Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Armor Roofing

Phone: (209) 525-9773 Fax: (209) 525-9700 1337 Lone Palm Ave, Modesto, CA 95351 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.armorroofing.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Armor Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Armor Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Armor Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2009 Business started: 03/02/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 759855.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Jewell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Jewell, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation

Products & Services

Armor Roofing specializes in roofing, restoration, repairs as well as additional services such as gutters, sun tunnels, skylights, and title 24 requirements.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips How to Choose a Reputable Roofing Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Armor Roofing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that in last years rain my house leaked and I called a roofing contractor. The name of the contractor is Armor Roofing. The license number is ****** *** **. When I spoke with the contractor by telephone, he told me that he would charge me $200 to come out and put a tarp to cover the leaks. I said it was ok and two men came. One went on the roof and moved some shingles, then came down and the contractor comented I needed to change the metals and he would charge me $4,500 dollars. I told him I would have to discuss it with my wife. The next day I called him and he said it was okay. I wanted to pay him his $200 but he told me no because he did not put the tarps, that he only did an estimate that he did not do anything up top. Now today he is charging me 729 dollars telling me he fixed the leaks and is threatening me. He wants to take me to small claims court because I am refusing to pay

Desired Settlement: I am not refusing to pay the 200 but I am not paying $729 dollars. That seems like a robbery to me. I did not sign any contrat. The contractor doesn't even have my correct name.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to discuss Mr. ******’s communication with BBB. Please note on the first initial call from the claimant listed above he stated his last name as ********. As explained in my conversation with you, *****, we are thrilled he contacted you as this is the first time he has made any attempt to resolve the matter with Armor Roofing. The following information briefly outlines our multiple attempts to communicate with Mr. ******.

 

December 11, 2014

Mr. ****** contacted Armor Roofing for emergency repairs during the December torrential downpour. Mr. ****** verbally agreed for immediate repair services and requested to pay with a credit card. Repairs were made at that time.

 

December 22, 2014

Armor Roofing sent an invoice and credit card form to Mr. ******’s home address.

 

January 7, 2015

Armor Roofing sent a second invoice to Mr. ******’s home address.

 

 

January 14, 2015

A spanish speaking representative of Armor Roofing communicated with Mrs. ****** by phone payment was required.

 

January 27, 2015

Armor Roofing left another message for payment.

 

February 3, 2015

Armor Roofing sent a letter via Certified Mail to Mr. ****** once again requesting payment as agreed upon in December. The Certified Mail was refused on three different attempts by the USPS: February 5, 2015, February 12, 2015, and February 22, 2015.

 

February 27, 2015

The refused Certified Mail was returned to our office.

 

March 25, 2015

Armor Roofing sent a Demand for Payment letter via mail in light of the fact Mr. ****** refused the letter via Certified Mail.

 

*****, once again, we are more than happy to resolve this matter providing Mr. ****** is willing to communicate with our office. Armor Roofing is open Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm.

 

Thank you again for your time in resolving this issue. If you should require additional clarification please call our office at *************

Consumer Response: The contractor did go on the roof and came down telling me that he could not repair the leaks because the roof sheets were the problem causing the leaks. So he then gave me an estimate of what the repair cost would be. I told him that I would have an answer for him the following day. I then told him no because it was too expensive. The agreed upon amount was $200 for the service not $705

Business Response:

Armor Roofing tried repeatedly to make contact with said customer.  If the agreed amount of 200/00 for the minimum service call was stated prior to going out, then would you agree that there was going to be an additional charge for addressing the 2nd leak area.  At this point, Armor will accept the homeowners stated amount of 200/00 and give him the 2nd leak area for free. Please make immediate payment. 
Also, to the BBB please be assured Armor Roofing made every attempt possible to contact the homeowner and resolve any concerns he may of had. The only time the homeowner made contact was to you the BBB after multiple phone calls and letters and finally a demand for payment notice. The homeowner never returned any of our calls or letters.

Consumer Response: Yes, I am in agreement with paying the $200 dollars but he can no longer hassle me and threaten me with taking me to small claims court. I just want to end this and do not want to know any more about this company. Where should I send the payment?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Armor Roofing
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart