Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Patio Perfections, Inc.

Phone: (916) 871-6318 2024 Opportunity Dr Ste 120, Roseville, CA 95678 http://www.patioperfections.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patio Perfections, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Patio Perfections, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Patio Perfections, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2006 Business started: 08/01/2003 Business started locally: 08/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/01/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 894189.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George "Wally" Petersen III, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George "Wally" Petersen III, Owner
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Patio Cover Awnings & Canopies Contractors - Retaining Wall Outdoor Kitchens

Service Area
Patio Perfections provides quality service to the following areas in Central and Northern California: Carmichael, Chico, Citrus Heights, Davis, El Dorado, Elk Grove, Fair Oaks, Folsom, Galt, Lodi, Manteca, North Highlands, Placerville, Rancho Cordova, Rocklin, Roseville, Sacramento, Stockton, Tracy, Woodland, Yuba City. If you do not recognize your city please contact us and our staff will gladly assist you with your Patio Cover needs.
Products & Services

Patio Perfections, Inc. provides full service patio and deck building services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 2024 Opportunity Dr Ste 120

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 871-6318

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company abandoned a quoted 1-2 day job as promised and to customer satisfaction. Its been 6 months and they contacted me 2 times for money only. In June 2013, after getting several bids, I met with, and signed an agreement with Patio Perfections to construct a Patio cover in my backyard. Total cost of the job was $6339. I paid a deposit of $600, bringing the balance down to $5739. I was promised that the job would take 1.5-2 days to complete. This was important to me because I have a dog that runs free in the backyard that would need to be locked up in a kennel in the garage during construction. On day one, a different company called *** ******* showed up to start the job. I was not happy about this because I thought I hired Patio Perfections. I chose not to say anything. After 2 weeks of construction, the job was still not finished. Each day I would receive a call from Patio Perfections asking that I leave full payment because the job would be finished this time (which thankfully I didn't do), and each day the job was not finished. Over the course of the 2 weeks, I came home to outlets left open with exposed wiring and no cover plates, the beams had deep scratches in them exposing the aluminum core, and the column was facing the wrong direction. (I had requested and it was drawn into the plan for the outlet to face away from the patio so it would not be seen, but instead it was facing inwards.) The downspout was left lying on the ground without being attached to the cover. Even the slightest wind would blow the end caps off the latticed end pieces, and my dog would ultimately chew them up once on the ground. This was very frustrating. After 2 weeks and several calls to Patio Perfections to ask when they would be finished with the cover, I was told by the owner, *****, that they were really busy this time of year but they would be out in a week or two to finish the job. After much back and forth, the owner offered $239 off for the inconvenience. Three months passed, and **** from the office called and asked me to pay my balance of $5,500. I explained to her that I was still waiting for the job to be completed, and she stated that I needed to pay the amount due or at least a portion of it. She further stated they would be out soon to finish the work. I declined to send any money but told her I would pay the balance once the work was completed. Three more months passed, and on December 11, 2013, the owner ***** calls me and tells me I owe him $5,500. He was very indignant about it. I was so appalled by this. I told him the work was still not completed, and he proceeded to tell me that it was completed or at least he thought it was. I told the owner I have fixed some of the problems myself, and am just going to live with the rest of it as is. I further stated that I feel I am due a substantial discount for all of this. I offered to pay for his material costs only. To my mind, this would be around $3500 and was more then fair considering the horrible experience with this company. He vehemently refused and instead offered $400 dollars off to bring the balance from $5500 to $5100. I was disgusted by this offer, but not wanting to go any further with him or his company, I begrudgingly agreed. I asked him to email me a new invoice, reflecting the new amount of $5100 which he agreed to do at once. Another week passed and on December 18, 2013, I finally receive an email with a total of $5139, and a demand to be paid in person within 2 days at my home. I sent an email stating that they needed to correct the amount to $5100, as agreed upon, and that I would mail the check. This was by far, the worst customer service I have ever experienced. The only time this company showed any concern or contacted me was to collect money. To date, almost 7 months after signing the contract with Patio Perfections, the job has still not been completed as promised. I have chosen to take the high road, and against legal advice, paid the company $5100 anyway. My sincere hope is that after reading what I went through, you will go with another company.

Desired Settlement: I feel I am due a substantial discount for the horrible service, abandoned and incomplete job I received. I offered to pay for the material costs only. To my mind, this would be around $3000-$3500 max.

Business Response: In June 2013, after getting several bids, I met with, and signed an agreement with Patio Perfections to construct a Patio cover in my backyard. Total cost of the job was $6339. I paid a deposit of $600, bringing the balance down to $5739. I was promised that the job would take 1.5-2 days to complete. This was important to me because I have a dog that runs free in the backyard that would need to be locked up in a kennel in the garage during construction. On day one, a different company called *** ******* showed up to start the job. I was not happy about this because I thought I hired Patio Perfections. I chose not to say anything.

CONTRACT DATED 6/1/13 STATES START DATE AS 4 WEEKS AND COMPLETION DATE AS 5 WEEKS. WE ACTUALLY STARTED THE JOB WITHIN 2 WEEKS (AHEAD OF SCHEDULE). OUR INSTALLERS HELPER HAD PREVIOUSLY WORKED FOR SUN BUSTERS AND MADE A SIMPLE MISTAKE AT THE SECURITY GUARD AND STATED HIS FORMER EMPLOYER. HE WAS, IN FACT, WORKING FOR PATIO PERFECTIONS.

After 2 weeks of construction, the job was still not finished. Each day I would receive a call from Patio Perfections asking that I leave full payment because the job would be finished this time (which thankfully I didn't do), and each day the job was not finished. Over the course of the 2 weeks, I came home to outlets left open with exposed wiring and no cover plates, the beams had deep scratches in them exposing the aluminum core, and the column was facing the wrong direction. (I had requested and it was drawn into the plan for the outlet to face away from the patio so it would not be seen, but instead it was facing inwards.) The downspout was left lying on the ground without being attached to the cover. Even the slightest wind would blow the end caps off the latticed end pieces, and my dog would ultimately chew them up once on the ground. This was very frustrating.

WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER REQUESTING ADDITIONAL OUTLET ON 6/14/13. THE DOWNSPOUT MOUNTS TO THE COLUMN AND WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT OFF SO THE COLUMN COULD BE PAINTED. THE COLUMNS WERE PAINTED ON 6/21/13 AND WE RETURNED 6/24/13 TO INSTALL THE DOWNSPOUT. ON 6/25/13 THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED TO CHANGE THE COLUMN DIRECTION, REPLACE THE DOWNSPOUT WITH A RAIN CHAIN AND TO PATCH & REPAINT THE COLUMN WHERE THE DOWN SPOUT HAD BEEN MOUNTED. WE WOULD WAIT TO BE NOTIFIED OF HIM PURCHASING A RAIN CHAIN AND AS A COURTESY WE WOULD INSTALL IT.

After 2 weeks and several calls to Patio Perfections to ask when they would be finished with the cover, I was told by the owner, *****, that they were really busy this time of year but they would be out in a week or two to finish the job. After much back and forth, the owner offered $239 off for the inconvenience.

AT THIS POINT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. HOWEVER, WE STILL GAVE THE CUSTOMER A $239 CUSTOMER SATISFACTION DISCOUNT.

Three months passed, and **** from the office called and asked me to pay my balance of $5,500. I explained to her that I was still waiting for the job to be completed, and she stated that I needed to pay the amount due or at least a portion of it. She further stated they would be out soon to finish the work. I declined to send any money but told her I would pay the balance once the work was completed.

WE NEVER RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER ASKING ABOUT COMPLETING HIS PROJECT. AS THE ORIGINAL CONTRACT HAD BEEN FULFILLED WE ASSUMED HE CHANGED HIS MIND ABOUT THE RAIN CHAIN.

Three more months passed, and on December 11, 2013, the owner ***** calls me and tells me I owe him $5,500. He was very indignant about it. I was so appalled by this. I told him the work was still not completed, and he proceeded to tell me that it was completed or at least he thought it was.

AGAIN, AT THIS POINT WE HAD NO CONTACT FROM THE CUSTOMER REGARDING ADDITIONAL WORK TO BE DONE. THE BALANCE WAS OVER 6 MONTHS PAST DUE.

I told the owner I have fixed some of the problems myself, and am just going to live with the rest of it as is. I further stated that I feel I am due a substantial discount for all of this. I offered to pay for his material costs only. To my mind, this would be around $3500 and was more then fair considering the horrible experience with this company. He vehemently refused and instead offered $400 dollars off to bring the balance from $5500 to $5100. I was disgusted by this offer, but not wanting to go any further with him or his company, I begrudgingly agreed.
I asked him to email me a new invoice, reflecting the new amount of $5100 which he agreed to do at once. Another week passed and on December 18, 2013, I finally receive an email with a total of $5139, and a demand to be paid in person within 2 days at my home. I sent an email stating that they needed to correct the amount to $5100, as agreed upon, and that I would mail the check.
This was by far, the worst customer service I have ever experienced. The only time this company showed any concern or contacted me was to collect money. To date, almost 7 months after signing the contract with Patio Perfections, the job has still not been completed as promised. I have chosen to take the high road, and against legal advice, paid the company $5100 anyway. My sincere hope is that after reading what I went through, you will go with another company.

THE DISCOUNT WAS MORE THAN GENEROUS IN LIGHT OF THE FACT THAT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. THIS CUSTOMER IS JUST TRYING TO GET OUT OF PAYING FOR HIS PATIO COVER AND STILL HAS NOT PAID $5100 AS STATED IN HIS COMPLAINT. ON 1/7/13 WE SENT AN EMAIL REQUESTING FINAL PAYMENT AS IT IS NOW 7 MONTHS PAST DUE. HE REPLIED THAT HE WOULD NOT PAY US UNTIL THIS RESPONSE IS SUBMITTED. WE LOOK FORWARD TO RESOLVING THIS MATTER AND COLLECTING THE GENEROUSLY DISCOUNTED BALANCE OF $5100.

Consumer Response: It's astounding to me how Patio Perfections is refusing to accept responsibility for their horrendous actions and inactions in this matter. Their response is so full of untruths and fabrications I will respond to each paragraph of their response...

CONTRACT DATED 6/1/13 STATES START DATE AS 4 WEEKS AND COMPLETION DATE AS 5 WEEKS. WE ACTUALLY STARTED THE JOB WITHIN 2 WEEKS (AHEAD OF SCHEDULE). OUR INSTALLERS HELPER HAD PREVIOUSLY WORKED FOR SUN BUSTERS AND MADE A SIMPLE MISTAKE AT THE SECURITY GUARD AND STATED HIS FORMER EMPLOYER. HE WAS, IN FACT, WORKING FOR PATIO PERFECTIONS.

-The installer and helper arrived at the gate together in a "Sun Buster" company truck complete with company logo decals on it, per the security guard at the gate. The guard even called me at work since I had only advised them Patio Perfections would be coming.

-I applaud Patio Perfections for starting the job within two weeks, the problem is that they assured me it would take 1.5-2 days to complete but they were there on and off for 2 weeks! I have a dog that usually runs free in the backyard that had to be locked up in a crate for two weeks!

WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER REQUESTING ADDITIONAL OUTLET ON 6/14/13. THE DOWNSPOUT MOUNTS TO THE COLUMN AND WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT OFF SO THE COLUMN COULD BE PAINTED. THE COLUMNS WERE PAINTED ON 6/21/13 AND WE RETURNED 6/24/13 TO INSTALL THE DOWNSPOUT. ON 6/25/13 THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED TO CHANGE THE COLUMN DIRECTION, REPLACE THE DOWNSPOUT WITH A RAIN CHAIN AND TO PATCH & REPAINT THE COLUMN WHERE THE DOWN SPOUT HAD BEEN MOUNTED. WE WOULD WAIT TO BE NOTIFIED OF HIM PURCHASING A RAIN CHAIN AND AS A COURTESY WE WOULD INSTALL IT.

-I did request a second outlet be installed, before construction started, so I am not sure why this is relevant. I specifically requested that the outlet face away from the patio so not to be seen as I was plugging a fountain into it from the grass. I arrived home and the outlet was facing inward, toward the patio.

-Contrary to Patio Perfections claim, when I called the owner about the column on 6/25/13, he apologized for the column error. He stated they were really busy this time of year, but promised to come back out, lift the roof of the cover and turn the column the right way. He further stated that he would upgrade the downspout to a chain one and take off $239 for the inconvenience. This was acceptable to me. This is where the problems really started, they simply abandoned the job. They never showed up to fix their mistake. I was called one time by Patio Perfections over the next six months requesting payment and they assured me they would be out to finish the job soon.

-It is preposterous to claim that they were waiting for me to call back once I had "purchased a rain chain"...first of all; the owner said he would be supplying it at no cost, but even if he expected me to buy it, why wouldn't I just buy it from them? This is such a complete fabrication and it's easy to see that this is simply a poor attempt to cover up their abandoning the job.

AT THIS POINT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. HOWEVER, WE STILL GAVE THE CUSTOMER A $239 CUSTOMER SATISFACTION DISCOUNT.

-The job remains, to this day, incomplete. The work to correct their mistake on the column has still not been done. They failed in their response to address the end caps, which have mostly all fallen off (and secured back by me) since they were never secured to the cover in the first place.

WE NEVER RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER ASKING ABOUT COMPLETING HIS PROJECT. AS THE ORIGINAL CONTRACT HAD BEEN FULFILLED WE ASSUMED HE CHANGED HIS MIND ABOUT THE RAIN CHAIN.

-Correct. They called me! It is an absolute lie to state that they thought I "changed my mind" because I specifically told **** and she acknowledged the job still needed to be completed. She assured me they would be out soon to complete it.

AGAIN, AT THIS POINT WE HAD NO CONTACT FROM THE CUSTOMER REGARDING ADDITIONAL WORK TO BE DONE. THE BALANCE WAS OVER 6 MONTHS PAST DUE.

False...3 months prior to this I spoke to **** who promised the work would be done.

THE DISCOUNT WAS MORE THAN GENEROUS IN LIGHT OF THE FACT THAT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. THIS CUSTOMER IS JUST TRYING TO GET OUT OF PAYING FOR HIS PATIO COVER AND STILL HAS NOT PAID $5100 AS STATED IN HIS COMPLAINT. ON 1/7/13 WE SENT AN EMAIL REQUESTING FINAL PAYMENT AS IT IS NOW 7 MONTHS PAST DUE. HE REPLIED THAT HE WOULD NOT PAY US UNTIL THIS RESPONSE IS SUBMITTED. WE LOOK FORWARD TO RESOLVING THIS MATTER AND COLLECTING THE GENEROUSLY DISCOUNTED BALANCE OF $5100.

This is just insulting to claim I am trying to "get out of paying for his patio cover" In the last 15 years, I have had no less then 10 contractors do work for me at my homes. Not one time, have I ever had an issue with them, or their service. I have always paid in full and on time. This is the first complaint I have ever made with the BBB. I have never had such horrendous service on what should have been the simplest and quickest project I've ever had done.

This is not about money; this is about horrible customer service and a lack of follow through on the part of Patio Perfections. If it was about money, I would have gone with another company that came to me with a lower bid. I chose this company because they are a local business (about 2 miles from my house) and they appeared on the surface to be a dependable company.

Business Response:

It has been brought to our attention by a mutual interest that you indicated you wish to settle this case with a final payment of $4500,00 and we agreed to those terms.  In addition, this will deem the job complete and no additional changes will be made. Any & all collection actions will be terminated at once and your contract will be considered "PAID IN FULL".

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******