Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brittain Properties

Phone: (916) 568-1800 1435 River Park Dr Ste 510, Sacramento, CA 95815 http://www.brittaincommercial.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brittain Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brittain Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Brittain Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 1990 Business started: 08/24/1984 in CA Business incorporated 07/12/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00828359.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00871225.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00786930.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sandra Brittain, President/Salesperson
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandra Brittain, President/Salesperson
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Brittain & Associates Brittain Commercial J. A. Brittain, Limited

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brittain Properties has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1435 River Park Dr Ste 510

    Sacramento, CA 95815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In preparation to moving into ****** ********** I made an itemized list of things that needed to be repaired in the apartment I would be living in. I lived in the apartment from 06/01/2015-02/27/2016. Although the apartment was not cleaned or repaired prior to my move-in, I thoroughly cleaned the apartment before vacating the premises. The current manager missed the move out inspection day so I returned the keys in the mail slot. Even though I have yet to receive my deposit refund 25 days after vacating the premises I received a PDF version of the "Disposition of Security Deposit Statement" via email on March 21st. Upon checking the itemized list of charges I have found discrepancies. I am to be charged $82 in the section of "unpaid rent/late fees", which I feel is incorrect. I have never been late paying my rent and I have paid all rent in full every month excluding the last month of occupancy. I gave the standard 30-day notice and I paid $738 for the month of February, the exact month that was calculated by manager. This is the same amount calculated based on the standard 30-day month and being completely vacated by the 27th day. I am also to be charged $105 in the "Total cost of 'work' actually performed for 'cleaning' and/or 'repair of damages'" section. When I have reached out to the company for almost a month now via email and phone to no avail. I have been told the deposit was not sent,sent to the wrong address, then sent to the right address but returned to the company .

Desired Settlement: I would like the remainder of my security deposit refunded to me in the amount of $600.

Business Response:

Since the resident manager apparently told ****** it was perfect when she moved out, we are returning the balance of the security deposit totaling 168.00 to ****** and closing our file.......we will re-train our manager to accurately advise the departing resident if work is needed to bring the unit back on the market after 7 months of residency.
Hi ******,
What the manager may have said to you and what was sent to our office is with the paid bills is not in agreement...............however, since she told you it was perfect when you left, I have sent you the balance of your deposit back in the form of two checks totaling your entire security deposit and closed the file.....
****** ********
Brittain Commercial Property Management

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found an apartment to rent called Hacienda Garden Apartment Homes in Rancho Cordova, CA. I explained my monthly income on disability was low but that I have substantial amount of savings, well over a three or four years amount to cover my rent. The property manager asked me to bring in all my proof of income along with the application I had picked up the previous day. She said they required a $35.00 application processing fee along with a credit check fee, which I paid. My FICO is in the 800's. This was a two day process. I was just informed that due to my income I was not approved. My sister offered to co-sign based on her income alone, she does not have good credit and they wanted an additional $35.00 for another application and credit check on her. She makes decent money. They still said no. I offered to pay a full year rent (the lease) up front and was still denied. I feel this was a total SCAM to get $35.00 for an application fee or they may possibly be prejudice to renting to an older white male. They stated it is "their policy" to rent to people who make three times the rent, they knew before taking $35.00 that I did not make three times the rent. Poor business policy and shame on them for taking my money for an application fee they had no intention of approving.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $35.00 for the application/credit check. This experience has truly got me upset. I have always been a home owner up until my health forced me to sell and become a renter.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** applied for the rental property on line and was denied based on his monthly income of approximately $800.00 and the fact that his sister would not fill out an application or co-sign the rental contract.

Due to the amount of time spent trying to explain everything to Mr. ******, we have refunded his credit check fee of $35.00.

Consumer Response:  
Consumer has confirmed he has received refund check.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** applied for the rental property on line and was denied based on his monthly income of approximately $800.00 and the fact that his sister would not fill out an application or co-sign the rental contract.

Due to the amount of time spent trying to explain everything to Mr. ******, we have refunded his credit check fee of $35.00.

Consumer Response:  
Consumer has confirmed he has received refund check.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently moved out of one of the properties bring commercial manages. After 10 years of living in this property without any incident I was asked to leave and giving 90 day notice after unfounded allegations of drug use were made about me that the company never made any attempt to verify. Now after the extreme cost of moving putting me in debt I have not gotten all of my deposit back. I received $600 out of a $900 deposit after two weeks with a letter stating that they were withholding money for repairs that word going to be made. There was no list of these repairs or estimates given for the cost. After a pre-moveout walk-through and a walk-through upon leaving no repairs were quoted to me as being needed. I called Brittain commercial and found out what repairs needed to be made, painting an outside door, and went to the apartment and made the repair myself. I called Britton commercial told him everything and it made and requested my money back. After three weeks of moving out I still had not received the check nor an itemized list of repairs. In the last 11 days since I have made several attempts to get my money back and have been told the check is in the mail. I have not yet received that letter and then now being told that a stop payment would be put on that check and it would be another week before they could cut me a new one. I don't believe that the first check was ever sent since the first check had no problem getting to me. I have made calls to **** ******** the property owner and have been given the runaround.

Desired Settlement: Unfortunately nothing can make up for the uprooting of my family from the community and neighbors that we've lived with enjoyed being a part of for many years. I would like to get the $300 due back to me immediately.

Business Response:

In response to the letter sent to you, please be advised that we did send a security transmittal with a check for $600.00 to this former resident within 2 weeks after numerous stays were granted as an accommodation past the 90 day vacate notice served by our attorney. We had a contractor submit a proposal to turn the entire unit and only deducted $300.00 to seal and repaint the interior of the patio enclosure to cover all the colored paint sprays....this information was submitted to the resident, along with the remainder of her security deposit of $600.00. After receiving this informational package, the resident went back to the property and entered the patio to paint the interior of the enclosure. She contacted our office the next day to demand the return of her remaining $300.00 we had in the deposit account.
 
We issued and mailed a check for $300.00 the following day after verifying completion of the work. The resident's mother called our office a few days later and said that shew anted the check re-issued to one party since it had been difficult in cashing the first check for $600.00. I advised her they could always go directly to our bank and she would be given cash for the check if they had any problem cashing the check.
 
We waited a few more days for the check to be returned and after numerous loud phone calls, we stopped payment and re-issued a  3rd check. The resident received the check but does not want to pay the stop payment bank fee of $30.00. We have accommodated this resident for over a year and did not disclose what was transpiring in her unit in order for her remain on Section 8 and not become homeless as her mother kept advising our office would happen. I consider this file close.
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Brittain Properties
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart