Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Boyd Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (916) 710-8070 View Additional Phone Numbers 5485 Hemlock St, Sacramento, CA 95841

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boyd Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

16 Customer Reviews on Boyd Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 16

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 in CA Business incorporated 02/06/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 912499.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Boyd, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Boyd, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Sewer Cleaning Equipment & Supplies

Service Area
Sacramento Valley
Products & Services

Boyd Plumbing specializes in all phases of residential and commercial plumbing services.

Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Boyd Plumbing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5485 Hemlock St

    Sacramento, CA 95841 (916) 988-3111


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 19th, 2016 Boyds Plumbing came to my house to fix a water leak in my kitchen. It was the hot water pipe that had a crack in it. ******** ****** was the plumber that came to my house and fixed the leak. On my receipt ,the description states -Cut drywall behind sink to access water pipe and repair 1/2 water line with copper and shark bite and new shut off valve 1 year warranty P&L ($844.00). I've never owned a house, I'm not familiar with plumbing prices. I talked to numerous people, plumbers, State Farm, and Fidelity Insur. and everyone has told me I was ripped off, and that should have cost no more than half of that price at the most. I called and talked to the manager at Boyds Plumbing, and explained my situation and asked for an itemized receipt because I felt like I was being over charged. He told me he would call me back within 24 hours after he talked to ******** to give me an explanation on the charges. The manager didn't call me back within 24 hours, so I had to call him the following day. He told me he was really busy. He told me ******** wasn't able to come up with a good reason for the charges, and that this is a common problem with his plumbers not itemizing receipts, and also told me I need to take in the consideration of the plumbers training, changes of taxes, tools, insurance into the price as well. I told him that was not a breakdown of the charges. He told me they only profited $180 and he could give that back to me but then they wouldn't have made any money off this transaction. I told him I did want the money, and an itemized receipt. I received a check in the mail for $180 but not an itemized receipt.

Desired Settlement: I would like my itemized receipt still. I would like more of my money back if they don't have a valid reason for the price they charged me. I would also like this company to be investigated for overcharging and taking advantage of their customers.

Business Response:

Good Morning, 


We are aware of this customer and situation.  The technician went over options and pricing with her prior to beginning any work.  Our company offers free estimates with no obligation she could have declined and we would have not charged her nor had any hard feelings.  She agreed to the price, and signed the contract with no hesitation.  Once the work was completed she called in a week later stating she was over charged and wanted a refund.   We had numerous discussions with her and had finally come to an agreement on refunding $180.00, to which she was fine with.  We had thought of this concern as resolved, so I am confused as to why now we're hearing these accusations yet once again.   We are willing to work with you on resolving this issue with Mrs*******   Please feel free to reach us through email or phone ************.


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

16 Customer Reviews on Boyd Plumbing, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart