Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bernardino Roofing

Phone: (916) 920-0100 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 232, Citrus Hts, CA 95611 http://www.bernardinoroofing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bernardino Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bernardino Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bernardino Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2003 Business started: 03/01/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 817945.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tony Bernardino, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Bernardino, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Contractor - Tile Roofing Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning

Products & Services

Bernardino Roofing offers the following product(s): Company offers roofing services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips How to Choose a Reputable Roofing Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bernardino Roofing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 232

    Citrus Hts, CA 95611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Mr. **********: Attached you will find a copy of an invoice from * *** * ******* ******* for repair work on our roof for leaks that you refused to repair. We would expect you to refund the amount paid by us to * *** * ******* ******* as the repairs were, in fact, yours to complete. Upon completion of the roofing job in June 2014, we were very happy with the appearance and seeming good quality of work done by yourself and your cre. When the first rain appeared in October, we had a leak that resulted in water dripping down our HVAC return on the floor of our hallway. You did not respond to our call to come fix it; but at the time you advised us that as it was coming from the flashing surrounding the HVAC unit, we needed to call those contractors and have them reseal the flashin. As it no longer leaked, and in sprite of the pictures you took to underscore your reasoning, we did not comply with your suggestion. Then it rained again, and it leaked again in the same location. However, this time we discovered that not only was it leaking back through the HVAC return, it was also leaking through our kitchen cabinets, and have previously. As they are cabinets we do not access frequently, we had not noticed the cabinet leaks until the second time. When we called again, you refused to come out and do repairs, again stating the repairs needed to be done by the HVAC contractors, but you would be willing to come out and take pictures again to show exactly where it was leaking. Our research showed that since you had completed the re-roofing, at a total cost of $9,657.00, it was your responsibility for any and all repairs that were neccesary after the fact for at least five (5) years as stated on your invoice for warranty on workmanship. What our research found, Mr. **********, is that regardless that the flashing on the HVAC unit was the cause, you were required to loosen the unit to properly replace the asphalt shingles and therefore you were required to properly re-seal the flashing.

Desired Settlement: We did not wish to belabor the point, nor risk another rainfall and incur further damage, so we contacted another contractor and had them properly seal the flashing. We are also in the process of having our kitchen cabinets checked, along with the drywall as we are unsure of any other damage that may have occurred since we have now experienced three additional rains that may have exposed the drywall and cabinetry to further damage. Any repairs that may be necessary to the drywall and/or cabinets we would expect you to bear the cost of repair and/or replacement as well. A copy of this letter is being submitted to the Better Business Bureau, and to the California Contractor's State Licensing Board for their review. If this how you conduct your business, you do not deserve to have rating currently showing on the BBB website, nor the record indicated on the Contractor's State Licensing Board website. Your prompt attention to this matter is expected. respectfully, ******* ** ****** * ******** ** ******

Business Response: I'm mailing my response.

Business Response:

 

To whom it may concern,

I was first called out to 8787 Sunset  Ave in December 2012 to look at a leak coming thru the A/C return. Mr. and Mrs. ****** requested a repair to be done.  We then  did a Composition repair around the A/C base flashing.

It wasn't until May 16 2014 that I heard from them again. This time they requested a Reroof estimate because they were having trouble around the A/C unit again and the roof was very old. They called me back on May 22, 2014 to sign the contract. We then did the Reroof on May 30, 2014- June 2, 2014.            

After the first rain in August 4th and 5th, Mrs. ****** called to say the roof leaked at the A/C return again. I personally went out there and took the roof apart to see if there was something wrong with the way my crew installed the roof.  I didn't see anything out of the ordinary and reroofed the area.

In the middle of November, Mrs. ****** calls again to say the roof was leaking in the same spot. I made an appointment with her that day. Myself and one of my workers went out to the ******'s house and did a water test. I couldn't get anything at the roof level to leak. It wasn't until I wet the top of the A/C Downdraft duct plenum  that it started leaking. I could now see that the duct was rusted  and allowing the water thru the top side of the metal flashing.  I took pictures and showed Mr. and Mrs. ****** what I had found. I advised them that the leak is coming thru the plenum and not the roof. I explained that  we are not an  HVAC  company. We're not licensed to replace this duct work.

Then in December, after several rain, Mrs. ****** calls again to say the roof is leaking in the same spot. Straight down the A/C return. I asked her if she had called the HVAC company to replace the plenum. She couldn't  recall the exact words to the  conversation we had the last time I was there doing the water test. I tried to explain it to her again. But she refused to understand. I then made an appointment with her to come out in a few days to look at it again and show her the pictures again.

The very next day, Mrs. ****** calls to cancel our appointment. She stated that she understands what I was telling her and that they called an HVAC company to come out. I told her to let me know what they say and we'd go from there.       

I never got a call back from Mr. or Mrs. ****** after that. Instead I received a letter from them, simultaneous to BBB and CSLB, demanding payment from another roofing company.

In closing I'd like to say. I responded to Mrs. ******s calls every time in a timely manner. We made several attempts to find the problem. We were never told the roof was leaking inside of the cabinets. And in their own statement they state that I was willing to go out there and show them the problem again. But I never stated that I wouldn't do any repairs. Mrs. ****** is the one who cancelled our last appointment. They didn't comply with my suggestions to replace the plenum and instead called another roofing company to do a repair that hasn't been proven to have fixed the problem. I'd like to perform my own water test to be sure it solved the problem. I am also sending the Contract Provision the ******s were given for the repair and the reroof. They have voided their warranty by have another company work on the roof. Unless my water test proves their repair fixed the leak.

I'd also like to add that we are a Quality company who has held an  A+ rating with BBB for 11 years. We honor this rating and are appauld  that someone of a Military background would try to attack us  after we continually responded to Mrs. ******s calls.

 

Respectfully **** **********

###-###-####

                                                

 

Consumer Response:

As stated in our original letter, ********** Roofing was contracted to re-roof our home in May 2014. We based our decision primarily on the satisfactory repairs initially completed by him in 2012 when he found where the roof was leaking around the flashing of our HVAC unit. Later rains resulted in some additional leaking, which my husband (who was physically able to gain access to roof at that time) used some spray-on-sealant on every inch of flashing, as well as other areas he considered suspect. This includes adding roofing nails to any tiles that looked loose. At that time, we knew a re-roof was inevitable; we were simply trying to delay the job until we had funds available to have the work completed.

That was done in 2014. I do not question that a water test was done on the completion of roof install, but I do not recall it as a fact. The first rainfall after the re-roof, the roof leaked - at the same location as in 2012, which should have not done with the re-roof. Mr. ********** did respond to our phone call to come out and fix it. At that time, he took photos on his cell phone and told us that the problem was with the HVAC flashing, and that we needed to contact our contractor, Bell Brothers, to "fix the problem"; that it really wasn't an issue with the roof.

This made no sense to me, nor my husband, but I did contact Bell Brothers and asked the question. Since they inspect our HVAC unit at least twice a year, when I asked about leakage after having the home re-roofed I was told any leakage should be repaired by the roofer. Where it was leaking due to incorrect reattachment of the HVAC unit by the roofer, and not due to any damage or fault of the HVAC unit itself. Other roofing contractors that I called to ask about the issue confirmed that the problem had to be a result of incorrect sealing from the re-roof.

With the next rain, and the next leak, I again contacted Mr. ********** about the problem. He offered to come back out, and take more pictures to show us again where the HVAC unit was leaking. The fact that the water was coming down the HVAC return was "proof" that the problem wasn't with the roof, it was the HVAC. The resulting conversation of this phone call resulted in Mr. ********** feeling insulted and "disrespected" by my husband when ******* told him that looking at a mini-picture of the flashing didn't prove it wasn't leaking; and ******* responding with temper that Mr. ********** was disrespecting him in his assumption that we were incapable of having any knowledge of roofing, and proper sealing.

So, yes, I did tell Mr. ********** to schedule a time to come out and take additional pictures. He stated he would call back with a day and time. I finally received a message from him later that day ( I had other appointments and after 4 hours had left the home to keep them). The message was in a few days he would be able to stop by and show us photos again. After a few days, we were just done.

It was when we called another roofer out to inspect the problem that we found where water had come into the cabinetry - and we pointed it out to him. Had we noticed the problem earlier with Mr. **********, it would have been noted; but it was in an area that we do not access often - and it was only by luck that we found the problem. A & R Roofing came out, gave us his evaluation of the problem along with an estimage. We accepted his bid, and had the work done the next day. His water test lasted more than 30 minutes - he even covered an additional area that he didn't like the look of (that wasn't in the original scope) and water tested again. No leakage - anywhere. That is when I called Mr. ********** and told him to not bother to come by - the work had been done.

All I requested from Mr. ********** the cost of the repairs. By all concerned in his industry, there should have been no leak after his work was done. And by inspection by Bell Brothers of our HVAC unit, there is not rust or any need to replace any part of the HVAC at this time.

Mr. ********** feels "appalled" that someone of a military background would "try to attack him"? This shows his distain of his customers, espeically a disabled veterans whose body is no longer able to fix a problem already resolved before ********** Roofing took the old roof off, detached the flashing and relative HVAC parts from the roof, and then did not seal them correctly. In a military tow, that response could have resulted in being reported to the I.G. Office, leading to being black-listed from being able to do any work for any military personnel.

Respectfully,

*** ******* ** ******* *** *****

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service