the BBB. I have already contacted the electrician and asked him to contact Mr. ***** so that he can go out and assess the situation. If there are electrical issues created by CCP we are more than happy to address those.

While there may be issues that arise during or after a construction project, Cooke Cutter Pools takes pride in their work and strives to address all customer's concerns in a timely manner. We have provided Mr. ***** with a quality product and have gone over and above the contract by providing him with a free umbrella sleeve in the pool's cabo bench. We will continue to work with Mr. ***** to address all valid concerns or issues that he has.

Warm Regards,

******* *****

President

Cookie Cutter Pools, Inc.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: To date, my power is not functioning as a result of inadequate electrical work. Despite the statement, I've received no call nor will I.  This has been an ongoing issue since hiring this company. The fact of the matter is, I paid 30k for a pool that was not built as promised & continues to haunt me several months later.  I just want my damn electrical fixed.  

Business Response: Company states: I have not heard about any electrical problem until it was relayed through the BBB. I have called the consumer and they mentioned there is no electrical problem. If the consumer has any issues they are free to contact me and I will answer their calls. If there is in fact an electrical issue we will gladly send someone out to look at it but they will be billed for anything outside of the related work we have done.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: To date, I have received no form of contact regarding my complaint despite the response. My cellular phone, work phone, or email has not changed since notifying cookie cutter of this issue.  It appears emails will continue & BBB will not act as expected. So, I'll pursue my legal options. 

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool built by this contractor has a leak in multiple places. Started in June. It's October and the issue is not resolved. Multiple phone calls later, I gave up. I hired another contractor who located the problem which has to do with incorrect grout use in tiling which leaks water, plaster that has gap on the tile borderline, leaking waterfall with incorrect seal, etc... I spent $350 on leak detection and the estimate to repair everything will come out to over $2500. Contractor left me hanging, calls are unanswered, customer service is non-existent.

Desired Settlement: At this time, with so many issues with the way tile and plaster was applied causing multiple leaks, I would like the builder to pay for the repairs to be conducted by the contractor with solid reputation. All estimates will be provided by licensed and bonded company.

Business Response: Mr. ******* contacted us and indicated his rock waterfall was ****ing. We went out and resealed the 
grout around the waterfall. We informed Mr. ******* at that time that grout in rock waterfalls will **** 
slowly and should be re-sealed every year. 
Mr. ******* called us a short time later and indicated his pool was ****ing. We went out again and 
performed a die test and found no ****s. Mr. ******* then hired ********* **** ********* *** who said 
they found a **** in the skimmer and repaired this ****. The pool structure was inspected and there 
were no ****s found . Mr. ******* then rehired ********* **** ********* to reinspect as he again said 
the pool was ****ing. It is unclear why ********* **** ********* was called out a second time to fix a 
leak that they had supposedly fixed roughly a week earlier. Regardless of the number of times that 
********* **** ********* was called out, we had performed **** tests and inspections on the pool and 
do not believe that the pool is the source of the water ****. During initial construction of the pool there 
was water coming onto Mr. *******’s property from an unknown source. We had to use a sump pump 
when digging the pool because of constant water draining into the pool. The unknown source of the 
constant water coming into the pool during construction is most likely the source of what Mr. ******* is 
calling his pool ****.
We have conveyed this information to Mr. ******* but he continues to believe the source of the water 
is a pool ****.
If you have further questions or concerns regarding this matter please do not hesitate to contact me.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:The more reasons Cookie Cutter comes up with on how this
leak is not their fault, the more I understand how incompetent they are. There
are 6 reason on why this is a POOL LEAK:

1. Bucket test was performed numerous times confirming the
pool leak.

2. Licensed pool detection company ‘********* **** *********’
has inspected and confirmed the pool leak.

 3. Reputable pool
repair company ****** **** *****r’ (check their **** reviews) came out and
inspected the pool and found the leak around the skimmer where tile line meets
the plaster, which was confirmed by them that the tile was not properly
grouted.

4. ****** ***** ***** ********** was called to inspect the
external leak and confirmed there are no leaks around the house, nor anything
else is my house is leaking.

5. Water meter test was done at my house and at the surrounding
neighbors’ homes, confirming that leak was in place while all the water meters
dials not moving.

6. ********* **** ********* came over once again and as a curtesy
applied temporary patch around the leaking areas (around the skimmer) and guess
what, the leak was temporarily stopped. They did confirm that this was
temporary repair and will not last, stating that permanent repair has to be
done.

So will Cookie Cutter still lie about how it's not the pool
they built and how some un-known leak is happening in my backyard? Feel free to
check **** for cookie cutter pool in Folsom, see what others are saying. And
this is without the negative review I am about to leave. Talk about bad
business practice.


Business Response:

When we were informed by Mr. ******* that his pool was leaking we asked him to turn off his pool equipment and his auto fill.  This would enable us to find the level of a leak.  To our knowledge this was never accomplished.  We send our start-up man to check the skimmer area and did not see a leak with the die test but did reseal this area.

 

On 9/8/14 we had ***** Plastering go to the ******* pool and check for leaks.  They found a small leak around a return pipe fitting and fixed it.  They also checked the skimmer area, found no leak, but resealed it as a precaution.

 

Mr. ******* did not tell us after these repairs that he thought the pool was still leaking and on his own hired a leak detection company who came out on 9/16/14 and claimed the skimmer area was leaking; the same area we had two separate people check and found to be leak free.

 

On 9/24/14 the leak detection company was recalled by Mr. ******* and said the area by the skimmer was leaking (which they had checked and indicted they had repaired on an earlier visit).

 

We are more than happy to recheck again and do any necessary repairs if required, however Mr. ******* has indicated that he does not want us to do the repairs.

 

We have made multiple attempts to resolve this issue.  Unfortunately when a customer is unwilling to work with us to resolve an issue our hands are tied.  

 

Consumer Response:  My pool was leaking since June. The last letter I received
from Cookie Cutter Pools contained the following statement:

'We do not feel that the pool is the source of the
water/leak. We believe the water is coming from some other source.....'.

Would you want to deal with this company, would you consider
these people as competent enough to conduct necessary repairs considering
despite the fact that this is a pool leak they have been denying it even though
I personally had conversation with *** (cookie cutter employee) who kept
assuring me that this is their responsibility and they won't leave me hanging.

I want Cookie Cutter to own up to their mistake and I want
professional company to repair the leak for which I want to be reimbursed.


5/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to provide quality pool tiling installed Sep 2012. Grout has disintegrated and company failed to respond even after many calls and a letter. Swimming pool installation began July 2012 and completed September 2012. In December 2012 grout from waterline tile began to break down and fall into pool. The grout left a large gap between tile and coping running halfway around the pool. Contacted Cookie Cutter owner who said he would send someone over to take a look. When no one showed up after two weeks, I called again and the owner said he would get back to me. After another week, I called again and the owner promised to call me right back and I never heard from him. I sent him a letter on February 4th and have not received any response. Meanwhile, I don't know if water is getting into the gap and damaging the pool structure.

Desired Settlement: I would like Cookie Cutters to repair the tile issue and ensure that there is no damage beyond the tile and grout.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer contacted us with her concerns regarding the deck lifting from the pool and creating a large gap. We responded both via a phone conversation and a letter (available upon request). Additionally, we sent our concrete subcontractor out who met with the husband and explained what was happening. The husband indicated he was satisfied with the response. The separation is not uncommon. The pool is designed so that the deck can move from the pool structure to allow for soil expansion without causing damage to the pool structure. We informed the customer that the gap may go away after the soil dries out, however, if it does not we would re-caulk the gap this summer if they desired. We have gone out and inspected the pool and saw no grout problems around the tile. If the customer believes they are having grout issues beyond the previously mentioned "gap" area (which we have and will continue to address as needed), we will send our tile installer over to meet with them to discuss their concerns.

Consumer's Final Response
I am writing to reply to the pool builder's response. In January of 2013, I contacted the pool builder to report what I believed to be a tile/grout issue that was causing a 1/2 inch - 1 inch gap between the pool deck and waterline tile in my 4 month old swimming pool. At that time, the pool builder promised to send someone out to look at the issue. After several weeks of having no one from the pool builder or any of the subcontractors show up and none of my followup calls returned, I wrote the pool builder a letter on February 4, 2013. I received a response via letter from the pool builder dated February 19, 2013 stating that the issue I reported was due to deck lifting. I was puzzled at the response since the builder nor his subcontractors had come by to look at the problem I reported. When I left a voicemail message for the builder to discuss his letter, I did not receive a return call. Finally, in mid-March 2013, a month after I filed the BBB complaint, my husband received a call from the builder's concrete subcontractor making an appointment to inspect the pool. He came by, inspected the pool and explained to me what was happening. During that inspection, the contractor promised to return to caulk the gap, in two weeks, not this summer as the pool builder stated. At that point, I was hopeful that the matter would be addressed soon. However I am concerned about the builder's statement that the gap wouldn't be recaulked until the summer since this is contrary to what the contractor promised me. To date, I am still waiting for the contractor to return to address this issue. Further, I'm surprised at the pool builder's statement that my husband met with the contractor and indicated that he was satisfied with the response since it was me, not my husband that actually met with the contractor. I am also worried that waiting until summer to caulk the gap would be a significant safety risk since the gap is large enough for my young children to put their hands into.

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately I did not receive the rebuttal information sent to me on 4/4/13 but did receive a letter dated 4/17/13 with the rebuttal information. I went out to the home on 4/23/13, inspected the areas of concern and spoke with the complainant's husband. The gap size varies in location and is at most 3/8's of an inch. The complaintant's husband indicated that the gap has gotten smaller. This gap is the result of poor drainage in the back yard. As I had indicated in my original letter to the owner on February 19, 2013 gaps are normally caused by soil expansion and the best remedy is good yard drainage. As the yard dries out, the gap shrinks (which is what is currently happening). The complaninant's husband and I agreed to give the soil another 30 days to dry out and we will come back out and re-caulk as necessary. However, unless the owner puts in yard drainage, she will continue to have this gap issue. Our contract is clear that yard drainage is the responsibility of the homeowner and is NOT the builders responsibility. We would recommend that the homeowner address the yard drainage to decrease the deck lifting.