Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dick James & Associates Inc.

Phone: (916) 332-7430 2260 Park Towne Cir Ste 204, Sacramento, CA 95825 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.djaproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick James & Associates Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick James & Associates Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Dick James & Associates Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1994 in CA Business incorporated 05/05/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01240805.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00363140.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dick James, President/CEO Ms. Shadi Fox , HR/Payroll Admin
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Shadi Fox , HR/Payroll Admin
Principal: Mr. Dick James, President/CEO
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Dick James and Associates is a full service property management company specializing in the management of apartment houses.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dick James & Associates Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2260 Park Towne Cir Ste 204

    Sacramento, CA 95825

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Firstly, I tried to solve the issue below with the apartment management, but they refused any credits in my rent account, so I have to complain you about them. I would like to share my concerns about a bad incident that was a collapse of the bathroom ceiling in March 18, 2016 in my apartment, **** ****** *** *****, with you. The apartment that I currently live is run by Skyview Villa Apartments. I will attach the pics taken right away the collapse. It was a sad incident, and one of my family members might have got killed through this unsafety situation because of the apartment management’s irresponsibility. The apartment was not safe at that moment, and the upstairs neighbor, **********, abused their apartment’s bathroom by filling up water inside the bathroom as stated by your handymen. I complained the apartment management about the issue many times, but they were not able to fix it. This situation lasted 3-4 months because there was leaking from the bathroom ceiling, but the management did not take care of it. The day after the incident, the boss of the apartment complex that I was told came to see the ruin in the bathroom. He did not take care of it, either. The bathroom was fixed in 3 weeks. I lost time and money because I had to keep myself at home while being fixed. My kids had to use the bathrooms outside. We could not take showers for a while, and the apartment management did not offer us any accommodation, either. I pay $750 per month, and I cannot get a better and safe service. There is a question coming up that it is about the safety of the apartment complex. Is it safe? We, as a family, complained about the bathroom ceiling leak for months, but they did not fix it, and take care of it. Finally, the whole bathroom ceiling collapsed in the bathroom, and fortunately, there was nobody in the bathroom at that time. One of my family members, including me, could have gotten killed or injured because of this collapse. Because of this, we could not go on a planned vacation that we had relatives who were waiting for us. After the collapse, the management did not look that they would fix it completely, and we asked them for it many times, and moreover my wife begged them for fixing the bathroom. After weeks, they fixed it, but I wonder that if the apartment is safe. Other apartments might get this bad experience, too, because the whole apartments do not look safe. My kids have some issues about using the bathroom because they have fears about having the collapse again. This is a psychological fear, but who caused it? Of course, the apartment management and its boss caused this through irresponsibility and not following the safety issues. The apartment management did not warn the upstairs neighbor that they filled their bathroom up with water. This is neglect. The apartment management and the apartment’s boss were irresponsible, did not take care of the issue, and they neglected the issue that they might have caused a human injury or death that the incident happened at 10 pm on March 18, 2016. So, my children, my wife, and I would like to complain about the apartment complex, which is ******* ***** ********** **** ****** **** *********** ** ******

Desired Settlement: Before the collapse of the bathroom ceiling, I complained about the leak in the bathroom from the ceiling for months, and the apartment management did not take care of it, and then the incident happened. So, I am used to paying the rent every month as $750. The past three months my family and I suffered from the leakage that water coming from the bathroom ceiling that the water was yellowish, and most probably contaminated. For the past three months, my family and I could not get the proper service from the apartment management, so I would like a refund of the past three month’s rent. And, my children have still fears about using the bathroom because of the incident, and during the repair, my family and I lost time and money, so for the reimbursement of it, I would like to reside in the apartment free for months. Or, I would like a refund as six month’s rent in total, and finish my business with this apartment complex as soon as I get refunded.

Business Response:

Dick James and Associates is a new management on site at ******* ***** **********. When Dick James and Associates took over the property on 3/16/16, multiple work orders were pending to be completed. We did complete work orders by priority, and tried to get to all the problems as soon as possible. Management found out about the ceiling situation in unit 2507 #1 on 3/18/16 and a maintenance tech went to assess the issue the next day. An email was also sent by the tenant on April 2nd, in which the date of the incident is stated to be 3/18/16.

Due to the extensive work that needed to be done in the bathroom, the work took 10 days to be completed. During this time, the tenants had access to a vacant unit to be able to use the bathroom facilities. However we do understand that this incident affected our tenants’ lives, and we agree to reimburse the tenant for the 10 days they were inconvenienced by this matter. We apologize for the inconvenience and we hope this solution satisfies both parties. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:                        

The issue I complained about is very serious. The apartment complex's former handyman, *******, picked 6 big trash bin of collapse mass because of collapsing the bathroom ceiling completely. Imagine that if the ceiling dropped on one of my family members or me, what could it be, what results could be? The owner of the property and its management need to think about the issue twice. I am sorry that the offer is not attractive. The owner of ******* ***** ********** knows the issue very well. So, I reject this offer.

            Thanks

Business Response: We apologize for the mix up. This notice was sent in error and the message has been relayed to the resident. The resident is receiving free rent for the month of May.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not only has the property ********* ***** ****. In *********** *** changed ownership a total of 3 times over the past 2 years, but I believe they have found a way to hustle hard working honest people with kid's, out of there security deposit money's. Yes I agree,as would most to a modest charge for general cleaning purposes.But illegable, hokey hand written invoices, and incorrect mathmatical errors on invoicing, to only come back with a " I owe you 70 more" There was three of us in a sardine can, for over 2 years. I gave you a written, and verble notice. And owed no back rent and cleaned and returned keys. I can and will prove this in court with documentation and pictures that I have.

Desired Settlement: Refund my security deposit, and itemize the cleaning invoice. To show how many hrs and cost per hour I paid for that $160.00. Or I will be asking for the full legal amout of up to 3 times my security deposit, with court cost. I really just dont want this grief, I have enough going on to deal with. This is just one thing I shouldn't be.

Business Response:

We have revised the move out to honor the tenant’s initial lease agreement regarding the cost of painting the unit. In the revised disposition of security deposit, the tenant will be refunded the full cost of the paint charges as well some of the carpet replacement charges. According to the initial move-in inspection, the flooring was all new and this inspection was signed by the tenant. The move out inspection was conducted with the tenant present and on the inspection, there were many remarks made about how the unit needed cleaning. At the bottom of the inspection, the tenant signed and accepted the inspection and the remarks as they were. 

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leasing agent reviewed application stated everything looks good next step they needed $54.00 for credit check. 3 business days later she called stated she will need mamagers approval because of bankruptcy. Nothing asked about why filing. Agent called back told us we would not be accepted because of the bankruptcy. We clearly stated on application that we had filed. If they do not take bankruptcy they should have told us up front sence agent read over application before taking our $54.00 for credit check.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $54.00 and written apology for lack of professional service in

Business Response: We apologize for any misunderstanding with these perspective tenants. However, we do wish to explain the situation. After showing the unit and giving the application to the applicant, they brought the application back with their money order. The ********* ******* quickly scanned the application to make sure that all the blanks were filled in. The applicant never informed us that they had a bankruptcy on their record and it is not something we would usually discuss with an applicant unless the applicant brought up the subject. The requirements we discuss with a prospective tenant are good credit, good rental history and income requirements.  If a potential tenant inquires about a bankruptcy, we inform the applicant that they must provide documentation that the bankruptcy was discharged. We cannot refuse the right to apply to any potential tenant. Once again we apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding and we will refund the $54 applicantion fee back to the applicant.

 
 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

If they need my address: **** ********** *** ***   ********** ** *****

Thank you

****


3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint involves a habitability violation as well as a safety violation. On January 15th I personally spoke with a representative of Dick James & Associates (hereinafter "DJA") with respect to ceiling leaks in my apartment. DJA is the property management company of the apartment complex where I live. Roofers came out that evening and used a wet-vac on the roof to remove the water. On January 18th I again met with a representative of DJA with respect to the continued ceiling leaks in my apartment. Roofers came out and used a broom to sweep the water off the roof. After waiting a full week for repairs to be made, I came home from work, walked into my kitchen and proceeded to slip and fall because the ceiling fan/light fixture was leaking water all over the floor. I immediately contacted a representative of DJA who, in turn, sent the DJA resident maintenance man to assess the situation. The representative gave me no positive feedback except that he would contact the DJA maintenance supervisor of the complex. I sent multiple emails to the owner of the complex asking that he intervene. My options were to continue to live in the apartment "as is" or pay a moving company to move my items into another unit. The options I was provided are unacceptable. I have been corresponding with the owner of the complex and was told "I need to take it up with DJA" because "I gave the property to them to manage." Habitability problems include, but are not limited to, the conditions listed in California Civil Code Section 1941.1 and Health and Safety Code Section 17920.3. Including but not limited to roof/ceiling leaks and mold issues.

Desired Settlement: Not only do the multiple ceiling leaks need to be repaired, they need to be repaired immediately. If the ceiling leaks cannot be repaired, DJA and/or the owner of the property need to pay my moving expenses. I have already been authorized to move into another unit in this complex.

Business Response: Upon receipt of the first call, both the maintenance man and manager went to inspect the unit. A roofing contractor was ultimately called to the site to assess the problem and make any necessary repairs that same day. As the leak was mentioned again the following week, the roofing company was called once again. Following yet another complaint from the resident, we ultimately drew the conclusion that in order to effectively resolve the issue we'd have to cut into the ceiling drywall and detect the leak from within. Having the tenant's best interest in mind and wishing to avoid endangering her health and safety in any way, we are offering her a different apartment to move into, fully re-carpeted and repainted. Her rent will not be increased at all and in addition we will also be offering her a $200 concession on her first months rent which she can use to make arrangements for her furniture to be transferred to the new unit. Due to the fact that she is working with a lawyer at this time, we are unable to directly contact her to receive confirmation that this offer is accepted by her as we await for our comapny's lawyer to speak with hers. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because DJA has not provided me with any firm indication as to when the unit will be available.  As it stands, DJA is providing "hearsay" in order to quickly settle this matter.  I require a firm date with respect to the new unit being available for occupancy. Given DJA's recent history with not following through on repairs, not to mention transferring cable and utilities, I believe it is reasonable for me to inquire as to the date the unit will be available.  Although the leaks have subsided because the rain has stopped, the issue has not been resolved.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because, cosmetically, the new apartment appeared ready for occupancy. However, after spending 24 in the new unit, the following items were deficient:  the bathroom toilet does not flush properly, the bathroom sink does not drain properly, and the cold water in the shower is horribly discolored with rust.  The water lines to the kitchen sink and bathroom sink are reversed meaning the hot water lines are connected to the cold water handles. There is mold in the bathroom that is bleeding through the new paint, a kitchen cabinet has dry rot and mold, as well as dry and mold on a bedroom window sill.

Business Response: The resident filled out two work requests in the office. We agreed on an appointment date and time for maintenance to service the apartment and address all issues. Upon completion of all orders, the maintenance technician and the tenant both signed agreeing that the work has been finished. 

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2015 I reported a roof leak in my kitchen and bedroom closet. I was told an emergency work order would be submitted per the leasing office. There have been multiple "assessments" of the roof damage. My roof still leaks and my closet smells like a sewer and when I go to work my uniform smells like wet dog. In June 2015 the complex A/C (chiller) went out. Multiple "assessments" were done. The most recent repair company told me the system needs to be replaced, that there are systemic problems with the roof-top cooling units and the piping is at the end of its service life, and that the apartment would not repair it due to monetary concerns. No repairs were done. Tenants were informed that nothing could be done. Complaints were filed with the City. Suddenly we received portable A/C units until the issue was resolved. It is now toward the end of August 2015. The roof still leaks. The Chiller is not fixed. The managers are taking back all of the portable A/C units. Communicating with this company is difficult because the leasing agents are often not in the office during office hours. They cannot be contacted after hours because there is no after hours number. There is no maintenance number, nor an emergency maintenance number. And the answering machine cuts you off after a couple sentences,

Desired Settlement: I want the building to be waterproof so the rain doesn't come in and wreck my kitchen items and stink up my closet/ clothes. I want, at least, to keep this portable A/C unit until the cooling system is fixed. Because so far the only A/C repair has been shooting a digital temperature gun inside the vent and saying everything is fine, as though tenants live inside the vents where there is cool ambient air.

Business Response: I understand your frustration with the situation at this property. We have only been managing this property for approximately 3 months when the property was sold to a new owner. We have been working diligently with this new owner to fix the many problems that existed when he bought the property only 3 months ago. He has been investing significant funds in repairing the A/C and roof issues at the property. Currently, there is a roofing company redoing the roofs and this project should be completed in approximately 3 weeks. There is also significant work being done to fix the A/C's. There is an after hours number available through ****** ******* for true after hours emergencies. Our supervisor has checked on the on-site and she has always been there and available for tenants. We kindly ask for your patience while we work on fixing the issues at this property and can assure you that this owner is very interested in fixing and improving this property.

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon signing the lease to move into an apartment complex managed by Dick James and Associates, it was thoroughly explained to me that smoking and unlawful activity (drug use) are not permitted in or around the unit (see pages 21 and 35 of rental agreement), and that doing so is cause for termination of the lease agreement. Despite these guidelines stated in this legal document that was read and signed by every tenant, and despite my complaints since March 2015 of the marijuana smoke that creeps through my air conditioning and bathroom vents, DJA and its property manager (***) refuse to return my calls or acknowledge their need for action. I have called ***'s supervisor, ********, and even **** ****s himself. ******** will not retun my calls, and **** ***** would not let me speak, delegating me back to ********. *** is too afraid to confront the tenants and will only sneak around the complex to slip notices into doorways. Instead of coming to the unit herself to witness the smell herself, she sends the maintenance person who has lied on multiple occasions by saying he did not smell any smoke. About a month ago, he even admitted to me that he smelled the smoke and knew which unit it came from. He also said *** wouldn't do anything about it.The constant marijuana smoke makes both my son and I very ill. Neither one of use can sleep in our bedroom during the nights that the heavy smoke looms throughout our apartment. Whenever I turn on my AC the stale odor fills the entire apartment both of oyr chests tighten up and we begin to cough. I finally had to take my son to urgent care because he complained of feelibg nauseous, light-headed, and of chest pains. My concerns of second hand smoke, my son inhaling drugs, and the lack of empathy on DJA's part is very heartbreaking and upsetting. I have pleaded with the property manager to consider the lease guidelines and to even think of my son (I guarantee that if her apartment was in such condition she would think of her daughters and have them evicte.)

Desired Settlement: I want the property manager and DJA to acknowledge their obligation to comply with the lease terms and either terminate the lease of the tenants who are engaging in unlawful activity by smoking marijuana inside of the unit, which is putting our health at risk and forcing my child to consume drugs; or pay back all money paid (rent and security deposits) so that I can find a new place to live that will be safe and healthy for us both.

Business Response: Dear ******,

We apologize for the inconvenience and hassle you have been going through for the last 5 months. We are working on the situation you are dealing with at your residing apartment complex and plan to handle this this in a timely manner. Should you have any concerns please do not hesitate to contact me at *************

Sincerely,
******** ****
Dick James & Associates

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in regards to my concern. I have spoken with Ms. **** and she has agreed to keep me updated on the status of their action plan, and has also consented to emails (and text messages within business hours) regarding  any further issues at the property. I informed Ms. **** that I understand the process to handle this situation is lengthy, nonetheless sporadic updates would give peace of mind (especially since this marijuana smoke issue has been going on for almost half of my 12-mo lease). 

Thank you for your assistance.

****** *****

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived at **** * ** *** as a tenant for many years. I was notified that a new Property Management Company had taken over (EXHIBIT 1). To make the outside of my apartment look better, I had previously bought 5 (five) planter pots for the courtyard. I bought these pots out of my own funds. I received a letter from the new Property Manager ******* ***** of the new Property Management Co. Dick James & Associates requesting a meeting to discuss some upcoming changes/improvements to the property (EXHIBIT 2). The letter carne late Thursday and stated the Meeting would be that Saturday Oct. 2014. I could not be there so l asked my neighbor ******* ******** to attend and speak with *******. Three of the pots belonged to me and I had given 2 to my neighbor ******* ********. I had bought them many years ago from ******* *****. ******* told ******* that the five pots belonged to us so that they would not be disturbed and ******* said, fine, this would not get in the way of the landscaping improvements they planned to do. ******* assured her that nothing would happen to them. When Dick James’s company came in to do the work, they put gravel in the flower beds and painted two of our pots with red paint (EXHIBIT 3a, 3b, 3c). When I saw the painted pots, I spoke to ******* the Property Manager to ask why they painted the pots which were not their property arid were supposed to remain untouched. *******’s response was that she did not want to “mlcro manage” the vendors. I found this strange because she assured us that the pots would not be disturbed and she as the Property Manager has a duty to make sure the project is going according to plan. I asked ******* to make this right by replacing the pots or remove the red paint from them. They could not get the red paint off the pots (EXHIBIT 4a, 4b). I spoke to ****** at ******* ***** and he said there was no way to match the remaining pots (EXHIBIT 5). I did not want mismatched pots so I bought three new ones and provided the bill of $429.75 to ******* for re-imbursement since she said all along that she would take care of the problem (EXHIBIT 6a, 6b). Up to this point I thought she was a responsible person and everything was going fine. I paid ******* ***** and gave the invoice to ******* and thought it was a done deal. When I did not get a response and inquired with ******* she said ******** from the office says she won’t pay for the pots, She said I needed to speak to ******* who was *******’s boss. I left messages for ******** but she never returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: I feel they destroyed my property and want to be reimbursed for the cost of the pots. On another matter, when I gave my 30-day notice to move, I specified that I wanted a pre-move out inspection. They never contacted me to schedule the pre-move out inspection. Then about 15 days from my move out, I contacted the agent again by letter and nothing happened. They never completed the pre-move out inspection and I turned in my keys on Feb. 15, 2015. As of today’s date, March 30, I still have received nothing in writing regarding the security deposit disposition or release of liability for the unit. Even though I had no security deposit, I still need the letter to verify that nothing is owed and to release my liability for the property. This really bothers me because I know that they follow this unlawful practice with other tenants as well. I have heard so many bad things from other tenants but the sad thing is that they do not know the law. The law requires that if requested, the property manager must perform a pre-move out inspection and provide a written list of items still needing correction and give a copy of the inspection at the time of the inspection. If they do not, they are required to refund the entire security deposit.

Business Response: We're very sorry for the inconvenience this matter has caused you. We as a management company do our best to make sure that every tenant receives adequate time to be notified when changes are going to be made. In this case, we were fixing up the landscaping around the property. There were 2 flower pots that were sitting by the front gate that had graffiti on them. By the time that we had started our project, those flower pots were not removed or spoken of. We believed that they belonged to the property since they had not moved which is why we painted them a color that would match and hide the graffiti. We didnt feel at that point that there was any reason why we should refund you for the flower pots since again they were not spoken for before our project had started.
In regards to your pre inspection move out, our manager, ********, had called numerous times to try to schedule an appointment. However, none of the phone calls were returned. On one occasion her phone call was answered by *******************, whom said that she would relay the massage back to ******. Still at that point ******** had never received a call back until after gaining possession of the unit on February 15th. The keys were not personally handed to our manager, ********, rather left inside the unit for her to get while doing the final inspection.

Consumer Response: Dick James, 

I received your response letter dated 4/21/15 to my Better Business Bureau complaint. I find it absurd that the person who wrote the rebuttal did not fully read my letter and simply dismissing all of the statements in my complaint. 
Your version of what happened to my flower pots is not accurate and leaves out some very important details. As I explained in my first letter, I was notified about some upcoming changes to the landscaping by letter on Th. Oct 9. The letter stated there would be a meeting that Sat Oct. 11th at 9am. As many people do, I already had a pre-arraigned engagement at that time. Luckily my neighbor ******* ******** was able to attend the meeting and express our concerns about the pots which were purchased by me from my own funds. At the Saturday meeting with the Property Manager ********, my neighbor ******* explained that the 5 pots belonged to us and we did not want them to be disturbed. ******** assured ******* that the pots would not be disturbed and there was "No Problem" My mistake is that I believed her.
The pots were all in the internal courtyard and not on the street. Your reply stated that the reason why you painted my pots red was because they had graffiti on them. The only pots that had graffiti belonged to the complex and were not mine. They were circular in shape and painted completely in red (SEE ATTACHED Exhibit 5A &5B). In the picture you can see that the two circular pots were completely painted in red and those are the ones with Graffiti. The square ones were mine and were moved to the gate and painted around the rim. I have a picture that show that you tried to remove the paint after I complained but the process did not work and destroyed the pots (EXHIBIT 4A & 4B IN PREVIOUS LETTER). In addition one of the pots disappeared during the time that they were moved. When I voiced my complaint to ******** they tried to get the paint off but they damaged them. At this time ******** said they would reimburse me the $429.75 for the missing and damaged pots. When I followed up on the reimbursement, ******** changed her story and said I needed to speak to her supervisor ********. I tried calling ******** but got no response.
It is very sad that your response letter denies the entire complaint but you must keep in mind that there are other tenants who observed the entire process. It is common knowledge in the tenant community that if you voice a complaint against Dick James, they just give you notice to move. I sincerely hope this does not happen to any of the existing tenants at G St.
I find it difficult to understand why Dick James does not simply own up to their mistake, on such a simple ting as reimbursing someone for damaging their pots, and with so much proof, why would they not want to resolve the matter? Instead they have chosen to deny the entire matter and hope that it will just go away. 
in addition to the damage to my personal property, Dick James handled the move out process and did not follow the law. When I gave my 30 day notice to vacate 01/15/2015, I indicated that I'm requesting a pre-move out inspection. By law you are supposed to send me a letter of 30 day notice of acknowledgement stating my right to set up a Pre-move out inspection but I never received this. On Feb 1st I followed up on my request for a pre-move out inspection and I never heard back from your company. 
Dick James is a member of CAA (California Apartment Association) and this association has legal forms that are required by the State. One of the form that they should have sent to me is " NOTICE OF RESIDENT OPTION TO REQUEST INITIAL INSPECTION OF THE RENTAL UNIT" This form states the following: 1. It is the Tenants right legal right to request an initial inspection of the unit. 2. The Pre-move out inspection should be conducted no earlier than two weeks from the move out day and no later than 48 hours of the move out day. Even if Dick James had trouble getting in touch with me, they are still obligated to perform the requested pre-move out inspection (Exhibit 6A CAA FORM 7.5), by posting 48 hrs in advance and leaving a copy of the written checklist of any items that still need to be complete to receive my full security deposit refund. However, Dick James never contacted me about scheduling the pre-move out inspection even though they have my cell phone and work phone and I am very easy to get a hold of. On Feb 15th, they did contact an employee of mine, *********, but it was after I had already turned in keys to the property by dropping them in the dropbox at the property, so it was too late. It makes me feel very uncomfortable that they still have not sent me a final disposition letter as this closes out and finalizes the tenancy and security deposit return and would let me know if there were any monies owed.
From the response I received from Dick James to my dispute letter, it makes me question if he even read the letter to begin with. This BBB complaint is a matter of reputation and if Dick James lets his employees respond with denials and incomplete facts, that is a shame because he is the bottom line and should make sure these situations are handled appropriately. i am still awaiting an appropriate response to my complaint not a simple statement of denial. I am not satisfied with the response or outcome 

Business Response:

******,
In an effort to close this matter peacefully, we will pay you for your flower pots. However, I have to disagree with most of your response in regards to the way that our company handles proper procedures and that if a tenant has a complaint that they are automatically asked to leave. This is completely untrue and I believe it is something said by you in order to defame our management name. We are a management company that cares about our tenants and do not go out of our way to harm them or make their lives harder. In your matter, we simply wanted to spruce up the property to make it a more enjoyable property for our tenants to live at. In the effort of our team doing that, unfortunately your communication with our staff was none existent in regards to your flower pots. The outcome ended up being that your flower pots were mistakenly thought to be a part of the complex, and therefor painted to match the rest of the flower pots on site. Again, we will reimburse you for these pots in an effort to satisfy this matter. There was also a letter of security deposit refund sent to you last month stating that there was no deposit nor any charges made in your name. We hope that these efforts will satisfy your complaints and that we can close this accordingly.
Sincerely,
Dick James & Associates, Inc.
 

Consumer Response:

 
To whom it may concern:

  Honesty is the best policy. As I stated in my letters to BBB, the property manager was aware of the situation regarding the destruction of my outside planters and would not tell the truth to her supervisor. I tried addressing the matter with her supervisor, but unfortunately they would not call back. This could have been solved very easily by simply telling the truth. Again, the property manager did not tell the truth. 

  I sent in my reply a request to do a pre move out inspection. I sent this request twice, on the 1st and again 15 days later. The property manager stated that she could not get a hold of me but she only called me back on the day I turned in my keys. This just does not follow the letter of the state law. If Dick James cared about its tenants, he would follow the state law. I hope you clean up your act for the sake of not only me but all tenants you serve.

Regards,

****** ******

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A fraudulent eviction was placed on my record by this property management company, they have no records of it and now I need a place to live and in order to get this apartment they need a letter head from dick james saying we don't owe money or its fraudulent. And they have not returned my calls I have called everyday for a week almost. And now I am going to lose this place because of it.

Desired Settlement: A letter on a letter head saying we owe them no money or that the eviction is fraudulent.

Business Response: Dear ********,
we are sorry that you feel that your eviction was not justified. However we have a specific way of handling evictions and cannot control how they show up on your record. They typically disappear within 7-10 years. It appears you still have an outstanding balance of $987.66 owed to the apartment complex that evicted you. If you would like to satisfy these charges, the attorneys might be willing to help remove this eviction from your record. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: this eviction is not valid. We did not live in the unit at the time of eviction. I have smud records showing that power usage was zero, for about 3 days prior to the eviction. We left a forwarding address and turned in all the keys including mail keys. We didn't have access to the mail box. I believe this was a personal issue **** had because I didn't receive any court documents regarding this matter. **** charged us for carpet, paint, cleaning, and drapes when we lived there for almost 7 years. And the unit had mini blinds installed when we lived there. **** told me to throw away the drapes as we switched one window over at a time. I saved them until he told me that. He refused to take them back. I don't mind paying any damages we caused but the charges he says we owe are not accurate.  Since you not have the record as stated before you didn't I would like a copy and would like to see the damage listed. You also kept my deposit. I had a 500 dollar move in deposit and 100 pet deposit. As soon as my kids are out of school I am going to the courts to sort this out. Thanks for the timely response. 

Business Response: ********,
We understand the frustration with your situation. I have a copy of the judgement attached to this response for your review. We will settle on receiving $400 from the judgement in order to get the attorneys to dismiss this from your records. Once this partial judgement amount is paid in full, we can continue with helping you to get this off of your record. I hope we can come to an agreement in this matter and help you get this off of your record.
Sincerely,
Dick James & Associates, Inc.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Who do I contact to take of this. Money order is made out to who? And where can I drop off or mail? Thank you for working with us. Regarding this matter. 

********
************
**** ******* ** *********
Antelope ca 95843

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roach investation, trash over flows n picks up late. They took over two months ago having same problem as previous owners taking rent money failure do repair. No tenants allowed to socialize hallwayNo pitbulls or dogs over 25lb on property. Yet pitbulls n dogs over 25lbs r in #5,12,16,18 n in. Other apartments. My dogs were attacked by pitbull #18, as result I broke my left foot saving my dogs lives. Been almost year. No repairs got done. Previous owner just collection rent. Now new people r doing samething. This needs stop. I have have roach problem from. 21, can't use my heater sets off. Smoke detector, top water heater, tub stop, cocking, towel racks needs new ones, toilet lose, security bar on back of bath tub not safe Cong lose n wall cracking around it. No repair getting done any of tenant. Pitbulls n dogs over 25lbs need gone, repairs need done. They hired onsite manager **** ***** in #8 ************ is number. We me company that going do repairs, remove big dogs property,tenants follows rules, stop disturbing tenants 10pm 7 am. Drug dealer ****** ****** associates /seaters needs kick out apts 1,21,15,16 now

Desired Settlement: Dja replaced company will do right by tenants. Pitbulls n dogs over 25lbs be removed property. Tenants not be allowed in hallways socialize. Children be supervision by parent. trash be emptied, new onsite management, repairs get done in entire complex, all apartments be inspected by code enforcement, gate put up. Apartments 1,12,9,15,16,21 evicted. Need management that will collect rent n get entire complex up code apartment s 1-21.

Business Response: Tell us why here...
To whom it may concern:

This property is under conservatorship. Dick James & Associates, Inc. has been managing the site only 5 weeks. The property has been in a state of decline for some time now. We did not cause these issues, but are trying to get the issues corrected. The owner representative from the courts has the authority to spend very little funds on this project in relation to the scope of work that needs to be done. We (DJA) are doing the best that we can at the current time with the limited resources that we have. We can appreciate the tenant’s complaints, but at the time we are almost powerless to correct the issues. The reason for this is the constant vandalism. We correct some issues then come back the next day and discover that what we repaired had been vandalized. The property is being looked at for a potential sale. I fear the only way to get all the issues corrected is to have the property vacated and then proceed with a complete renovation. Being that this property is under control of the courts, we are limited due to resources as to what and how much we can do.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told in the walk through of the unit (by apartment manager ***** *****) that "cats were allowed but not dogs" and I chose this unit at Loma Linda Apartments(**** ******* **** *********** ** *****) partially because of the cat friendly. I was approved for the apartment and put the security deposit down. The lease was not ready for me to sign at when I put the deposit down. When it came time for me to sign the lease on 6/30/14, the lease said that cats were not allowed. At that time, the apartment manager, ***** *****, said that "If you see cats, it's because they were grandfathered in" That was not what I was told before. "bait and switch" used to get me to rent the unit.

Desired Settlement: I asked that they allowed me to have a cat or refund my deposit.

Business Response: Hello,
I am so sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. It is to my understanding that this has been resolved between you and the manager of the property. However, if you are not satisfied, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Sincerely,
Dick James & Associates Team

6/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/14/14 I emailed this company and still no response. When I moved in, I was assigned to parking space A. I noticed another vehicle was parked in the spot so I called **** and she advised me to put a note on the car asking them to move. A short while after putting the note the owner of the was banging on my asking why I put a note on her car. She then starting screaming at me telling me that she is not going to move and that my parking space is F. She threatened me if I tried to park there she would have to deal with me. Shortly after I got a letter from the office on my door stating that my parking space has been changed to F. I am very concerned that this tenant was told where I live and where I park my car. I went to the office and **** told me that the tenant came in very upset and yelling at her about the parking situation so she then realized that she assigned us to the wrong spot, however my lease says space A and I didn't give consent for them to change it. I am pregnant with twins and very concerned for my safety and the new parking spot is a lot further for me to walk. In addition, after only being here for about 2 weeks my toilet broke and flooded my entire bathroom and half of my bedroom. This was very inconvenient to say the least. On June 6th 2014 I was standing in the kitchen when all of a sudden the kitchen light cover and frame, which is wood, fell on my head and belly, injuring my neck and back. I am still pregnant with twins and had to go to my doctor to get checked out. Luckily I am fine but still in pain. Also, the gym is not working. My boyfriend was visiting a few weeks ago and tried to use it but the treadmill doesn't work and the workout machine has broken parts as well. When I moved in, their website advertised free cable but when I asked she said no, there's no free cable. This was one of the reasons I chose this complex.

Desired Settlement: I would like the parking situation remedied and reassigned back to space A. I would also like for the gym to be fixed and an explanation as to why the website offers free cable when they don't actually offer it. I would like to receive a discount off of next months rent for the inconvenience of having to go get checked at the hospital and for having to deal with the pain that this incident has caused. If this is not taken care of, I will be filing a legal suit against this company.

Business Response: Dear *******,
Per our phone conversation, i hope things are now okay with your unit. Please let us know if you have any further issues or concerns so we may address them.
Dick James & Associates Team

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had submitted our rental application on Jan. 11, 2014 it is now the 27th and no one has contacted us. We understand that there was one (1) issue you needed clarification on. But we should have been contacted on a daily basis to to let us know where we are at. This is very unprofessional conduct their part. It looks as if they are just banking applicants screening fee. First ******* at Southwoods Apt. told my husband he had to go right down and get a money order and pay for both our application fees, which he did. And since I was in Redding, CA ******* would email me link and I could fill my application on-line. But upon completion I had to pay with my credit card in order for it to be submitted. This was after ******* had us rush getting her the money order. My husband had to do same in order to submit his as well. Why would ******* not know the application process and/or the correct cost? Plus I was charged $28.00 for my fee and my husbands only $20.00. ******* had us pay $28.00 each. So we had to go get the money order back and re-deposit into our account. I really like ******* but this is not right. I also had to email the screening company two days ago and request a copy of our credit report even after we checked the box to do so. We can not get the time, money or gas back due to the actions of their staff and affiliates. Moreover after the twelve (15) days with no communication, undo cost to us and all the above mentioned issues of concern.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund credited back to both our credit cards and $50.00 for the time and money spent on obtaining, taking back, picking up and re-depositing the money order that was never even needed.

Business Response: Dear *****,
We are so sorry for the problems you had gone through with trying to rent at this property. We make a conscious effort to train our staff to know how to handle difficult situations like this. We understand your frustrations and would like to offer you your application fee of $48 back. A check will be sent out in the mail within this week to your current address.
Thank you,
Dick James & Associates

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I do have a new mailing address. Can you please forward it to them along with my acceptance.

 
**** ***** *** **
*********** ** *****

Sincerely,

***** *******

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I move out of Teals Apartment on Nov 1st. I was advise owner has 21days to refund deposit otherwise in full amount. I receive deposit on Dec 2nd. I gave a 30 day notice before moving out of Teals Apartment. I did an inspection with the new Location Manager on 10/22/13. We had a conversation regarding the previous manager. She did not do a move-in inspection with most tenants before moving them in. I wanted to know how that can affect my deposit. Manager acknowledge, and stated she already encounter several issues similar to my situation. She will not charge for painting since there is no wall damages, the only charge will be cleaning fees due to the contract. I had asked, how long does it take to refund the deposit. She explained, 21days from the initial date of inspection or move out which is between Oct 22nd and Nov 1st. Anything after the 21 days, tenant is entitle for a full refund. I did not received a check until Dec 2nd. Check date issue out was Nov, 25th. Before Nov 21st, I try calling and leaving messages to location to get an update on the status of my deposit. I follow up again on Nov 24th, 30th. I receive a callback from location manager on Dec 2nd the morning of receiving my check. I was advise to contact upper management regarding the timeframe of refund. I left voice messages to operator (*******) on Dec 2. I was refer to an property assistant(*****) who deals with Teals Apartment. She stated she does not know what happened why the deposit took long and refer me to her District manager(********). I did not receive a callback from ********. I called operator back Dec 3rd and was refer to another supervisor(*********). Supervisor called me later that evening and explained she will do a full investigation to find out what happen. She does not know why I was misinform about the deposit and painting charge. I did not hear from supervisor.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dick James & Associate to refund me the difference of my deposit as stated or at the very least reimburse the painting charge that was disclaim to me that I will not be charge since there is no wall damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
A check with the full amount of the security deposit was issued and mailed to the former tenant on 12/10/2013.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My complaint has been resolved my the company.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Dick James & Associates Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart