Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wild Sports

Phone: (916) 989-8300 View Additional Phone Numbers 9396 Greenback Ln, Orangevale, CA 95662 http://www.wild-sports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wild Sports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Wild Sports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wild Sports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1990 Business started: 07/01/1975 in CA Business incorporated 06/24/1977 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

ALCOHOL, TOBACCO & FIREARMS (FEDERAL)
801 K St, Sacramento CA 95814
Phone Number: (916) 498-5100
The number is 9-68-XXX-XX-XX-35130.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Diana Fligge, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Diana Fligge, President
Business Category

Sports & Recreation Camping Equipment Fishermens Supplies Hunting & Fishing Services

Alternate Business Names
Triple X Wholesale Wild Sports Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 9396 Greenback Ln

    Orangevale, CA 95662 (916) 989-8312 (916) 989-8314 (916) 989-8310

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a $26 background check fee and a $50 restocking fee for a firearm that I was trying to purchase but ended up having to cancel due to a 30 day delay by the DOJ that ended up going over the required response within 30 days. I went to the place of business on day 30 and 31with no results. Store decided that although their policy states they will charge a restocking fee for a denial, I was still charged the same restocking fee when my response was not a denial. Their policy states that if it is canceled there's a restocking fee; how convenient that Wild Sports has a policy scam that an undetermined decision is an automatic cancel which then I have to pay the restocking fee as I did. As the real law after the 30 days have passed with still no denial, it is up to the sellers discretion to release the firearm not scam the customer and keep the $26 that I paid for a background check with no results as it "cannot find me" and $50 for the restocking fee. At the end of the day, I still wanted the firearm. They are the ones choosing to cancel my order, not me, so how is it reasonable to charge me the $76?

Desired Settlement: I want my $26 for the background check that I never received, obviously and I want the $50 restocking fee I was charged.

Business Response:

I am responding to this complaint via fax rather than online due to privacy issues with documentation I am sending regarding this transaction.

This customer purchased a firearm on Jan 10, 2015. He initialed and signed our purchase policy at the time of the sale. The purchase policy spells out the procedures regarding cancellations and other aspects of the firearm transaction. Included in my response is a copy of the document signed and dated by this customer, Andrew Solorio.

A $26 fee is charged at the time of the transaction for the state processing of the transaction. $25.00 of that charge is the government fee to process the transaction and do the background check on the purchaser. $1.00 is the dealer handling fee. That fee is disclosed on our sales receipt as "Gov $25+$1."

That fee and the state dealer record of sale as transmitted via computer to the State Department of Justice is what begins the background check to ensure the customer is eligible to purchase the firearm.

On January 16, 2015, we received a "Delay Delivery" notice from the State Department of Justice, which means we cannot release firearm until we receive an "Approval after Delay". We notified the customer by leaving a phone message that day that the transaction had been delayed and we would not be ale to release the firearm on the "pick-up" day indicated at the the time of the sale.

A Department of Justice Delay takes the matter out of our hands as to the disposition of the firearm. We are prohibited from releasing the firearm to the customer. The State does not convey any reasons to us, instead it is between the customer and DOJ.

There are 3 results that can occur:

1. We receive an "Approval after Delay" that allows is to release the firearm.

2. We receive a "Denial after Delay" which prohibits us from releasing the firearm.

3. We receive an "Undetermined" status if DOJ has been unable to determine the eligibility of the purchaser and the transaction is more than 30 days old. The state gives the dealer the discretion to release the firearm. Our policy is posted in the store and stated on the purchase policy that we will not release the firearm in an "Undetermined" transaction.

This customer called the store Feb 5, 2015 and spoke to one of our managers. He was upset that DOJ has not made a decision. Our manager explained to him that we had no control over it, and if the status did go to "Undetermined" that we would not release the firearm and that there would be cancellation fees involved.

He came to the store Sunday, Feb 8, 2015 and there was no updated notice from DOJ. He had paid cash for the transaction and we did not have enough cash at that time for his refund. He asked to come back on Monday at which time there would be cash for the refund and perhaps a response from DOJ.

He called Monday morning, but there was still no update. He came in Monday afternoon and cancelled the transaction and received a cash refund for the transaction less the state background fee and less the cancellation fee of $50 which are addressed in the purchase policy he signed at the start of the transaction.

Attached are documents pertaining to this transaction:

Signed purchase policy

Dealer Record of Sale showing Delayed Status

Letter to us from DOJ indicating Delay Delivery.

Copy of original transaction receipt and refunded receipt.

***** ******

Wild Sports

###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wild Sports
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)