Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R Townley Roofing

Phone: (209) 472-0400 Fax: (209) 472-0405 PO Box 587, Linden, CA 95236 http://www.rtownleyroofing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R Townley Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R Townley Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R Townley Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 981222.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patricia Townley, Vice President Mr. Rick Townley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patricia Townley, Vice President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Contractors - Gutters

Alternate Business Names
Jorpay Inc
Products & Services

R Townley Roofing specializes in both commercial and residential roofing applications, install Built-Up Systems, PVC and TPO Applications, Composition Shingle, Shakes and Tile Roofing.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips How to Choose a Reputable Roofing Contractor Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 587

    Linden, CA 95236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After cancelling work, R. Townley Roofing performed work on roof 2mos later without notifying me. The roof leaked on Christmas weekend from 12/22-'11 to 12/25-'11. I called on Mon 12/26 spoke to the receptionist who informed me I had to call back when it was raining. I called for a year & 1/2 before a service man came out which was on 03/07-13. He did not go on roof to inspect & did not know where leak was coming from. He left to consult with his boss & I recd a letter from Rick Townley stating the window was caulked at my request, not true. Window was not caulked & I did not request it. He claims warranty is expired on 04/09-1. Warranty is good 'til 08/18-13. I have called several times. None of my calls have been returned.

Desired Settlement: I need for them to return with ladder, so I can look at roof areas in question. And if necessary finish sealing roof properly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to this complaint, please note. We were contracted to do minor repairs and install a reflective roof coating to this customer's mobile home. Work was completed as contracted. This work was for $765.00. Work was completed on 10-24-11. She made a payment of #365.00 on 12-09-11 and final payment on 12-12-11 after several calls. We have told this customer we did a coating project. We did not do a reroof. This was explained prior and during and after many times. The mobile home is in need of a lot of maintainace. We have visited the home twice after to the work was completed. There were window leaks not related to the roof. And again, our scope of work was to coat the roof with a reflective paint. Not a reroof. It is very clear in our contract that we are installing a coating! We will, be contacting this customer to inspect the home one more time(to verify the coating is still in place). Again, this was not a reroof. Thank you, R. Townley Roofing

Consumer's Final Response
After thinking about Rick Townley's comments on his last visit, August 2nd, I have reservations about his observation being correct. It appears he doesn't know how much about mobile home roofing. I mentioned to him, that the rim of my roof did not over lap the border, therefore, the border needed to be sealed in order to prevent leakage. He commented that my neighbor's roof was a different style. My neighbor's roof may be coated with another substance but the rim overlaps the edge leaving a sealed finish, which is the correct procedure. All mobile homes are basically manufactured the same, in which, the roof's rim is folded over and sealed like a blanket. They are not sprayed on top, leaving the border open and unsealed. That would be the same as leaving the eave on a house opened (unfinished). In that case, I'm sure the homeowners would be very unhappy about the so called finished work. Rick, also, stated that I refused to go up on the roof to view the coating. I, in fact, climbed up the ladder in order to see the work they had done, and found an open gap all the way around the edge of the roof, except for a 12" area. that was caulked on James previous visit in March. My question is, why wasn't the entire perimeter done? Then Rick continued, mentioning the window and siding needed maintenance. The window may need sealer, but that doesn't over ride the in-completion of the roof. As far as the sliding stands, it is fine and has nothing to do with the roofs performance. Instead of Rick having his company fix the roof according to standards, he is blaming the leaks on other things. On August 2011, Rick Townley stated on his first inspection, before giving a written proposal, that the roof would be sealed and then coated over the top with the top coat. In my opinion that means the entire roof, not just certain sections. The roof has not been repaired properly, which leaves the work unfinished. Water began leaking in those unsealed areas two weeks after their so called job was completed. I called their company the next day following the rain and they never showed up until 1 1/2 years later. This company is very unprofessional, does not give quality service, and performs shady work.

Business' Final Response
On August 2nd, 2013, I visited the site with my foreman. As soon as we arrived Mrs. ********* noted that she felt this whole matter was a misunderstanding. I told her we were there to resolve any issues and questions that she had. We set up a ladder an ask her it she would like to go up on the roof to inspect the coating we installed, as she mentioned in her complaint. She refused to go up. I brought to her attention the matter of the perimeter edge that she has continually complained about. We explained that there was no water going to enter the building at that location. The design of the flashing will prevent it. She said that it doesn't match the mobile home next door. I explained that they have two totally different types of roofing materials. Then we spent time explaining that her issues were with the lack of maintenance to the exterior of the home. The Aluminum siding and windows are in need of maintenance. The caulking around the windows is deteriorated and missing in some areas. I explain to her that our company didn't do this is not the type of work. And that she should look for a handyman to do the maintenance. As for the roof, when we left, I told her that her warranty for the coating work that we did was still under warranty and she can contact our office until the end of the warranty for service to the coating on the roof. Unfortunately, it appears that all of our time and efforts were wasted on our visit. In our defense, we have provide the services that we described in our contract with Mrs. *********. At the BBB request, we visited the site and tried to resolve any complaints and questions. It appears that this visit was a waste of time. When we left ************ said she was fine with the response that we provided her. We actually followed up with a letter in regards to our visit and again ask her to notify your office that this matter had been resolved. Thank you, **** *******