Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Referable Painting

Phone: (530) 644-2956 Fax: (530) 644-2956 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.tomcarlsonreferablepainting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Referable Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Referable Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2008 Business started: 01/13/1998 in CA Business started locally: 01/13/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 744684.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tom Carlson, Owner Mrs. Kathy Carlson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Carlson, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Commercial Painting Contractor Hand Painting & Decorating

Products & Services

Referable Painting offers the following product(s): Company offers painting services.

Alternate Business Names
Tom Carlson
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Placerville, CA 95667

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My neighbor is have the outside of their house painted byReferable Painting. While we were gone for the day, the house was pressure washed, leaving paint chips all over my deck, sidewalkand planter area. As it was dark when we got home, this was notnotice till the morning. When the painter arrived, I told him I would appreciate if he would clean up the mess. His reply was " I betyou would, don't get all ruffled, I'm just getting started" he the suggestedI call the cops, and went about his work. He is EXTREMELY RUDE!!

Desired Settlement: I want any mess on my property, resulting from the painting of my neighbors house, to be cleaned up daily, and for the painterto keep his rude mouth shut!

Business Response:

These allegations are false and are merely a retaliation from the complainant. It is not a viable review of my business.

First some history... This irrationally acting neighbor and the customer have a very long history of disputes. The police have been called out many times, a  restraining order was issued against the complainant.

Pursuant to the matter, I apologized for any mess that may have happened, I offered to clean up any mess but was told "I had my chance and it was too late now". This was all in front of a policeman.

Update... The parties went back to court last week. I was told that the presiding judge exclaimed that the the neighbor was "acting childishly". The side of the house facing the neighbor's house remains unpainted because of this condition between the two parties. Unfortunately, my business got caught between the Hatfield's and McCoy's.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:my 

#1 my relationship with my neighbor is between me and my nieghbor

#2 I do not have a restraining order on me, and am quite offended by the statement

it seems that *** ******** doesn't want to take responsibility for his action...

*** came on to my property without permission and while I was not home, he power washed an area that should have be scrapped first, then power washed, not very professional! He then decided to leave the mess. I asked him the following morning, and once again before he left for the day to clean it up. He was extremely rude, and never came over to take care of the problem. The following morning *** came over with a blower and a power cord, and said he had a mess to clean up, I told him if he was going to use a blower, he could get off my property, as using a blower on my deck with all my plants was not an option. *** get extremely rude, started waving his hands in my face, telling me what a miserable person I was. I did file a complaint with the police, they came out, and said it was a civil matter. *** has yet to apologize, and clean up the mess. Once again...*** needs to take responsibility for his poor choices

Business Response: Business states that the pending consumer issues have been taken care of and considers the matter  resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Referable Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)