Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunburst Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sunburst Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunburst Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1981 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01011307.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01977380.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00935790.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Jill Steiner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Jill Steiner, Owner
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Sunburst Properties

Additional Locations

  • 137 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 788-4223

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a rental agreement with Sunburst Property Management on Oct 24th, 2015. 10 days later, I submitted a status report, and cited multiple broken windows, unsanitary conditions, debris from the prior tenants, and extensive damage to the walls and window blinds. On Nov 2nd, I discovered the bathroom sink had solid waste matter in the drain. The drywall under the sink had a large hole exposing the dirt cellar. I contacted Sunburst and they sent a man out to “snake” the drain after three days. I requested that he also replace the rotting wood on the cellar door, so that rodents would not enter. The man agreed to do so, but never returned. On November 9th, 2015, when I turned on the heater, it emitted a burning smell. The floor vents were filled with dust and hair, so I turned it off and contacted Sunburst. They advised that it was “normal” and to let it run for 24 hours. I requested **** inspect the unit, and they were able to inspect on Nov 20th. They discovered that the unit was improperly installed, including the intake vent being created out of the old gas floor heater’s metal casing. There is no intake filter on the floor vent. Debris and macroscopic dust are sucked up from inside the house, and the dirt and dust from the basement are drawn in through the old floor heater’s holes. I also noticed a leak in the basement and a plastic pipe dripping into a hole in the ground. I contacted Sunburst on Nov 24th - they promised to send a heating specialist immediately, but they never followed through. I was never able to fully move in, because the house was never in satisfactory condition. I requested in writing that I be reimbursed for November’s rent and the security deposit that I made in good faith, and vacated the premises on December 6th, 2015. The company responded with a demand letter for a total of $1,890.90 and refused to return the Security Deposit of $1,320, refused to acknowledge the issues, and threaten “further action” if I do not pay them.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Sunburst Property Management (and/or the owner of the Oak Street property, ****** *****) owes me a refund for the entire month I was unable to occupy the space, due to it's sub-standard and actually hazardous conditions, as well as my entire security deposit, since the place was never in the condition promised when I entered into the contract, and by the standards set by the State of California. Total I paid was $2,660.

Business Response:

 

Dear *****,

On December 17, 2015, we sent you a letter, advising you that the deposit for the property located at *** *** ******,was forwarded to the owner of the property as he requested.  We also advised you that as of that date, he now was in pocession of the Security Deposit and that you would be hearing from him.

I am enclosing a copy of our letter advising you of this.  Also, I am enclosing a copy of the Security Deposit Transmittal that was sent to you by Mr. ***** personally.

I have never heard from you since you returned the keys to our office. I know that on December 9, 2015, at 9:40, you called the office to talk to the property manager, and left a message.  On the same day at 10:29, she tired to call you back and left you a message.  Since that time we have never heard from you, until I got this letter from the Better Business Bureau.  I believe that since Sunburst Properties was not involved with the disbursement of your deposit and we are not the owner of the property that you should be contacting, Mr. ***** directly. 

Thank you

**** *******

**** *******

 

 

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the time I was a tenant under Sunburst Property management (08/2009-08/2015), I feel that I was harassed and mistreated on multiple occasions. The first incident was in their office when i signed the rental contract. ******** became upset that I arrived 15 minutes early than the scheduled time and began telling her coworker who was about 2 feet from me how much she hated when people didn't keep their appointment. The 2nd incident involved Jill arriving to my home at 730pm to hand me a 3 day notice for not paying my rent. My rent check was given to them on time but misplaced by one of the women in the office. After handing me the incorrect 3 day notice, she began asking me why I had so many belongings in my garage and asked if the two friends who were visiting lived in my home and I had not reported this. She then proceeded to tell me that she lived in Lincoln and would be driving by the property to keep an eye out. The most recent incident occurred when I moved out of the home due to me purchasing a home. I called, spoke to ******** and requested and extra week after my 30 days was up with the understanding that I would be required to pay additional rent. She became completely upset and began telling me that I was required to return the keys, they were going to send a locksmith to lock me out of the home, and I was going to pay for the locksmith. I told her she was being very unprofessional and I didn't understand why they couldn't just charge additional rent, she hung up on me while I was explaining this. I called back, she said to me "I don't need to deal with this today" and hung up again. My husband called right after I did in hopes to resolve the situation, she stated to him that she was not going to go through all of this with him and hung up on him as well. I have since called them 4 separate times to try and resolve this issue, twice I've asked for the manager but they refused to let me speak with her, two other times I left messages with no return call.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to be thoroughly investigated for their lack of customer service, professionalism, and courtesy to clients. They are charging me for inaccurate items on top of keeping my full deposit. They are not honest with their allegations and refuse to return any calls and hang up when issues arise. I do not feel this company deserves to be in business any longer for all the terrible service they've provided to so many tenants. I believe my deposit should also be returned.

Business Response:

To answer *******'s letter, I do not believe that we mistreated her when she signed her documents in 2009.  Typically when people come in early to sign their papers we are happy, especially when they sign on a Friday (which was the day that they signed)  If I came by her house to serve a notice for non payment of rent, I would not ask anything about belongings in he garage, as I was just there to discuss rent and nothing more.  I don't believe a rent check was misplaced by someone in the office, it was just late.  Notices for non payment of rent are not served unless we can not reach the tenant by phone or they don't return calls.  If I had spoken to her regarding this, and if in fact a check was misplaced there would never have been a need for me to come to the property.  Of course we do drive by the properties that we manage, as this is part of our Management Service for the owners.

When ******* and Craig came into the office to give their 30 day notice, they gave us a specific date as to when they would be out.  Then an additional time was requested, which was accomodated, even though we had a anxious owner with a Mortgage Payment due and wanting the property re-rented as soon as possible.  We even had to put people off that wanted to see the property, as we awaited the keys being returned.  When the keys were returned, we sent out a locksmith to re-key the property as we do this when tenants vacate and ******* was still there delaying the process for showing the property and doing the necessary repairs even longer.  We had already postponed showings 2 times based on the word that the tenants would be out and were gone and they were not.

Once we got into the property damages were discovered.  We sent the tenants a letter along with the Security Deposit Settlement (which I have attached) and copies of the pictures that we had taken.  This explained everything that was deducted from their deposit.  As of this date, the letter has not been returned which means that they have received the letter.  We have pictures to substantiate the deductions, which exceeded the Security Deposit.  The owner doubts that he will ever be repaid.  ******* is more than welcome to come by the office and view the pictures.  If you need me to send copies I can.  ******* did call the office to speak to us and left a message and we did call her back and never heard back from her.

I am sorry that she is upset and stating the things that she has.  I always thought we had a positive working relationship, until now.  I tried to accomodate all of her requests during the time that she lived in the property and I don't feel that she was mistreated at all, I feel just the opposite.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sunburst Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)