Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Joaquin Painting Inc

Phone: (209) 529-8811 Fax: (209) 529-4205 1004 Carver Rd, Modesto, CA 95350

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joaquin Painting Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Joaquin Painting Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 07/07/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 489147.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Randy Butler, President Mr. Mark Butler, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Butler, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Seal Coating

Products & Services

Joaquin Painting Inc. provides interior and exterior, residential and commerical, painting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Joaquin Painting to seal my concrete with a high gloss finish that I was told by the salesman **** ****** would last for 2-3 years. Within 4 months of the high gloss finish being sprayed on the glossy finish is gone.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a refund. I paid $2380 for a product that was supposed to last 2-3 years. Product lasted less than 4 months.

Business Response: I called the customer right away and set up a meeting at his house to discuss. I explained to him again that the sealer will need to be applied every 2-3 years to keep it protected. It should last approximately 2-3 years, but that does not mean it will look "new and shiny" for 2-3 years as the customer expected. Even though we delivered exactly what we contracted to do, I offered to reseal his project for free in the spring. We want to always take care of our customers, and especially can't afford a negative reputation. I thought my offer was more than fair. I also informed him that by cleaning his concrete regularly, it will keep it looking nice and shiny. That will keep the hard water and calcium from building up, which detracts from the shine he desires. He said he does not want to clean his concrete regularly. He said he would think about it. He emailed back and said he'd like a refund of $2,000. I don't know what else to do at this point. We did exactly as we contracted. I offered to redo the job in the spring in attempt to solve a problem and satisfy a customer by going above and beyond. I believe I was more than fair in dealing with this situation. I don't believe it is right or fair to give a refund on this.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:I have requested a refund from Joaquin Painting.  
**** ****** came out to my home on 11/20/15 and agreed the sealer wasn't lasting.  He then told me the high gloss seal should last anywhere from 4 months to 12 months.  He also told me I should take deck wash every month to clean the concrete for upkeep.  This was never told to me by Mr. ****** at the time of sale.  He even apologized telling me he should have explained it better.  He offered to come back out to seal it again but I've refused based on several reasons.  He told me they could spray sealer again on my concrete but there was no guarantee it would last longer than 4-12 months.  This is unacceptable.  I feel I was mislead by Mr ****** to the tune of $2380.  His product lasted 3-4 months.  Again, when I purchased this sealer in July of 2015 Mr. ****** never told me the sealer would only last 4-12 months.  He told me it would last 2-3 years. His email stated 2-3 years.  My whole point in doing the sealer was For the high gloss finish and it's not there anymore.  He came out and told me it would have a wet look. It did for 3 months and now is gone.  The fact that he's now saying it would only last 4-12 months should have been told to me and I would have declined to get it done.  This was never told to me at the time of sale.   I'd like a minimum of $2,000 back based on how long it lasted.  

Business Response: A sealer acts as a "sacrificial coat" to protect the concrete from permanent stains, fade, and discoloration.  If left unsealed, the natural elements such as ; hard water, calcium, sun, and chlorine would have left permanent damage to the color and appearance of the concrete.  The sealer allows you to clean the surface, and when cleaned, it has a better appearance (much like washing your car).  The sealer will last longer than the "shiny appearance" will.  I cannot say exactly how long the sealer will look shiny.  I can though, based on years of experience, say that if you re-seal every 2-3 years, the concrete should seal back to the original look.  My exact email response to Mr. ***** on 6/21/15 is "I recommend to reseal every 2-3 years.  If you keep that maintenance, it will always reseal back to original look."  I never said anything about it looking shiny or new for 2-3 years.  If a customer wants to clean their sealed concrete it will look better, if not it will look dirty and drab.  I have no control over how a customer maintains or cleans the work that we have done.  Again, we provided exactly what we contracted to.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  Mr ****** when you sold me your product (high gloss sealer) did you ever mention I would need to scrub my concrete every month? The answer is no. Did you tell me chlorine, hard water, and calcium would effect the shine in 4 months? The answer is no.  The comment that it should return to its original look with an application every 2-3 years pertained to the high gloss appearance once you sprayed the sealer on and you know that.  If it's the "original look", which was drab, faded, and not the wet look that you promised, then why would I even bother to have you come out.  To put it simply, you failed to disclose these things to me.  Apparently being ethical isn't part of Joaquin Painting.  I guess we won't be able to resolve this.  I'll make sure to tell my friends/family not to do business with your company.  I might picket across the street to let everyone know I got ripped off and I'll be looking into a small claims suit.  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Joaquin Painting Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)