Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

In today's challenging economy, businesses and homeowners need quality security and life safety systems and services without high costs. More than 8000 busineses and homes in Northern California and Southern Oregon trust our family company to deliver exactly what they need.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hue & Cry Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hue & Cry Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hue & Cry Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1979 in CA Business incorporated 02/21/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
http://bit.ly/1QBzWIF
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
bsis@dca.ca.gov
The number is 428.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 620587.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00980857.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patti Barker, Manager Mrs. Kathy Culmer, Owner Mr. Mike Culmer, President Ms. Kelsey Schaller, Management Ms. Taylor Vargas, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelsey Schaller, Management
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Fire Exit Devices Medical Alarms Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Contractor - Electrical Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1751 Bruce Dr

    Anderson, CA 96007 (530) 365-0071 (800) 762-3196 (916) 349-2474 80080025276

  • 6009 Auburn Blvd Ste 100

    Citrus Hts, CA 95621 (530) 926-5247 (916) 961-0900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    633 Quarry Rd Ste C

    San Carlos, CA 94070 (650) 574-1077

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service was cancelled last year, after I had submitted my quarterly payment, I decided to cancel since the customer service is subpar and after several attempts to remedy the issues I felt it was time to move on...I was contacted several times to reconsider from management people who had ignored on issues in the past, I was then told that they would refund my payment ASAP...This is now April and every month when I call about my refund of $86 dollars they tell me it is going on at the end of the month, today they stated that they can not find any paper work on my refund!!!...I spoke with ***

Desired Settlement: My money refunded....

Business Response: I am not aware of any conversation occurring where we told this customer that we lost the paperwork we do not even have an **** that works for our company. I see there was a request made for a credit 2 weeks ago and it is currently being processed by our accounting department to be sent as a refund to the customer. There is a process in customer refunds in the case of a cancellation where things need to be reviewed to be sure a refund is necessary and to make sure all cancellation was completed, contract terms were met etc. The customer should be receiving their refund soon. 

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Hue & Cry s office for installation of an alarm system in our residence and business in Shingle Springs, CA in October 2010. The installation took place In October 2010. Please note that we have never used the alarm system. We contacted the financial services department on Nov. 30, 2013, regarding discontinuing our monitoring service due to the fact that we have never used the alarm system since the installation. Their five year term is listed in very small print (need a magnifying glass to read it!) on back of their contract along with their "right" to increase monthly monitoring fees! And they did keep raising their monthly rates from $33.95 when we started to $40+! We received a reply back from ******* ****** in the Accounting department on Dec. 10, 2013. In the Dec. 10, 2013 email, ******* requested a response to her email as our written 30 day notice to cancel. We replied the same day canceling the service. Yet on Dec. 16, 2013, we received another email from ******* stating that they are now not canceling the contract per our earlier phone conversation, but are going to bill out the remainder of the contract to October 2015! Nowhere in the Dec. 10, 2013 email did she indicate that there would be termination charges, but rather she led us to believe the contract would just be terminated upon our reply indicating why the necessity to cancel service. We spoke with ****** on Dec. 16 following this email, and she said she would speak to her supervisor about changing the contract to a 3-year plan and get back to us. As of Dec. 27, 2013, we still had no reply from her and again requested that she get back to us.We have other emails requesting to speak with a supervisor at Hue & Cry on the phone and never heard from someone, and then ****** did not replyi to our emails. As we stated in our emails to ****** that nowhere on the first page of the contract is there any wording as to length of time for the contract. This is listed in small print on back side of the contract!This is very poor customer service and public relations too, as we had been trying to resolve this since November 30, 2013. Additionally, at the time of installation the installing technician damaged our bedroom wall. It has a crack on the exterior wall, which to date, it has not been repaired. Their technician brought it to our attention and stated that he would have the wall repaired, and yet it still has not been addressed. We have obtained a quote to get the repairs done and have received to response from Hue & Cry to reimburse us for the repair of our wall.Also in response to ******* ******'s letter dated December 19, 2013: We had been trying to get a response from ******* either by email or by phone, but she did not responded so we object to her first paragraph stating "we have made attempts by mail, phone or email." This is not an honest statement. We have been a very good customer who always paid their bills on time and feel very betrayed by the manner in which we have been treated! Their contract is unfair and deceptive in putting the terms in very small print on back of their contract! Also why on earth should they be doing five year contracts?? Is that even legal?? It certainly is unfair and harsh! I wonder what the Dept. of Consumer Affairs think about companies like Hue and Cry doing this to their customers? We feel they could have easily ended the contract after three years and just chose to hard line it to us with no consideration whatsoever of the financial burden to us paying for a system we never used!! They were absolutely heartless and we feel they should be held accountable for what they do to their customers!!As stated we run our own business and have been too busy to make this complaint earlier. We are glad to finally make this complaint and feel that there are most likely many other customers they have done this too also! Please help to make them accountable for what they do!

Desired Settlement: We paid $738 additionally because they would not let us cancel AFTER 3 YEARS! We canceled service so paid an additional $738 for no service!!

Business Response:

 

Our Hue & Cry staff does a great job of ensuring that our customers are aware of any contractual obligations before entering into an agreement. This customer signed a proposal dated October 2010 that clearly states the contract terms of five years.  All Proposals are then followed up by an official Contract, which also states the term of five years. This customer signed a contract in October 2010.

In general, it is always a good idea to read a contract in its entirety before signing it.  If any questions or concerns about the contract arise, bring it to the sales person’s attention before signing. Additionally, it may be helpful to know there is a 3 day rescind policy after the contract is signed. If you are unhappy with the terms, simply contact the company to void any obligation you’ve had. 

This customer did not mention any term concerns before signing. They also did not utilize the 3 day rescind policy. From the date of the Alarm Installation up until the time of cancellation (3 years), this customer did not submit any complaints to Hue & Cry. There is a feature within this customer’s control panel that reports activity to corroborate the system is testing properly on their account. Our records show we received normal test timer notifications monthly, confirming Hue & Cry was able to meet the negotiated monitoring needs.  It was only after the customer tried to cancel before the contract expiration date that the customer became disgruntled with Hue & Cry. 

Hue & Cry cannot control the use of an Alarm System once it is installed; instead, it is the responsibility of the customer to arm and disarm their system at their leisure.

Upon receiving the request for cancellation, a Hue & Cry representative emailed both the signed proposal and contract to the customer. After the customer voiced concerns that they were unaware of their contractual obligations, Hue & Cry had two representatives attempt to explain the contract and our policy for cancellation to the customer. When the customer was still unsatisfied, the situation was brought to the attention of the owner of the company. After reviewing the facts, the decision was made to hold the customer to the terms of the signed contract. At no time were Hue & Cry representatives rude. Hue & Cry strives to offer great customer service and we thank our valued customer for the opportunity to address their concerns.

Consumer Response:

We were gone for a while on a family matter and also on a vacation.  I am just getting into your site today, 9/5/14.  You have already CLOSED this matter so I just want to say that there has been NO RESOLUTION in this matter and this was just a waste of time.  Hue & Cry does not care what they do to their customers and their statements do not address the fact that we repeatedly emailed for this to be resolved and for us AFTER paying for installation and 3 years of monthly charges to be released from a 5 year contract.  It was a REASONABLE request and they were very unkind in their reply "we are going to hold you to the contract".  Their installer damaged our bedroom wall which we will have to fix on our own.  How is this fair???  They could have easily been reasonable about this, but chose to strong arm us.  That is the level of their "customer service"!!!

AGAIN, THIS HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED!

**** *********
9/5/14

Have a wonderful Day!
Anne & Todd Schindler
** *** ***** ******* ******** **  ***** **** ************* **** ************** **** ************* ********************* ***********************  ** *** *** ***********************

Business Response: Our services are designed with a contract in mind. This is how we are able to lessen the amount due at the time of the installation. This customer was given a discount and agreed to the five-year contract terms not once was any damage to any walls reported to our office this is news to us the customer canceled their services with us December 2012 on the bases they never used it. Our last service appointment was at no charge to the customer, at what time they had requested a bid for additional services. 

Our office is always willing to work with our customers an would be happy to reinstate there services an reverse the invoice for the amount billed out.
It is our standard practice to have all customer sign a contract as with any type of contract if canceled early there are penalties.
We do appreciate all feed back an will take it into account when making changes to our procedures.
Thank you,
Hue & Cry Inc. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: again, we PAID for the installation which was costly to us and always paid our monthly fees on time.  We did not report the damage done to our bedroom wall even though the installer pointed it out to us.  That was our good will!!!  We only asked to cancel our contract in November of 2013 after we had been on service for three years!!!  Hue and Cry were not out anything.  Also ******* on December 10, 2013, her initial response to our email to cancel, replied back instructions for us to respond back with a brief description of why we were canceling service.  Quote "As soon as I receive your response I will take that as your written 30 day notice to cancel." Then on December 27, 2013 quote from ******* "I spoke with my supervisor and we are going to hold you to the 6 year agreement you signed"  How is that for their "customer service"??

Again, they did not have any overhead costs on this, they just strong armed us with no diplomacy or kindness whatsoever!!! 

We do not accept their response!!  They need to do what is right!!

**** *********

Business Response: Company has included cancellation contract showing 11-30-13. There was no record or notice about a damaged wall when the company serviced the customer so they would not be responsible for subsequent damage that occurred after the company's service.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a complaint with the Hue and Cry alarm systems (not the original alarm system we bought). Through the years my alarm system has changed through several companies. Recently, I have been sending checks every September to Hue and Cry, my system payment was up to date when I requested a repair service in May 2013 to repair a "contact" on the garage side door which was preventing me from setting the alarm. A man came out and repaired the contact. He had me sign what I thought was the repair work sheet. He said he would mail me my signed copy because he didn't have a copy for me. My daughter and granddaughter were there and witnessed it. I did not receive a copy of the repair sheet that he said he would send and as time passed I forgot about it since the problem was fixed. I had been planning on putting my house up for sale since my husband passed away. My intention was to sell it at the beginning of summer 2013 and move into a senior living residence, which I have done. Summer was supposed to be a good time for families looking for homes. I made my last yearly payment in September 2012 which was still in effect at the time of the repair work. I contacted Hue and Cry on May 7, 2013 to let them know that I was putting my house on the market and would no longer need their alarm system services after the contract ended. That is when I received a copy of this contract. I read it and saw my signature. I also read the part that said I had 30 days to review the contract which I had never received.

Desired Settlement: I would like this contract rescinded because my intention was not to sign a new contract for my home alarm system when I was planning to sell my home that summer. I would not like my credit affected by this company in any way since I have a near perfect credit score. I do not want any more dealings with this company.

Business Response: In response to the complaint against Hue & Cry Inc. by ****** ********, we have done all we can to amend this issue. On March 31, 2014 we left her a voicemail explaining that any contact she had with Hue & Cry had been rescinded. Additionally, we informed her there are no outstanding dues and her credit will not be affected by Hue & Cry Inc. We reminded her that we provided her with two free service calls. As of December 2013, her account was fully cancelled.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hue & Cry Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)