Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LeFever Mattson Property Management

Phone: (916) 723-5111 Fax: (916) 676-0011 6359 Auburn Blvd Ste B, Citrus Hts, CA 95621 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lefevermattson.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

LeFever Mattson Property Management is a California statewide residential real estate management | maintenance company.  From our corporate headquarters in Citrus Heights we manage a wide range of residentail real estate.  Managing a portfolio of over 3,000 residential income units, we are an experienced, reliable, and full service management | maintenance company.  Property management is our business.

With a multifamily presence across the state and a single family and duplex portfolio through out the north state we have a broad range of resources for investors and rental residents alike.

Serving the communiteis of:  Sacramento, Citrus Heights, Orangevale, Fair Oaks, Elk Grove, Woodland, Vacaville, Fairfield, Napa, Vallejo, Modesto, Fresno, Santa Maria, Lompoc, and Moreno Valley


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LeFever Mattson Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LeFever Mattson Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LeFever Mattson Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 05, 2004 Business started: 09/01/1999 in CA Business incorporated 08/17/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01082413.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00810881.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Bennett, CFO/Asset Manager Mr. Tim LeFever, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Bennett, CFO/Asset Manager
Business Category

Property Management Investment Management Real Estate Investors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LeFever Mattson Property Management has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6359 Auburn Blvd Ste B

    Citrus Hts, CA 95621

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe you are the owner of Woodland Oaks Apartment and need to be aware of a dire safety issue with lighting. There is negligence in resetting light timers when the season is changing; most especially for my building where I have to climb a staircase. In addition, timers on the entire property are ignored after power outages, and the entire property remains dark. It gets dark at 7:53 p.m. now, but soon it will be at 7:00 p.m. until finally it hits 5:00 p.m. From 8/25/15 to 9/4/2015 my building had no lights due to timers not being kept up. All other times were set at 7:40 p.m. during twilight. I notified Code Compliance for the city of Woodland because my communication to Woodland Oaks Apts has not been taken to heart. I have consistently called both your emergency number as well as management here concerning dark property...darkness since 2012 and have documented the calls. Prior to this last incident, the entire property went dark after the power outage of 8/2 - 8/3/2015, even after power was restored. The power has gone out multiple times in 2015 alone. A most welcomed break to my calls was in 2014 when Dan was on the property. His continued concern regarding lighting is commendable. He is missed very much. It is management's responsibility to stay abreast of the lighting issue, not the residents' responsibility to repeatedly call in darkness. This property needs to be kept safe for all who reside here. You should also be aware that I fell on your dark staircase and suffered physical injury, noted in my medical file and will be seeking counsel.

Desired Settlement: Speak with onsite manager regarding this issue. Staircases are hazardous when there is no lighting.Someone should walk the property at twilight to address lighting issues.Stay on top of resetting timers, when it gets darker and darker.Take the initiative to address lighting ASAP after power outages.Make this property a "Safe" place to live before someone else gets hurt.I want communication back that you will handle this.

Business Response: Ms.***** we received your complaint for Woodland Oaks Apartments regarding exterior lighting concerns. you state that the lights are not coming on at a safe time. We have a Maintenance Service Reporting that all our Residents have access to. We stand by our system of reporting issues, and all requests. As well as you are aware since I receive e-mails from you to such requests and other services we have provided. I also want to inform you that we do a weekly check of lighting.Thank you for your concern. Our continued efforts are always for great service to our Community of Woodland Oaks. Best Regards, *** ******** Community Director

Business Response: Ms.***** we received your complaint for Woodland Oaks Apartments regarding exterior lighting concerns. you state that the lights are not coming on at a safe time. We have a Maintenance Service Reporting that all our Residents have access to. We stand by our system of reporting issues, and all requests. As well as you are aware since I receive e-mails from you to such requests and other services we have provided. I also want to inform you that we do a weekly check of lighting.Thank you for your concern. Our continued efforts are always for great service to our Community of Woodland Oaks. Best Regards, *** ******** Community Director

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I have written documentation as to what dates and what times this property has been dark and it is hazardous.  From 8/25/2015 to 9/4/2015, the building I live in was dark until 8:13 p.m., almost 40 minutes after all other lights came on at this property.  If you are doing  weekly checks, why was this darkness not noted and addressed?  Lights for my building were adjusted after contacting the City of Woodland on 9/4/2015.  

 In addition, the power outage of 8/2/2015 thru 8/3/2015 left this property pitch black on the evening of 8/3/2015.  

My aim is to please have you keep this property safe for not only myself but other residents.  I can understand calling in a dead light bulb, but when the issue is the timers and electrical power outages, management is the one to stay on top of this.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I have written documentation as to what dates and what times this property has been dark and it is hazardous.  From 8/25/2015 to 9/4/2015, the building I live in was dark until 8:13 p.m., almost 40 minutes after all other lights came on at this property.  If you are doing  weekly checks, why was this darkness not noted and addressed?  Lights for my building were adjusted after contacting the City of Woodland on 9/4/2015.  

 In addition, the power outage of 8/2/2015 thru 8/3/2015 left this property pitch black on the evening of 8/3/2015.  

My aim is to please have you keep this property safe for not only myself but other residents.  I can understand calling in a dead light bulb, but when the issue is the timers and electrical power outages, management is the one to stay on top of this.

9/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint slander and false representation on renters history. Bogus charges my history is good I paid rent six yrs. On time the bath room ceiling leaked every year the works who came to repair my unit got my carpets dirty with there boots or shoes. New management started in June 2015 I moved July 5015 gave a 30 day notice, cleaned and repaired everything **** asked me to do. I have a heart condition. So I didn't get my deposit back. And they won't give me a good referral to my future landlord. Why? I'm a good person I work for Doctors as a Ncma and for sac. County IHSS my job is to clean sterilize decontaminate all dirt I see. **** lied to me about cleaning the carpet for me he set me up and should be held accountable for a improper final walk threw and billing for damages I did not do. He has made criminal slander towards my name in referrals of business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a normal good referral and no bogus charges for carpet after 6 years of normal ware and tare. According to tenant laws in California.

Business Response: Rental Histories are based on the questionnaire that are sent in per applicants request and authorization. We do not make false statements and only base our answers on facts (ledger and memos on file) . Resident was not charged for carpet cleaning nor replacement even though the carpet was alright when they moved in according to the walk through inspection. Ms. *** was however. charged 4 hours of cleaning due to the condition of the unit when they left. There was a confusion on her notice dates but she will be refunded $181.45 and we sincerely apologize for the error on our part.

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were issued notice by Woodland Oaks Apartments to rid our small deck of a weight bench which my husband uses to exercise daily. The only reason managment could see that we had a weight bench was because our deck has a small wooden fence around it versus, a 6 foot wooden fence. If you come up to the 2nd level, it can be seen. Other yards and decks are not visible to management. There is inconsistency in only addressing my unit. Other units have old sofas, trash, clothes lines, car tires, and other junk which is only visible to residents who live on the 2nd level. The manager's unit also has junk outside, which is unsightly. It is the inconsistency of rule enforcement that I am debating with Woodland Oaks Apartments. We feel singled out.

Desired Settlement: Management should enforce any given rule across the board and issue all residents notice of inspection of their yards, and issue notices to all residents who are collecting personal property in their yards or decks. I have pictures of the yards and decks of my surrounding neighbors and others. If you need to contact me please do not hesitate and call me at ***** ********. Resolution is that I want management to enforce the rules around the premises.

Business Response: In regards to notice given regarding unauthorized items on balcony deck. It was a safety issue concern, the additional weight of a Work Out Weight Bench and Weights possibly an additional 400-500 lbs. onto balcony deck. We apologize for any misunderstanding that you felt you were singled out. We treat all equally and fairly in our Community Policies. We appreciate your concern and any questions you may have feel free to contact us. Thank you, *** ******** Community Director

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent property from Lefever Mattson Management in ****** ******* **. One day I noticed there was a water leak coming from the upstairs apartment and into my unit downstairs. The leak had been going on for so long the drywall weakened and cracked. When the wall came open I noticed there was mold behind the wall. The mold was in the wall down to the floor which means there has to be more leading up to the second floor. I am well aware that mold in a residence is a health and safety hazard for me as well as the children I provide for here. Mold Timeline:Tuesday April 8I first informed maintenance with a phone call that there was mold present in my apartment and that I am concerned about the health of not only myself but my niece 5, and nephew 13, as well. I was told an order for repair would be placed that day. Noone came. That Friday, after personally asking a maintenance repairman for help he came, went upstairs stopped the leak but did not address the water in my carpet and walls nor did he even look at the mold. On Saturday April 12 I told management about the mold and did not receive a repairman visit. Monday April 14 I told the apartment complex supervisor what was going on and was told I would receive help "immediately." Noone came. When maintenance finally showed up on Wednesday April 16 I overheard a maintenance worker at my door on the phone saying I have to help this "expletive" with something before he hung up. The next day I received a notice on my door saying that I have pets that are a breach of my lease and will face fines. This was obvious retaliation for me asking the owners of this rental property to do their job, knowing they had been well aware of my pets since I have lived here for four years and was never given a notice about them. I told Lefever Mattson I have a health and Safety concern and it was never addressed. To this day I still have mold in my apartment. I can be reached at ###-###-####. I also have photos of the mold.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $900 credit or refund for the month I was here and was not helped by maintenance. I would like the wall that is coming apart with mold behind it replaced and the mold removed. I am a man of GOD, a deacon, I am not contacting you guys to be vindictive or vengeful. I truly feel I was done a disservice. Thank you.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *****'s complaint, our maintenance staff inspected his apartment on 4/9 immediately upon notification that there was a leak from upstairs. The leak was found to be the result of the apartment above him vacating and the prior residents not completely shutting off the faucet to the washing machine. Water was immediately shut off, repairs were made and no evidence of remaining moisture or mold was observed. After the repair was made, Mr. ***** expressed that he was concerned that there could be moisture and/or mold in the walls. In-turn, we hired a licensed contractor to inspect for moisture and mold. Using a moisture meter, there was no evidence of moisture found in the walls. Additionally, our maintenance technicians removed the wall in the laundry room where Mr. ***** expressed concern. There was absolutely no evidence of mold or any remaining moisture found. The area of drywall in which Mr. ***** refers to as “weakened and cracked” is where the wall meets the ceiling inside the laundry room, and is in a completely different location than where the leak was. When inspected by our maintenance supervisor, it was discovered that the “cracked” section was nothing more than drywall tape that had simply loosened due to 30 plus years of age. The area along the crack in which Mr. ***** thought to be “mold” was rather dirt. To satisfy Mr. *****, this area was also repaired, and no evidence of moisture or mold was found here either. Based on the facts of our findings, as there is no evidence of moisture or mold in Mr. *****’s apartment, we will not agree to Mr. *****’s request for compensation of rent. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me or ******* ****** at **************************. Thank you,

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
On April 9 the leak was stopped by maintenance and NO repairs were made. That is not the truth.
 
There were TWO cracks in the wall that had water coming through them. One was less than a foot frombthe drywall tape. I have photos to prove this. That is not the truth.
 
The tenants that lived above me are friends of my family and told me they have had off and on water leaks upstairs for years. That is not the truth. 
 
This company, instead of trying to help me, has gone to great lengths (having the owner of their carpet cleaning company check for mold) to discredit what I am saying. 
 
I am making every attempt to resolve this issue with the company.

Business Response:

Mr. *****, in his response, indicates that LeFever Mattson Property Management has gone to great lengths to discredit what he is saying.  We have, in fact, gone to great lengths to ensure there are no unresolved issues within his residence.  We hired a contractor, that has been employed for the same type of work in the past, to test the unit for unresolved moisture issues.  That contractors testing, as well as removal of portions of drywall, resulted in NO finding of mold or moisture.  The drywall, where removed, was replaces and finished. 

It is unfortunate that there was a leak from an upstairs water system that did effect Mr. *****s unit.  Once notified of this leak it was addressed, and done so in such a way that mold within the wall cavity did NOT result.   At no time was the resident’s habitability of their unit impaired and thus we are unable to offer Mr. ***** compensation for such impairment.  We cannot guarantee that there will not be maintenance issues that arise from time to time.  These type of issues happen within my personal residence as well as within our rental units.  It is, however, our goal to ensure that issues are resolved in a manner that safeguards our residents and the property.   This is what has happened in this case.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have lived at this address for over 4 years. Approx late August 2013 new residents moved in next door to me. They had many people in and out all times of the day and night making all kinds of noise seem to me to be a drug house. The police came out on 3 different occasions to search their apt. There were 3 domestic violence fights yelling, screaming and hitting. The police have been called on numerous occasions, the manager has been notified both verbal and written the corporate office has been notified and yet these people are still here. I am on social security disability I have a hard time sleeping as it is I get awoke by them daily this has been going on since August. I have asked the mgmt company to put me in a hotel so I could get some rest they declined basically they told me if I didn't like it I could move. I am reaching out to you for help because per my lease agreement it states that I should be able to enjoy peace and quiet enjoyment in my home which I am not and it is a very unhealthily situation and breach of contract. They all have approx 10 people living in a one bedroom apartment. If I can't resolve this thru you I am going to the news. The mgmt mop any has no loyalty to their long time residents .

Desired Settlement: I would like to be put up in a hotel so I could get rest and for all the months that I have been I would like a refund on the rent I paid this has been going on since August I pay 650 per month and it is money own the drain if I can't enjoy peace and quite in my own home

Business Response:

Re: Complaint ID# ******** Filed by ***** ********

 

Dear ******** *******:

 

I am writing to you today in response to the complaint you received regarding complaint ID#********

 

The resident located in the neighboring apartment home to Ms. ******** moved into her apartment on October 9, 2013. Within the first couple of weeks of occupancy the manager of ******* ****** Apartments received a complaint regarding Ms. ********’s neighbor and guests regarding noise and conduct. As per our lease agreement this was a violation and the neighbor was given a Three Day Notice to Perform Conditions and /or Covenants or Quit. Upon future complaints the neighbor also received Three Day Notice to Perform Conditions and/or Covenant’s or Quit, they also on December 7, 2013 and February 7, 2014. The situation with the noise and conduct of the resident was not improving the Community Director of ******* ****** was advised by the management company to contact the management companies appointed attorney to ask advise on how to handle the situation. As advised by the attorney, due to the current six month lease the neighbor was currently finishing out, to serve the resident with a Notice of Termination of Lease Agreement as of the last day of the lease. The attorney prepared the notice and the notice was posted the next day. Since that time the neighbor has neglected to pay rent and is now in the eviction process.

It is always the expectation of the management company for all residents to comply with their lease agreement. Unfortunately at times we are faced with challenging residents and must take the proper legal steps to remove the resident from the property. In past experiences as a management company we have not had cases against Three Day notice to Perform Conditions and/or Covenants or Quit be successful within the court system. As discussed above, with the advice of the management company’s attorney the quickest way to remove the resident would be the Notice of Non-Renewal.

Since this time Ms. ******** and the management company have agreed upon a settlement and she understands what we have tried to accomplish regarding her neighbor.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact **** ******** at *****************************

Thank you,

**** ********   

Regional Manager

LeFever Mattson Property Management

6359 Auburn Blvd., Ste. B

Citrus Heights, CA 95628

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find  that the property management company and I have made an agreement per the court system. However, the residents are still in the apartment and show no signs of moving or packing. I was advised by the judge if these residents are still in fact occupying the unit  may 1, 2014 that I am suppose to return to court and advise the judge of this.  So the property mgmt company was correct in saying part of this situation has been resolved. I would like to keep this case open until these residents have fully moved from the property. My peace and quite enjoyment is still being interrupted on a daily bases, seems that is getting worse and my sleep is interrupted daily. I would like to tell you that this has been fully resolved but it has not.

 
Regards,
 
***** ********

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom this may concern, I, ******** ***** and ******* **********, were previous renters at Spring Glenn Apartments in Vacaville, CA, from 6/15/13 through 12/31/13 when our 6 month lease was up. We were the ideal residents, never late on rent, never noisy, never was one complain ever made on us and was completely respectful the entire 6 months. Never the less we did have some concerns, noisy neighbors and maintenance problems which we made the managers and staff well aware. Early November, we discussed with the manager about breaking our lease a month early since we weren't happy where we were placed and no option of moving to another unit was accepted. She then stated that to break the lease there would be a written 30 days notice sent to corporate so they could make the decision and an extra month pay required. She only stated the 30 day notice when speaking about breaking the lease agreement never did she tell us it was going to be needed even if we fulfill our 6 month agreement. Knowing we only had one month left, it would make no sense to do all that so we let it go while telling them and verbally saying we are out by 12/31/2013. If ******* and I were aware of the written agreement requirement, I would have had no problem at all writing a letter and making sure no problems happen while ending our lease. As I went in to the office 12/31/2013 to hand over the keys, I was informed that there needed to be a written letter of 30 day notice and we will need to pay an extra month rent. I thought to myself, "so I didn't need to rush and move out all by myself?". The news was all a little too late I might add. I obviously was confused, the manager came storming in and said she told me about this requirement. I was in and out of the office talking to the manager my last month there making sure everything was set for our departure. At any of those times she could have been so kind to "remind" me (overall tell me) about the 30 days notice. As much as residents need to fulfill and follow the requirements, I feel that the management does also. If residents have to mail out a written 30 days notice then wouldn't it be fair and a great act as a manager to send out a written reminder to the resident that their lease is ending soon? For example, "Your lease is ending in a month, we would love for you to sign another lease and stay as our resident but if not, here's is what you need to do, 1.) give a written 30 days notice 2.) be all moved out by _______. Thank you!" That's all it takes to make sure all residents are aware and reminded of the requirements. People have millions of things they're thinking about, a common courtesy act of the managers could have solved and helped us extremely by just giving us a heads up. Our written 30 day notice would have been in their hands immediately. Now we were told we will pay a extra month because of this confusion.

Desired Settlement: So I ask that you please not penalize us with a full month rent. We want to be able to speak good about the Spring Glenn complex but at this moment it is very hard to. We have completed every step and requirements with no problems so we ask for the LeFever Mattson Property Management to please understand our circumstances and not charge us the extra rent of $995.00. Thank you for taking the time to read this, I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Business Response:

I would like to take this opportunity to address the complaints in file order
received.

1)   I absolutely agree that the *****/********** household were indeed
ideal residents for all the reasons stated.

2)   The statement regarding "maintenance problems",  records
indicate that during their tenancy, we received one request for
maintenance (order #******) on June 14, 2013, The work request was
completed on the same day.

3)    The conversation referenced in early November states that part of the
conversation was a request by the residents to be transferred and their
request was not accepted. In actuality this was a part of the
conversation but another unit meeting their requirements was not
available at that time.

4)    Regarding the lease break. I have included copies of the lease. Please
note that section 4 refers to
tile written thirty (30) day notice
requirement. I have also included the standard form lease break
requirement. The statement made that the notice would be sent to
corporate to make a decision is not fact. That has never been a
requirement of 30day notices.


I see no reason to address any other complaints listed in this notice. The fact is that on 12/31/2013 the move out report was processed and the only charges that were incurred by the resident were for cleaning, carpet cleaning and paint, all of which I am able to provide receipts for. They were not charged the addition month as their lease had expired and the decision was to waive that charge see move out statement.

 

Should you have any additional questions, or need clarification on any
of the above, do not hesitate to contact me.

Marsha Padilla
Community Director


10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have disputed charges that I am being billed upon move out. I have requested corrections and proof from this company sinse 6-14-2013. I am disputing charges that I the tenant have been charged upon move out, I received a break down of charges that I do not agree with. I have sent a dispute letter via fax direct to sterling point apartments on 6-14-2013 requesting corrections and proof of charges / fees it is now 8-13-2013 and I this company has yet to provide and comply. I contacted the office on 8-9-2013 spoke with ***** and was advised she was still trying to gather proof together to provide to me. My 1st issue is the charge for window covering amount $ 30.00 there were no missing slat / blinds in this apartment. 2nd touch up paint $ 112.50 this apartment would not have required touch up paint all the walls were washed down and a very detail cleaning was done on my behalf there is a charge for 25.00 for hole in master bedroom closet door this whole came from the apartment window being vandalized the master bed room window was broke someone thru something thru the window causing this whole, when the window was replaced this issue should have been fixed as well but maintains never came back after replacing the window. I disagree with the light cleaning charge of $ 60.00 i left this apartment spotless. last is the charges for carpet cleaning in the amount of $240.00 this is very excessive I agree the carpet would need to be have cleaning before re renting but there is no way it would cost $240.00 for a regular cleaning there was no reason for a heavy excessive cleaning throughout the apartment. I do agree with the rent charges of 467.04 and the 50.00 late fee. I have waited over two months for proof and corrections to my account, I think the charges are bogus and that's the reason for failure to provide me with information.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the following charges for $ 60.00 light cleaning be removed, walls / paint $ 162.50, windows covering $ 30.00 repairs for $95.00 be removed and carpet cleaning be adjusted to a regular cleaning there is no way the carpet cleaning could have cost $240.00, I would like to resolve this matter i dont feel I should have had to wait two months and now try to resolve in this manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Ms ***** rented a two bedroom unit at Sterling Pointe Apartments, located **** ****** **** Sacramento, identified as unit XX-XXX. Ms ***** occupied the unit, under a written rental agreement, for a total of 7 1/2 months. Ms *****, upon move-in, was given documents identifying how move-out charges would be calculated based on length of occupancy and items that were resident's responsibility at move-out. ("Cleaning Policy Statement") Upon Ms ***** move-out the identified unit was inspected and all repairs and maintenance necessary to bring the unit to rental condition were identified and cost of repairs were estimated. Those costs were then allocated to the owner and the resident based on the documentation in the Cleaning Policy Statement and the Rental Agreement. To specifically address the issues raised by Ms *****: Damage to blinds: There were two blind slats that had been broken off at the headrail. The blinds were turned upside down and clipped to the headrail but when the blinds were operated they fell off. Two slats had to be replaced at $15 per slat. Paint: There were pen marks, furniture marks, other scuffs and two holes on various walls and the unit was repainted in full at a cost of $295. That cost included the repair of the two holes. The resident was charged $162.50. Management will remove the charge for one of the holes $32.50, based on the residents indication that the hole was caused by outside vandalism and management's ability to substantiate the residents claim in that matter. Cleaning: Overall the apartment was left clean. However, the apartment was not cleaned to the condition a new resident would expect to find it in. The oven was every dirty and had to be cleaned. There was tin foil on one range burner bib that had to be cleaned. There were items left in various cabinets that had to be removed. There are picture of each of these items. Actual cost to complete cleaning of the unit was $137.40 and the resident was charged $60.00. Carpets: The carpets had extensive stains throughout the unit. Management has extensive pictures of the flooring. Actual cost of carpet cleaning was $240.00 and the resident was charged $240.00. The residents Security Deposit Statement will be adjusted by the $32.50 charge for the hole in the wall as indicated. The revised Security Deposit Statement, pictures, and actual invoices will be mailed to resident.

Final Consumer Response
a packet with the information and pictures was received.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They failed to contact or provide me with move out inspection,made no attempt to contact me despite Having good address and telephone numbers. I moved out 04/2012 and left forwarding address along with keys on kitchen counter as instructed by their move out inspector. They claim to have redirected keys but no forwarding address. Almost a year later I was contacted by s creditor trying to settle a Sept for almost 1800 dollars. When asked for walk out information I found most of these charges and severely exaggerated. After looking through my walk in papers I found problems that they had marked down and tried to charge me for existed before I even moved in. They took my whole deposit of 850 and now seeking more money. I have asked creditors twice for actual invoice of repairs and have received none. After sending them my walk through they adjusted charges but are still trying to pursue the test of this matter. It's been over a year and a half since I have resided there now and with that much time these issues are harder to fight. They claimed they had no way of contacting me but this is not the case. Every rental check was sent from my new address and both contact numbers they have on file have been my numbers for over 10 years. There is no reason they couldn't have contacted me to give me my invoice. Or ask about charges.

Desired Settlement: Since I am not able to defend these charges and they made no reasonable attempt to contact me these issues before sending me to collection I ask the drop all charges.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We always prefer that tenants are present during the move out process. Sometimes the tenant can't take time off from work and we will do the inspection without them. We inform them that they may have a family member or other representative present if they wish, if not we will ask that they leave the keys and forwarding address and we will perform the inspection without them. This tenant chose not to be present during the final move out and left keys in unit. In previous move outs with other tenants when they have left forwarding address information at the rental unit, the paperwork was attached to the Property Walkthrough Inspection and noted on the first page of the report as the forwarding address. No forwarding information is attached or written on the Property Walkthrough Form for this tenant's move out. When a tenant tells me they are moving in with a relative, I tell them to put the address information in writing. I did not know that the address on the rental checks that were received during the tenant's tenancy was the address that she was moving to upon move out. The tenant was informed in the Rental Lease Agreement page 2, paragraph 6, and the Move Out letter that the Security Deposit Statement would be mailed within 21 days after move out and that if no forwarding address is provided; all correspondence would be sent to their last known address. The account was sent to a collection agency. The agency has instructed us to have no verbal or written contact with the tenant, that the tenant needs to deal directly with them to resolve this matter. The tenant disputed the charges and we sent a letter in response to the collection agency. The agency has the entire file with receipts including final receipts for all charges.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on LeFever Mattson Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart