Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bonney Plumbing, LLC

Phone: (916) 444-0551 3054 Gold Canal Dr, Rncho Cordova, CA 95670

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Bonney Plumbing, LLC provides plumbing contractor services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bonney Plumbing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

169 Customer Reviews on Bonney Plumbing, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 167
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 169

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1978 in CA Business incorporated 03/22/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00696355.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Allen Crick, President & CEO Ms. Candace Bonney, Investor Mr. Mark Bonney, Investor Mr. Collin Hathaway, Manager Mr. Graham Weaver, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allen Crick, President & CEO
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Bonney Plumbing, Heating, Air & Rooter Service
Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bonney Plumbing, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3054 Gold Canal Dr

    Rncho Cordova, CA 95670


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bonney servicer charged me 385.00 to supposedly search for the clean out for my sewerline.after finding where it was located, he proceeded to dig the area, and damaging the line with the shovel. I had not given him permission to dig and he did not explain to me about digging. After explaining the problem, i would need to replace the whole line. The estimate was for $. 5,800. I declined and he left, leaving the hole that he dug open.after reading their website, i find that i was not informed of any other options on how i Could fix my line, such as trenchless, or any other options. He gave one estimate that would have meant digging my whole yard. He said the cost was high because of the amount of digging it would take, and there would be heavy machinery involved.i then called another company and was given two options to replace the line at almost half of the price. And they didn't charge me for the camera, and that company showed me the video of my sewer line. where as bonney didn't.i don't feel that i was treated honestly, through the whole process.i feel that he left the hole open, so that my problem has to be resolved, i had no choice but to find another plumbing company, or bury the hole myself.i don't feel that it was fair that i had to pay that much for nothing.

Desired Settlement: All refund.

Business Response:


RE: Complaint #******** The following is an account from our Plumbing Manager: "After several attempts to contact *** ******* during the week of October 14th I was finally able to reach her by phone on the 20th.. We had a good conversation about the work that we performed at her home; her account of what had happened; and where we missed the mark that kept her being 100% satisfied. ****** agreed to allow me to go out to her house and see for myself what was done and what we proposed to do to fix the problem. On Wednesday the 21st, I met ****** at her house and went over the work she authorized and what we actually did. We discussed the plugged sewer and the lack of cleanout/ access for the sewer lateral, and that the least expensive way (standard flat rate $385) to locate the sewer was from the roof top sewer vent. We also talked about locating the pipe and clearing the sewer blockage. To access the pipe, we had to dig it up and break a small hole to gain access for cabling. At this point in time, we found the pipe was a type called Orangeburg. This pipe is a known problem in our business. It was determined at this time that because the pipe was in such poor condition it required replacement. After cabling and clearing the blockage our tech gave an estimate for an open trench sewer replacement and gave a quote of $5800. At this point in the call, the decision was made they were done with our services and the tech left. The technician was paid cash by the owners and had left the hole in the front yard which gave access to the pipe. ****** called another company which was then hired for a lesser amount to replace the sewer using the trenchless method. ****** stated that the other company told her we shouldn’t have charged her so much to locate and clear her sewer. At this point she felt that she was not given enough options and that she paid too much for our services. After discussing the job with her she agreed that we did an “okay” job of locating and clearing the sewer but was unhappy we didn’t give more options for replacement and that the hole dug to access the pipe was left open. I agreed with ****** in the fact that we could have given more options for replacement and the tech should have communicated better about leaving the hole open. The hole was left open because the pipe had to be replaced and backfilling would have caused dirt to fill the pipe and plug the sewer again. I told her that I would get back to her about what Bonney could for her to make things right. I called ****** Thursday the 22nd and offered to refund 50% of the total paid, $192.50. She agreed that this refund would resolve her dissatisfaction and satisfy her complaint with Bonney and to the BBB. Today October 23rd I am delivering the refund to ******." Sincerely, Sam We appreciate the being to work with *** ******* to a happy resolution on this. We value each opportunity to serve a client and strive to make doing business with Bonney a great experience. Thank you, ***** ***** President, Bonney Plumbing *****************

Sent on: 10/23/2015 7:29:22 PM

Sent by:

9/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 26, 2015 we contacted Bonney to repair The A/C unit in our rental property. The technician arrived and inspected the unit, and advised us that the unit needed $3673.00 in repairs to make it operational again. Later in the day we met with another representative from who told us that the unit needed to be replaced at a cost of between $7800.00 and $9500.00. He also offered a financing offer that would have placed a mechanics lien on the property. On August 27, 2015, I contacted another heating and air contractor, who sent a technician out for a second opinion. The technician inspected the A/C unit and determined that the unit ONLY needed a fan motor and that the other parts that Bonney said NEEDED to be replaced in order for the unit to operate, were functioning properly.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $ 54.00 service charge from Bonney

Business Response: After speaking with Mr. ***** regarding this concern and the communication involved between the technician and Brother-in-Law it is clear that there was a breakdown in the communication during and after this service visit.  I regret that it got to a point that it did without the ability to clear up the details to avoid the frustration that the ***** experienced.  However, I completely disagree with the allegations that we misled Mr. ***** in any way on this service visit or sales call.

Regarding the service visit: 

The fan motor was over-amping and barely spinning.  This was indicated on the invoice and was verified by the subsequent tech from second company.  The compressor was also running at an extremely high amperage.  The technician discussed this as possibly caused by the motor failure but he couldn’t be certain.  The other components recommended are items that we recommend replacing when we replace a compressor (liquid line filter dryer and contactor).  The only repair that was NEEDED to get the unit running was the motor for $625.  This was detailed on the invoice and discussed with the Brother-in-law. 

Our technician offered to have a Salesman come out to go over replacement options on this 11-year-old system.  This was agreed upon and they decided to do so before making a decision regarding the repairs.  During this visit our Salesman offered replacement options.  This was the reason that he was there.  He was not there to verify if the unit “needed” to be replaced.  The pricing is based off of what options that were chosen or what system requirements are dictated by the design of the home.  The financing options that were offered included an option for the PACE financing program.  This is just one of our financing options.  It’s not for everyone, but many people find that this is a great way for them to qualify for a new system without tying up available credit from credit cards or other credit lines.  This program is used all over California and is not unique to Bonney.  The insinuation that WE would place a Mechanics Lien on the property is incorrect as we are not the provider of the loan.  We get paid and our PACE financing provider will be the holder of the lien and the note.  Again, this isn’t for everyone and was only one of the options that we offer for financing. 

I’m glad that Mr. ***** got his fan motor replaced and the unit is currently working to his satisfaction. I regret that we weren’t able to clear this up prior to this.  

Although our diagnosis of the failed fan motor proved accurate, I have refunded the $54 from the service call visit. 

Hopefully, we will get a chance in the future to work with Mr. ***** in the future.  I’ll make sure that we continually work to improve our communications so that we more clearly lay out the consumer options and give a better channel for clearing up mis-understandings.

Thank you,

***** *****

General Manager, Bonney Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning

9/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: back in June 2015 i requested to have my BAM membership cancelled. I was told they would put in the request to the department that handles that. In July 2015 I reviewed my credit card statement and they charged for June and July 2015. I called them back requesting the cancellation again in July 2015 and they said the cancellation was pending, a ******* from the department called me and said they would like to discuss the cancellation. I called her back, left a message stating I don't need to talk about the cancellation and to just cancel the membership. I reviewed my credit card statement again and sure enough no cancellation, but a charge of $8.25 for Aug 2015. I called again and left another message to cancel the membership and credit me back for June, July and Aug. I'm still waiting on a callback stating they cancelled my membership.********

Desired Settlement: Credit for June, July and Aug back on my credit card.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We apologize for the frustration that *** ****** experienced with our company.  We truly desire that choosing to do business with us is easy and enjoyable.  Apparently, we missed that here.  *** ****** has been a long-time customer of Bonney and regret that we created this concern.

I have verified that all charges requested by *** ****** have been refunded to her credit card and that the Membership has been cancelled. 

Regarding the complaint that she was charged again in August… That is incorrect.  The reference that she should see on her statement is actually a credit of the June charge as she had requested. I have attached a summary of our merchant account statement for verification.  I do realize that it took another cycle (July) for accounting to cancel the agreement.  Again, I apologize for the delay in this process.

As a token of our desire for customer service, I have issued a refund for the other 5 months of monthly payments for 2015.  This will be mailed out as a check to the address on file.

We’d love the opportunity to serve *** ****** in the future and will use this to improve our communication paths internally and with our customers.

Thank you,

***** *****

******* *******, Bonney Plumbing, LLC

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having problems with my home AC unit. I called Bonney Heating and Ait. to come and look at the unit. I have never had a problem with the unit, and know nothing about AC units. On 7/3/2015 the Tech told me that the parts that kick start the compressor on were bad. It was going to cost me $837.00 to fix the two broken parts. With it being so hot in my house, I didn't know of anything else to do, so I asked him to change out the parts. He did tell me there was a chance that the parts wouldn't be the problem, and the unit would still not work. But he told me that the compressor was on, and it was blowing cool air. He told me that it will take a long time to cool the house because it was 96 degrees in the house. Knowing that I never turned the system off. After two days of it still being warm in my house I called the company back. They sent the same Tech out on 7/6/2015, and he told me that the compressor is not working correctly. The only thing he could do was try and put more "coolant" in the system. This was going to cost $360.00 more dollars. At this point its extremely frustrating to be sitting in my house when its so hot, and all I want is the AC unit fixed. After paying all this money, the tech said the only thing he can do is replace the compressor for a little over $3000.00 or replace the unit for over $10000.00. The only way I can get the money I already paid towards the next fix is if I replace the entire system a little over 10 thousand dollars. I feel so taken advantage of! I lost almost $800.00 for nothing! Nothing is fixed. How can they ask someone to pay all this money for nothing to work? I reached out to a friend who is a Journeyman HVAC/R Technician with 8 years in the field out of Local ** ***. He told me that the parts used were no more then $16.00 parts. Im all for fair pay for a company to fix my unit, but this inflate is This company is taking advantage of its customers by charging astronomical parts mark up. My system is only 14 years old.

Desired Settlement: bottom line, I want the unit to work. If I'm going to need a new compressor, the money I already paid ($748.00)for nothing to work should go towards a new compressor.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

My Name is ****** *****. I have taken over the duties of ***** *******. I would like to absolutely get this matter resolved as soon as possible. ***** left notes in regard to Ms ****** concerns. She last noted that she sent a response to directly to you on 7/30/14 that stated she was having trouble posting to the web site and ask for your help. Not sure if you received that email or not. Her notes stated that on 7/20 we had gotten a call from her friend Chris who told us that he is an HVAC technician. He stated that he did repairs to fix the system. We where told that he would send us details of the repairs, but we never received and email. With her system being fixed, we are unclear as to how we can further help in resolving this issue. Please let me know what the next step is and I will gladly help. 


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 

I'm not sure how this all works, but I feel that 847.00 is a lot of money when I'm told that the two parts that were fixed were 16.00 parts. The tech was not here for more then 30 minutes. How can that be 847.00? Then when I called back to say the parts were not working he charged me 89.00 more dollars. For the AC never to work why charge me more money? I would like to understand this.

Thank you, 

*** ****** 

Business Response: We absolutely want to make every effort to resolve this
issue. To answer your question  about the $837 charge, you were charged
$369 for the duel capacitor, $369 for the start assist, an $99 for the Bonney
maintenance program. As for the $89 diagnostic fee for the next visit after the
original visit, it is agreed that we can refund that to you. If you are wanting
any further refund, we will need the information for where you got the price of
the parts, what parts were ordered, the license number of your friend who is
the technician, and what work he did. Once we receive this information, we will
be happy to take a further look into this in effort to come to a more
satisfactory resolution.   

Thank you,

****** *****
Tell us why here...

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February 2015 my water heater broke. I contacted Bonney for a repair and was told my water heater was not up to code and I would need a new one. In order to take advantage of financing, I accepted a bid to install a tankless water heater. It was installed promptly and worked fine. The problem started when the city inspector came a month later. He said the 1/2" gas line did not provide enough BTU's for the unit and we did not pass inspection. I contacted Bonney to advise them of the correction notice and was told they would call back with a resolution. They sent a technician out to the house to check the gas line and I was told it was 3/4" in the meter and 1/2" coming out of the wall. In May 2015 Bonney called to let me know the inspector was rescheduled and everything should be fine. The same inspector came out again and said that we had a 1/2" gas line from the meter all through the house, and the gas line was not sufficient to provide the BTU's for the unit. Again, we did not pass. I called Bonney yet again and told they would work on it and call back. Weeks pass in between phone calls. I called in June 2015 to ask that they replace the tankless unit with a conventional water heater so that we would pass inspection. They sent yet another technician out and we started from scratch with him. He said we might be able to change the valves to increase flow from the gas meter. I was told by the technician that PG&E was on board, they were trying to get the OK from the city before preceding. In July 2015 I contacted the technician only to be told they are still waiting for the OK from the city. It is now August and my permit expires in a couple of weeks. I do not think that Bonney has made resolving this a priority and I I feel slighted by the way in which they have handled it thus far. I have been patient long enough and I want this situation resolved in a satisfactory manner.

Desired Settlement: I would like Bonney to take out the tankless water heater and install a conventional water heater so we will pass city inspection. I want the lien that was placed on my property to finance the tankless water heater installation reversed and provide proof that the lien was satisfied.

Business Response: Dear ***** ********,

Our Plumbing management team has been in contact with Ms. ******* on 8/4/15 and 8/11/15. PG&E has agreed to the pressure increase and we have committed to having a satisfactory resolution for Ms. ******* no later than 8/30/15. We will be contacting Ms. ******* later today to confirm the next steps.

Thank you,

****** **********
Customer Care and Compliance Manager
Bonney Plumbing Heating and Air

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: This is an ongoing issue that has not been fully resolved as of 8/21/15. I am working with Bonney Plumbing on a satisfactory resolution, which once achieved will result in acceptance and closure of original complaint.

***** *******

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They mislead me telling me I need new hot water heater. He suggested a tankless water heater also told me that was a dangerous heating element that was broken, unplugging heater to prevent fire No charge for this because I bought their BAM policy for $99.00

Desired Settlement: Please send me $99.00 for BAM maintenance contract.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and resolved this matter by issuing a refund for $99.00 for the maintenance contract as requested by ***** ******.  Customer was satisfied with resolution and has no other issues.  

1/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a hot water heater installed yesterday by this company and they did a great job and I am very happy with it. However during the sales process the salesman told me my water pressure was 55PSi and that was to high and I needed to purchase a regulator for over $700 to bring down this pressure or it would blow out my appliances. I checked the Fair Oaks Water District and also an inspector and they both told me this was untrue. I was told that PSI around a 100 would not affect appliances. So I just don't appreciate this type of deception. It really knocks this company down a notch in my opinion. I also got a quote from Mr ****** and they tried to pull the same deception.

Desired Settlement: I am not looking for a settlement. Just want this company to apologize and stop this deception. Most people can't afford this stuff and its a shame to do this to folks.

Business Response: I spoke to Mr. ******* after speaking to our technician, ******* *., and verified ******* completely understood our policy and procedures on Pressure Reducing Valve recommendation for replacement.  He did an outstanding job and does completely understand our policy.  ******* remembered this call vividly and stated he remembers the water pressure at 75PSI and not 55PSI.  He stated he would never recommend replacing the PRV at 55.  There was no formal rec. on his invoice which indicates it was not something he was concerned about.  I relayed this conversation and our policies to Mr. ******* and he seemed very satisfied.  Said he may have misunderstood *******'s original PSI test number.  I feel Mr. ******* is completely happy.  Thank You, ******* ******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I feel that I misunderstood what ******* told me about my water pressure and sincerely apologize for this error on my part.  They did great work on the water heater and I highly recommend them.
** ******* 

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bonney plumbing was called out on 3-09-14 to unplug the bathroom sinks which were draining slow. There was a separated charge for the backup in the garage sink and kitchen sink. There employee **** unclogged the kitchen sink per clean out. He then entered the bathroom and was concerned about the p-trap and at first wanted me to sign a release of liability if there was any damage. Said he was not sure a snake would go through the pipes. He went ahead and sent the snake and he said he brought out some hair, but that I needed the entire piping system changed. Now he left the sinks really backed up where they would not drain at all and charged me anyway. He said the current charge for the repair of all piping would be $1,657.00. I called c/s and asked that a special called BAM be reimbursed of $99.00 and the charge for the bathroom sinks be removed and just be charged for full fee for the kitchen sinks. Called twice no return call. On 3/11/14 Called ROOTER-JET INC, *** unclogged the sinks in the bathroom within 30 minutes. I can't believe the first thing I seen was Bonney plumming on your website. Several people i talked to do not like their business.

Desired Settlement: I would like the BAM special which was a charge of $99.00 removed, there will be no need for any future inspections. Take the charge off for the bathroom sinks $135.00 was not resolved and just pay for the charge of $158.82 for the clog in kitchen and garage sinks. I was told by the ROOTER-JET INC. that how can you charge someone if you did not fix the problem. I agree.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

I have already spoken to Ms. ***** on ******* way and we have both come to an agreeable solution to the issue.  I have refunded her $234 per her request and removed her from our maintenance program.  At this point, she has indicated to me she is happy with this resolutions.  Please feel free to call me with any questions you may have at this time.
Thank You,
******* ******
President & Founder

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
The company has reimbursed me the disputed amount of $234.00 by check. Thank you for your help in this matter


*** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

169 Customer Reviews on Bonney Plumbing, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart