Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

V3 Security

Phone: (916) 543-1543 160 Blue Ravine Rd  Ste F, Folsom, CA 95630 http://v3homesecurity.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that V3 Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for V3 Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on V3 Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2013 Business started: 04/12/2013 in CA Business incorporated 01/25/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
http://bit.ly/1QBzWIF
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
bsis@dca.ca.gov
The number is 7292.

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
http://bit.ly/1QBzWIF
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
bsis@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5948.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Hilary Faulk, Administrative Asst.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Hilary Faulk, Administrative Asst.
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Products & Services

V3 Security offers the following product(s): Company offers alarm security systems sales and installations.

Alternate Business Names
Northcoast Security, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

V3 Security has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 160 Blue Ravine Rd
    Ste F

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 543-1543

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is regarding V-3 Security System, *** **** ****** ** * * ******* ** *****. They are in Breach of Contract. I called BBB I was told that in the last 3 years there have been 7 complaints. 3 – Product and service. 4 – Sales and advertisements. They never cancelled my contract with ***. *** has been hounding me for payment. They should have paid it never did. I am in contract with both companies. *** continuously called demanding their money. I keep getting invoices from ***. No one is ever available to receive my calls. They are always in meetings. Message they tell me are never received. Staff is extremely rude I get at least 3 invoices a month from V3. I never have missed payment. In fact I’ve even paid 1 month ahead. Calls are not returned!

Desired Settlement: Something needs to be done about this company. It just is not right for them to get away with this. One angry consumer ****** *******

Business Response:

After this complaint was submitted, V3 contacted the customer and we reached a resolution to this concern. The customer has a lower monthly bill now and we will

resolve the issue with her previous alarm company as quickly as possible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear Mrs. ******** ***** *******

Since I spoke to you last, I did speak with V-3 at the time over 1 week ago. They told me that because of the issues. They would lower the payment and month's on contract. That it would go into effect immediately well guess what I am not all surprised I have yet to hear from them, yet they contacted BBB saying they resolved the matter with me. Well that is irrelevant they have not.

Business Response:

V3 received a letter from the customer requesting a written copy of her conversation with us the same day she submitted this complaint. As soon as V3 received the letter we mailed a response with the inclusion of what was requested by the customer. It was placed in the mail the day that we received the request. The changes that were made with the customer during our phone conversation did go into effect immediately, but the letter probably arrived at her home after we had submitted our response to the BBB. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience.  



2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I sold our house and no longer will be using the V3 alarm. We do not have a house to transfer the service to nor a timeframe when we will. We called to cancel the service, but since our represent that sold us the system did not inform us that it was a 5 year contract and there was no way to get out of the contract even if you move, this company is trying to charge us until the contract is paid off. We have offered to pay an early termination fee, but not the full term since the service will not be used at all. We would give back the equipment which is in perfect working condition. The customer service has always been awful because they always need to get a supervisor involved, and they give you misleading information, and their work . The last representative, **** *. that left a voice mail saying, "good luck with the alarm system, i hope you don't have to use it" The option another representative gave us was, 1. transfer the service to a family member or 2. try to transfer it to the buyer of the house.

Desired Settlement: Have an early termination fee for unforeseen circumstances or be a respectable business that will understand difficult situations.

Business Response:

The customers that submitted this complaint willingly signed and verified an alarm monitoring contract with V3 Security. The contract terms are confirmed before and after installation with recorded calls between the customer and our office. That being said, as a company, the moving procedures we have in place were set up to allow our customers to fulfill the contract they signed in the easiest way possible. When they called in regarding their move, they first told us they were moving to Antelope, CA. This is well within our service area and it would be simple to move the system from their current address to their new one. Despite this offer, the customer still wanted to pursue cancellation. We advised they were still in contract with us and sent them a copy of the contract. They still insisted on cancelling, so we let them know of their other options: they may transfer the system and the contract to a friend or family member or they could include it in the sale of their home. Both of these options are free to the homeowner and release them from any liability. The homeowner did not want to pursue either one so we let them know their final recourse is to pay out the remainder of the agreement, effectively terminating it. These three options- transfer the system, sell it with the home, or buy out the contract, are our standard recourse if a customer no longer wants the alarm. Our systems are installed with no upfront equipment fee and come with a standard 60-month agreement, to recoup the cost of equipment, administrative and servicing costs associated with a new account. The terms of the agreement are always covered in the pre-installation and post-installation recorded calls, as stated above. We offer those solutions to the homeowner as per our policy and then it is the homeowner’s choice to decide how to proceed. We sincerely apologize if we have caused any inconvenience with these policies and hope we can come to a satisfactory resolution.

