This business is not BBB accredited.

Tom Schultz Painting

Phone: (916) 212-3116 Fax: (916) 348-7711 *, Sacramento, CA 95841

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tom Schultz Painting include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tom Schultz Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2009 Business started: 05/07/2007 Business started locally: 05/07/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00896027.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Schultz, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Schultz, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Products & Services

Tom Schultz Painting provides interior and exterior painting.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations



    Sacramento, CA 95841


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last summer (2015) we needed our exterior house painted. We chose Tom Schultz Painting because of his rating on HomeAdvisor and his warranty (5 years). From the first, things went wrong. He did not do the job himself because he claimed to be out of state. The crew he sent did a poor job. A representative from the ******* ******** company came out and finally agreed to repaint the main house (stucco). That was done and appears to be satisfactory. Tom was quite rude and insulting during this time and I felt very uncomfortable dealing with him. After it rained, however, the paint on the wood trim began cracking and peeling. This compromises the integrity of our home and can lead to dry rot, etc. I called Tom and again, he was rude (insulting my husband who is a general contractor and had noted both the first problem with the stucco and the subsequent problem with the trim). But he said he would look at the problem after the rains. In late spring/early summer I called and he said he'd already looked at the house with the paint company and that there was NO problem with the trim. Unless he trespassed, however, it would have been impossible to see the full extent of the problem since the gate is locked. And the front of the house, which he might have seen, clearly shows the problem. I asked him who came from the paint company and he dodged my question and said he'd come out again. He never did, and when I emailed him to remind him he responded only with: "Your warranty claim is denied" - no reason. I emailed him a courteous, firm response stating that this was inappropriate and I would have to file a complaint with HomeAdvisor, the BBB and possibly take legal action if he did not honor the warranty or give a reason. He wrote back one line - that I should compose myself. My email, I assure you, was carefully composed & I'm quite composed - so his response was not appreciated. I emailed HomeAdvisor 2+ weeks ago and have received no response. The warranty was for 5 years. Please help resolve.

Desired Settlement: I want the trim sanded and repainted and I want it to be done properly so it lasts. Part of the trim up by the roof wasn't even painted at all. I would rather not have to deal with Mr. Schultz, who has been rude, insulting, flippant and extremely condescending. So he can send someone else out to do the job, or I will get an estimate, and he can give me a refund of the amount it would take for me to get it repainted by someone else. Either alternative works.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tom Schultz Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)