Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc.

Phone: (530) 342-2214 1166 E Lassen Ave, Chico, CA 95973 http://www.sheratonrem.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 1993 Business started: 06/01/1986 in CA Business incorporated 12/19/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01329961.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01339360.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Herbert, President Mr. Larry Ruby, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Herbert, President
Principal: Mr. Larry Ruby, President
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Property Maintenance Real Estate


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sheraton has not acted in good faith to the tenants or cosignors of this Chico rental 4-plex. They sent several confusing emails throughout the school year about parties and threatened the tenants and cosignors. They never confirmed which unit was having the said party and proceeded to threaten all tenants and cosignors with additional fees to pay for a security guard. They worked on the units without informing the tenants that they would be outside their unit banging and creating a very difficult environment to study during finals. Sheraton also turned off the power at least once for several hours without notification to the tenants. The unit was dirty at the beginning of the lease, filthy carpets, broken kitchen cabinet,broken bathroom shower door, mildew under the bathroom linoleum, garbage all over the outside... When our son and his roommates lease ended they left it as they found it. Sheraton sent a bill of $4,596!!! Ridiculous charges for cleaning, recarpeting, painting, and on and on. An example of the ridiculous charges: Sheraton charged $59 for "diagnosis" of a freezer door bar that was broken! This was just to "diagnose" the freezer door bar is broken , not even to repair it!! When we questioned said charges, **** at Sheraton gave nonsense reasons for all of the unjustified charges. The original moveout charge list had two "others," one was for $2000 and the other "other," was for $132. No description at all! On the first revised moveout charge list, **** told us that the $2000 was for the carpet, but they didn't know the amount at the date of the first charge list. This was a lie, included in the revised charge list is the Sheraton invoice for the carpet which was dated prior to the first charge list sent to us. We are still waiting for the real receipt from the real carpet company, which is required by law to be sent to us. Sheraton takes advantage of students and their cosignors, knowing that the students are too busy to deal with this and their cosignors are distant.

Desired Settlement: Sheraton needs to do the right thing and reduce the overcharging on this account. $595 to repair a 4"X 6" crack is wrong! $804 to clean is wrong! Carpeting was already needing to be replaced before our son moved in! Repainting entire apartment and charging for this is wrong! $59 for freezer bar "diagnosis" is wrong. We are wanting to be charged no more than the $2000 deposit. That is more than enough to pay for the needed cleaning and repairs.

Business Response: Dear *****,
Thank you for following up with the move out of the home at *** ******** **** **. I appreciate the time and energy you have invested in reviewing the security deposit itemization. For clarification, I will address each issue as listed in your BBB complaint.
1)    Party: I apologize if there was any confusion regarding the party in early May which is the particular one I am assuming you are referring to. According to ***** police and a private patrol agency, all four apartments were involved in the party that consisted of more than 300 people. 
2) Construction: All apartments were posted with a notice informing them up of the upcoming exterior stucco repair. I apologize if the work created a difficult studying atmosphere as that was not the intention while the building was improved.
3) Condition at move in: I have reviewed the move in documentation including pictures and found that all items in the home were noted to be in clean and intact condition. This condition was signed and agreed to by *****, the resident present, on July 24th, 2014. I would be happy to send you pictures documenting the condition. Sheraton’s move-in documentation is extremely thorough. The move-in for this unit is 33 pages and 104 pictures and clearly shows #1 as to be in excellent condition. The full move-in is available for your review at your request.    
4) Charges: Upon review of your initial complaint letter to our company along with the manager’s responses, all charges are reasonable in consideration of the amount of work needed to be done. A 20 page packet was provided to the residents on April 27th that detailed what cleaning and general condition was needed in order to receive a full deposit refund along with hourly quotes for cleaning and painting. This packet also emphatically emphasizes the necessity to have a resident or personal guarantor present at the scheduled move-out date and time. Phone calls were also made to emphasize this. No resident or personal guarantor chose to be present. Over 95% of the disputes that arise are from those who chose to not attend the move-out inspection. Just as was mentioned above, the move-out inspection is well documented and includes 53 pages and 180 pictures. The contrast between the move-in and move-out is easily identifiable.          
a) Cleaning: Given the size of the home and that almost every item needed deep cleaning, the cost reflects the time needed to bring the home back to the agreed upon move in condition. Please let me know if you would like pictures as an example.      
b) Freezer bar: As with most professional services, we are charged a visit and/or diagnostic fee for a technician to assess the damage in order to find a replacement part. The labor time is discounted in consideration of this visit fee and only an additional $15 was charged for the two repairs that were done.        
c) Unlabeled charges: On your original deposit itemization, there were two charges that had estimates of $2,000 and $132.23. I sincerely apologize that these items were not clearly labeled for the repair that the estimate was on as this was an oversight on our part. As you saw on your revised deposit itemization that was sent out 2 weeks later, the estimates were for carpet replacement and the refrigerator repair mentioned earlier. I have confirmed with the manager that he recently sent you additional copies of invoices including the original carpet replacement invoice as per your email request. If you have not received this, I would be happy to send them again directly to you.
*****, I understand your frustration and please be assured that we do not take these complaints lightly. Our goal is to provide a wonderful housing experience and we do everything in our power to provide a clean and well cared for home for our residents. We are not taking advantage of students, co-signers or any other resident that we care for. As our letter in the move out instructions says, we provide ample opportunities for inspections, cleaning lists, and even an online video to help avoid any frustration and confusion during this time. I apologize that this has been your experience in renting with us and hope that these answers clarify the issues. Please feel free to contact me personally for additional documentation of the home or simply to discuss ideas to prevent misunderstandings like this in the future.        
Thank you for your attention in this matter and best wishes for the future.
Sincerely, 
******* *****
******** ** ******** **********
Sheraton Real Estate Management
************ 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: You should have resolved that before payment was due, you had plenty of time.

Business Response:

Response:

As per our phone conversation, my firm has provided all documentation to *** ***** regarding this dispute. This included a move-out packet that strongly encouraged presence at the time of move-out by all residents and personal guarantors. None chose to be present. We also offered to provide the move-in documentation which included over 100 pictures and the move-out which also included over 100 pictures. ** ***** questioned whether we actually replaced a portion of the carpet and we offered to provide contact information of the carpet company that installed the carpeting. We have not heard from any of the residents or their personal guarantors except for ** ***** who is the wife of the actual guarantor. The amount owed has been paid in full by all parties including ***** ***** so I do not know what further steps would need to be taken.   

Regards,

*****

9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sheraton has charged excessive fees as part of the 'Move-out' process. This is a pattern for Sheraton as noted by **** and other review sites.Specifically, the have charged for items that did not need repair and charged 3 times the appropriate fee for items that need repair. Their bill does not include any actually payments to vendors or associated material costs.This company is obviously making their profit on fabricated and over-priced repairs rather than rental fees.The total repair bill was $3,542. Here are 2 examples of how they ever-charge: * Cleaning $338 - we already paid $450 dollars to a cleaning company to clean the apartment and it was exceptional clean (stove, refridge, etc.). I'm not sure how they can spend another $300+ dollars cleaning, especially since they are charging to repaint the place. * Maintenance for Window Blind $227 - This is a standard size blind that was not properly installed (never removed the excess slats)that sells for $20 at home depot. They bought a new $20 blind and replaced the old one without installing new brackets which is a 5 minute job.Please work with me to expose this fraud.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Sheraton produce actual receipt for the billed labor and materials.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

 

I have been notified by Better Business Bureau that you filed a complaint on August 8, 2014 regarding a billing issue in reference to your son’s former residency at *** ******** **.  Please recognize that the first I heard of this complaint was last Friday (9/12/14). The complaint was emailed to *** ******* who is retired and not forwarded to myself.   It is unfortunate that you felt you needed to take this step but I understand if you had been attempting to resolve the issues you had and you were not receiving a response. As I have included in my emails to ***** *****, one of your fellow Personal Guarantors, the property manager for this project was recently released due to a lack of follow-up. I apologize if this was the case regarding your complaint.

 

Let me begin by assuring you that no attempt has been made or has ever been made in the 30 years of our existence to defraud any of our residents.  We would still not be in business if we did. We are a family business that wishes to provide a satisfying experience for all of our residents. As I included in my email to ***** *****, no company does more to educate the resident on what is expected at move-out. We email and send an 11 page move-out packet that explains how to receive your deposit as well as all rates charged if repairs need to be made. This packet was received and acknowledged by all residents at ***. Yet, no one appeared at the scheduled move-out.  We also offer a Pre-inspection 2 weeks before the move-out date and only one of the parents, Mr. *** *****, showed and none of the residents.

 

I will respond to your two issues:

Cleaning

I addressed this in an email to Mr. ***** as I credited the cleaning billing back to the residents. This cleaning was legitimate and was needed in addition to the ********* *** *** ****** but was credited back because it was not noted on the move-out.  It was not to be charged to the residents but charged to the property as some of the items were dirty due to repairs being completed in the unit after the move-out. It is unfortunate that I was not made aware of your complaint as I could have corrected your accusation.

To correct your assumption  that Sheraton is charging unrealistic rates, our rates are very competitive and also clearly provided to the vacating resident in the move-out packet. To set the record straight, Sheraton does not make a profit on the cleaning as you have assumed. It is a loss each summer but it is a necessity as we turn over approximately 350-400 units in 90 days and process approximately 4,500 work orders during this time. To complete these turnover in a timely manner is an impossibility without in-house help.

 

Window Blind

I am sorry but I cannot locate where you are seeing a labor billing for $227. Two damaged bedroom blinds were replaced each charged out at $25.35 and one vertical blind for $52. I am assuming the labor you are quoting was for numerous repairs made such as closet guides and rails and other items.  I do see that invoice #******notes one bedroom blind at $50.70 but it was actually two.     

 

Mr. *****, I would appreciate the complaint being retracted but I will leave that up to you. I am hopeful this answers your complaint but please feel free to write or email me if you are in need of more clarification.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

***** ****

 

 

***** ****

***

Sheraton Real Estate

1166 E. Lassen Avenue

Chico, CA 95973

530-774-2531

License #890357

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put up a $400 security deposit for a lease for **** ** *** **** *** ****** ** *****. Nothing has been returned, and no response to my several e-mails.Below is a partial copy of the e-mail I sent on July 8. No response. I then sent a follow up on July 31. Again, no response.***I am told that in the Chico rental market, Sheraton has a poor reputation for appropriate and lawful return of security deposits. The alleged Security Deposit Itemization that I received adds credence to this notoriety.For example, there is a $600 estimate for maintenance. As I would hope your firm knows, California law allows the landlord to use a tenants security deposit for one of exactly four purposes. And maintenance is certainly not one them! Even the layperson would understand that maintenance is the responsibility of the landlord.My son, ******* ******, told me that there was a defect with a sink in a bathroom which was reported to Sheraton (it was starting to come away from the wall). Which by the way Sheraton did nothing about! So I certainly hope there is no effort at this time to recast that as an item for which the tenants would be financially responsible.There is also a very high estimate ($700) for painting. I personally inspected the property at move-out and detected nothing that would beyond normal wear and tear.Further weakening the illegal stance you sought to establish in your Security Deposit Itemization is that your agent indicated during the move-out inspection that there were only a couple of items that the tenants should address (which they did) and that everything else should be fine.* * *

Desired Settlement: The return of the appropriate portion of the security deposit.

Consumer Response:

On Monday, 8/25/14 I submitted a complaint against Sheraton Real Estate Management.

 

The CEO of the company, ***** ****, immediately engaged on this issue once word got to him.  He determined there was a communication snafu which created the issue, which he quickly addressed.

 

My issue is now fully resolved and I would like to withdraw the complaint that I filed.

 

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or require any additional information.  Thanks!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)