Sincerely,

Customer Relations

12/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is written on behalf of Mr. ******Nov. 13, 2015 Mr. ****** contacted V3 to cancel services. The rep. would not allow him to, therefore he asked me, his daughter in law, to contact them & find out what the issue was.According to the customer representative,there was a 60month contract with them & they had 2 phone convos w/him (recorded) stating that he agreed to this "60month" contract. They said that if he still wanted to cancel their services Mr. ****** would have to pay the remaining months in full, est. $4,000, in 1 lump sum. Mr. ****** had no knoweledge of signing a 5YEAR contract, i will explain below.I asked for proof, & they agreed to send us both the signed contract & dialogue of the 2 phone conversations. We haven't recieved either of these documents in the past weeks. To further explain, Mr. ****** does remember a sales man coming to his door 18 months ago, around the time he had back surgery. This salesman offered a lower monthly rate ($28/month) & a shorter(6 month TRIAL)contract for security services on his home. That is what Mr ****** was told he was signing into. The salesman disconnected all the previous equipment & kept it (not usual protocal)and installed SOME of V3's equipment. For example,sensor light from V3 wasnt installed & Mr. ****** wasnt given V3 keychain remotes. But according to their company policy, the salsman did make 2 phone calls, "pre & post installation" that was to be recorded. During both phone calls, the salesman told Mr. ****** how to answer the questions. So all Mr. ****** did was repeat words that the salesman was saying.Even though Mr. ******'s monthly bill was $20 MORE than agreed, he didnt complain. And after fullfilling the 6 month trial, he still kept their services by paying in THREE MONTH INTERVALS. A rep even agreed that V3 plan wasnt better than his previous plan & she couldnt explain why a reasonable person would KNOWINGLY enter this longer, more expensive contract.There are so many distorted details, Mr ****** doesnt want V3 services.

Desired Settlement: Mr. ****** no longer wants to do business with V3 and requestes that this alleged 60month (5year) contract be voided without having ot pay any penalties and/or fees. He also requests the cancellation of services to his home, immediately. No further contact to Mr. ****** by V3 Security is needed.

Business Response:

We have reviewed this account at length and spoken to both the customer and his daughter-in-law who has been assisting him with translating. We do show that the customer had signed our standard-length 60 month contract, and we do have recorded calls verifying this. The sales rep no longer works with our company and is not available to consult for his version of events. After review, and because we were not present to overhear what the sales rep may have indicated or promised to the customer, we are not comfortable enforcing our contract. The customer believed it was only for 6 months, and we are not able to verify if he was told anything contrary by the sales rep. If the customer was told by one of our representatives that it was only a 6 month contract, and he has fulfilled twice that length of time, then we feel obligated to uphold that expectation. 

We have informed both the daughter-in-law and the customer that we agree to release him from the 60-month contract, and are sending a letter releasing him of any further contractual obligation. We will pick up any remaining equipment from the home, and the customer will have no further relationship with our company.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had *** and on August 21st, 2013 a rep showed up at our house representing himself as a rep for our CURRENT alarm company (***). He knew about our current system, the contract terms and dates. He indicated he was there offering an UPGRADE for our system. Since we were already with *** and he was with *** (as he lead us to believe) to upgrade our system, we moved forward. It wasnt until he pulled out the contract that we found out he was with an entirely different company, V3 Systems. That being said, he was offering us a new system and for the same price as our *** system so we went ahead and moved forward with it and my husband signed the new contract. He also had us sign a letter to cancel our *** contract.In April of 2015 we bought a new house and I called V3 to ask about transferring the service. I was told there was a $199 moving fee and we would have to schedule a time for V3 to come get the equipment from our current house and move it to the new house. My husband called two more times and was told the exact same thing. We could sign with a new company for less so thats what we decided to do. There was no reason to pay a $199 moving fee and wed been with the company for almost 2 years and we already werent happy about the way wed ended up with them (the rep representing himself as a rep for our current company).Once we moved we called V3 to cancel and they told us the contract was for FIVE years. They then sent us a copy of the signed contract with the 60 months circled. We were never told the contract was for 5 years or we NEVER wouldve signed it. I then located our original contract and the time frame is not circled, someone in the office circled it after the fact before they sent it to us to make it look like the rep who had come to our home had specifically made us aware that is was 60 months. They then told us that because we had been with them over 12 months the moving fee was waived, but it was OUR responsibility to get the equipment from our old house.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the contract ASAP as the company has been dishonest on more than one occasion. If they track their phone records they will see they have told us 3 times that we have to pay $199 moving fee and they need to come move our current equipment and even since we cleared up that we would NOT have to pay the $199 since we've been with them over 12 months they continue to tell us we HAVE to get the equipment from the house we just sold when the contract states you get NEW equipment when you move.

Consumer Response: We have contacted the business numerous times, and every time asked to speak with a supervisor and have always been told they are in a meeting and would call us back, yet have never received a call back.  On June 2nd, we called again, again asked to speak to a supervisor and were told they were in a meeting and would call us back.  This time we actually received a call back from ****** *****.  My husband repeated everything that had happened and how we had been paying our bill for two months, yet we had no system and every time we called we were told we had to get out old system from our old house even though the contract said when you moved you were provided a new one.
****** cancelled our contract and refunded the two months of fees we paid for April and May. 

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A service rep just visited me today (3/23/15). He said they needed to upgrade my alarm service. I asked who he was with and he replied "the manufacturer, **". He showed me some ** paperwork as proof. He was wearing a 'V3 Security' shirt though.He asked what system I had and verified my name and address. He said the old system was analog and was having performance issues in regards to emer**ncy response times, which is why they needed to upgrade my system to a new digital system. After he wrote down my info and verified my system, he mentioned they would be switching providers from *********** to V3 Security since "we've been using *********** before but we want to switch to a closer provider instead of someone 5 states away". I said I would need to verify everything and research the new company before signing anything and he agreed. He gave me his card (***** *****) and said to call him when I'm ready.This representative misrepresented himself and the entire situation. He was not an employee of ** but of V3, and the situation was presented as the company ** upgrading the system and switching out their monitoring subcontractor. In reality ** only makes the hardware that is used by both *********** and V3, and he was employee of V3 trying to **t me to switch from *********** to their service.With this blatant lying and misrepresentation, V3 must be a awfully unethical company. I post this here to warn anyone else considering this company to avoid them.

Desired Settlement: Stop deceptive sales tactics, fire salespeople who deceive people to get business, and retrain sales employees to represent themselves properly.

Business Response: It is never our intention to represent ourselves, purposefully or not, in a way that is misleading or untruthful. While we were not able to locate this homeowner in our customer records, we are still concerned that anyone, whether or not a customer, has had a negative experience with our company. As a company that chooses to use direct marketing by going door-to-door, we are frequently unpopular and we recognize it's just part of trying to do business. We, V3 Security, are a dealer for **, the equipment manufacturer, that is correct. And we are a local, Folsom company. But no, we are not in any way affiliated with this homeowner's current alarm provider. We are a separate company. We completely understand this homeowner's concern and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. The representative in question has been forwarded this complaint, as well as been formally assigned to remedial training and code of conduct review for two weeks before he will be allowed to begin work again. Our representatives are commission-based, and will not be able to earn any compensation for these two weeks. We extensively train our representatives on the correct way to introduce themselves, including three weekly mandatory meetings with practice and coaching. We do not condone nor encoura** misrepresentation by any of our representatives and take these matters very seriously. We thank the homeowner for stepping forward and bringing this concern to our attention so we could take action, and again, we apologize for any inconvenience or hassle to you. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Apparently the business thinks this is a 'miscommunication' instead of blatant deception.  "3 weekly mandatory meetings with practice and coaching" apparently didn't do much good.  His deceptive spiel obviously took practice and it seems very possible that he was following the training he received.
2 weeks suspension isn't firing and no revamping of the training has occurred as far as I can tell.  Tricking people into buying a product is a pretty slimy way of doing business and the lack of real action about this says a lot about the company.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: V3 security mislead me to believe that the prior security company that I had a contract with, Monatronics, was no longer available and that this 'salesman' was only there to take over the service and upgrade the equipment left by the previous security company. During this process he had me write a letter to Monatronics and state that I was going to transfer the payment arrangment to this new company but didn't really explain why but that I was asking them to cease the payment arrangment with Monatronics and that the new company, V3 was to receive the payments. I was a bit confused but the salesman reassured me that this was standard procedure and I went along with it. The original company called to inquire why I was changing companies I explained what happened and we called V3 and ask why I was asked to write this letter and that is how I was put in touch with the sales manager. I was completely dupped and taken advantage of. I am a single older female living alone and I feel that he took advantage of me and misled me. I am fearful for my safety in that this person was able to weasel his way into my home and used a sort of pressure sales tactic to have me change companies. I feel that he lied to me. His office manager called me and grilled me for more than a half hour making me feel like I was lying. This new person said that she knew this salesman personally and that she had not known him to lie to customers. She also made me feel like I did something wrong and that I was going to be responsible for a substantial amount of money to get out of the new contract. I am filing this claim against this company in hopes that this salesman is held responsible for his actions and that he is not allowed to do this type of scam to anymore elderly women who are volnurable to this type of high pressure sales tactic. I am still responsible for the original contract and now I have to pay a large amount of money to get out of the new contract. This feels like a scam and I am fighting against it.

Desired Settlement: I want out of the new contract with V3 and have their equipment removed and the original equipment returned. I really feel like if this is the way that this industry behaves, I want no part of it at all. I want out of it all, both companies, if my original contract is up.

Business Response: Each alarm company has a contract for the monitoring services, which can vary from 1-5 years in length in most cases. If a contract is ended early, any remaining time becomes due and owing to the company- this is the standard industry practice. This homeowner just began service with us a month ago, but after speaking with her both today and yesterday about her concern we have released her from all contractual obligations without penalty and have scheduled an appointment to uninstall the equipment next Monday between 9-11am. The representative has been formally placed on probation and will be suspended if we receive another complaint. It is never our intention or practice to cause anyone to feel unsafe or misled and we sincerely apologize for the headache. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The complaint I have are these my garage door repeatedly being open from the house across the street for years. Your good office, can verify with regards to my complaint to the Rancho Cordova Sheriff Police department concerning this alarm that had been falsely activitivated by this house across the street. Any additional information about false alarm it was reported to Rancho Cordova Police department by me, ***** ** ******. I was told by V3 representative that he could fixed the systems where he could set off the alarm anymore positively. (he lied over and over to me). I would like to disassociate my responsibility with this company forever. Thank you very much for taking the time for me.

Desired Settlement: I wish to discontinue forever my association with this company I have no longer finances to continue paying with the company

Business Response: I apologize, but we are not sure what to do with this complaint. We have been in communication with this customer for a while and it has become increasingly clear that there is some major confusion with our system's capabilities and his expectations. From what he has told us, he is a retired vet that worked in intelligence, and is now convinced that his neighbors across the street have programmed a remote that can open and close his rolling garage door while he out during the day, to punish him for the work he did in the service. Our regular alarm install technician was kind enough to explain during the installation that the alarm itself is not tied into the garage door appliance in any way. We have made several visits out to his home to address his concern, and realized that there is just so much stuff in his garage that it trips the sensor at the bottom of the door so the door will not close. He has had a garage door company come out to take a look, from what he has told us. But he is adamant that our alarm is somehow supposed to solve the problem, which is not, of course, what an alarm system is designed to do. He has stopped paying his bill to us and either states it's because he can't afford it, or because it's not solving the garage door problem.

Consumer Response: In regard to your letter dated Monday July 21, 2014 stating the major confusion. Here with in my affidavit, I am
only giving you the fact and nothing but the truth so help me. And I will take the lie detector test anytime,
anyplace, I never told anyone, especially my neighbor across the street about the remote that could open and
close the garage, I don't know how they open my garage door at will. And I never told anyone that I was an
intelligence agent. Garage door inspection service, and adjustment was condusted by garage service address
**** ***** ****, and the telephone number is ************
The V3 technician assured me, if I took his alarm system on on would be able to open my garage door from the
outside, He made several adjustment to the system before he completed the installation, his adjustment did
work. And I called him repeatedly, the agreement was I would only take the system, if he could stop my garage
door from being ope illegally. never happened, and then he would not returned my calls. my agreement to him
was that, he would fixed the door first. and then, I would take the system. I aploize for my confusion it was not
intended. Pls. I thank you once again for taking the time to care.

 

Consumer Response: Consumer states that business has contacted him and his issues have been resolved.

Business Response:

After speaking with this customer we have elected to release him from his agreement with us. As of today, we collected the equipment from his home and ended all future contractual obligation. We hope this resolves everything for him. 
 


After speaking with this customer we have elected to release him from his agreement with us. As of today, we collected the equipment from his home and ended all future contractual obligation. We hope this resolves everything for him. 
 

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson made unsolicited sales call on elderly woman saying her alarm system company had gone out of business/they would install new equipment. My mom has a Monitronics sign in her yard. On 10/7/13, a salesperson from V3 Systems, *** ****** called on my mother to advise her that Monitronics had gone out of business and they were there to install the new equipment. My mom is nearly 80 years old, hard of hearing, and was entirely too trusting to allow he and the installer, **** ***** to come in to her home (scary) and take apart her alarm system removing and taking all of the Monitronics equipment with them. When she discovered she'd been scammed, Monitronics came out to re-install their equipment. My mom tells me that she is being refunded, but after reading the complaint just weeks from my mothers' ... I'm very concerned that if these folks aren't background checked, that something much more tragic could occur if they are preying on our elderly population. V3 is supposed to come to my mom's house again tomorrow to pick up their equipment and ask my mom to sign a release. I will not allow her to do this alone, so I will be there to ensure there is no funny business. What else can be done to a business like this?

Desired Settlement: After reviewing the other complaint filed 10/25/13 with my mom's system being installed 10/7/13 - I am concerned they will continue to prey on more elderly people - can BBB work with other agencies to have them thoroughly investigated?

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have spoken with the customer referenced above on multiple occasions about her account. We received a call from the customer about a month after the contract started (outside of the 3-day right to cancel with no penalty). After a few discussions (Friday November 8th to the following Monday) we understood there was some confusion. We take concerns such as this very seriously and agreed to release the customer from her agreement with us and to provide documentation regarding the release without penalty for the customer to keep for her records. We placed the representative on probation for misrepresentation shortly after speaking with the customer. It was agreed we would come back to pick up any of our equipment that was installed and have the technician bring the release paperwork. Upon receipt of the equipment, we would process the refund for her. This is our standard procedure for cancelation within the 3-day right of recision. The technician picked up the equipment and her daughter was present to supervise, as we noticed in the above complaint that was preferred. We certainly did not wish to cause any further distress and no further contact with this customer has been attempted. We would like to reassure this customer and her daughter that all representatives within the alarm industry are required to undergo background checks at the federal level before obtaining a license to be an alarm company representative. Any criminal history is thoroughly investigated (for more information, the governing body is the BSIS, a department of Consumer Affairs). We hope we have been as transparent as possible with this customer's cancelation process and in this response; it is very important we avoid confusion at all times. We sincerely apologize for any confusion or headache we may have caused and issue a specific apology to the customer's daughter for causing any worry over her mother's safety or well-being. We hope this complaint has been resolved to everyone's satisfaction, and wish this customer and her daughter well.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This misrepresentation appears to be a common issue with this form after reading of other complaints of a similar nature. What is of particular concern is that when the very nice installed came back to pick up the equipment, he had a release he wanted my mother to sign. I absolutely would not allow her to sign this as we may take this matter to an attorney so that this company will understand just how outrageous it is to take advantage of our senior citizen community. So while I appreciate their well-written response an well wishes, I believe the company endorses their salesperson's behavior which is why he is still employed there. If I can see two acts of a similar nature for the same company just on the BBB website alone, how many go unreported/undetected?

10/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: V3 used shady practices to sell me a system that was no different than service I already had, withdrew money from my bank and threatened addl. billing On Sep 26, a V3 rep (**** ********** knocked on my door, offering to check out my home security system (I had a Monitronics sign in the front yard) to make sure I was adequately protected. He checked out my doors and windows and said that I should upgrade my system. He installed the upgraded system, had me sign paperwork, provide him with a voided check and took away my old equipment on the same day. That evening, I learned that the company has only been in business for two months and none of the links on their website work. On Sep 27, the next day, I called to cancel V3 service and was hung up on by the rep. I asked Monitronics (my previous security service) to restore service and agreed to pay the service visit fee. On Sep 28, when a Monitronics technician came out to restore security, he programmed the V3 equipment because V3 took the Monitronics equipment on Sep 26. I mailed V3 written notice of cancellation via registered mail. On Sep 30, V3 submitted an automatic withdrawal request to my bank and withdrew $195. I had my bank stop payment and terminate V3 access to my account. On Oct 1, ******* from V3 requested proof of my Monitronics account before they would terminate my agreement with them. They also insisted that I return their equipment. I explained that we reprogrammed the equipment because the V3 tech failed to leave the Monitronics equipment on Sep 26, and that returning the equipment would result in additional charges to me. Hillary said that a V3 tech could reprogram the systems, but I told them that I didn't want them to touch the system because of their questionable business practices. I was told that I would be billed for the equipment that V3 installed, and they would leave a bill on the porch.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to cease and desist any further action or communication.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have spoken with this customer and her daughter at length about the termination of this account. We followed the same procedures we have in place for any alarm set up, including same-day installation and, as the contract states, automatic withdrawal (ACH) for the monthly payments- a clause that the customer must agree to in writing and during our recorded quality calls before any transaction occurs. We have attempted to refund the money withdrawn but have been given error messages because a stop payment was placed on the funds to begin with. No money has actually been received for this installation. We have attempted remediation with this customer's daughter through multiple phone calls to no avail, even offering to return the old equipment (we still have it for them), and reinstall it at no charge. We in no way asked them to contact the previous company and pay to have everything re-instated, we understand there is a cost associated and reinstallation is a simple, quick procedure. We still could reinstall the old equipment or at least return it to them and retrieve the hundreds of dollars we installed in the home, but the customer's daughter refuses to set up a mutually agreeable time that would let her supervise the exchange of equipment. Due to this, we would need to recoup the cost of the equipment, hence the need to mail them a bill. At this time, we have not mailed any such bill. We have not attempted to speak with the customer or the daughter since October 1. It should be noted we have been in this industry for over 8 years, and the links on our website www.v3ca.com do in fact work. We sincerely apologize for any distress or inconvenience we have caused Ms. ****** and her daughter, and are happy to oblige any further inquiries into this matter. We in no way intended to confuse, mislead or misrepresent our company or intentions and have a very clear contract that all representatives must carry with them in order to complete a new alarm activation and prevent any confusion. We are open to and encourage speaking with the BBB further to ensure this complaint is resolved to Ms. ******'s satisfaction.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept V3s agreement to lay to rest any and all claims related to this transaction. We sincerely appreciate the assistance of the Better Business Bureau in facilitating this outcome.

Final Business Response
We again apologize for any inconvenience this matter has caused. As we stated earlier, we in no way intended to cause any distress to Ms. ****** and her family, and have not contacted any one via any means other than through the BBB since that last phone call, as desired. We believe in reaching a resolution that is mutually agreeable with any conflict and wish to do so in this case as well. We think a reasonable solution is to forego the cost of the few items of equipment in the home so we can lay this claim to rest and agree it is resolved. We again apologize for the inconvenience, and stress that we never intended to upset anyone. We certainly will be cognizant of this complaint with all future business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on V3 Security
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart