Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Tom Yancey Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Tom Yancey Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Tom Yancey Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 1990 Business started: 11/01/1888 in CA Business incorporated 11/14/1988 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 549999.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas G. Yancey, President Michelle Pleak, Office Manager Mrs. Cheryl Yancey, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Cheryl Yancey, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Thomas G. Yancey, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Millwork Cabinets Windows Contractors - General Drywall Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Contractor - Insulation Patio Cover

Alternate Business Names
Tom Yancey Company
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips How to Choose a Reputable Roofing Contractor Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 7101 Fair Oaks Blvd

    Carmichael, CA 95608 (800) 378-1888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tom Yancey Company installed a new roof on my house and the final payment was made on 04/03/2015. I have just noticed at the end of the day with the sun low in the western sky that ridges were appearing over my roof. Today 06/17/2015 ****** ******** come to my home to look at the roof ****** was the supervisor for the Tom Yancey Company on my roof installation. From his inspection he stated that the rafters were approximately three quarters of inch higher than the sheeting. And maybe it could be fixed by adding 2x4 to prop up the sheeting in the attic.I asked why this problem was not noticed during the installation of roof but was told it was so small it was not noticeable. He also stated that the roof is perfectly good and has no major problems with it. And that the warranty for the shingles should not be adversely affected by this condition.I feel that my new roof should be flat and level as all the other roofs which are in good repair. That the condition of my roof will only go down over the normal life expectancy of it and could structural fail or void the warranty. Also the "Tom Yancey Company 5 year guarantee mateial & workmanship" which states "All workmanship has been performed to the highest industry standards:". I feel that I had a failure in workmanship in the roof replacement.This condition was not found on the old roof.

Desired Settlement: Fix the sheeting problem to remove the valleys.

Business Response: The issue will be resolved, please see following correspondence, Thank You.



From: *** ******

Sent: Monday, June 22, 2015 8:51 PM

To: '***** *********

Cc: ****** ********; ****** ******; ***** ********

Subject: RE: Roof_Doctors_Inspection_Report (1)

 

Good evening Mr. ********…It was a pleasure talking with you
this evening…and meeting with you Friday evening.

 

I have agreed to perform the same scope of work outlined in this
**** ****** report at no charge to you, unless there are structural repairs to
be made, this would be extra. Much the same as the **** ****** report charges
extra for such repairs: Those extra structural repairs would be charged for as
per our original contract. Similar to those extra repairs we have already made
in other areas and charged for. If you would like us to proceed this way just
let us know.

 

In my earlier email I forwarded the ***** ******* Installation
Instructions providing proof your 3/8” plywood is a correct substrate and you
***** ******* Lifetime Warranty is still in effect. Your roofing installation
was inspected twice and approved by the very stringent Rancho Cordova Building
Department. Your 5-Year *** ****** Guarantee  which was given to you upon
completion of that work is still in full effect. We feel your roof and
substrate are structurally sound, properly installed and water tight and that
the issue is only cosmetic in nature.

 

We still want to address the problem but in a different manner
than the **** ****** describes. I feel we can accomplish better results, and
less costly to you, by doing the following:  I would like to accomplish a,
otherwise chargeable, structural repair  from within your attic to save
wear and tear and trauma to your new roof. We will use similar wood rafter
material and cross brace the area defined by the **** ****** report. I feel the
end results will be of far greater quality structurally and while, chargeable
according to our original contract, this work will be done at NO CHARGE to you.
Our crews will use care while working within your attic and with your attic
insulation.

 

With your favorable reply to my method I am sure we can make
this area more solid and flatter cosmetically. Thank you for all of your
business…our entire organization is ready to be of service! Regards Tom  

 

 

 



*** ******,

*** ****** Company Inc.

**** **** **** ********* *********** ** *****

 

Office:    ************

Cell:        ************

Fax:        ************

Website: *************

 

 



 

 

 

 



 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  The repairs at this point in time have not even been started so I'm not sure that they will be completed to my satisfaction.  But I must compliment Mr Tom Yancey on his dealings with me so far on my concerns

Business Response:

Tom:

Paragraph two has more ******** because it states that “None of your complaint conditions affect the overall roofing, Warranties, Guarantees or water integrity of the membrane”.  But in the Owens Corning Limited Warranty on Roofing Shingles under section title “What Is Not Covered, number 2. Damage to or failure of the shingles as a result of damage to or failure of the underlying roofing structure” . Your guarantees and warranties do not coverfailure of your homes structural system.   This description is stating the condition of the status of my roofing today which mean it would not be covered.  In our first meeting about my complaint with you, you told me that my complaint was cosmetic because of difference in plywood thickness. I did not make this statement your existing substrate is old and has some settlement. This was ******** because your company did not install any new plywood in the ridge area which we were discussing.  Also this ridge was much higher and wider than what is present for plywood thickness so your argument was false.  You also always forget to mention that I had an independent roofing report which I shared with you at this meeting, in which was stated the same concerns that I had with the roofing conditions I have read this report.

.

In paragraph three the part of the statement which reads “at no cost to you” but you have many other situations in this document which has potential cost for me.   Can you explain how you are going to insure the water integrity 30 Lb. underlayment when you install many more seams into it.    Service Call will be performed as per Owens Corning recommendations. We use 30Lb. underlayment, minimum is 15Lb. By doing so will it met Owens Corning Duration Series Shingle Installation Instructions as to underlayment installation. Yes. And back to “Item2” of the Owens Corning Warranty will it cover a patched roof system. Refer to Owens Corning representative ******* ******* Owens Corning Area Product Manger **** ***** **** ****** *** *** ******* ** ***** Cell: ************ Phone: ********************************************

In paragraph four you state that ****** is the most knowledgeable person of your project which I disagree with.  Because he was not present during our many meeting about this work so he would only have second hand information about what we discussed. ****** was project manager during installation he is very informed on your complaints. As I recall there was one meeting without ****** present.

In paragraph five I’m having a problem with what was stated in the first sentence and what is stated in the third sentence because they seem to me to be contradictory.  I feel that any other work required or requested by any other party is not fair, because you could, or the building inspector could, and I would be responsible for the cost.  Also being held to your fees as in the original contract had a profit component built into it, which I feel is not fair and only your true cost should be in this new contract. Disagree. See below.

In paragraph six is also contradictory to what is written in the third sentence of paragraph five. Any additional cost above Service Call scope of work will be discussed with you, and put in writing, before proceeding.

All downspouts are noisy. As stated TYC will address this let us know when we can proceed.

When we finally agree on a working agreement for this I needed it to be incorporated into a binding contractual contract between us The ******** Service Call **** ***** ****** ****** 07 17 15 Amendment 1 is a binding contract between ***** ******** and Tom Yancey Company.

In paragraph one I know you are not responsible for preexisting conditions but I do hold you responsible for compliance to all statements of how that work was to be completed in our original contract. Your project was completed per original contract in a timely professional manner and met the requirements of the Rancho Cordova Building Department.

I do have one more problem that I contracted and paid for a totality new roof.  Now we have agreed that you need to do major repairs on the roof.  We DO NOT agree that you need any repairs to your roof. Will this repaired roof meet the contractual roofing system as described in that original contract. Yes. Your roof is nowand will continue to be after the service call is performed,  water tight, properly installed, complies to Rancho Cordova Building Department regulations, meets all manufacturers warranties and installation requirements, has a Tom Yancey guarantee and looks great and is a nicer roof than all your neighbors.

Still need your reply to my second e-mail. All of this has been covered.

We have a backlog of work due to the unusually wet El Niño season. Please call the office when you would like us to proceed with the service call…

Consumer Response: I I have filed a complaint with the Contractors State License Board will wait to see the out come from that.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Tom Yancey Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)