Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Chico Sierra Real Estate Management, Inc. offers tenants and investment owners real estate management services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 in CA Business incorporated 08/04/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01526383.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 1913885.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 1146116.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Catherine Duffy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine Duffy, President
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Sierra Property Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 180 E 9th Ave Ste 3

    Chico, CA 95926 (530) 899-2296


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property Management Company advertises photographs of their properties that misrepresent the condition of the property. Chico Sierra Real Estate Management requires a $25 application fee be paid prior to scheduling an appointment to view the property. If I had known the condition of the home, I would never have paid the fee or requested to view. The home is falling apart, holes in the siding, carpet is very old and coming away from the threshold revealing the sub-flooring, the landscaping looks nothing like the photograph advertised (all the plants are dead or removed). The company claims they belong to BBB but could not be found on BBB website to file this complaint. There are horrible reviews and stories about their business practices on YELP. I called the manager of the company to report the discrepancy in the condition of the home vs the advertisement and was met with hostility. He interrupted me and hung-up the phone while I was in mid-sentence.

Desired Settlement: Please review their business practices around advertising and property management. Please require them to remove their claim that they belong to BBB if they in-fact do not. The homes that they manage are not in acceptable living condition.

Business Response: **** ******** applied to a property at **** ****** St in ***** on 4-14-2014.  An appointment was set up for **** to view the home, but on the date of that appointment  (today) our employee waited around for 15 minutes and then left.  We then received a phone call from ****, very rudely stating that the home is not what the picture represents.  We have 1 picture on the website and it is of the outside of the unit.  With the exception of other cars in the driveway, the home looks the same.  Picture attached

Our policy, is that we prefer for people to view the home prior to turning in the applications.  We want to make sure that they like the home before we even process the application.  **** was never told that she had to pay a fee before she could view it, otherwise we would have a $25 fee from her and we do not.  **** never paid the fee, and at this point has done nothing but waist 1 employees time, and call and scream at the other one.    I happened to be sitting in the same room when she called(less than 3 hours ago), and she was dealt with very politely and was not hung up on.  I am sorry that she feels the need to incorrectly state what happened.    

As far as being a member of the BBB, well I will chalk that up to the fact that she must have done as much research on that as she did to how we process applications.  She is incorrect on both accounts.

All I can say is that I am glad that we saw this side prior to renting this home, or any other property to her. 

I can be reached for any other concerns at 899-2296.
Thank You
********* *****

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:
******** *****'s response includes some false statements. At the time of scheduling I informed the individual on the phone that I would be coming from work and could possibly be a little late as they were unavailable during lunch hours and after work hours for showings. I arrived at **** ****** **. at 11:55 a.m. and was met by the tenant who informed me that the agent had waited 5 minutes and left. I called to apologize for missing the agent and to let the management company know that residence was in disrepair and that the advertisement they were using was clearly an old photograph. See attached.

I did not raise my voice on the phone as I was at work. The gentleman was rude and did hang-up while I was still talking. I am sorry the she feels the need to incorrectly state what happened. I have also attached comments from YELP that reflects the same rude and unprofessional behavior from this business. I do not believe this was an isolated incident.

I was told that it was the company's policy to retrieve a $25 application fee prior to viewing. I happened to fax my application instead of dropping it off at the business because they closed so early and I just hadn't taken the check yet. Thankfully, I was able to schedule the appointment before I had paid as the property was nothing like it was advertised and I would not have been refunded.

As for being a member of the BBB, it was my intention that the business proves their membership as it did not come up on the search when I filed this complaint. I was concerned that listing its membership to the BBB on their website was an additional example of the company's false adverting.

I believe the tone in ********e's response to my complaint and the three other responses to complaints on BBB site exemplifies her rudeness and unprofessionalism. As a homeowner, I would be devastated if my property management company allowed my property to be kept in the manner they feel is acceptable and advertise as otherwise.

Business Response: We manage 100's of properties with 1000's of tenants every year, and yes in this business field that we receive complaints.  Most every person that has left a complaint is someone that we have evicted, or have taken to court, and yelp is the only way that they can voice their opinion without anyone having to hear the other side.  Luckily  the BBB makes people prove their grievances, and both sides are heard.

 I am not sure if this indivudual actually read how rude and accusitory her statement  to the BBB was, but if she did, then she should not in the least be shocked that I am defending our actions.  This individual accused us of making her pay a $25 fee prior to looking at a unit, however that is contradictory to our policy that is both stated in our office and on our website.  She did not state that it was our policy to make people pay, she actually stated that she had to pay a fee before she could see it, which is simply untrue.

She accused us of falsely stating that we were members of the BBB, simply because she did not take the time to enter our name in the system properly, and she accused us of falsely adverting properties, when the picture that was taken, and is listed on our website was taken last year in April 2013.  We obviously cannot control on a day to day basis how the property looks on the outside.  As far as the interior, had she taken a deep breath and talked to our office, she would have been informed that the unit was getting new flooring, new paint, and would be brought back to good standards before someone moves in.  We could have even referred her to other properties that might meet her standards better.

To this individual, I am sorry that you did not like the property that we were advertising.  The address is listed, and per all of our instructions both verbal and on our site, we request that you drive by the property and look at the exterior and the location prior to making an appointment, or submitting an application.  That was obviously a step that you choose to skip.   Please do not try to accuse us of trying to fool you in anyway. 
********* *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart