Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

     While many companies have come and gone over the past three decades, Future Energy Savers has been faithfully serving the energy efficiency needs of California consumers since 1978.  This has been made possible by building a company culture of extreme integrity that always puts the homeowner first, and by providing over-the-top customer service. 
     The family-owned company's roots were originally based on insulating homes to reduce energy bills and conserve natural resources.  Building on the company motto of “The Difference is Quality,” these efforts quickly expanded into new and innovative ways to provide energy efficiency solutions with cost-saving products.  Today, the company has expanded to other products and services including Solar Electric, Heating & Air Conditioning, Exterior Coatings, and Window Replacement. 
     The company vision has been fueled by CEO Jeffrey Adkins, pictured at right with his Uncle Gale Fueborn.  Adkins was born in South Carolina, served four years in the military, another six in the reserves, and attended West Florida University. He began his contracting career in 1978 and still continues in that chosen field today.  During that time, Future Energy has worked on many high profile community projects such as low income shelters, churches and homes for the Habitat for Humanity. 
     "I believe that in order to succeed in the business world, you need to be heavily involved with the local community and treat them like family," said Adkins.  "I share this vision with all of our associates. My message is that we must always perform high quality work, provide great customer service, and constantly look out and represent the customer's best interests.  It's in our company's DNA and culture, one that has come full circle with referral business."
     Future Energy has become an industry leader by providing a comprehensive offering of energy saving products and programs.  In the process, the company has won numerous awards from state agencies and local utilities. Among them are awards from the State of California, Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E), Southern California Gas Company, the Department of Water and Power (LADWP), and San Diego Gas & Electric Company (SDG&E).  The Gas Company has selected Future Energy Savers as "Contractor of the Year." Adkins was also a member of former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger's Solar Roof Initiative.  
     Future Energy Savers was also named the 2011 Dealer of the Year in California by the SunPower Corporation.  Additional acknowledgments of praise have been presented by Vision Finance, Volt Viewtech, the League of California Homeowners, and the City of Anaheim.  Future Energy Savers was also recognized by the U.S. Government for the installation of solar equipment on the White House.  


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Future Energy Savers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Future Energy Savers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Future Energy Savers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2010 Business started: 02/28/1978 in CA Business started locally: 02/28/1978 Business incorporated 05/28/1982 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 463720.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Adkins, CEO Ms. Julie Durst, Vice President Mr. Kyle Franz, RME
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Adkins, CEO
Principal: Ms. Julie Durst, Vice President
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products - Retail Contractor - Electrical Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Products & Services

Future Energy Savers sells the following brand(s): Enphase, SolarWorld

Future Energy Savers offers the following product(s): Residential Solar Electric Systems

Method(s) of Payment
Future Energy Savers can provide homeowners with a financing plan.  We also except cash and major credit cards.
Service Area
Future Energy Savers has five Offices & Showrooms in California to serve California homeowners. We have offices in Elk Grove, Livermore, San Jose, Upland and Oceanside, CA.
Alternate Business Names
Future Energy Corporation
Products & Services

Residential Solar Electric Systems, Heating & Air Conditioning, Windows, Insulation, and Solar Hot Water Heating.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Future Energy Savers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3163 Independence Drive

    Livermore, CA 94551

  • 8980 Grant Line Rd

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (800) 985-0733 (916) 686-3008

  • 9721 Kent St Ste A

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 04.01.2008 We had Solar panels installed on our home @ **** * * *** When 1st installed all was good, over the years our ****** bill has gotten higher and higher, not by a little but more and more. We are now to the point where we are paying as much or more than before we had Solar. If we were making payments we would have stopped paying this company. We have contacted ****** to look to see if we have a problem, ****** told my wife that what we have isn't enough to take care of thhe refridgerator usage.. thhe first year we had the solar panels our sur charges. Were 600.00 a year, now it is 2800.00 a year, we dont have new Electrical usage., so there. Is no reason for our bills To be higher than it was before we got solar panels. We have contacted the company that installed them and they say nothing is wrong when there technician came out and looked at them. We paid. Over 30,000.00. For these solar panels with a 25 year warranty and they are not honoring there warranty. We went to the FUTURE ENERGT SAVERS office and spoke with ****** ******** and she was the person that sent a tech to look over our system. Prior to going to the office we attempted to call them several times with no responce or returned calls Product_Or_Service: 04.01.2008 Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I think they should correct what ever is wrong with the system and I think FUTURE ENERGY SAVERS should be held accountable for the extra charges payed to Edison from the time of installation to present date.

Business Response: On April 21, 2015, we have sent our technician, ****** to the customers' home to verify the system production. The system is producing as it should be at an averaqe 16.38 Kw per day. All system warranties are still in good standing and are honored. This system was installed in 2008, since that time the customer has had a Smart Meter installed by SCE and SCE energy usage rates have increased over the last 7 years. The technician did a review of his findings with the customer on 4/21/2015 and the customer has signed our service order as such.

3/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continually receive calls from Future Energy Savers sometimes two or three times a week and on occasion twice in one day. I have repeatedly asked the caller to stop calling and to remove my number from their all list. I am sure Future Energy Savers is using an outside source to place the calls as each number on my caller id is different and shows up as Unknown Name, the most recent call this morning (14 Jan 2015 ) being ###-###-####. I must have repeated to the caller more than a dozen times, I was not interested in their product or services, but they continued with their spiel anyway. When the caller finally stopped, I once again asked to have my number removed from their listing. As I have gone through this before I doubt this will happen. Should I decide in the future to purchase or lease the product Future Energy Savers is selling I WILL NOT be contacting this company for their business or support.

Desired Settlement: Have my name and number removed from their call list.

Business Response:

We have taken all necessary steps for this customer not to be on any of our call list. We have ended our contract with the call center. We apologize for the mishap.
 
Sincerely
******* ******
president

12/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Energy Savers sales person came to my home about a year ago. I gave them my phone number to schedule an appointment to learn about their product. At the end of the appointment, I was not convinced and I politely said no thank you. They have not stopped calling me since. They have called me about 20 times and I have answered about 5 times. Each time I answer, I ask them to please take me off of their call lists and do not call me again. This is very annoying and frustrating. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Please tell Energy Savers to stop calling me.

Business Response: Mr. ****,

We apologize for the inconvenience.  We have removed your name and phone number from all of our databases.  It should not happen again.

Thank you.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Future Energy Savers solicits business for solar installations. I have told them several times to stop calling, but they continue to call. The last call just occurred on May 22, 2014. In this call, I told the female caller that I did not want the product and not to call. I asked if she understood and she said, "yes." The lady then continued to do her sales pitch. I stopped her again, said the same thing and had her verify she understood. She again continued her sales pitch. I had to hang up on her. I want this company to stop calling my phone number.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to stop calling me.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We have removed all of Mr. *****'s contact information from our data base. There will not be any calls in the future.

6/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Future Energy Savers Salesman ****** ********** was invited into our home to explain to us how a Solar Energy System could be affordable to us through a rebate of $2400.00 and a Federal Tax Credit of $8000.00 totaling $10,400.00 towards the cost of their system bringing it down to $16,115.00,financed for 12 years at $192.00/mo. ****** arrived at his figures by asking us to see our Tax returns taking pictures of them on his cell phone and calculating from them how much money we would get back next year thorough our 2014 Tax returns with a $7935.00 tax credit. ****** ********** is not a professional tax preparer but we trusted that he knew what he was taking about. The deal looked good to us and he came up with a good package that looked affordable and we signed. Turned out it wasn't true it was bogus. There is no way Future Energy Savers can deliver ******'s deal to us. We know this by consulting with our professional tax preparer who looked at our last year's tax returns as did ****** and later ***** ****** (Regional Sales Manager for Future Energy Corp.),who further muddied it. But it was our tax professional who was correct. He stated to us that we would get approx. $2000.00 of the Federal Tax Credit and not $7935.00 that the deal was based on, which was misleading. We found a complaint on the BBB website by a woman who was promised $10,000.00 Federal Tax credit by a Future Energy Salesman. She found out when it was too late, as her system was already installed that she was only really getting $1700.00 back. Future had sent a measure man out who got on our roof to measure, he did not show us that he was a licensed inspector. We cancelled on May 14th by phone, then later in writing. Now they say we owe them $1000.00 because we cancelled too late. If Future Energy Savers could deliver what their Salesman promised we wouldn't be writing this letter. If anyone is looking into a Solar system make sure you consult with your tax preparer, the true cost of the system and rebate amounts.

Desired Settlement: The deal that they promised they cannot deliver. They are now threatening us with a mechanics lien on our home if we do not pay them $1000.00. We feel that because they failed to honestly present the true terms of the agreement and due to the fact that no improvements were performed, that we own them nothing.

Business Response: Mr. ******, We apologize for any mis-communication regarding your potential Federal Tax Credit. Our intention is to never mislead any of our customers, nor provide professional tax advice. As the way the law is written, you would have through the 2016 calendar year to collect your total tax credit - meaning you would have three tax years to collect your total credit. We acknowledge your cancellation of the transaction and there are no outstanding invoices regarding a cancellation fee with our company. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had solar panels installed in July 2013, and then pigeons started roosting underneath them. The company came out and installed wire mesh on the left/right/top sides, when we weren't even home, but neglected to put any in the bot*** where the pigeons fly in. We called the company and complained, so they came out again, and this time they zip tied chicken wire across the bot***. The birds managed to just step over the loose chicken wire, and now we have more pigeons, and pigeon poop in our gutters and on the ground below the roof. We have contacted Future Energy Saver's multiple times about this issue, and now they are telling us they can't help us, and it's up to us to take care of this problem. We're upset that they started to fix the problem and after trying multiple times, they are now giving up and saying we're responsible. We actually got a quote from our roofer for $775 to fix this issue, which is way too much money for us to have to pay for a problem that FES created.

Desired Settlement: We would like FES to complete pigeon proofing our solar panels, or pay another company to do so.

Business Response: We have communicated with *** ******** about this issue and have come to a mutually acceptable agreement and conclusion.  We have issued Mr. ******** a check ($775) to cover the cost of him hiring a pest control company to address the bird problem.  The work has already been completed.
 
Mr. ******** is extremely happy with the arrangement.

Consumer Response: After speaking with their So Ca manager, ****** ********, they finally agreed to reimburse us for the full amount for our pigeon abatement. We still would not refer any cus***ers to this solar company, but they did manage to finally do the right thing, so our complaint has been resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Future Energy Savers
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart