Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

USA Bath California Remodeling, Inc. offers bath and shower remodeling


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that USA Bath California Remodeling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for USA Bath California Remodeling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on USA Bath California Remodeling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 2013 Business started: 06/06/2012 in CA Business incorporated 04/02/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 984796.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Krinke, Operations Manager Mr. Alan Hansen, Officer Mr. Michael Laub, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Krinke, Operations Manager

Products & Services

USA Bath California Remodeling, Inc. offers the following product(s): Company offers window installations, bathroom remodeling and closet installations.

Alternate Business Names
Bath Planet of Sacramento

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1048 Serpentine Ln #307

    Pleasanton, CA 94566

  • 2500 Del Monte St Ste 100

    W Sacramento, CA 95691 (916) 740-6150

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Imagine my surprise when I learned from a representative of my 84 year old mothers credit union that after presenting a proposal to my mom the representative from USA bath drove her to the credit union AND sat with her while she filled out the paper work for a loan to purchase a walkin tub from the same representative. How ethical is this conduct? Consequently my mother had a stroke and died on Nov. 4. My brother and I visited the credit union to return the loan check after her death and learned about the USA bath sales rep. Visit to the credit union and the fact that he sat in the cubicle with her while she filled out the loan form. We called USA bath and canceled the installation because with her death there was no way to pay back the loan. USA has retained the $1,000 deposit and is insisting that we pay them additional money on a contract that was secured with a person who is no longer living. How heartless is this on top on their unethical behavior with a senior citizen?

Desired Settlement: Return the deposit the took while driving an 84 year old to a financial institute. The contract is null and void because the person they had the contract with is no longer living.

Consumer Response: Attached are the documents from USA bath as well as all the loan paper work I have.  There are two critical points here: 1.  My mother died before any work was done on the house.  She died on November 4 and the work was scheduled to begin during the week of November 23.   2.  The sales rep. from USA bath drove my mother to ****** *** and sat in the cubicle while she secured the loan.  That being said she was 84 at the time and was diagnosed with early signs of dementia.  My mother would never have ridden in the car of a stranger and allowed him to listen to her personal finances--I also feel it was unethical for him to do this.  In addition USA bath has $1,000 fee they have retained and not returned.  At first they were asking for another $2800 to close the contract out without doing one bit of work.  They have now sent a bill in my name to my mother's address for $1,000 dollars in addition to the money they have kept.  They have continued to call my brother and try to negotiate money from him.  My mother is dead--there is no money in her estate and since she signed the contract it is null and void.  What kind of a business preys on loved ones after a recent death? 

Business Response:

We are currently a creditor of Ms. ******' estate, and will be pursuing this matter in court. 

Direct response to the elements of this complaint:

#1 The complaint is from a family member of our customer, who is deceased.

#2. The customer requested assistance from our sales manager in securing financing for her project. He kindly drove her to her credit union, at her request, in order to obtain a loan. We believe this was excellent customer service, and highly ethical.

#3. The complaint says that the Ms. ****** had a stroke as a consequence of this interaction with our company. This is impossible.

#4. We are a creditor of Ms. ******' estate, per the contract. This is neither heartless or unethical. I have had 5 separate conversations with Ms. ******** brother (son of Ms. ******). He has invited Ms. ******** to contact me by phone on several occasions to try to work toward an amicable settlement. She has never called me, and I have no phone number for her.

This matter has been referred to our attorney who will be contacting Ms. ******** this week.

We will provide a grace period of 10 days from today for the estate of Ms. ****** to engage in an amicable process seeking resolution, or we will file a case in court to collect the balance owed under the terms of the contract.


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  My attorney will be in touch with USA bath.  

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: renOn Saturday September 16, 2015 my wife and I entered into a contract with USA Bath, Sacramento for a remodel project on our master bathroom. The total cost of the job was $9,700. We gave the sales rep., Byron *****, a 10% deposit ($970.00) at that time.On Wednesday September 23, 2015 I received a voice mail message from *** ***** stating that the work originally contracted for could not be performed as originally written. The original contract called for no moving of the floor drain (slab foundation)and a minimal thresh hold height going into the shower. *** ***** advised me that he would need to e-mail me an addendum to change the scope of work. The drain would need to be moved and the threshold would need to be somewhere around 6+ inches. This is a material change in the work.I did not receive the e-mail from ***** and on Monday September 28 I contacted *****. He admitted that he never sent the email and again outlined the necessary changes. At this point I informed him that the changes were unacceptable and that we had lost confidence in USA Bath's ability to provide the work correctly. I requested a refund of the deposit to which ***** informed me that I would need to submit a request in an email to the company to this effect. I submitted my request that same day.I received a voice mail reply from the USA Bath manager informing me that he had taken over the matter from ***** and that the company could in fact complete the work with some modification. I responded via e-mail regarding our lack of confidence and again requested a deposit refund.At this point, I received an email from the owner, **** ******* stating that the 3 day cancellation period had expired and there would be no refund. He did not address the fact his rep had attempted to materially change the scope of work, nor provide a written copy of the changes to be made, but did go on to say that he expected further payment under the contract terms for our cancellation.

Desired Settlement: USA Bath will refund the deposit of $970.

Business Response: *** **** entered into a contract with our company to perform work in his bathroom on 16 Septemer 2015. On review, we determined a preferable installation method for his project. Upon ******* explanation of this recommendation, *** **** informed us that he had "lost confidence" and on 24 September 2015 wished
to cancel the contract. This request to cancel was made after the expiration of the mandated 3-day rescission period, as explained in the contract.  We informed *** **** that we could proceed with the job as originally contracted, but he refused to have us continue with the work. 


We will accept *** **** cancellation according to the terms of the contract, which he signed. These terms require an additional payment in the amount of $1940. This payment is clearly explained in the contract, where it states: "...the parties agree that in the event such a termination should take place within 10 days of the contract date, purchaser shall be liable for 30% of the total contract price." Therefore, in addition to *** **** contract deposit of $970, his decision to cancel results in an additional $1940 payment in order to fulfill this term of his contract. 


A copy of the contract is provided here for review. 


We will be happy to participate in an arbitration or other meeting with *** **** to resolve this matter.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The representative indicated to me that the contract as originally written would result in a system that was not proper. He also indicated that "Upper Management" was aware of this problem. The fact that he "FORGOT' to send me an addendum with the necessary changes only makes matters worse. This information coming to me after the 3 day cancellation period only serves to make me more wary. I can only anticipate problems if I accept the original design at this point with this information.

From my perspective as a customer, the company wants me to accept one of three choices:

1. Pay $9700 for the original design that they have already indicated is not proper. 

2. Pay $9700 for a design with structural components that I originally indicated that I did not want (cutting the slab, moving the drain & a 6" step over into the shower.

3. Pay for services never received


None of these options are palatable. Falling back on a 3 day cancellation clause under the circumstances is bad business. 

Business Response: As explained before we have retained the 10% deposit, we are entitled to 30% at cancellation and we are willing to go to arbitration if the customer wants to resolve the issue.