Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

28 Customer Reviews on Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 26
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 28

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 1999 Business started: 04/09/1986 in CA Business incorporated 06/26/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 489564.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carwin Brice II, CEO Ms. Melissa Thompson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carwin Brice II, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Melissa Thompson, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Alternate Business Names
Same Day Service Plumbing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8322 Tubbs Rd

    Winters, CA 95694 (888) 937-3350 (707) 552-1272 (707) 451-4970 (707) 678-9451 (530) 662-7624 (530) 753-0210 (916) 374-8442

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The air conditioner stopped working when the outside temperature went up to 90 and above. when the outside temperature went down to about 85 it works fine. *****, the technician at this company came out to our house to fix the air conditioner. He said the problem was refrigerant leakage. He added up refrigerant and worked for a while and stopped. He charged $600 for this work. He said to my husband if filling up refrigerant does not fix the problem then the whole unit can be replaced with $8,000.- with $600 deduction which is the cost of repair he's done, i.e., adding up refrigerant. We mentioned him we have home insurance and then he added to say that we won't be able to get the satisfying service through the home insurance company. He said it would take forever until we find the service company affiliated with the home insurance company. We contacted a few technicians and let them come to check it. All of them said there is nothing wrong with refrigerant level. First his diagnosis was wrong. Second, he scammed my husband by saying the air conditioning repair companies used by our home insurance company will not do the satisfying repair work. When I talked with *****, the tech, and his supervisor, they excused themselves quoting my husband's permission for the repair. Yes, he did. But it was not fixed at all. We are entitled for the full refund of $600.-

Desired Settlement: We are entitled for the full refund for $600,- The repair was not fixed at all.

Business Response:

The repair was fixed. To say it was not fixed at all is incorrect.

The reason the other technicians came out and said that there is nothing wrong with your refrigerant level, is because our technician fixed that part. When he came out on June 6th, 2016 he found that the R22 was low. (attached contract).  He added refrigerant and stop leak and re-balanced.  As he stated to your husband, he was hoping that would fix the entire problem and wanted to try the lesser cost of the options first, but that if it did not resolve the cooling issue, a new system would be needed.  The issue is there is still something else wrong with your system that we said could not be resolved without a new system. We said that we would refund your $599, if what we did did not work to resolve the entire issue, towards a new system.   It did work to solve the refrid. level issue, but it didn’t work to solve your complete cooling issue. 

3/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing on behalf of my mother, who unfortunately passed away on 2/29. Just prior to her death (2/23), someone noticed water running out of her garage, and she engaged Same Day Service to come and find the problem. It was believed to be one of the washer hoses, and Same Day Service replaced both. This probably took about 15 minutes max plus the cost of the hoses. They apparently did not check any further to ensure that solved the problem, but did spend a lot of time (two hours) going through the entire house and providing my mother with a list of different repairs they recommended. For the replacement hoses they charged her $350. When I heard this I contacted the company and was told to expect a call from the ******** which never came. Then my mother passed away about a week later. My wife and I flew out (we live in Georgia), and a couple of days after arriving we started the washer. Water went all over the floor, and when we had a service person in, we learned that mice had apparently chewed up all the internal hoses as well as the supply hoses. While this may have been something an appliance repair person would be needed to repair, for the amount they charged, Same Day Service could have at least tried the washer and would have seen the problem, but obviously they did not. We feel they took advantage of a 90-year-old woman who was forced into accepting whatever they wanted to charge. It's too late now to rectify the situation but we are outraged that they do this to their older customers.

Desired Settlement: We are finalizing her estate and feel that the company should refund the amount that was paid due to the distress they caused and the fact that they did not resolve the problem.

Business Response:

I am super sadden to be reading this message about your mother passing away. My sincere condolences.

I apologize from the bottom of my heart that you had such an uncomfortable experience with our company, that we have worked so hard to build for over 30 years. As I stated in my message on ****, the least we can do is refund your mothers money since what we did, did not fix the immediate issue.  Please let me know to whom I should write the check out to and where to mail it. I am very sorry for your loss. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Hello ********,

I've been communicating with the owner of Same Day Service, and he generously agreed to refund the entire amount that my mother paid.  I received his check today so now consider the complaint closed. 

I wasn't sure if I needed to do something on the website so am writing you instead. Let me know if I need to do anything further.

Thanks,


2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lengthy sales pitch for other services, overcharge. Technician was amiable, but wasted a lot of my time trying to sell me other services before he looked at my clogged tub drain. He then spent a lot of time coming up with an invoice that was ridiculously high; $450! I said it was too much but was charged $50 anyway. I feel this company scams and takes advantage of customers... when they do business this way they make good money even if most customers refuse their service. They only need a few helpless people that accept to make big bucks. Friendly technician con game.

Desired Settlement: My 50 dollars back.

Business Response:

Ms *******,

I am sorry our technician did not provide superior service that you were expecting.  I see that you called about a clogged bathroom tub. After further reviewing the options you were given, I see that our technician left you the option to clear the tub stoppage for $265 standard rate and $225 partner rate.  We do charge $49 for our service call fee to come out and give you options. If you do the work with us, we do waive that $49. However, if you do not feel we provided adequate options, then we want to fix that unhappy experience.     

We would be happy to return your $50.  I like to address these things as soon as they occur. Your history shows that we have done work before in 2013, that you were happy with. So this disappoints us that we couldn’t be the ones to provide superior service again to you.  I will send out a refund in the amount of $50 today in the mail. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I place service to repair, 3 toilet leak at my rental property in fairfield, ca. Service provide was a estimate to replace 3 toilet, a total of 2700.00 The house is only 9 year old, and have not been rented out until recent. I can believe it, will need 3 toilet replacement, he offer to redo the tank for a 1,000.00. That is still too much to paid. I got a hold of the HOA,at the house, all it need was a Flapper to seal the water leak. This is dishonest practice, if we never question there service motive, they would have taken advantage of me. I have call 2 time to get my receipt for the 49.00 charge and the estimate in email, they have taken my info down again and again, but never reply. The principle of this whole practice is trying to mislead customer to believing the enormous charge is right. I just feel ripe off. They have charge me for the estimate, but never provide me with anything in writing, after I question there motive.

Desired Settlement: A service was charge, for estimate or authorizing service to be done. I was charge 49.00 and I receive no estimate in writing or receipt for inspection. I have call and email more than 2 time. I just feel, rip off.

Business Response: Mr ***,
 
I am sorry that you are unhappy with our quote however, we have pictures that show the problems at the house and that it was a valid estimate. We left estimates that show 4 different options to fix all the toilet issues.

It sounds like you had some issues with our pricing. Our technician should have explained all our features and benefits that go into our pricing. Our pricing includes the cost of doing business. The charge for providing the service in your home cannot be determined solely by the time it takes the technician to make the repairs. Charges include business  expenses such as maintenance for the trucks that come to your home, insurance (vehicle, workman’s comp, general liability, fire etc.), employee benefits, warranties, tools and testing equipment, advertising, labor, parts, office help to book the call, etc.   I hope that helps explain what goes into pricing that we offer and a little bit of explanation about our costs that are incurred just to get our professional technicians to your door, ready to do the job.  

Thursday, March 19, 2015 1:30 PM we have an email receipt that we emailed you the credit card receipt, the contract and the summary of findings that shows the estimate.  Attached are all the files we sent to:  ****************.  Then yesterday Monday, March 23, 2015 7:01 AM we resent the email again, as you had emailed saying you had not gotten it.  Maybe it is in your spam or junk mail folder? We can send you copies in the mail if that would be more efficient. 

******* ********
Office Manager
Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating & Air, Inc.

9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, 9/9/2014, I called Same Day Service Plumbing because I have a problem with my kitchen sink draining into the outside of the house instead of all the way out the main drain. I called this specific company for their $89 Drain Clearing Special, in the yellow pages and on their website. I spoke to ****** and asked how I can get the $89. She told me that the clog has to be ground level. Since I have a ground level clog I was certain I will qualify for the $89 Special.However, when ******* came today, 9/11/2014, he said I do not qualify for the discounted price. He quoted me $375 for the job. I believe this is a classic bait and switch tactic. I didn't take the offer but I was charged $49 for his time to come to the house.

Desired Settlement: Preferably, do the job for $89 per yellow pages and website. Or, at the very least, refund my $49.

Business Response:

We are sorry there was a misunderstanding with our advertising. We would like first state that we verified that our technician went out and determined that it was a kitchen sink stoppage. The $89 Drain Clearing Special says $89 Mainline Clearing Special. The advertisement/coupon does not say kitchen, shower or bathroom drain line.   This discount is if you have a mainline that is clogged with a working clean-out at ground level, all other coupons or offers are excluded from this price.   We would be happy to refund your $49 for the misunderstanding of what the $89 coupon was for. It will go out in the mail today.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As you can see by the copies I send along, they never started my annual system check per the service partner plan I purchased. Because I considered $600.00 to high to remove a salt container, the employee they send said I was rude so the company does not feel at ease working with me, was not stated though in their letter, even though they done work for me before, as you see 4X.

Desired Settlement: I like my full service partner plan dollar amount back, since they never started on it. I am a senior and live on a fixed income.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This lady was rude to one of our most highly praised Techninicians for being so nice and polite on his customer satisfaction surveys which we give out at the end of all of our home visits where the customer chooses to have us do the work we quote on. As you can see by the contract with *****'s name on it, we didn't do any work on this visit. I wrote her a nice letter explaining that we were refunding her $138.00 for her HVAC Service Partner Plan, and cancelling it. I also was canceling the Plumbing one for $69, but that I wouldn't be refunding her the $69.00 because she saved $88 on the work we did for her one year ago. So to get her way, she turned in a complaint to the BBB to get $69 back which isn't anything to do with work we've done recently. The $69 gives her a discount on the work done at the time and any future work done for 5 yrs. Each year for 5 yrs., we contact her to come to her home and perform an annual system chk. to drain and flush her water heater and chk. for leaks, or make any minor adjustmts.. All at the very low cost of $69 /5 yrs., which is $13.80/yr. I am gladly sending her a refund for $69 to put this issue to rest with her. I don't feel that this should be registered as a formal complaint on my public record with the BBB. I work very hard and pride myself on our slogan "Customer service and follow-up is our #1 priority". I take care of our customers at all times and have always and will continue to fight to keep my excellent BBB rating.

Final Consumer Response
On your request they send me a check for $69.00, which I did not cash either. The $69.00 is for one year, but if you can see in the following paperwork I signed up for 5 years. They never showed up because they said I was rude to the employee because the $600.00 was to costly for me to remove a salt container for soft water. I send you these two bills again, which you already have, and I highlighted them it says for five years. One Service Plan was for plumbing, the other one was for heating and air. I had three repairs done by them and I paid them separately, one was for free because it was with a coupon. It is a shame that this company tries to steal from the seniors, I do live on a fixed income and I hope they will repay me my money. This is for heating and air with senior discount: $493.00 468.00 -------- $961.00 And so for I only received 207.00 dollars in other words they only repaid me 1 year per contract and I was signed up until XX-XX-XXXX so I am no satisfied. I want to thank you very much for looking into this, people and companies like this have to be stopped from stealing.

Final Business Response
The Service Partner Plan for plumbing is $69.00 for a 5 year term, not $69.00 per year for 5 years. Therefore, the full refund of $69.00 that we sent you is a full refund of the money you paid us for your Plumbing Service Partner Plan that you bought approx. one year ago. If you need someone to explain this to you over the phone, please call our Senior Customer Service Representative, ******* *****

Consumer Response
Thank you so much for responding. To get to their business respond, it never said that I was rude, the young man said he did not feel comfortable working for us, because I said the price was to high, my mother and my son were present. Their so called technician was in his mid twenty's and they take his word against their customers? The least thing they should have done is to call me to see if it was true, he was by himself and can tell the company anything, funny the other employees enjoyed it at my house, gave them snack and drink (soda). They just don't want to pay me my money back. As they stated they did work for me one year ago, never. Water heater also was never discussed I have never had a problem with it, I only moved in Barley a year. A plumber was here to get my stopped up garbage disposal going, second time with a coupon, my heating system was checked and I payed for it, so were did the $468.00 dollars and the $493.00 come in. So far they only paid me $207.00 dollars and I end a copy of those invoices again so you can see for yourself how very much money they still owe me. I have no intention of calling them, because when this whole mess started I called them ten times in three days and each time they told me they were to busy to go over my paperwork, so was the rude one. Companies like them need to be stopped, its in the news every day how they abuse seniors and I for one will not take it from them. I have heard here in my neighborhood many bad things about this company and I should have listened. I really do appreciate it so much you are looking into this matter and I hope you understand that I want my money back and with your help may be we can stop companies like this. PS still have not cashed their checks until I get a full refund.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Same Day Service to clean main sewer line at XXX XXth *** ****** *** Notified dispatcher that I had a drain cleaning special card for $89.00. They dispatched a plumber to my house. When plumber arrived he would not except the discount card and said he could clear drain for their regular price. I feel that the advertisement is false and the plumber was trying to charge me more. See enclosed discount cards.

Desired Settlement: Notify the company about misleading advertisement and take me off their mailing list. I will not do business with dishonest people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** H. ***** II, Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@samedayserviceplumbing.com We performed the $89 drain clearing special for Mr. ******* at this rental house almost a year ago. At that time Mr. ******* acknowledged there was a big problem with the sewer line and said he would fix it himself because he knows it is in bad shape. Based on this history we couldn't risk ruining our equipment in his sewer line that is in obvious disrepair. We quoted him to perform a task for drain "Cleaning" based on the condition of the sewer line and he decided not to do business with us and sent us away. This shouldn't be a complaint as he chose to not do business with us. We were honest in our approach and have documented history of the condition of his sewer line from almost a year ago when everything was explained to him then as it was this time as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

28 Customer Reviews on Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart