Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Auburn Moving Company, Inc. offers residential and commercial moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auburn Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auburn Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2006 Business started: 03/24/2005 in CA Business incorporated 01/25/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission- CPUC
505 Van Ness Ave Rm 4300, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (800) 649-7570
The number is 0190985.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Sean Alan Minor, President Mr. Robert Huckins, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Alan Minor, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Travel & Moving Services

Alternate Business Names
Auburn Moving & Storage Company Auburn Moving Company Inc
Products & Services

Auburn Moving Company specializes in moving and storage services.

Additional Locations

  • 10000 Hillview Rd

    Newcastle, CA 95658

  • Serving Sacramento

    Sacramento, CA 95816


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first used this moving company in 2013 when I moved, stored my furniture and then delivered 2 months later to Southern CA. I was very satisfied with the job that they did. SO, when I moved back to Sacramento area in April 2015, I called them back and made a reservation to pick up my furniture again in Anaheim. The owner gave me an estimate and had a truck sent to my house April 11, 2015. The truck was not at all like the original trick which had been a large 18 wheeler that had moved me the first time. It was a much smaller truck and I explained to the crew that my items from my 3000 sq foot house would not fit in that truck. He called the owner and first I was accused of not telling them the proper weight which I had as in the end I was given a small refund because the pounds were not as much as the estimate. When the truck arrived at my house to empty the contents 3 days later I saw the damage the movers had done to my furniture. My formal dining room set was ruined; the table scratched and 3 of the 6 chairs had arms broken off and the back wooden design crushed. The table top was scratched. A curio cabinet lost 2 of its legs, a crystal lamp globe wasdropped in front of me as they moved it in the house, a sofa table gorged/ scratched and a new wooden kitchen table/bench scratched and scraped. A large plastic container was crushed upon delivery and all the garden equipment that had been packed was gone. The movers never went over the inventory list with me at pick up or delivery. They assured me it was ok and just told me to sign the forms. Absolutely none of (my) packed items were damaged only the furniture items as they were the last items put in the truck and were obviously loaded very poorly. I sent in my claim for $1100 which was a very low estimate of the damage in May 2015. Weeks late they had a repair man call me; I said I did not want repair as the furniture was too damaged. A call later indicated the claim was being settled....last word was it was being denied.

Desired Settlement: I want to received a refund check for the damage done of $1100.00 which is a very low estimate. I do not want anything else to do with this company or it's representatives.

Business Response:

******* hired Auburn Moving Company to move her household goods from Anaheim, CA to Fair Oaks, CA.  We loaded on 4/11/15 and unloaded on 4/13/15.  Afterward, she filed a claim for damage to some of her household goods and we sent her a claim form for her to fill out and return.  We received the claim form via US Postal Service on 6/3/15.  I wanted to resolve the claim and take care of repairing and/or replacing any items damaged that we were at fault for.  On 6/19/15, I emailed ******* to let her know that I got in touch with a furniture repair person that will be contacting her to arrange to look at the damaged furniture to assess what can be repaired or not and to give an estimate for the cost of repairs.  Having someone verify the damage is a standard practice for resolving a claim.  ******* responded that she wasn't going to allow a furniture repair person to come to her house and basically implied that I just pay her the money she was claiming ($1,190) or she was going to report me and my company to the BBB.  By the way, she purchased $45,000 Full Value Protection with a $500 deductible with her move.  Even if we acknowledged fault for the damage, she had a deductible of $500 which would come off the $1,190 she claimed toward repair/replacement of damaged items.
Since ******* wasn't going to allow me to verify the damage, I turned her claim in to my insurance company to resolve.  My insurance company representative contacted her and she told him the same thing.  He asked if she could at least send pictures.  She only had pictures of a small number of the pieces she was claiming we damaged and said she had already gotten rid of the other pieces.  Of the items she did have pictures of, it was very questionable as to whether or not we even did the damage.  However, it is hard to judge from a picture.  Our insurance representative informed me that he was unable to verify her claim because she had already gotten rid of most of the items she was claiming and didn't have pictures of them and wouldn't allow anyone to look at them before she got rid of them.  Also, the pictures of the items she does still have aren't good enough to determine whether or not we were at fault and whether or not the damage is repairable.  
Ultimately, my insurance company informed me that she dropped her claim.  I never had any intention in denying her claim.  Initially, I was even going to take her word that the damage was all our fault and have a repair person fix those damaged items and inform me of items that couldn't be repaired so I could reimburse her for replacement of those items just so I could make her happy and have the claim resolved.  She just wanted me to send her $1,190 and ignore the $500 deductible she signed for without allowing us or my insurance company to verify and assess her claim.  After seeing the pictures that she did send, I'm doubtful that we actually did all the damage she claimed.
All of my communications with ******* and my insurance company were done by email.  The communications between my insurance company and ******* were done my email and were forwarded to me by my insurance company.  I have them all saved and can send them to you if you would like.
Thank you for your time and attention to this situation.  Please feel free to call me at ***** ******** with any questions or concerns.
**** ****** ***** ****** ****** *** ***** ******** **** ********** ** ***** ******************** ************

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
The response by Auburn Moving Company is not accurate or true.  The photos I provided to the insurance company were accepted and I was informed that I would receive my claim and funds for the damages.  Nothing has been received by me
and now the owner of the company is calling my report false and discounts the photos submitted by the insurance company.
He claims he did not receive my claim until was mailed in mid May.  He has never called me to discuss the matter nor has he acknowledged the treatment I received by his unprofessional moving team referred to the 'mismatch' boys.  He sent the pickup truck that was too small for my furnishings and I reported the correct size and pounds prior to the order.
I am ashamed that this company continues to do business in the Sacramento area and I will continue to hold my stand.  I request that the BBB keep my report/complaint on their website in order to spare future movers from making the same mistake.  Now that he states the claim has been denied (contrary to what the Insurance Company told me), I guess my
next action will be to file suit in the County of Sacramento Small Claims Court.  Thank you for giving me the opportunity to reply.

Business Response: I received a forwarded email from my insurance company with an email sent to them by our customer stating "Please release the claim.....I have junked the damaged items".  That is why I stated what I did in the last response and is why my insurance company took that to mean that she released her claim.  Since then, our customer has been in communication with my insurance company because she doesn't want to release the claim.  She has agreed to accept a claim settlement amount of $690.00 ($1,190 that she originally claimed less the $500 deductible she opted and signed for on our bill of lading).  We want this resolved regardless of what we feel is right or wrong and are sending her a settlement check in the amount of $690.  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auburn Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)