Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Earl's Performance Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 343-0330 Fax: (530) 892-9571 View Additional Phone Numbers 3880 Benatar Way Ste 1, Chico, CA 95928 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Full service residential plumbing and well drilling contractor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Earl's Performance Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

63 Customer Reviews on Earl's Performance Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 62
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 63

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 2004 Business started: 08/18/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00772565.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Clinton Earl, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clinton Earl, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Water Well Drilling & Service

Hours of Operation
Earl's Plumbing is available 24 hour a day 7 days a week.
Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, checks, cash, financing available OAC.
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% customer satisfaction guarantee

Fixed right or its free
Service Area
Butte, Glenn, Tehema, Shasta, Yuba and Sutter Counties
Alternate Business Names
Earl's Plumbing
Additional Information

24 hours a day 7 days a week 365 days a year

Products & Services

At no charge we will come to your home and give you a free written quote. If you like the way everything looks we can begin the work immediately...otherwise we charge you nothing...

Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Earl's Performance Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3880 Benatar Way Ste 1

    Chico, CA 95928

  • PO Box 6302

    Chico, CA 95927 (530) 824-2300 (530) 865-9010 (530) 674-0330 (530) 534-1500 (530) 244-3275 (530) 529-5000 (530) 343-0330


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are writing this letter in a final attempt to contact you since we never heard back from ****** your office manager. We are looking to be reimbursed for all costs associated with the insufficient and negligent work that was done by **** ******. **** ****** installed a water filtration system for us on December 12, 2015 for a total installation fee of $1593.59. On December 15, 2015 one of the pipes blew off causing our attic to flood. Then on December 21, 2015 another pipe blew at which time he returned and told us that he put a temporary fix on it and then never returned or mentioned it again. At this point we became very concerned about not only the water damage but the work that was being done by your employee **** ******. We called our insurance adjuster as well as ********* plumbing. At that time we found out that the shark bite fitting that **** installed on the pipes both blew because they were not fastened securely. The one he fixed on the 15th seemed to be holding but the second one that he came to fix on the 21st, he had only put clamps on that are used for sprinkler leaks. ********* went ahead and put the proper fitting on the pipe which only had hose clamps, costing us an additional $550.00 During the course of this nightmare we found out that we needed a new water heater. We contacted yet a third plumber **** **** Plumbing who upon inspection of the water filter informed us that it also is not installed correctly. Please review attached pictures for your reference. **** **** Plumbing will be fixing the water filter properly costing us an additional $495.00. All of this of course did cause our attic to flood and mold to begin to grow in just over a few days. ******* was contacted by our insurance company to come out and remove dry wall from the garage roof as well as the wall and part of the inside wall and crown molding from the inside of our house. Our deductible Our deductible for all of this is $1000.00.

Desired Settlement: We sent the above letter to Earl's certified mail with pictures of all damages. They still have not contacted us about this situation. I asked three times for a different technician to come out and they still refused to send out different technician. To sum it all up we are asking for every out of pocket cent that has come with the damage for installing everything incorrectly water filter. A grand total of $3,638.59.

Business Response: To date we have not received any certified mail. As soon as I learned of the situation (when we received the BBB email) I contacted the homeowner to work out the issues. We will be providing a full refund as well as covering the out of pocket expenses as the homeowner has requested. I have apologized to the homeowner for the inconvenience. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Earls Plumbing to wire our hor tub to 220 volt wiring I asked the company several times if they have a professional that was competent enough for the job they informed me that they do. After they wired the hor tub it was not working properly I asked Earls Plumbing to come by and check their work for the second time they informed me that it was hooked up properly. I then proceeded to contact the hot tub place and one of their Specialist came out and told me that the wiring was improperly installed. I was told I would lose my warranty and that the hot tub might not work as long as it original may have. Earls Plumbing did tell me that if the pump went out in our original warranty time that they would pay for any replacement needed, which is fine but I payed $350.00 to earls plumbing and it cost $80 for the hot tub place to come fix earls plumbing improper installation. I don't think that is fair. I would Like a full refund for my troubles from earls plumbing so I may pay the hot tub place whom wired the hot tub correctly for me.

Desired Settlement: I would like $350.00 refund and if my pump or something goes out that my original warranty would have handled I wasn't earls plumbing to cover the cost hence I lost my warranty because of them.

Business Response: Response:

We here at Earl's Plumbing stand by our 100% satisfaction guarantee. After speaking with the customer, we will be refunding the whole price and honoring the warranty.

*** ********

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. "It has been resolved thank you"

It has been resolved thank you
It has been resolved thank you
It has been resolved thank you

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

63 Customer Reviews on Earl's Performance Plumbing
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart