Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tim Jones Roofing

Phone: (916) 791-0408 Fax: (916) 791-0444 5500 Cavitt Stallman Rd, Granite Bay, CA 95746 http://www.timjonesroofing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tim Jones Roofing offers roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tim Jones Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tim Jones Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tim Jones Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1991 Business started: 01/11/1988 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00522558.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tim Jones, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Jones, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Building Contractors Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

Tim Jones Roofing is a full service roofing company.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips How to Choose a Reputable Roofing Contractor Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 5500 Cavitt Stallman Rd

    Granite Bay, CA 95746

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to get a second opinion and called Tim Jones Roofing to get a roof leak inspection. The company had three good reviews on Yelp and is BBB accredited, so I thought they must provide good service. On the phone, I wasn't told it would cost $180 minimum JUST to have someone come look at it, but rather that *** charges $180 minimum for his work; my interpretation is that if I choose to use their service, its a minimum cost of $180, plus their website does state FREE ESTIMATES. Today, someone (I presumed was ***) showed up 30mins before the appt time, but did not call to inform me. He spent about 10mins on the rooftop, came down, and said could not find the problem. He went back up, spent another 15mins with a lot of thundering sounds, and said the problem had been fixed. He noted the problem was due to two broken tiles, which he replaced. I had my doubt that two broken tiles could cause two streaks of 8 watermarks, plus his troubleshooting was inconsistent with the first inspection I got. I was going to offer to pay for the replaced tiles, but instead he said they will bill me $180. I explained I had wanted an estimate and wasn't told there is a charge for him to come out. He said he only gives free estimates for work exceeding $180. He got angry and said, you know what, whatever!, then walked away. I was dismayed by his attitude and lack of professionalism. If that is how he does business, I would not have called. I better not get billed for this. Their websites FREE ESTIMATES is false advertising and I don't feel they treat customers properly.

Desired Settlement: As long as I don't get billed for it, I would be OK.

Business Response:

*** **** contacted my office on 11/13/14. At that time she was given a free estimate that if we could repair her leak while we were there, our minimum charge is $180.00. This was not an inspection as she claims it to have been, but a roof repair on an existing leak she had.

If she had asked for an inspection, our charge is $175.00 for a one story, $225.00 for a two story. Roof repairs are different than Roof Inspections for $180.00. If possible, we repair the leak while we are there, which is what I did. After repairing the roof, she asked me what she owed me and I told her it was our minimum charge of $180.00. She said she did not authorize that, but she would pay me partial payment. At that I told her whatever ***, and walked away never giving her an invoice.

Tim Jones Roofing cannot be responsible for *** **** not listening to what she was told, or refusing to listen.

Bottom line is she was NEVER billed. I feel she is just a dishonest person that thinks just because it only took 30 minutes to do her repair, it wasn't worth $180.00. What she doesn't understand is, if the leak continued, she would expect Tim Jones Roofing to keep coming back as many times as it took to stop her leak for the same minimum charge of $180.00.

Please Note: *** **** does not have a bill from Tim Jones Roofing for any amount.

Sincerely,

*** *****

Owner/Tim Jones Roofing

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tim Jones Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)