Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc.

Phone: (916) 988-9100 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.rooflifecompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. offers roof repair, roof replacement and shake roof restoration services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1991 in CA Business incorporated 06/03/1991 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00627655.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven H. Clark, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven H. Clark, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation Roof Structures

Products & Services

Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. sells the following brand(s): CertainTeed, GafElk, Owens Corning

Products & Services

Roof Life Co. of No. California provides roof repair, roof replacement and shake roof restoration services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips How to Choose a Reputable Roofing Contractor Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2107

    Orangevale, CA 95662 (916) 788-2625

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir, I would like to lodge this complaint against Roof Life Company of Northern California Inc. regarding re roofing matters done in January 2016. The Roof Life Company refused to prime the trimmings/fascia boards that was replaced as stipulated by county code law. The company knew or should have known that the boards needed to be primed. But refused to do so saying they do not do avg painting. There were also some noticeable gaps, unseen cuts, and multiple knots in the wood/fascia boards. When I pointed out dry rot in the fascia board that had not been replaced, the contractor said it was not dry rot. Please, you are welcome to come by and see the problems I am complaining about. The contractor tried to force me to sign a contract that stipulated I was satisfied with the work done. I did not sign it because everything was not ok and I was not satisfied with work done, or not done. His manner was insulting and intimidating. I am a senior citizen and up in my years, any how, I told him, he will be paid.

Desired Settlement: Shortly after I refused to sign his contract, I received a preliminary native regarding a lien from ******* ***** ******* *** who appears to be the material supplier for Roof Life Co of Northern California. I suspect that the contractor told ******* **** ******* *** that I was not going to pay them. If you have any questions, please write or call me at ************* Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ***** *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Dear Sir,


I received your letter dated March 21, 2016 and letters from ****** ** ****** ******************** of the roof life company of northern California, Inc. He did not address the things in my letter. However, ****** ***** said he contacted the supervisor for the ********** ****** ******** ********** ********** who looked for clarification. "We have read and re-read the building code and it does not have any clear status that declares for the contractor or homeowner to paint the repaired wood. If that is true, why did **** ******* ****** ********* gave me a notice of correction saying all new wood to be painted, (copy enclosed). This is unfair to me. We tried to reach **** regarding county code for this action taken out to no ovail. To my understanding, **** said he was a friend and or use to work for roof life company. You see, everything is not ok. I would not have invited BBB to come to my house if I did not have your work to show for it.
Thank you for your time, we appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Business Response:

We would like to submit this letter in response to the above mentioned complaint.

 

When repairing dry rot we use pre-primed wood wherever possible and this homeowner was informed and agreed that the painting of the exterior of the home would be their responsibility. Our contract states that the only painting we would do is that of the vent metals and flashings ON THE ROOF, of which we did.

 

When the reroof was completed and we were preparing to set up the final inspection, we reminded the home owner of the painting needed and even offered to have one of our guys come out and prime the parts that were not pre-primed, for an hourly labor fee.

 

At this point we contacted the home owner’s daughter and also explained the situation and arranged for the final payment.

 

I have also contacted the supervisor for the ********** ****** ******** ********** inspectors, who looked for clarification. We have read and re-read the building code and it does not have any clear statute that declares for the contractor or the homeowner to paint the repaired wood.

 

Our agreement with the homeowner was any exterior painting of new repaired wood is the responsibility of the homeowner. However, our original offer to come back and prime the wood is still good, for an hourly fee.

 

In regards to any intimidation, that is NOT a behavior or practice that is or ever will happen with our company and did not occur in the slightest in the instance.

 

Please let us know if there are any other questions.

Thank you.

 

Business Response:

i do not see anything in this response that Is in need of another or a further response, no new questions or concerns and all issues were addressed in the original response.

please-advise if you need further communication from us. 

****** *****

RoofLife Co


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart