Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pool Spa Help

Phone: (800) 766-5112 View Additional Phone Numbers 18098 State Highway 49, Nevada City, CA 95959 http://www.poolspahelp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pool Spa Help offers pool and spa repair, equipment parts, and maintenance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pool Spa Help meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Pool Spa Help include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pool Spa Help
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1982 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00609377.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jon Love, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Love, Owner
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Internet Shopping Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Sierra Property Services
Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pool Spa Help has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 18098 State Highway 49

    Nevada City, CA 95959 (530) 265-5563 (800) 766-5112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having purchased new equipment for our redwood hot tub rebuild from this vendor, we are 18 mos out on diagnosing electrical problems and have just recently and painfully found out why. The model selection and pairing of different manufacturers' components (EXPERTLY provided by them with full knowledge of our requirements) was ill advised and not a compatible system with respect to manufacturers' suggested uses. Attempts to contact have fallen on deaf ears either by us as the purchasers and/or numerous service personnel that have tried to solve our issues.

Desired Settlement: If there is a solution to our issues with existing equipment we need to hear what it is. If indeed the equipment is incompatible as selected by them, we seek correction of the situation with components that are... at this vendors expense.

Business Response:

This customer and his wife ordered several items from us in May of 2014 for their project of refurbishing an old wood hot tub.  We exchanged several emails in order to get a clear understanding of their needs, and to help them realize the scope of this endeavour.  The vinyl liner was the first part of the project.  They provided many dimensions and the liner was custom made for them.  In June of 2014, they purchased the electronic controller, pump and free-standing electric spa heater.  

The first problem came as they were trying to install the liner in their tub.  They claimed that it had been manufactured wrong.  When we offered to repair or replace it, they refused to return the original liner to the manufacturer and expected them to guess as to the problem.  Long story made short, they filed a complaint with the BBB.  It was investigated and dismissed with no action taken (ID ******** filed 7/16/14).  

We made every possible effort to communicate by phone and email to assist him with the installation of his liner and the other equipment purchased.  We called his electrician (at our expense) several times to help him understand the electrical requirements for this project.

We were not aware that he was having difficulties with the installation of his equipment until we received a cc of his email to the manufacturer in March of 2016.  It appears that he was no longer using the electrician to whom we had given instructions, but was now dealing with another installer and the factory directly.  

The original plan was to install the 11kw heater using a separate GFCI circuit breaker, since this large-capacity heater is a stand-alone system with it’s own power source, pressure switch and thermostat.  It should be activated by a relay (DPDT).  The ****** **** controller is not designed to run the 11kw heater. It is to activate the relay that runs the heater on a separate circuit and GFCI.  We will be happy to give this information to his current electrician.  We have had no phone calls or emails from this customer since July of 2014, with the exception of a CC of his email complaint to the manufacturer last month. 

The equipment was not ill advised.  Had he installed it as directed by our technician, it would be more than adequate to heat his tub. We have recommended this same set up on other installations with no problems. 

This customer has been advised of our Disclaimer (***************************************** ) and it is posted on our web pages. We knew he had initially secured a professional electrician for help with his project, but then apparently he let him go for some reason.  All equipment purchased had a 12 month warranty, which is now expired.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: The manufacturer of the controller has unequivocally stated that the controller we were supplied is not designed to used with any heater but their own or an external GAS heater. The reason for the time delay in contact has to do with fruitlessly replacing EVERY component of the entire pak BEFORE REALIZING THE EQUIPMENT WAS MISMATCHED. An electrician need not be coaxed to pair equipment not meant to be paired.

 


Business Response:

The correct components have been sold to the customer.  An electrician must make the installation because there are 2 separate circuits, each protected by it’s own GFCI within the subpanel. The wiring from the United CC controller must go to a contactor in a separate sub panel which supplies the heater from the heater’s GFCI. The proper wire size must be determined; the distance from the main panel to the sub panel, and much more, is all important data to be considered.  The plumbing configuration in this system is another facet which has not been provided to us.  

We have spoken to ****** at ****** ***s and confirmed that the CC controller can run a relay to supply the free-standing electric heater.  It appears that the customer has misinformed ****** **** regarding his system.  

He assumes that we already know how the first electrician installed the heater, and he refuses to give us any pictures or schematics of the project.  We have had NO contact with his installer, by phone or by email, which leads us to suspect that the customer still intends to make the installation himself. It is obvious that this customer does not have sufficient knowledge of electricity.  At this point, we will communicate only by email with this customer’s electrician.  For the man’s own safety, we will not provide any further information to him. 

DISCLAIMER:

This information is presented for the qualified do-it-yourselfer who needs some help either troubleshooting , repairing, or installing new equipment in their own hot tub, spa, or swimming pool. Here we are assuming that if you have chosen to work on your own unit, or equipment, you have a knowledge of electricity and are aware that certain safety precautions are necessary. If you are in doubt as to how to properly troubleshoot , repair or install new equipment in your specific unit ,or, after starting the project you find you are in doubt, please contact a local licensed pool or spa professional in your area. Use any of the information herein AT YOUR OWN RISK, including information given by telephone or email. We are only human and we do make mistakes. Get the sense of what you're doing and BE CAREFUL. We will not be held liable for any injuries or damage that may result from the troubleshooting or installation of any parts or equipment, or inadequate results from any project. 

Consumer Response:  
My wishes have come true. Finally, a solid answer (from ****** as well). My electrician knows more now than he did before and we'll sort through it from here. My personal safety has never been an issue but thanks for the love and contacting United which evidently hadn't been tried before.    

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We confidently proceeded with a rebuild of an aged redwood hot tub with this merchant because they specialize in this almost extinct service. Bolstered by their informational website and assurances that they'd be there for us through the process, we ordered a complete spa pak and new vinyl liner from them as well as all the install trim and accessories. Total spent approaches two thousand dollars. The liner arrived well before we were ready for it as every step in the process was slow to resolve and our efforts to get help from PSH were marginal... us slugging out most of the details ourselves with info we had to research. The expensive liner did not and does not fit properly by their own admission but after several pointless email exchanges wanting a replacement sent, we have been told to send it in at OUR expense for an evaluation at the factory to see if they made it according to THEIR specs based on our measurements. If it's determined they made it as their guidelines suggest, we are out the shipping both ways, the time related and will have to accept an inferior NEW liner. This is not our issue and yet we are being held responsible and punished for nothing that as yet has been pointed out to us as a mistake. Further, after all the coaching and support they advertise on their site and via phone related to do-it-yourself, they have now refused to give any info or tips on even how we are to remove it without damage for forwarding to the factory. We have been referred to their disclaimer as to that request. We are owed a new liner and should not have to jump through all the hoops unassisted by this vendor and tortured by their supplier. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: The faults and shortages of the defective piece have been thoroughly photographed and forwarded to the parties. We have re submitted all measurements for verification. They have admitted it fits badly at the mid tub perimeter but insist that if the factory messed up we have to do all the legwork to get it there and then trust a fair evaluation. We volunteered all services as to measurements we could submit from 1st liner but were flatly denied. We want a new liner promptly as good business.

Business Response:

The customer was given instructions for sending the liner back to the manufacturer.   If the liner was not made according to the measurements submitted by the customer, then it will be replaced at no charge.  We will also reimburse his shipping charge for returning the liner.  

If the liner is found to have been made to the measurements submitted by the customer, then the fault lies with the customer and there will be no replacement under warranty.

The emails exchanged between us are being forwarded to you by a separate email.


Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

These liners are not manufactured to the exact measurements provided by the customer. The manufacturer must take the customers measurements and project how much the liner will stretch according to their formula. The shortcomings our liner had are related to their interpretation.

After following the business' instructions, the liner was fully installed. It was found then that the mid-section of the liner was too small.  The business agreed that the liner was too small in the middle but the burden was placed on us (the customer) to fully UN-install the liner, box it for shipping and return to the manufacturer.  There was no discussion as to what would become of the returned liner if the manufacturer deemed it not their error nor was there any promise of a new liner.  The business practices of this company were less than satisfactory and left us with no solution.   

Business Response:

The customer’s allegations are unfounded. Please read the emails exchanged between us (previously submitted).

We are the reseller of this product and the warranty is offered by the manufacturer.

A copy of the specific warranty card furnished to this customer (serial #***********) is attached.

The manufacturer is requesting to have the liner returned before a replacement is offered.  It is their policy (per the warranty card) to see the product to determine where the alleged error was made since all their checkpoints indicate the liner was accurately made to the customer’s specifications.

The customer’s request that a replacement liner be made to the original specifications without the return of the first one would only invite a second ill-fitting liner.

All this customer is asked to do is return the liner to the manufacturer. It is a warranty issue.

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  The manufacturer may provide the warranty but warranties apply during the use of a product not when it is defective. We provided all measurements in good faith and should have received a liner that fit RIGHT when installed. What this complaint lacks in explanation is the fact that if we had completely disassembled the tub, removed the liner and shipped in back at our expense, we would only have been made a new one if the factory discovered it did not make the piece to THEIR specs (an interpretation of stretch). We are expected to be out commission for that length of time and pay all the return costs. Thats not warranty it's usury.

 
Being offered a piece of vinyl and glue to patch a new liner that did not and does not conform to the walls of your tub as it should, is pitiful compensation for the losing party. Update your instructions relating to how the holes the should be measured when fitting jets esp if the liner is going to be stretched to the limit in order to tighten them to the wall. As in our case the liner was extremely tight perimeter wise and cutting the holes as directed was a disaster. Also, master contractor suggested using teflon tape to seal the extended wall fittings. This is wrong and unfortunately for me, I did not find it out until far too late. Many, many testimonials and inquiries reinforce this opinion.  PVC manufacturers themselves do not recommend it!
 
I think the number of people engaged in rebuilding redwood hot tubs may have dwindled to the point of extinction as to liners being ordered. Something is wrong with the formula used to compute stretch by the manu and a dealer that doesn't stand up for his customers. When the submitted photos generated the "something is wrong, we've never had this happen before" comment, we the consumers should not have been penalized by the arduous and unfair return terms. 
 
It wouldn't have taken much to appease us but the immediate turn about in relations and instructions to dismantle our tub per contractor standards and refer to their disclaimer agreement was egregious in our opinion. 
 
****** *** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Pool Spa Help
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart