Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Frontier Property Management & Sales offers property management services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frontier Property Management & Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frontier Property Management & Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 26, 2008 Business started: 04/15/1999 in CA Business incorporated 04/15/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 1260412.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 478623.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01260412.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Carol R. Griggs, President Mr. Tommy Griggs, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Carol R. Griggs, President
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Frontier Property Management Frontier Property Management, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers property management services.

Additional Locations

  • 14641 Mono Way

    Sonora, CA 95370 (209) 217-6610 (209) 736-1888


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the 3 years I rented from frontier property management, my phone calls were not returned, my service and repair requests were ignored and my complaints went unanswered. I was denied a move out walk through, denied reimbursement for propane purchased as stated as common practice by their office and was not given proper explanation of security deposit disposition within the 21 day legal limit.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed my security deposit and credited for the large amount of propane left in the tank.

Business Response:

Dear ***** and ****,

A walk through was completed with you and your mother prior to move out and you and she pointed out items you believed you should not be held responsible for and I pointed out items you needed to fix prior to moving.  You did not request another walk through and I tried to contact you by leaving at least 4 messages during your last week, none of which were returned.

Your security deposit disposition was sent 13 days after your move out, well within the required time frame, and as you did not provide the post office with a forwarding address, it was returned as undeliverable and we have the return envelope with post mark to prove the timeline.

Any issues you may have with your propane company should be directed at them as we have no control  over agreements that you have with utility companies!  Most tenants shut off their service for propane well in advance of their departure so they have the opportunity to use the contents of the tank and not abandon it.

Your security deposit will not be returned and in addition you are being charged for $718.94 in back rent, $71.69 in late charges and $2330.00 in repairs/clean-up work. 

After your security deposit was applied, you still owe $1718.63 which will be an issue for collection at the home owner's discretion.

***** ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

This information is incorrect. You did not do a walk through with myself or my mother in law. Rather, you came to the home to show it to a prospective tenant and I simply pointed out a few pre existing issues I was trying to have repaired prior to giving my 30 day notice that I did not want to be charged for. 
I did speak with ******* asking for a move out walk through and copies of my move in papers. I was told my file was empty and that although I still had possession of the home I was not within my limits for a walk through. 
I am copying a formal letter I will be sending certified to your office with more detailed information. I will contact ******* and ******* propane for exact dates of the last propane delivery. It was well before I put in my 30 days notice, not within it. Non of which should matter as I was told by this company, ***, ******* and yourself that your policy is to charge the new tenants for the propane and reimburse the old tenant. This letter details out pre existing repair issues that you are trying to charge me for. It points out that you have neglected to provide me with invoices and receipts for exact costs of repairs you state were needed upon my departure which is all clearly stated in the tenant/landlord laws. It also points out that I called you well before the 21 day limit giving you a correct mailing address for the disposition. You suggested I go through the new tenants mail at A home I no longer occupy to wait for the disposition you sent there. I told you I did not feel comfortable going through other peoples mail on a continual basis let alone even once for the chance that the disposition may arrive. I was informed by ******* that this dis potion sat on her desk with no address for several weeks after I gave you my address. 
Furthermore, you state you left me 4 messages. I have saved the one message I received from you stating I could not use my deposit to pay rent. On the contrary, it was I who was continually leaving messages for you and your office that throughout my 3 year tenancy went unanswered more than 90% of the time. 
The following letter will be sent certified to your office...
May 28 2014

***** ****** 
Frontier Property Management
***** **** ***
****** ** *****

Dear *****, 

This letter is in response to our face to face conversation on May 21, 2014 in your office, regarding the security deposit disposition, and a letter I received from you on May 27 regarding a propane issue I brought to your attention during our conversation on May 21. 

On May 7, 2014 I spoke to you over the phone and gave you my current mailing address so that I could receive a copy of the security deposit disposition before the legal 21 day limit as stated by the California Government consumer affairs document. On May 21 I entered your office because, 12 days after the 21 day limit, I still had not received the disposition. I was informed by ******* at the front desk that she had JUST mailed the disposition on Monday May 19th,  2014, 9 days after the 21 day limit. You provided me with a copy and on Tuesday May 27th, I received the mailed copy ******* sent. All line item charges are written in with the word ESTIMATE next to them. No actual costs or receipts of materials/work completed were provided with the disposition, I have yet to receive a copy of actual costs with receipts as stated required by law in the Consumer Affairs document sections 210-222.   

I requested a move out inspection over the phone with ******* on Tuesday April 15th. I was denied this inspection as I was told I should have requested it at least one week prior to returning my keys. ******* stated these limitations were outlined in the move out papers I should have received via mail, but never did. 
By Law, if my security deposit disposition is not mailed out within the 21 day period, I am entitled to a FULL refund of my deposit.  In addition, I was denied a pre-move out inspection, which I am entitled to BY LAW!  Further more, there are several line items which I am being charged falsely as stated below.
 1. Clean up of landscaping.
 In my move in papers,  it was noted that the grounds were completely unkept and overgrown. A $300 credit was issued to us for mowing the lawns. This amount was not adequate enough to cover all clean up required. This did not cover the tree work and severe weed eating that was required. We left the outside grounds in better condition then it was handed over to us with the $300 credit in mind. This is satisfactory per the consumer affairs document. No receipt of work was provided.  
2. Window washing and balance of cleaning the home. As noted in my move in survey papers the home was not deep cleaned. Prior to moving out I spent 3 days along side a hired housekeeper deep cleaning every inch of the interior of the home. We left the property's interior cleaner then when we moved in. This is satisfactory per the consumer affairs document. No receipt for work was provided. 
3. Replace door jam where broken. Again, in my move in document, it is noted that the entry door was jammed and not securing properly. This issue was pointed out to ******* during a home inspection our first year of living in the home. This issue was also raised with Victor's personal home maintenance man during a service call to repair other damages to the home. This was an existing issue that continued to worsen from lack of repair. No receipt for replacement was provided. 
4. Replace various lightbulbs of various types. Most of the homes lightbulbs were burned out prior to our initial move in. We replaced several of these bulbs upon departure of the home. The others fall under the consumer affairs law that the home was left in the same condition as when we took possession of it. No receipt for replacement was provided. 
5. Replace cracked switch plate cover. As stated in our move in survey damage to several switch plates existed. There is no note as to which switch plate was cracked. No receipt for materials or work done was provided. 
The prices being charged are not of fair market value. No receipts of materials or work done were provided as stated as required in the consumer affairs document. I was denied a move out walk through and I was not given a security deposit break down within the 21 day limit as stated in the consumer affair document. Therefore I am due a total refund of my security deposit. 

My 30 day written notice was given in the office on Tuesday March 18 2014. I had recently received a large propane delivery. After receiving my bill for this delivery I contacted your office. I spoke with *** the first time I called. I was told it is cus***ary for the new tenants to pay for the propane. I was told someone would call me back about the issue. A few weeks later prior to my departure from the residence I called the office again and spoke to ******* who also informed me the new tenants would be responsible for paying for the propane. ******* and ******* had informed me that the tank is homeowner owned so they could not reimburse me but that it is cus***ary for rental agencies to charge the new tenant and reimburse the old tenant. ******* confirmed that this is Frontier's policy.  After I did not receive a return call from your office, I came in to ask about it in person. ******* called ******* in front of me, and then confirmed once again that the new tenant should have been charged for the propane I purchased but was forced to leave in the tank. I then had a meeting with you, *****, and you told me the same thing. You even gave me an amount I would be reimbursed as it is your policy to charge the new tenant for the percentage left in the tank by the old tenant. This policy must be honored. 

I will expect to receive a full refund of my security deposit and a reimbursement of the $1400 worth of propane left in the tank upon my departure as promised by ***, ******* and you.  I have sent this letter to the Better Business Bereou and I have filed a formal complaint.  
I have spoken with legal counsel and have been advised to try to settle this matter personally. However, we are prepared to litigate the issue. In addition, if this is not resolved in a timely manner, I will contact the Department of Real Estate in regards to your practices of denying pre move out inspections and returning Security Deposit Dispositions after the allotted 21 days.  If you choose to disregard my rights, I will file a Small Claims Suit.   You have until July 31 to return my Security Deposit in Full and to Reimburse me for the propane in the Owner's tank in the amount of $1400.  

 Thank you for your time and prompt resolution to the above mentioned issues. 

***** and **** *******. 

Sent from my iPhone

Business Response:

The security deposit disposition was mailed to you on May 1, 2014.  As you had not given the post office your forwarding address, it was returned to us.  I have the envelope postmarked May 1, 2014.  Estimates were provided which is acceptable by law.  The actual bill that was received from the vendor was sent to you with disposition that was revised to reflect actual costs on May 27.

  1. Clean up of landscaping. At move-in you accepted a credit of $300 for you to do the landscape cleanup.  As you accepted this credit, you accepted the responsibility to leave the property in a clean, mown, condition. 
  2. Cleaning:  Most of the home was very clean.  However, the oven was new and you left it in a very filthy condition inside, on the glass top and the hood.  In addition, you left laundry in the washing machine that took a great deal of effort to clean up and get the smell out.   Many of the kitchen cabinets still were dirty and some had personal belongings in them.   The floors were dirty, the fireplace had ashes in it, and there were stickers that required a great deal of time to remove from the refrigerator.  The windows were not washed.
  3. The door jam:  You had previously reported specifically that the security door locking mechanism was not operating properly.  The door jam was not broken there.  It was broken at the regular front door keeper.  That is why you were charged for that repair.
  4. Light bulbs:  No note of missing light bulbs was made in the move in inspection nor the notes provided later. 
  5. Replace cracked switch plate cover:  This was deleted from the 5/27 security deposit disposition per your request at that time. 


When you came in to the office and spoke to ******* regarding your move out inspection, she told you that you could have one but you stated to her that you probably were not going to get your deposit back anyway so you did not schedule it.  As I stated previously and as you agree,   I spoke with your mother and you on an earlier date regarding work that must be done prior to move out and at that time, you mentioned several items that you did not want to be held responsible for and you were not.  I also called you several times during the end of your tenancy and you never called me back. 


It is normally the policy of most propane companies to credit the outgoing tenant for the propane in the tank and charge the incoming tenant.  In your case the propane company is not willing to accommodate you, and we have no way of forcing them to give you a refund for services they've already provided. You should not have had the tank filled if you knew you were about to vacate the unit.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: the details submitted are inaccurate. 

On May 7 2014 I spoke to you ***** via phone conversation to give you my updated mailing address for the disposition to be mailed. You told me I should go check the mail at the old address. I told you I did not feel comfortable going through someone else's mail for the chance that the disposition may or may not be there. I gave you my correct address, the PO box I used the entire time I lived in the house and asked you to mail the disposition there. You agreed. When I came into your office in May 21 to speak to you in person because no one from your office was returning any of my calls regarding the disposition and propane issue, I was told by ******* that the disposition sat on her desk unmailed for 2 weeks as she didn't know where to mail it. She said she had just mailed it a few days prior on May 19 to the address I gave you over the phone on May 7th.  
On this day may 21, when I visited your office, ******* who had previously told me over the phone that I would receive a refund for the propane called the propane company in front of me and verified your office owed me the refund. You and I discussed this matter in private. You told me to give you a few days to work on the issue and to expect a refund. You now keep saying I shouldn't have accepted a delivery if I new I was going to move out. My last propane delivery was on February 12 per ****** and ******a. I gave my 30 days notice to vacate in your office on March 18th. I called to cancel my service with ****** and ******* on March 26. I did not receive any further deliveries after February 12. The propane tank is very large. We used it more frequently in the winter months. The propane in the tank at that time would have lasted us all summer. You can see by the timeline, I canceled my service soon after I put in my notice to move. The time table of my last delivery should not even be of concern though because I was told by ******* and *** via phone conversation that it is policy for your office to reimburse the propane left in the tank once a new tenant established service. I was told by you in the office on May 21 that this was correct and I should expect to be reimbursed shortly. ****** and ******* have advised me this is your policy as have former employees of yours. You gave me your word in the office that day. Your word should be honored regardless when my last delivery took place.  
Yes, I accepted a $300 credit towards landscaping shortly after moving in to the home. This credit was to aid in some of the clean up of the yard. Prior to getting the keys to the house I was told by ******** that your maintenance man would give me at least 100 feet of defendable space. This did not happen. The weeds were over 6 feet tall, the lawns were nearly 4 feet tall, all of the trees were in need of serious trimming and all the garden beds were so overgrown you could not even see the perimeter of them. I negotiated the $300 credit with ******* agreeing we would rent a mower to mow the lawns as the homeowner had locked up all of his yard tools. The $300 credit did not cover the tree trimming, weed eating or weed and debri removal. We left the landscaping in much better condition than how we received it keeping the credit in mind. Out of courtesy we did try to rent a mower to manicure the lawns prior to moving out. We were told by Sonora rentals that due to severe fire risks, we could not rent a mower. 
*****, on May 7 when I spoke to you over the phone I told you I thought maybe I missed a cabinet in the kitchen that had a few items i had set aside to return to a friend. I also told you I had done some laundry my last day of cleaning and felt I forgot to double check I had everything. You assured me that you had done a walk through and nothing was left behind. You are now stating there were in fact things left behind in the washer and in a cabinet. This is very upsetting that I specifically asked you about these things and you told me no. But now you are trying to charge me for the removal of these things. I am confused why you would tell me I didn't leave anything behind when clearly I did. You denied me the opportunity to get my stuff back and are now charging me for it. 
You said the interior of the house was clean but are charging me $250 for cleaning.  You say the floors and windows were unclean and are charging $350 for the windows. I know the windows were washed by the cleaning professional I hired. And I personally scrubbed every floor surface at the home the last day I was there. I took great care to make sure the floors were clean. 
You are also charging me for the door jam that had pre existing damage. In my move in inspection papers I noted the front foor was jamming and not locking/unlocking properly. I noted the entry door was getting stuck and hung up. I was told by ******* on a visit she made to the house because of a rat infestation that anything costing less than $100 to fix would be our responsibility when I pointed out to her that the door was really beginning to jam up. We replaced the door handle and lock. This did not remedy the situation. On a visit from victors maintance man Nathon, we pointed out the issue to him as well. I showed him the cracking door jam. He suggested it looked like the door may have been kicked in at some point. I let him know the door had been jamming since we moved in and lack of maintance was causing the issue to worsen. You are charging me $150 for a pre existing issue that worsened over time due to neglect of maintenance from your office despite my requests to have it fixed. 
I looked over my move in papers and realized there are no notes about the light bulbs. I had noted it in my own personal notes but never transferred it over to the move in papers ******** gave me. There were several bulbs out including the ones in the kitchen and living room. It is my fault for missing this line item on the inspection papers. However I do not agree with $70 for replacing them. You need to show receipt of these bulbs. 
You say I talked to ******* in the office and asked for a move out inspection and then changed my mind because I didn't think I would get any of my deposit back anyway. First of all, this doesn't even make any sense. I didn't talk to her in the office about this matter, I called her. She said I was outside of my timeframe. That I would have had to request it 7 days prior to move out. She said this was all detailed in my move out papers which I should have received in the mail. I did not get these papers. Also, why would I ask for an inspection to avoid having avoidable deductions from my deposit and then say never mind because I'm not going to get a refund anyway? The whole point if this inspection is to get the refund!!! 
*****, you came to the home to show it to a prospective tenant, not to talk to me about my move out. Just as you were getting ready to leave I asked if I could point out an issue in the bathroom that I was trying to get maintance on and did not want to be blamed for. That is all we talked about. We did not discuss anything else. 
You say you called me several times to talk about my move out. I received two messeges from you which I still have. One to say you wanted to show the home and one to say I could not use my deposit to pay my last months rent. On the contrary, it was I who spent 3 years leaving message after message for your office and getting so frustrated by the lack of response I received. My biggest regret is not writing down every single time I called or emailed your office trying to get an issue resolved. 
I do not wish to keep arguing these little points with you. I merely wish to resolve the issue. You say you are within the 21 day limit even though you didn't send the disposition to the address I gave you. You are trying to charge me for several pre existing issues. You denied me a walk out inspection. You denied me the opportunity to recover things I left in the home by telling me I didn't leave anything behind but are now saying I did so you can charge me. You promised me a propane reimbursement and are now denying it by saying I shouldnt have gotten propane in the first place. Your business practices are unacceptable and I am asking for you to right your wrongs in a timely manner to avoid any further escalation of this matter. 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Frontier Property Management & Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)