Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning offers plumbing, heating, air, drainage and sewage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1990 Business started: 12/15/1975 in CA Business started locally: 12/07/1999 Business incorporated 07/01/1975 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 313506.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00772305.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Faulk, General Manager Mr. Gerald Greenberg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Faulk, General Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Alternate Business Names
Bell Plumbing, Heating & Air J & D Greenberg Enterprises, Inc. Master Rooter
Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3011 Academy Way

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 422-2333 (916) 972-8955 (916) 782-7229 (530) 758-2174 (916) 961-2500 (916) 455-6966 (916) 248-5412 (916) 972-8211 (916) 374-7764 (916) 455-6022 (916) 972-0209 (916) 686-8846 (916) 941-9680 (916) 966-0114


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called plumbing company to replace existing gate valve that was leaking according to my tenant. My handyman tried a temporary patch just to stop the leak but that had failed. I was out of town when I got a call from my tenant about the leak and spoke to ******* the plumber who responded. I was provided an estimate of $750 and gave him verbal authorization to replace the valve. I discovered that the valve was not replaced when I went to do some work on the rental. Instead, the gate valve was replaced with a Pressure Control Valve in the main water supply line. I called the water company and asked them to come mark where my main water supply valve was so I could shut it off. They did mark it but told me that that valve is not for my use and should never be used by me since it controls three other homes. I am left without a way of shutting the water off in the event of an emergency. I called Ace and they put me in touch with ******* who came out today. He said he would have never replaced a gate valve with a Pressure Regulation Valve and insisted that one was there. We then put my handyman ******* on the telephone call and ******* verified that the gate valve was leaking and that there was never a PRV there. ******* explained that he tried to pack the valve to stop the leak but that failed. I spoke to *******'s supervisor, ***** *****, but he was unwilling to do anything about the situation and supported *******'s assertion that a Pressure Regulator Valve was there and was leaking. He also quoted me $550 to install a gate valve. I also have tried to get in touch with the former tenants that were there so they can also verify that the gate valve was there when the plumber came but I have no way of locating them. It only makes sense that the plumber should have never left me without a way of shutting the water supply to my house. The invoice for the job was provided after the work was done so I didn't even see what was written until days after the work was done.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that a gate valve be installed and am willing to pay for the materials but not $550. I am even willing to consider the cost to the plumbing company for the install if they do the work for their cost.

Consumer Response: Note that the attached invoice was not signed by me and was sent to me after work was competed.  I did not understand that a Pressure Relief Valve was to be installed and the comments at the right upper hand corner of the invoice indicates that they state they replaced leaking shut off valve when they did not.  A PRV is not a shut off valve.  

Consumer Response: Issue has been resolved with business owner. Negotiated a dollar amount to install shut off valve.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Ace plumbing back in February to unclog a drain and my pipes were backing up into my bath tub, it was working all the way up middle of march. Finally after about three weeks of draining my tub with a bucket, I called them back our on April 1st for the same thing. The guy came out and he was here for over three hours and I was charged 300.00 dollars. Well the problem still persist and nobody came with a camera or a locator to identify where the block or the busted pipe was coming from. They wanted to dig up from my kitchen to my bathroom and pull out my tub and go through my closet wall. I called and talked to ***** the office manager to see if I can get my money back because they didn't fix the problem and I was told no. All I want is my money back

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back since did not fix the problem.

Business Response: Company states: We were called out and the main sewer line was clogged. We cleared it and told them they have problems and we have it all in writing. They called back and said we got problems. We went back out and no charge. We told them that the line is collapsing under the house and you have to jack hammer there is nothing we can do. We called the owner and told them we did the work for free. We said that if there is something in documentation showing that we did it wrong we can fix it. We told them we would give them a refund if we did something wrong or mis-diagnosed it. We requested to look at the invoice. We never received any documentation showing we were responsible. 

Consumer Response:

I filed a complaint about this company two weeks ago. I still have heard from them or received my refund. When I filed the first complaint on may 4th, they ended up calling my landlord and yelling at him to see if he had the proper permits to have it fixed and saying that you just can't have anybody come in and fixed the floor. They also went on saying if my landlord sends them copies of thepaperwork, they will refund my money by sending me a check in the amount of 300.00 dollars. Well it's been two weeks and nothing, we sent the paperwork. Where is my refund, because there is no way I'm going anywhere.

I want my check, like they said they were going to do two weeks ago.

Business Response: Ace Plumbing went above and beyond with the customer including providing additional service at no charge. The diagnosis by the technician was correct and the customer had another company make the repairs the were required for the sewer to have proper flow. I ask the owner of the property for a copy of the repairs performed and although he acknowledged he hired another company he never submitted an invoice for proof of repairs and proper permitting.   There is no refund due.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company pulled a bait and switch on us. One guy came out to diagnose, and then two alternate incompetent workers did the job. They were quick and dirty and tried to leave without including work per the contract, and when they were "finished," we could not even pass inspection. They had installed the equipment in a way that would damage it long-term. This is our heating and air system, which affects the air we breathe every day, and it had several fixes needed. We did not pass inspection as the workers had no clue -- there were several errors. We had to take extra time off work to deal with this problem, for which they charged us $11,000 and did not even do correctly. They offered nothing but a lame apology -- no discount for our extreme inconvenience and having to take time off. I doubt the workers were properly trained, as they barely spoke English.

Desired Settlement: We had to take extra time off work and deal with a lot of stress and an extra inspection. I want a partial refund/ reimbursement and also a report against them to warn the public.

Consumer Response: The company has stated now that it will make amends.  I will likely withdraw the complaint.  Thank you.

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ace replaced a hot water heater and I immediately had poor water pressure in the house, which I complained about immediately. But instead of rectifying the matter, a tech named "****" told me I needed $10,000 dollars worth of plumbing...... Would have to have the walls torn open and all pipes replaced, then hire plasterers to replace the walls. Ace has never stood up to their warranty and now I can't use my dishwasher or clothes washer effectively. I know what the Ace tech told me was grossly incorrect and only to profit the company. I have attempted to have Ace stand by their warranty yet all I receive is the "run around". No appropriate response ever received. I am requesting total satisfaction with restoration of the water pressure, etc. I may be reached at ###-###-#### or by mail at **** **** *** ****** ******** *** *****. Thank you for your consideration. *******.

Desired Settlement: Total recooperation of the water pressure and a formal apology, especially the fabrication and attempt to have me pay $10,00" dollars to their plumbing service. This is exactly why consumers cannot trust services such as this. I request this information be made public until total vindication for myself. The public has the right to know and beware of such vandalism.

Business Response: We have checked all aspects of our installation and it was done properly. We have visited the home multiple times and our assessment is that the home has very old galvanized pipes that are deteriorating and causing lower water pressure. The customer has had her local water company check and they have made the same assessment. We encourage the customer to have an independent company check our work and the source of her problems. If it is found that there is a problem with our work we will cover the assessment cost and make the recommended repairs.

10/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Didn't honor their warranty! We used this company to fix my A/C around March 2014 invoice #******. Within 6 months same issue came up. Knowing that they have one year warranty I called to have it take a look at. But they said they wouldnt honor their warranty using a loophole on their policy. The reason for finding the A/C issue was during my house inspection. Because of that the previous owner of the property paid for the work. Their loop hole for voiding the warranty is the fact that I am not the previous owner.This logic doesnt make sense or its unethical because Its the same property with the same issue that we all expected to be resolved. At least they could have taken inquired and see if their work was done correctly or if I needed to pay for more services. Instead they wanted to take the easy, unethical way out.

Desired Settlement: Honor their Warranty! make ethical choices as a services business.

Business Response: We offer a one year warranty to the person who purchases service from us. The person filing this complaint with you was not the person who requested and paid for the service we provided so this complaint should not be valid.  Also note that there is no way to know that the problem is the same as the one we corrected for the prior owner without a diagnosis of the system.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valve on handicap shower with hose and shower head was not working. Hadn't been used for some years. **** * responded on 12/12 at 0930. He removed valve, determined it was defective, replaced it and ordered a new replacement valve. Left at 10:45. Total time to make that determination - 1 hour and 15 minutes (at #38 per every 15 minutes plus $69.50 service call. Next day **** *. returned. Removed old valve and replaced with new. Discovered shower hose was defective so could not fully test system. Two days later I replaced hose and discovered no water pressure or hot water. Advised ACE. On 12/18 **** arrived. Took one look at control and asked if any instructions came with new part. He examined instructions for a minute or so and quickly determined that there is a small internal set screw which must be adjusted to control volume and temperature of water. He quickly adjusted it and left. The set screw was possibly all that was wrong to begin with and the part may not have needed replacement.On 12/13 the original service man (**** H) presented me with a bill for $554.63. I complained that I thought the charge was really excessive. I contacted the manager at ACE to complain. I told him I did not think the entire bill should be more than $150 or so. He stated that he couldn't match that but that he would take $100 off the bill. I complained that I still thought that was excessive and that I thought I would have to make a formal complaint. He responded that he was withdrawing his officer to cut $100 off the bill. I also advised the manager that I did not receive a complete invoice showing charges. All I have is one showing a service charge of $69.50. The manager stated he would send me a complete invoice but as of this date I have not received one.In summary, I feel the first technician spent an hour and fifteen minutes doing something which shouldn't have taken more than 15 minutes to a half hour. I also question the necessity for replacing the control valve.

Desired Settlement: Come up with a more realistic charge for work done. Provide me with a complete invoice showing charges for time spent, charges for the new part and time charge for the technician to go to the supplier to pick up the part.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* called us because his shower faucet was leaking and would not properly temper the water. The solution for the leaking faucet was to replace the cartridge. This cartridge was frozen up when we attempted to work on it and when we checked with our distributor it was an uncommon part and required us to order a replacement.  All of this information was conveyed and approved by Mr. *******.

The work was completed and a follow up warranty visit was made because the valve was still not putting out satisfactory water temperature. A few weeks after the work was complete Mr. ******* called and said he wanted a significant refund. I offered in the spirit of good customer service to refund him $150 but he stated he would still be making complaints to the BBB and on the internet even with the refund so I retracted my offer because in my mind the point of a refund is to create customer happiness and satisfaction.  The customer stated I was blackmailing him and hung up on me.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Some of the statements in the response are simply not true.  
I did not call for service because the shower faucet was leaking.  I called because I could not get hot water from the faucet.
The cartridge was not frozen up.  You could turn it to get water - but only cold.
A fews days after the work was done (not weeks) I called the company to talk with the manager.  He offered to decrease the bill by $100 - not $150.  (I probably would have accepted $150).
I told the manager that I felt it was going to be necessary to make a complaint to BBB since I felt the charges were so escessive.  He said in that case he was going to withdraw all offers and make none further.  I asked if he was trying to blackmail me into accepting his $100 offer.
I also asked the manager for a detailed statement of the work provided showing charges for labor and for parts.  TO DATE I HAVE NOT RECEIVED SUCH A STATEMENT.  Somehow I thought it was a requirement that the vendor provide the customer with such documentation.  The only invoice I received showed a charge of $69.50 for a service call.



Business Response:

We would still be wiling to refund $150 if this would satisfy Mr. *******. We did send a copy of the invoice to Mr. ******* address and it would sound like he never received it so I am enclosing an attachment copy that can be forwarded to him.


Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart