Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Laughton Properties, Inc.

Phone: (916) 444-9898 2812 P St, Sacramento, CA 95816 http://www.laughton-properties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laughton Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laughton Properties, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laughton Properties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1980 in CA Business incorporated 08/08/1980 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00793676.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00857522.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Rutledge, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Rutledge, President
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Laughton Properties, Inc offers property management services.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Laughton Properties in regards to a renting a apartment. I asked the secetary (*****) about the property and she stated that there was no property there. I explained that I had got the number that I reached her at on the property building. She was very rude and again said she had no idea what i was talking about. I proceeded to ask were there any properties available. She explained to me that there was 2 properties available but they had applications on them and I probably won't get them. I asked were they apartments rented and she said no but i wouldn't get either because they had applications. I was very discouraged and hurt by this. I asked to speak with a supervisor and she began to make noises in the phone. I hung up. I immediately called back and left a voice mail. I received a call back from ***** ********. I explained to her what I had experienced and she told me she would do the same thing if it was her. I expressed to her that she was very rude to me and ***** stated "She was frustrated by the questions you were asking her". I felt hurt at this point. She proceeded to ask me what type of apartment that I was looking for. I said that I don't feel comfortable renting a apartment there because how I was treated. ***** immediately hung up on me. I called back and left a voice mail asking for a call back. She called me back 30 min later and she stated she didn't hang up. I explained to her that I just wanted to be treated with respect and she stated that I was. I explained to her that I didn't feel that way and she screamed whatever hung up again. I am very hurt by this process.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a call from someone other that ***** or *****. They are very rude and hurtful people.

Business Response: A little before 11:00 a.m. on September 1, 2015 a man (whom we now know to be *******) called our office and reached ************** ********* *****. He was calling about a property on * and ****. ***** told him we don't have any properties at H and ****. According to *****, this man then kept changing the street numbers and letters, very unclear about the location, saying he was driving at the moment. She explained that we have hundreds of units and needed to know the exact address or cross streets. He then asked if we had anything at all downtown or in midtown or if there was somewhere he could look for a list. ***** told him we have two available units in the next two weeks and one had a pending application. The man then said, "You're telling me I can't submit an application?" ***** replied, "We go by a first come, first serve basis for applications, but you can apply." The man then immediately asked to speak to a supervisor. She explained her supervisor was out of the office but asked if he would like to leave a voicemail. He said yes and ***** attempted to transfer him to my voicemail.

When I later came into the office I retrieved messages. At 11:26 a.m. ******* left a lengthy message on my voicemail, which I transcribed, and his phone number. He said, "I hope this message reaches someone that actually cares. I just called and was treated very rudely by one of the people who answers the phone. I was simply trying to ask about an apartment. She was very short with me, trying to rush me off the phone. I'm African American and looking for an apartment has been very trying for me. I have felt discriminated against on a million levels. I hope this messages reaches someone. The person answering the phone is very very rude and I feel discriminated against." I ascertained that ***** was the person who had talked to this gentleman. ******, the other ************** ********* in that office, said she overheard the conversation and ***** was not at all rude but the man who called seemed very confused.

At 2:34 p.m. I returned the call to *******. I said I was sorry he felt that ***** was rude. ******* began to tell me his complaints. He said he is a college graduate, he works, he's a community person. He said he was treated disrespectfully and he felt it was because of his race. He lamented about his recent experiences, not just with our company but with other companies. I explained that ***** gave him the same information she would have given anyone else. We charge a $35 application fee and with a pending application it is doubtful that particular unit would be available. She was just telling him the situation. I asked him what he was looking for. He said a studio or a 1-bedroom up to $900. I informed him about what we had. Both of the two units available met his criteria. I invited him to come to the office and complete an application. He said he didn't feel he could do that because he felt discriminated against. I assured him we do not discriminate, that we have residents and managers of every color, race, religion, size and sexual orientation. ******* kept talking and talking and talking, barely allowing me to give him information. This conversation continued for approximately 11 minutes. It was going no where and he wouldn't allow me to talk in spite of my numerous attempts to interrupt him. I finally just hung up.


At 2:58 p.m. ******* called back. I again transcribed the message he left on my voicemail. "Our conversation dropped. I would hope you didn't hang up on me. I'm gong to be escalating this so if I could get a return call back, that would be great."

I returned that call at 3:27 p.m. I again tried to explain the only reason ***** was telling him that an application was pending was to save him the $35. He said, "It's my $35. I want a shot - even if I lose my money." I tried to explain that if we took his money on an apartment that was not available, it would be unethical but again he was talking so much, without stopping, that I could say very little.  He went on to say, "I'm frustrated with a lot of companies. I just want someone to treat me nicely. I want to feel someone is listening to my complaints." I again tried to explain the situation to him. When I could get in a few words I asked what I could do for him. He had already started telling me the same complaints yet again, talking non-stop. I invited him again to complete an application but he had said he didn't want to do that. He said, "I didn't decline. I don't trust you." He again complained about *****'s alleged rudeness. At this time the conversation had continued for a full 7 minutes, making it a total of 18 minutes talking to this guy. My patience had long been exceeded, and I told him so.  I told him that this is going nowhere. He then told me I should be working in a warehouse, not in customer service. I finally said to him, which I'm not sure he heard because he continued to talk over me, "Did it ever occur to you, *******, that YOU are the problem?" Again, he continued to talk incessantly and I could not communicate with him. I hung up and ended the call.

No one else in this office is going to try to talk to this guy again. It's fruitless and it's a waste of time. He doesn't listen. He doesn't want to apply for an apartment. He just wants to complain. We have nothing more to say to him.





10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our rental property complex has contracted bed bugs and several neighbors have moved out. We've noted a half dozen mattresses in the dumpster within the apartment complex. Now that we've reported the problem to management, the landlord and property management company are accusing us of being "the problem". They are threatening to charge my family with the pest removal payment. We have a 3 year old daughter. Her health and well being has been threatened and now for speaking out, we're being retaliated against. WE NEED HELP. PLEASE.

Desired Settlement: We want the bed bugs terminated correctly and paid for by Laughton Properties. We also want a refund of rent paid for October as we have spent this month in a separate paid dwelling space. Also, after completion of the pest removal, to ensure that our belongings are free of parasites, we want our lease terminated no later than October 31, 2014.

Business Response: As anyone who has read the newspaper or heard the news knows, with the elimination of some pest control products that were previously used to control bed bugs, these pests have become enormously common. Their presence is not related to housekeeping or income level. The problem has appeared in 5-star hotels, including the ******* *******, as well as in airplanes and movie theaters. Bed bugs are hitch hikers. In apartment buildings they are most commonly associated with the use of used furniture. The problem has increased dramatically within the last few years.

The residents in unit #** moved into the apartment, which was in immaculate condition, the first part of May 2014. They lived there for 5 1/2 months without problems. On October 13, 2014 they reported bed bugs in their unit. Our licensed pest control operator, who services this property monthly, was immediately alerted and the residents were given the written protocol for preparation of bed bug treatment.  THE FIRST OF THREE TREATMENTS OCCURED THE VERY NEXT DAY, on October 14, 2014.

The most common method for treatment is the one we have used successfully on numerous units over the last couple of years:  proper preparation of the unit as per written instructions; bagging, washing and drying of clothes and other soft items; removal of heavily infested objects that cannot be otherwise treated. The treatment occurs in three sessions:  initial treatment, two-week waiting period, second treatment, two-week waiting period, third and final treatment. If the protocol is followed, the bed bugs are successfully eliminated.  As stated above, the first treatment in this unit occurred the very next day after the tenants reported the problem, and the second treatment is scheduled for October 28, 2014 - as per the protocol.

Because the unit was free of bed bugs when these tenants occupied the unit for 5 1/2 months, we have to come to the logical conclusion that they brought the bugs into the unit - no doubt inadvertently. As such, they are responsible for the cost to eliminate the problem. The treatment costs $300, for which the tenant is responsible.


The statement made by the complainant that "several neighbors have moved out" due to bed bugs is blatantly false. There has been one other unit with a reported bed bug problem. That problem was reported in late August 2014 and the first treatment occurred in a very timely manner on August 26, 2014. Subsequent treatments occurred at two week intervals, as the protocol dictates,  and the unit is now free of bed bugs. This unit is not adjacent to unit #** and none of the neighboring units has bed bugs. The problem in #** is a new and unrelated problem.





?

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I find it quite evident that the method this property is using in this issue IS NOT EFFECTIVE.  Once they "treated" the infestation and rid one unit of bed bugs in late August, suddenly my family brought in our own the following month.
I was also told over phone conversation that "College Manor has never had bed bug problems" and the tenants that I spoke to about their infestation causing their relocation were "blatant liars" and "they had roaches and were trafficking drugs" ~***** ********
This is an obvious misstep in their responsible treating of a serious parasitic problem and very offensive to myself and my family in the accusations that we are the problem. 
I am not saying that it is embarrassing to have bed bugs or that this is something that I think couldn't happen to anyone; however, the timeline is clear and speaks for itself. 
I also was able to view their first step in the elimination process via video and am quite sure protocol was not strictly followed. 
I do not accept that this is my responsibility financially and have gone from a tenant with a complaint to a citizen ready to leave the unit for better housing.
They broke our lease when they failed to supply an inhabitable living space.
We refuse to take our 3 year old daughter back in this parasite ridden slum.
I only want my unit properly treated at this point so that I can gather my belongings and move them to safe shelter with peace of mind.

Business Response: The tenant originally told me the pest control operator used a can of Raid to treat the bed bugs. When I said he absolutely did not and questioned him further, the tenant did admit the operator used a professional spray canister, not a can of Raid, which he viewed from a "videotape" since the tenant was NOT in the unit when the treatment occurred. The tenant "researched" bed bugs online and now acts like he knows more than the licensed pest control operator. The same method used in this apartment has been used in numerous apartments by this same pest control operator with a 100% success rate. The treatment method used is highly effective.
The complainant misquotes me. He insisted that the entire building is totally infested with bed bugs and everyone around him vacated because of the bed bugs. He of course did not tell me what tenants told him that. I said, "You mean the tenants that were evicted for drug trafficking or delinquent rent - those tenants? I can assure you that no one in your building has moved because of bed bugs." Using quotation marks denotes a direct quote, not a paraphrase, a concept the complainant seems not to understand.
Complete eradication of a bed bug problem as of September 2014 does not translate to a bed bug problem in a non-adjacent unit a few weeks later, especially when no adjoining units has bed bugs as determined by a pest control operator inspection in which traps were set.
These tenants are on a month-to-month agreement and have every right to move. However, they are refusing to relinquish possession of the unit and, as of today, are also refusing further treatment. (The pest control operator called them just this morning to schedule the 2nd of 3 required treatments and the tenant has refused entry.)The bed bugs are the sole responsibility of this tenant as (1) the tenant has occupied this unit for the past 5 1/2 months, (2) there were no reported bed bugs in this unit during that 5 1/2 month period of time, (3) no one else has been living in the apartment to our knowledge, (4) the bed bugs were brought in by someone in this apartment - whether by these tenants or their guests, (5) they are responsible for treatment. The complainant has stated he will only accept the heat treatment method, which he read "online is the only effective treatment." First of all, he is assuming everything he reads online is correct and he is negating the knowledge of a licensed, experienced pest control operator. The cost for treatment of this bed bug problem rests solely with the complainant. If he wants to pay for a $2,000 heat treatment, he is entitled to have it done - but it will not be done at property expense.
So - the tenant is refusing to relinquish possession of the apartment, meaning he is responsible for rent for as long as he is in possession of the unit, and now he is refusing treatment that has been proven to be highly successful.  There is nothing else that can be done by management.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

We have spoken with ***** **** ******* about this problem we are having and *** informed us that the method ****** **** ******* uses has a very low success rate. I spoke to **** who informed me that the treatment does not work 100% of the time. He also claimed he used 5 different chemicals in the apartment while treating for bed bugs. He informed me that two of them were mixed together and the other 3 were used in separate containers. Video evidence does not lie, people do, especially people who would like to blame someone else for their problems. In the video you can very clearly see **** use one canister around the base boards and the can of insecticide around the furniture, totaling 2 containers used; not 4. He was also not wearing a mask, which I assume should be worn during treatment with chemicals potent enough to kill insects. *** from ******* **** ******* has given me a $600 quote for the heat treatment of the one bedroom apartment. ***** told me on October 11th, when I first approached her with the bed bug complaint, that apartment #** had bed bugs and that the tenant had not followed directions properly and still had them. I am refusing to pay for the treatment. I never signed an agreement and have no obligation. It is frustrating that a company responsible for providing safe and healthy housing would allow tenants to live in such conditions. The lack of integrity shown by Laughton Properties Inc. and their employees is appalling. I hope this issue can be resolved quickly so my family and I can go back to our lives. 

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Laughton Properties owner and manager abused landlord laws to discriminate against continuing to rent to me. Poor customer service skills and lies. On August 23, 2013 my roomate and I received a termination of tenancy posted on our door. On monday August 26, 2013 my roomate went to the office and talked with a worker named ****** ****** stated that she just got back from vacation and wasn't sure of the notice but said that my dog barks all day everyday. My roomate asked why there was never a notice given to my roomate or myself, since I am the owner of the dog. ***** had no answers and told my roomate that she would have to talk to the manager *****. ***** was not in the office at 830am when it opened. My roomate left ***** a voicemail msg. I moved into apartment ** in January 2013 and never once received a notice or complaint about my dog. I left ***** a voicemail msg and she called back and left a voicemail msg on my cell stating that its the property managements prerogative to terminate a tenancy, she stated that there are no complaints in my file about my dog and that my dog has nothing to do with the termination. My roomate text me amd stated she spoke with *****, and ***** stated that she would not accept a 30 day notice from us, she stated that Laughton Properties would rent to my roomate again but they would not rent to me. I then left *****, the owner a voicemail msg and ***** returned my call. ***** stated that before I moved in there were no work orders requested and that since I have moved in many work orders have been requested and that its a hassle for the maintenance workers to complete the request in a timely manner because they have to schedule around me because I have the dog and I choose to be home when someone comes into my apartment. ***** asked why were none of the work orders requested before I moved in and I told her I do not know my guess would be that the previous residents didn't speak up when things went bad or broke. *****'s response was "well...". I asked ***** if the termination would go on my roomates and my rental ledger and she didn't answer. I asked her again if termination would show up and she said no. I told her that we will be giving a 30 day notice with Septembers rent. She said that will be fine. I feel that ***** and ***** are discriminating against me because I request work orders. I feel that they do not want to do their jobs and fix things wrong in the apartment. I have paid rent on time every month for 8 months and its my right as a paying tenant to have things in working order in my apartmemt. I feel they abused the Landlord right to terminate a tenancy because they didn't like that I requested items to be fixed. I want the BBB to know that Laughton Properties has not provided good service and it should be noted on their business record.

Desired Settlement: I am not asking for a settlement. I would like it noted that my roomate and I are giving our 30 day notice and would request that Laughton Property treat this as the tenant giving notice and not have a termination of tenancy on either of our rental history.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ********, Pres. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x *** Contact Email: *********@laughton-properties.com Every tenant in the state of California has a legal right to terminate their tenancy under the terms of their rental agreement. Likewise, every landlord in the state of California has a legal right to terminate a tenancy under the applicable laws. ****** ******* became an approved roommate in unit ** at **** G Street in December 2012. On August 22, 2013, the occupants were given a 30-Day Notice of Termination of Tenancy without cause. First thing Monday morning, August 26, 2013, ******'s roommate came to our corporate office to ask about the notice. ****** had just returned from a week's vacation and had no knowledge of the notice. Because the roommmate had rented from Laughton Properties for serveral years, she and ****** had a friendly business relationship. ****** informed the roommate that she had just returned from vacation, had no knowledge of the notice and speculated it might be about the dog's barking but that she didn't know. She advised the rommmate to talk to a supervisor. ***** ****** did not work on that Monday morning. When the finally spoke ***** did assure the roommate that there was nothing negative in their file, that there were no documented issues with the dog and there were no complaints in their file, that management was exercising its right to terminate their tenancy. ***** did NOT tell the roommate we would rent to her again but not ******. ****** called me at 6:44 p.m. on August 26, 2013 and I returned her call at 7:27 p.m. I told her the same information that ***** had relayed to the rommmate. During this conversation ****** complained that it took WEEKS for work orders to be completed. I said, "WEEKS?" She said, well, it took a week and a half for the last work order. I asked, "Aren't work orders delayed in the unit because we have to work around your schedule?" She acknowledged that she would not let anyone into her unit unless she was home, both because of the dog and because she didn't want anyone in her unit unless she was there. I pointed out that it was her right to request to be present but it was not fair for her then to turn around and complain about the length of time it took for work orders to be completed. During the conversation about work orders, I did ask why she thought there were so many work orders after she moved in. ****** said that her roommates are not as vocal as she is. I will point out that management went above and beyond the call of duty in the spring of 2013 by installing an air conditioning unit in her bedroom (in ADDITION to the one in the unit) so she could keep her dog in the bedroom during the day. Every work order requested was completed in as timely a manner as possible given the fact that maintenance had to accommodate ******'s schedule, even those repairs that were tenant caused. Laughton Properties, Inc. has been in business since 1980 providing outstanding service to thousands of residents over the years. We stand by our customer service as attested to by the numerous renters who return to our management year after year. I'm sorry that ****** ******* did not have a satisfactory experience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

Business' Final Response
There is no provision in our system for placing any notation on a rental "ledger." The typical question an owner/management agent asks is, "Did the applicant give a 30-day notice?" Our response would be, "Yes."


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Laughton Properties, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)