Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wildwood Properties

Phone: (916) 783-0500 Fax: (916) 783-7715 590 Menlo Dr Ste 7, Rocklin, CA 95765

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Wildwood Properties is a full service Property Management Company serving the Placer and Sacramento County areas since 1970. We manage single and multi-family rentals, as well as commercial properties. Family owned and operated.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wildwood Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wildwood Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1970 in CA Business incorporated 08/19/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01233813.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00856155.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00948803.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Torok, Broker Associate Mrs. Carolyn Gillette, V. President Mrs. Jackie Torok, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Torok, Broker Associate
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Gold Hill Properties, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 590 Menlo Dr Ste 7

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (916) 783-0500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put in an application to rent a house along with $30 application fee. I called the next day to cancel app as I was no longer interested in renting this property. I spoke to ****** ***** and she said to put a stop payment on the check in case they accidentally cashed it. This stop payment cost me $25. Then about 2 months later I receive a letter saying I never paid and my account was going into collections if I don't pay $30 app fee plus $8 check fee. I'm not sure if she forgot about our conversation or what, but I was only doing what I was instructed to do by ****** ***** and Wildwood Properties.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $38 as I cancelled the app before it was processed and followed the directions of Wildwood Properties and its representative.

Business Response:

****** applied for one of our properties on May 21st (Saturday) and paid the application fee of $30 by personal check.  Her application was run and credit processed on Monday, May 23rd. She was notified that her application was declined on May 25th and then put a stop payment on the check May 26th.  We did not receive any communication that she did not want the property and not to process her application. If we had, we wouldn't have processed it.  In a case where a refund is necessary we would issue a check back to the applicant, we would never advise them to put a stop payment on a check.  But, in her case a refund is not warranted.

It's not unusual for a prospective tenant to put a stop payment on their application fee when their application is declined.  That is why we require the fee to be paid in certified funds.  Obviously, the property manager's decision to accept a check in her case was a mistake.  It costs us money to process applications, and the fee covers our time and costs.

We are asking for the original application fee of $30 and the $8 fee charged by our bank for the returned item.

Business Response:

The application was submitted on a Saturday. A call to us the "next day" would've been a Sunday, and we're closed.  The application was processed on Monday morning. The applicant was declined on Wednesday and put the stop payment on the check on Thursday.

Had we received a cancellation from this applicant prior to her application being processed, we would have 1. returned her check to her or, if it had been deposited 2. made sure the check cleared and then issued her a refund check.  That is, and has always been, our policy.

I have been doing this job for 32+ years and have never told an applicant to stop payment on their application fee check, in case we "accidentally" deposited it.  A stop payment costs the applicant money and it costs us money, doesn't make sense.

If this applicant had called in and cancelled her application prior to processing (as she claims), we absolutely would've refunded her fee and not wasted time and money processing her application.  But no such call was received.

These are the facts. 



Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Unfortunately these are NOT the facts. I called the next day the business was open and this is what I was told by ****** *****. This is becoming a he said she said circumstance. What will BBB do to mediate?

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wildwood Properties
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)