Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Syntrol supplies expert service, repair and replacement of residential and commercial plumbing fixtures, heating and air conditioning systems, electrical needs, photovoltaic solar systems, roofing, insulation and windows.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Syntrol Plumbing Heating & Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Syntrol Plumbing Heating & Air, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Syntrol Plumbing Heating & Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2010 Business started: 10/03/1996 in CA Business incorporated 06/04/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 728304.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Bianchi, President Mr. Todd K. Fulton, RMO Mr. Adrian Boysel, Marketing Manager Ms. Darcey Fagen, Office Manager Mr. Gary E. Ogg, RMO Mr. Jeffrey M. Putnam, RME
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Bianchi, President
Principal: Mr. Todd K. Fulton, RMO
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Electricians - Commercial

Products & Services

Syntrol Plumbing Heating & Air, Inc. offers the following product(s): Company offers HVAC, plumbing and electrical Services.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, credit card. We also have several financing programs for those who qualify.
Service Area
Northern California
Alternate Business Names
Syntrol Plumbing Electrical Heating & Air Syntrol Plumbing Electrical Heating and Air Syntrol Plumbing Heating and Air, Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Syntrol Plumbing Heating & Air, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2120 March Rd Ste A

    Roseville, CA 95747 (916) 772-5813

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sale of an Heating & air system was misrepresented to me falsely. I was over charge. The salesman did not disclose ALL information and the company had funds sent to them from a credit card company befor the job was even started and WITHOUT MY PERMISSION! I have tried to resolve this matter on my own but with no luck. My credit has been hit and now I can't get any credit. The credit card company and the Heating & Air condition Company are less than cooperative.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit reinstated and this charge (witch I DID NOT make) to go away. I did not authorized GreenShy to pay for anything.

Business Response:

Attached are the contracts the customer signed, and the financing agreements. Everything was straight-forward. I believe The homeowner is correct that the finance company may have activated her account before the job was complete, but long before.

 

Thank you for your business!

 

 

**** ******

Vice President

************    ****** ************ ****** ************   **** ************   ***

 

2120 March Rd. Ste A

Roseville, CA. 95747

Consumer Response: To whom it may concern:

This is in rebuttal of Syntrol Heating & Air Condition Company.

See attachment first.

This is not a cut and dry situation.  Yes, I sign two contracts with Syntrol.  One contract for the Heating and Air conditioner and Hot Water heater.   **** ******* asked me to sign the second one  because that was  the only way he could get the hot water heater installed.  I did so upon his request.  In the first contract the total amount was for $15,800.00 for both units, The amount for $6600.00 was for rebates (from the Home Efficiency Assistance Program which he said Syntol was involved in).  Needless to say this is NOT TRUE.  I called and was told by the Home Efficiency Assistance Program the company Syntrol use to be registered with them but not at the time of my contract. When I contact them and was told this information I asked what I could further do.  I was instructed to contact the BBB and State Contractors Board of CA.  I have done both and are pending investigation.  In fact there are several complaints filed with the same circumstance as myself.

By looking at the attachments you will see my first Green Sky statement (in which I dint authorize) along with another letter from Syntrol crediting my account  I have not instructed Green Sky to disburse any monies to Syntrol.  The money disbursement from Green Sky was done on Nov 20, 2014 but the job wasn't started until around the end on November.

Also, the application I sign for Green Sky was for a zero interest if paid in full within six months.  If not paid in six month the interest rate would be 23.99%. With the contract being paid in November and me not being notified until
April 17,2015, which would be the end of the sixth month grace period on the contract.  I had never been notified the funds had been disbursed. nor had I authorized anyone to disburse the funds.  I was still waiting for the installation to be completed.

If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me,

Thank you

**** ******
**** ******** ***** ******* ** *****

Business Response:

I have read the 2 contracts. I see one contract for an HVAC system. The contracted price is $9,200.00

The 2nd contract is for a water heater. The contracted price is $1,650.00. The total cost of the project to the homeowner is $10,850.00. The HVAC system was installed on 11/18/14. The water heater was installed 11/19/14. There were issues with the thermostat on the HVAC system not functioning correctly. There is clearly some confusion on both sides. The contracts and amounts seem to be clear. The impression we have is that customer wants the contracted HVAC and water heater for free, We would be willing to settle this matter by giving the customer both purchases at cost. This would mean materials and, labor and permit costs only if the customer finds this acceptable.

 

Thank you for your business!

 

 

**** ******

Vice President

************    ****** ************ ****** ************   cell

************   fax

 

2120 March Rd. Ste A

Roseville, CA. 95747

Consumer Response: In response from Syntrol Heating and Air:

       


I have read the 2 contracts. I see one contract for an HVAC system. The contracted price is $9,200.00

The 2nd contract is for a water heater. The contracted price is $1,650.00. The total cost of the project to the homeowner is $10,850.00. The HVAC system was installed on 11/18/14. The water heater was installed 11/19/14. There were issues with the thermostat on the HVAC system not functioning correctly. There is clearly some confusion on both sides. The contracts and amounts seem to be clear. The impression we have is that customer wants the contracted HVAC and water heater for free, We would be willing to settle this matter by giving the customer both purchases at cost. This would mean materials and, labor and permit costs only if the customer finds this acceptable.


My response:

   We can go on and on with this so therefore this is what I am requesting from Syntrol Heating and Air Conditioner.
         
    1.   Give back the $7800.00 paid to Syntrol from Green Sky Credit Department and  restore my credit back to           the credit bureau
                               
    2.   Rebates received  ( $6600.00 ) per contract credit it to my account with Syntrol

    3.   CREDIT my account with my ck written on 11/21/14 in the amt. of $3350.00

This amount of money ($9950.00 ) will cover their cost for the heater & air conditioner.  Remember the hot water heater was given to me free of charge by ( Nate Blanton Home Efficiency Assistance Program) providing I sign that day.

Thank you
**** ******

Business Response:

We are being asked by this customer to let them have $10,000.00 worth of heating & air equipment, along with a new water heater, and accept $3350.00 as payment in full. We feel that there is a middle ground in this case where we should at least be able to recover the cost of the materials we purchased, and are open to further discussion to that end.

 

Thank you for your business!

 

 

**** ******

Vice President

************    ****** ************ ****** ************   ****

916-771-3799   fax

 

2120 March Rd. Ste A

Roseville, CA. 95747

 

 

Description: Description: Description: syntrol best png

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The statement made by Syntrol is not the full truth.  I didn't instruct the loan company to send any payment to
Syntrol.  Syntrol requested $ 7800.00 from loan company (Green Sky) without my authrOIZATION.  I wrote a check to Syntrol for $3500.00 and this amount was never applied to my bill (see contract, not there).  Also Syntrol gave me $6600.00 (in contract) for rebates (where are the rebates?).  Along with the rebate money and also my check totals the amount Syntrol  has received from me.  Along with the money from the loan company, my money, and rebates total more that the contract.  I don't understand why Snytrol says I want something for nothing.  All I want is for Syntrol to return the money THEY requested from Green Sky and return my credit back in good standing.  I produced a letter from TODD stating this would be done.  To this day it has not. 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talk to stay at building dept! I call Syntrol and told them I got a building permit and they need to finish up the vent test and the building permit. I had told them on 12-20-2014. I was not happy with there work and was gone to go the contractors state license board. I did call so call p.g.e. rebate they said Syntrol is no long in the p.g.e. anymore over 12-31-2014. I called there insur old republic I go to file a claim no. ***** there phone ###-###-####. This 5 ton is a gas hog - it is not 95% efishant. the 4 ton had was better on gas. the ole thing was the duck and vent need to be ran right. yes it nice to have a new unit but not for this price.

Desired Settlement: no heat from 12-18-2014 throw 1-2-2013 that week. because the vent did not work right and they still do work at 100% right and this is a gas hog! and they owe me for my unit they destroyed as they chande out there 4 ton for 5 ton it didn't get destored. but still not run write. so they said get paid for work.

Business Response: This customer contracted Syntrol to install a 4 ton furnace at his residence. At time of install, we noticed that a 5 ton condenser was already in place, and that installing the 4 ton furnace would not be compatible with his condenser. Syntrol installed a 5 ton furnace 95% efficiency, at no extra charge. We later heard he had an airflow issue in one room. We went out and corrected that issue for him, as well as added 4 new ducts at no extra cost.

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Syntrol heating & air electrical plumbing have violated their contract agreement.I was contacted by phone to see if I needed to have my energy consumption reduced. I had a representative come to my home and do an evaluation. Windows were the first item.I was provided with prices of regular windows as being $38/month based on my income. My home has grids in all the other windows so I requested the windows with the grids which was quoted $43/monthly when financing.In addition a refrigerator was offered which I need.The day the window person came, took out the old windows and went to retrieve the new Windows; I noticed they didn't have grids.The old windows broken and out had to be replaced then. The window person wasn't aware of the grids until I produced my paperwork. ****** the window person called his boss and informed him of the problem. ******* suggested the regular windows would be okay since they were in the back of the house. I told him I would request the contracting company reduce the price of the windows. I called the company for weeks. I spoke to numerous employees and requested help with this problem before the bill due date. The bill came and no resolution.

Desired Settlement: I would like the contract agreement be honored. This would consist of windows with grids, and refrigerator. This would be fair since the company has surpassed the time of providing a solution before sending the contract to the bank for financing.

Business Response: We are installing gridded windows for this customer.

Business Response: Company states: The company has tried to reach out to the consumer to install the gridded windows. We are awaiting for the customer's response so we can install them. We will be happy to provide the refrigerator that was promised. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beware of dealing with this company. Their "Free quote" to my mother involved plumber ripping out her toilet and then telling her she either had to pay 275 to put the toilet back in or buy new toilet for 460. He basically forced her to buy new toilet which was **** and had same exact problem as before with bowl draining and added some low flow super weak flush garbage toilet on top of the existing problem. These people do not know how to fix problems and only force old ladies into buying new appliances and fixtures that they do not need and do not fix their problem the company was called out for. After calling in and speaking with their **** ********* **** he assured me that everything would be fixed to our satisfaction and nothing more would be charged. They then sent the same plumber out who was extremely aggressive towards my mother and told us he was NOT going to fix the problem we called him out for and the only thing he was going to do was replace the toilet or he will leave. When he said this he was getting up in my face to where I wasn't sure if he was going to try to take a swing because I had called his boss. I had to throw him out of her house at that point and the company was no longer answering the phone. It was only forwarding to some cell voicemail on # ************She is now stuck with a low flow garbage toilet that hardly flushes and still all the water drains out from the bowl like it did before. A REAL plumber should fix the problem which is likely in the pipes under the toilet and give her the much higher quality toilet she had back after fixing the pipes.

Desired Settlement: After the damages and downgrades to mothers home I demand a COMPETENT plumber that will treat her with respect come out and FIX the problem you were called out for and put a high quality toilet like she had in there back in. There was nothing wrong with the toilet itself as same problem exists with new super low quality toilet they forced her to buy because they are not plumbers and do not know how to troubleshoot and fix problems.

Business Response: At this time we are working with **** **** and coming to a solution to get his Satisfaction. 
Please know that, Mr **** is not the actual Customer. The actual customer is his mother. 

Our plumber went to the home and felt that the problem with the toilet draining was due to the age and design of the toilet. At this time we sold the customer a new toilet for $470.00. We went back out a second time to install the new toilet. This seemed to take care of the problem. Later, the toilet draining was still a problem. A third visit let us see a ventilation problem. 

The Customer then Stopped Payment on her check of $470

At this time the customer's son is not happy with the style of the toilet we installed. We are agreeing to install a toilet of his choice at no additional charge, even though the payment has been stopped. 

We will be providing the son & Customer an estimate to correct the ventilation problem. 

We have utilized a 3rd party company to help is reach the customer's 100% satisfaction. 

Our goal will be achieving this 100% satisfaction. 


Consumer Response: Company has been nothing but a nightmare. This complaint should not have been closed since I had responded on your apparently non functioning website. Employee from this company had threatened my mother (an elderly woman) and after all said and done dragged out the situation for weeks and then put in a frankensteined toilet that probably came from random parts at the dump because it is more than one brand. The company said multiple times that SHE WOULD NOT BE CHARGED because they are incompetent and do not know how to FIX plumbing that was never fixed. They are now sending her threatening letters demanding money for bill and stopped check. This business is probably the worst business in the entire Northern California region to work with as they are scam artists that call themselves plumbers and don’t even know plumbing. They took the good fixtures from her house and replaced with pieced together garbage that wasn’t even from one toilet. The employee’s of this business like to physically threaten elderly people and think they can get away with it. It needs to stop NOW and this is about to be all over the media. I spent the day yesterday in the Owners Suite at Levi’s Stadium with my business partners from Intel and the rest of the electronics industry and again having to deal with this situation as I am again getting calls about it since they are sending my mother letters demanding money for work that was never completed. She never agreed to purchase toilet. Was told countless times there would be no charge because the work was never completed.

Business Response: Ms. **** is not being charged for any plumbing services. Her son called me to let me know that she had received invoices after we agreed she would not be charged. This was an error in our billing department which we corrected upon hearing from her son. She will not receive any further invoices from Syntrol.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


This can be closed pending no more invoices are received. She gets very stressed out and worried when she receives things like this because she is reading things about how business will sue her and such on that paper if she doesn't pay

11/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is reference a purchase agreement by this company Syntrol. The company came out and did an assessment Home Efficiency Assistance Program. Then the project engineer [**** ******] wrote up a purchase agreement we accepted but now they want more money here is the purchase agreement. The purchase agreement was 6/6/2014.

Desired Settlement: I still want my windows and an explanation of why these windows now cost an additional 15k?

Business Response: This contract was written *pending review and an additional asterisk placed on the customer signature line (see attached contract), due to a request for black on black windows, which are a specialty item. After the review and pre-site information was received, we discovered the total cost for the contract would be 15k (not an additional 15k, but 15k total cost), and not the original estimate of 6,658.00. The customer understandably cancelled the contract.

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company deceived us into signing a purchasing agreement, it misrepresented a credit check permission to get us to sign a purchasing agreement. This all started when we scheduled ** ****** ****** to talk to us about their solar programs. The first salesman, **** ******* from ****** *****s, came and explained how we could get solar panels to produce enough solar energy to get have a zero cost with PG & E. After he gave us a good presentation, we agreed to have him schedule an engineer the following week to discuss the design and estimate the true cost for the solar system array as he was just giving us an estimate. The second salesman, no engineer, as we were to find out, named ***** ********, came and began by asking to look at our PG&E bill again. even though he wasn't an engineer but rather his background was in investin,he designed a system. He determined the size and cost of a system based on our bill that showed we only jumped into the 3rd tier twice a year. Not until today were we aware that he wasn't with ** ****** ****** as he never identified that he was with Syntrol, a plumbing company, during our meeting on July 12, 2014. Unfortunately for us, Mr. ******** made us feel at ease with his pleasant manner and told us we would not need as many panels as first estimated according to his calculations and design, but that he still needed to run a credit check before we could go on to talk about financing the purchase of solar panels. Shortly after he asked for our driver's licenses, he started to fill out a paper he told us was a permission to run a credit check, and asked us to sign it. Because we trusted and believed him we didn't look closely at the document after signing and he never explained it was a purchase agreement. He then told us he would get back to us on MONDAY--7/14/14 which would've allowed us to cancel the agreement before the 3rd business day, but he didn't tell us we qualified until 4 days later on July 16, 2014, when he knew that the purchase would legally binding

Desired Settlement: I want them to cancel our purchase agreement which is a document that we signed under a false pretext. They misrepresented what it is was we were signing to obtain a sale of their product.

Business Response: Regarding complaint # ********:

We received notification from ***** ******** with U.S.
****** ****** on July 23rd that this customer wished to cancel their
contract, so we cancelled it. No work has been done on this project, and no
charges are incurred by the customer.

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2012, I received a call from a man wanting to talk and to us about our home and heating situation, he mentioned **** and said they would come to the house and make sure it was properly insulated. After several calls, we gave in and set a date for him to come and talk to us, giving us the impression that he was working for ****. He talked us into investing in a heating and air unit from SYNTROL he told us the unit would only raise our bill not over $50.00 a month and that **** was giving out a $3,000.00 discount, plus lower interest rate. At that time we were using wood heat, as it was the cheapest way for us, as we are both 83 years old, and we needed something that was cheap and not as much work as wood. We signed the papers and they came and installed the 2 units. That winter our bills went sky high, so we quit using it, until winter of 2013 we tried the unit again, with high bills, which cost us to lose our care discount, which we just got that straightened out and now have it back. We talked to **** about this matter and they suggested BBB as they believed that we were scammed. We have all paper work in our files. We are paying $119.00 a month to ** ******** **** on a loan for $9,500.00. I would like to know if I can legally stop the payments? Thank You ******* * ********* **** ****, 

Desired Settlement: Since we have a unit that we can no longer use, we would like a refund and have the unit removed from our home, and stop payments immediately because of our age and low income. And we feel used and lied to, and **** had no part in this situation.

Business Response:

This customer had no heating or cooling at their residence. They had purchased two woodstoves for heat and wanted air conditioning. We sold them two small mini-split air conditioners so that they could cool only the portion(s) of their home that they wanted without having to cool the entire home. We did not ever represent ourselves as any company other than Syntrol, which is at the top of our contracts. We installed this customer’s wood stoves absolutely free while installing the A/C equipment. We contacted the customer last week to find out what was wrong, if anything, with the equipment, and ask why they had not contacted us if they believed they may be having an issue with the A/c. The customer responded that there is not an issue with the function of the equipment, but that they did not like the bill for running it, as they had no bill for A/C before.  We offered to check the equipment to ensure it is running efficiently, and they said that we could not. They then requested that we remove the equipment and refund their money. We explained to the customer that we have a valid signed contract with them, and cannot remove and re-use this equipment.

2/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 11, 2013 I signed a contract with this company to have them do so simple roofing repairs they recommended. They never showed to do the work. A month later, after several calls one man arrived got on the roof and an hour later came down and left. I called several times and ultimately called a supervisor. Because we were in contract and they had brought materials I could not use another vendor to repair my roof. When Syntrol finally came, they made the repairs and left leaving the flashings undone. Last week I received a call that Syntrol wanted to come and get a check on Thursday and I indicated the work hadn't been completed when he didn't realize as he hadn't reviewed the contract. Syntrol indicated they would be out to take a look. They never showed and I waited. I have no way of knowing what they did up there or if it's done right. The lack of response and the months it's taken to get this handled is unacceptable, they said it would be complete in a half a day. If I can't get them to honor an install why would I be able to get them to honor their written warranty. These folks advertise they are an Accredited BBB company and it's why I went with them. I initially had a bid for the HVAC system, but the flakiness of their roofing division made me turn the HVAC bid down.

Desired Settlement: I expect a significant discount for the amount of effort I've had to put forth in getting them to do the job they contracted to do. Especially as three months later it still isn't done.

Business Response:

The contract that she signed with us only included replacing approximately 15 missing rake tiles, and approximately 25 pieces of broken field tiles. We also replaced the rubber collars on the pipe jacks. 

We informed her it would take me some time to track down the tile. She said no problem she was in no hurry, just wanted to get it done and wanted it done right. It took about 3 weeks to locate the tile, we showed up to do the repair, and discovered dry rot on a fascia board, and the field tile that was originally installed was not run all the way to the edge of the fascia which is what caused the fascia to rot. 

The customer also removed an existing chimney that was there when I did the initial estimate. Removal of the chimney required tile to be installed at that area. The number of tiles that were ordered were no longer enough to get the job done. We left the roof water tight, until we could locate more tile and come back and do the repair.

She was informed that we would need to locate considerably more tile to do the repair correctly.

We needed about 270 pieces of field tile and 30 pcs of rake tile.

It took over a month to locate this much tile to match the existing color.

After locating the material we scheduled the repair with the customer. The repair took about 30 man hours to complete.

The original contracted repair included about 25 pcs of field tile, 15 pcs of rake tile, and a few rubber collars. This would have taken about 8 man hours.

The repair would have been in a timely manner had we not found dry rot, which caused us to have to order more tile thus delaying the project, and the customer had not removed the chimney, or had at the very least, told us that they had created more work, between our initial assessment and the repair.

 

 

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Air Conditioning tune-up. The serviceman proceeded with the tune up, when I saw that he released Freon from the system. He was explaining everything, but never explained why he released the Freon from the system. So most everything tested fairly ok considering the age of the unit. So when he got the Freon level it was low. Her never said how low, just that it needed more. We started going over all his findings and my unit would fail soon. I said we needed to think about it and then he insisted it needed more Freon. It would be $395, I felt pressured so I said ok. 10 seconds to top off, what he had let out... and I was ripped off. To add insult the service charge was added, when it should've been deducted.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my money back. Putman charges $69 for the tune up and Freon charge. I was clearly ripped off. I want to pay the $39 tune up charge and nothing else. I believe that he replaced what he released and I shouldn't have to pay for that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This customer asserts that we overcharged her (a tune-up fee and an additional Freon charge). The employee who performed the work is no longer with our company and could not be reached for information. This being the case, our intent is to keep our customers happy. We are refunding this customers money. The customer has been notified that the check is being sent out today.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received a call from the company, they were respectful and offered to refund for the service. I have accepted in appreciation.

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Syntf of rep. called and spoke to my wife and convinced her to alfow a salesman to visit our residence and show us how we could reduce the cost of replacing our windows by taking advantage of a state rebate which is due to expire soon. An appointment date was agreed on. On July 9th 2013, Syntrol's salesman **** ******** arrived for the scheduled meeting. **** measured the windows, reviewed the type of windows we prefer, and scheduled an "engineer to visit to confirm window measurements, and again to verify that we qualified for the states rebate. The next day, we were visited by ****** **************** ) who again measured the existing windows. After doing some math figuring, ****** came up with the final cost of the window replacement. I asked ****** if Syntrol had a local office, and he stated they did, and they have been doing business in the San Diego area for 3yrs. I had overlooked asking him for their local office address and phone number. Having worked most of my life in construction, I had some questions on how they plan to remove the existing windows, plaster breakage on the exterior, and drywall repair on the Inside. He stated that all damaged surfaces would be repaired to our satisfaction, by Syntrol. I asked ****** if the window replacement work would be subbed out to another contractor, and he stated, "No", all workers are employees of Syntrol." ( Eventually, I would learned this statement is false. ) Based on their information and answers to my questions, at this time, we decided we would allow Syntrol to do our window change-out. ****** filled out a credit application from ******** ********** and verified with them, that we were approved. ****** then scheduled the installer to visit, and again remeasure the windows for ordering. Because I had neglected to get the address and phone number of Syntrols local office, I called Syntrol's home office in Roseville. A woman answered my Catt, and when I asked her for~the address and phone number of the San Diego, she was hesitant and seemed confused about my request. She asked me to hold which I did. A few minutes later, she came back on the fine, and gave me a phone number with a Roseville area code. I questioned the number, because it was not a San Diego area code. The women stated that that it is the only number she has for the San Diego area, and it is for the local supervisor, **** ********** (red flag) I called the second Roseville number given me, and spoke to ****. **** gave me a new phone number which with a San Diego area code(619), and an address in Spring Valley for Syntrols local office. The phone number was disconnected, and the address was nonexistent. I called Syn. trot's home office again, to verify that they had given the correct address. It was the same address they had given me earlier. This address they gave both times I called is was 2120 Via Orange Way, Spring Valley, CA. Up to this point, I have been given this address twice for Syntrol's San Diego's office location. Googte could not find this address. Since I live near Via Orange Way, I set out to locate the address myself. I soon discovered it does not exist. It appears Syntrol does not have a San Diego office.(red flag) Because of Syntrol's lies, I called ****** I needed the contract paper work back. He stated he was in Oceanside, and would stop by tomorrow. A few minutes later he called to say he would stop by in 10 minutes. (He was not in Oceanside. Another lie) ****** arrived in approximately 6 mins. I asked for the papers, and the location of the San Diego area office. ****** stated it was 2120 Via Orange way, Spring Valley. I notified him That the address he gave me, does not exist. ****** seemed to be genuinely surprised. I gave direction of how to find Via Orange Way, and he left. I'm not sure if he is part of the deceit, or another victim, since he has never visited the San Diego office during the 3 years he has worked for Syntrol . 5:OO PM today, I received a phone call from ********* ********** I did not get the mans name. He started to complain that I had decided not to have Syntrol replace my windows. He gave me a different address for Syntrol's San Diego area. That was 2820 Via Orange Way, Spring Valley, CA. The caller was very rude, and would not let me finish a sentence. He constantly talked over me. Because he insisted on not allowing me to talk, I hug up on him. He called back twice. The last time he called, I did not answer the phone. I do not know what Part he plays with Syntrol, as my financer is ******** ********** Since I have a possible new address for Syntrol's San Diego area's office, I set out to see if it does exist. The address does exist, however, it is not Syntrol's- The name shown on the outside of the suite is "MJR" . After speaking to the man inside this office, I learned the suite is leased by MJR Home Improvement, an individual contractor who is a subcontractor to Syntrol. MJR does the final window measurements, orders the windows and installs the for Syntrol. He stated Syntrol does NOT have a San Diego area office at this time (red flag) My Action Taken: 1. Talked to MJR and discovered he is a Syntrol Sub Contractor, and Syntrol does not have a local office. 2. Sent to Syntrol a certified letter cancelling my contract. 3. Called ***** *** ********* and Directed them to cancel my loan and made a complaint with them about Syntrol's lies. 4. Made a complaint with BBB.

Desired Settlement: 1. Cancel Contract 2. Cancel Loan Contract with ******************* Co.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
MR ***** CONTACTED OUR SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA DIVISION MANAGER VIA PHONE AND WANTED TO KNOW OUR CONTRACTOR'S LICENSE INFORMATION, LOCATION AND LOCAL PHONE NUMBERS. HE GAVE THEM OUR CONTRACTOR'S LICENSE NUMBER AND LOCAL PHONE NUMBER AT THE TIME XXX-XXX-XXXX, WHICH IS STILL A WORKING NUMBER. OUR MANAGER MISTAKENLY GAVE HIM THE WRONG ADDRESS OF 2120 VIA ORANGE WAY, SUITE O, SPRING VALLEY CA 91920. THE CORRECT ADDRESS IS 2820 VIA ORANGE WAY, SUITE O, SPRING VALLEY CA 91920. HE GAVE THE ADDRESS OF OUR CORPORATE OFFICE (2120) MISTAKENLY. THE ADDRESS IN SPRING VALLEY WAS A TEMPORARY ADDRESS WE WERE USING WHILE WE WERE TRANSITIONING INTO OUR CARLSBAD ADDRESS. THE SPRING VALLEY ADDRESS DOES INDEED BELONG TO MJR HOME IMPROVEMENTS, OUR SAN DIEGO WINDOW SUB CONTRACTOR. HE WAS ALLOWING US TO USE HIS LOCATION FOR MAIL, TRAINING, ETC IN THE INTERIM. ****** MISTAKENLY ASSUMED THAT OUR INSTALLERS WERE ALL EMPLOYEES OF SYNTROL. HE THOUGHT THAT SINCE MJR HOME IMPROVEMENT WAS A DEDICATED SUB CONTRACTOR FOR US, THIS MEANT THEY WERE EMPLOYEES. I HAVE SINCE CORRECTED HIM AND EXPLAINED TO ALL OF OUR SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA SALES TEAM THAT WE DO USE SUBCONTRACTORS FOR CERTAIN INSTALLATIONS, AND WHILE THEY MAY DO OUR WORK EXCLUSIVELY, THEY ARE NOT SYNTROL EMPLOYEES. WHOEVER CALLED FROM THE OFFICE, ********* ********** I DO NOT HAVE KNOWLEDGE OF. MR ***** CANCELLED HIS CONTRACT AND WE HONORED THE CANCELLATION WITHOUT INCIDENT.

6/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold a tankless water heater to be installed next day and told torelease them from the 3 day rule so it could be installed. On Monday(5/13/2013) a person from Home Efficency came to the door representing smud and PG&E to help make their home more efficent. They then sent a sales person on 5/14/2013 out from Syntrol Plumbing. They then sold a tankless water tank under 1 contract and 7 windows with a 2nd contract. They said they could do the installation the next day(5/15/2013) but we would have to wave the 3 day rule to do it. I feel that at the age of 85 we were taken advantage with the high pressure involved.

Desired Settlement: To be out of the contract refund deposit and not be allowed to high pressure seniors who dont fully comprehend by misleading them. Any other action necessary to stop these practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Syntrol contracted with The ******* to install a tank-less water heater and windows. We asked when the customer would like them installed. The customer asked what our availability options were. Our salesperson contacted our office to check to see how soon we could respond, and was informed that we could install the next day at the earliest, as well as any day the next week. The homeowner chose to have the water heater installed the next day, and was then informed by our salesman that the only way we can do that is if they waive their right to cancel and put it in writing on the contract. Both homeowners did exactly that. The next day our plumber was on their jobsite, and their daughter called in to our office. She demanded to know why we did not consult her before contracting with her parents. We explained to her that we did not know she existed at the time, but that if her parents wanted to cancel their contract with us, we would honor their decision. We do not take advantage of any of our customers, and often have allowed customers to cancel contracts even after the 3 day right to cancel has passed, with a full refund of their deposit. At no time did we represent ourselves to be from either PG&E or SMUD. We often inform customers if they are eligible to receive a SMUD or PG&E rebate on a project, and when possible we even assist them in filing their paperwork to receive available rebates, but we never claim to be employees of any utility company. When dealing with older customers, we commonly ask them if there is someone in their family that we should call and discuss the situation with. Our salesman did everything according to the homeowner's wishes, and when the daughter found out that her parents were having work done, she called us, angry and indignant. In an effort to placate everyone involved we offered to let them cancel their contract, and they accepted. This call occurred on 5/15/13, and we allowed cancellation of the contract at that time. It is difficult for us to understand why, after conceding to their wishes, they are even filing a complaint.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Actually there was high pressure involved the company that wrote up the contract was not even them. It was a Home Efficiency Assistance program. The contract was also thru them not the plumbing co. They also had all conversations go thru the 3rd party. It felt like a bait and switch. I have the contract that can be emailed to you. ********* was the person talked to and when I called back twice she was in a meeting. Once the complaint was filed she called right away. She said the money would be refunded.

Business' Final Response
Regarding the electronic documents associated with the complaint- One page of the supplied document is an incentive application, not a contract of any kind. The second page shows window measurements, quantities, and the possible incentive amount offered by the home efficiency assistance program. Neither page is a contract. The contract was written later by a Syntrol employee on Syntrol letterhead. Regardless, we understand that the homeowner's feeling about the process was that it was high-pressure, and when they called our office and expressed their wish to be released from the contract, we did exactly that, with no pressure or attempt to keep the customer contractually obligated to the work, which we had the legal right to do. We understand that people sometimes make decisions that they later regret. We did not want that to happen with the *******.

5/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were lied to ***** ****** said because my wife was old and had health problems and HVAC unit in house was old that its an emergency and government will provide a maximum federal funding of $10,000 unit costs $15,000 so we would have to pay $5000 off inn payments of $120 a month for 4-5 years. WE asked about late payments penalties and interest. We were told interest would be very low and again $120 a month for 4-5 years after unit was installed syntrol gave us paperwork and we didnt see the change we were getting only $5000 for a few days later in mad wet get a bill that is totally different than the price we were quoted the $120 a month was only also minimum payment we weren't told told

Desired Settlement: To honor the initial verbal agreement between Buddy Palmer and us which is $130 a month for 4-5 years to pay off $5000

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Syntrol installed a furnace and air conditioner unit in this customer's home per the signed contract agreement. The contract clearly states the make and model of the unit, the warranty agreement, the price with discounts, and the finance agreement details. The customer agreed with all terms and signed the contract along with all finance paperwork prior to the installation date. The customer was given full disclosure of the amount financed, the minimum payment required monthly, and the interest rate. At the completion of the job, the customer signed the completion certificate that also clearly presents the amount to be financed. None of the employees that were associated with this project were ever made aware of any problem or confusion until our office was notified by the finance company that the customer was disputing the bill.

Consumer's Final Response
The company secretary called us on mar 22 and asked us what we wanted them to do. We said to honor hte spoken terms of $130/month for 5 years to pay off $5000. The secretary said she would get it approved and call back. They never called back.