Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SOURCiS, Inc. operates Mexico Bariatric Center, a health care facilitator in for Mexico Medical Tourism.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sourcis, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sourcis, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sourcis, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2013 Business started: 10/01/2003 Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated 10/10/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shahram Ron Elli, Owner Ms. Kathy Gonzalez, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shahram Ron Elli, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Gonzalez, Administrator
Business Category

Medical Tourism Mobile Apps Search Engine Optimization Services Marketing Programs & Services Web Design

Alternate Business Names
MBC Mexico Bariatric Center Sourcis SPECIALIZED BARIATRICS, INC.
Products & Services

This company offers medical tourism to patients in the US and Canada. Also do online marketing and web design services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sourcis, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5072 Hillsdale Cir Ste 140

    El Dorado Hls, CA 95762

  • 705 E Bidwell, Suite 2-111

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 983-0426 (855) 768-7247

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was paying the people to get a surgery and I made a deposit and now they want to keep my deposit and now I want my refund back. They were very rude and nasty people to me and they did not explain all the details of their financial plans before the surgery correctly. I sent them a copy of payment in full and they still refused to give me credit for full payment.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back no more no less.

Business Response:

Please find attached all notes concerning this patient, as well as a copy of our websites Refund and cancellation policy that she was clearly aware of.  The patient paid for herself and her daughter ***** ********.  Both cancelled within 20 days of surgery.  Any refund starts at 30 days from surgery.  No refund is due.  Patient was agreeable and understanding on the phone to our accounting department on 6/10/16 and became aggressive with the patient coordinator then filed this complaint the day after.  

If you should have any further questions or need anything further please contact me at ************ extension ***.

 

***** ** ********

Administrator

Consumer Response:

I don't Think I Canceled before the 30 days because they wouldn't let me  They said You can't call to cancel any way to make it official it has to be a mutual agreement and it wasn't they refused to give me my money back the first time and then after I called back to Reschedule they Refused  to give me any of my money claiming at first They couldn't find where I paid and then they went on to say about other Excuses Why I couldn't get my Full Refund or Credit Then on Top of that they said the Price of the Surgery had gone up.


Business Response:

Per telephone conversation with our office manager ***** ****** and Alma on 8/11/16 please find attached a copy of our company Refund and Cancellation policy.  Her date of surgery was scheduled for 3/24/16.  Date of original booking was 1/11/16. Date of cancellation 3/3/16.  

 

Thank you,

 

***** ** ********

Administrator

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

1/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the company website representing ****** ********* ******, I was informed I would be having a Mini-gastric- bypass as a revision to my previous ***. I asked Leili numerous times and was assured that the bypass to bypass was in fact the MGB. I woke from surgery with Dr.******* apologizing for not being able to complete this scheduled MGB, stating something about "imagine a freezer stuffed with food and you cannot get to the item you want" as I was just coming off of anesthesia I was confused so he apologized again for not completing the surgery I selected MGB, and instead choose one he thought appropriate because "we were already 3 hours into the surgery and didn't want to finish up by not doing anything" I am furious! I am confused hurt mislead and taken advantage of!!! I never agreed to have a distal bypass with no stomach reduction!!!!!!! This is day 5th day and I am constantly on the toilet, having severe diarrhea and am scared to eat! I am severely swollen with edema of face hands feet and stomach!!! I want a refund or I want them to make this right!

Desired Settlement: Refund or repair at their cost for everything

Business Response:

--please Read all attached documentation--

Nothing in the records presently located in the files of Sourcis, Inc. indicates that Sourcis, Inc. or any of its authorized agents ever told the complainant explicitly that complainant would specifically receive a MGB. The consent form that the complainant initialed explicitly described the procedure as “Revision; Gastric Bypass and/or to so any other procedures that in their judgment may be advisable for my well­being including such procedures as are considered medically advisable to remedy conditions discovered during the above procedure.” Sourcis, Inc. does not know what conversations the complainant had with the surgeon beforehand, but clearly, based on the complainant’s own complaint, the doctor in his own judgment felt it was in the best interest of the complainant’s own well being to perform a less risky revision.

Sourcis, Inc. is a facilitator of medical procedures; not a provider. The doctor performing the surgery is always responsible for making medical decisions based on his experience and expertise in the best interest of his patient at the time of every procedure. Complainant was abundantly advised of this and explicitly consented to proceeding with the procedure. In fact, because a Roux­en­Y and a MGB are two completely different procedures, in order to perform a “revision” of a Roux­en­Y to a MGB, the Roux­en­Y would first have to be completely reversed.

The surgery to reverse Roux­en­Y gastric bypass is more difficult than a Roux­en­Y itself, so the reversal surgery is not readily performed. For this reason it is highly unlikely that anyone from Sourcis, Inc. or the hospital or doctor told complainant that she would be getting a MGB done. The complainant claims “On the company website representing Mexico Bariatric Center, I was informed I would be having a Mini­gastric­ bypass as a revision to my previous RNY.” The website for Mexico Bariatric Center includes a page dedicated to information about the types of revisional surgeries offered by MBC doctors (a copy of the webpage is included herewith as Attachment G). Nowhere on the webpage is the term “Mini­gastric­bypass” ever used. What is included on the page is a pronounced text box with a disclosure similar to the one sent to complainint in the November 16, 2015 email. Specifically it states: “QUICK FACTS ­ RNY revision is associated with lower success rate and higher complication rate than the original RNY procedure. Only 45­60% of patients will lose 50% of their excess body weight. The revision of open­incision gastric bypass surgeries done is even more of a Page 4 of 6 challenge for surgeons with less success rates. Adhesions or scar tissues make it hard for the surgeon to get to GI track and be able to perform the surgery.”

Complainant’s claims that she was told about the mini­gastric bypass on respondent’s website is not and cannot be true. As reflected in the Consent Form, Sourcis, Inc. has a very liberal refund policy that allows a customer to get a refund whenever a surgery is cancelled or postponed during the pre­operative stage. However, once a surgery has been performed, there cannot be a refund of the fee. By that time, all of the service providers involved in the whole transaction have been paid from the fee, including, but not limited to: hotel, drivers, hospital, surgeon, and least of all, Sourcis’s employees. If the complainant believes that the doctor committed malpractice, or that Sourcis, Inc. was negligent in some way, the dispute resolution process is clearly enumerated in the Consent Form. Moreover, Sourcis, Inc. makes it a policy and practice to work with all of its customers to quickly resolve any concerns or complaints in a fair and timely manner.

However, in this instance, the complainant filed this complaint with the BBB before allowing Sourcis, Inc. any time to respond to her initial email in which she expressed concern over her procedure (Attachment F). Finally, Sourcis, Inc. highly values its membership with the BBB but the BBB is not a proper forum to adjudicate allegations of medical malpractice. The complainant’s primary complaints all seem to revolve around allegations of professional negligence by the doctor in his performance of the surgery.

None of the complaints allege failure by Sourcis, Inc. to perform as required under the contract or that Sourcis, Inc. engaged in deceptive or unlawful business practices. Only experts in the medical industry can draw conclusions of professional negligence after a thorough review of the evidence and an evaluation of professional standards of care. This forum is improper since Sourcis, Inc. cannot disclose the complainant’s relevant medical information in the face of HIPAA and other privacy statutes.

Moreover, as mentioned above, Sourcis, Inc., is not a medical provider and cannot properly render medical opinions. Sourcis, Inc. has worked with Dr. ******* for a number of years. He is a very competent and skilled doctor who has performed thousands of bariatric surgical procedures with very few complaints. He is a true expert in the field of bariatric surgery. If Dr. ******* did not feel confident to safely perform a MGB, as alleged by complainant, then Sourcis, Inc. has no reason to dispute the opinions and decisions of Dr. *******. ...........

Complainant received the surgery that she requested (revision of a Roux­en­Y bypass). There is no indication that the surgery complainant received was improperly performed. The complainant was abundantly told about the risks and success rate prior to consenting to the surgery she received. Complainant was never promised a “mini­gastric bypass.” Mini­gastric bypass is not even a procedure listed under the “Revision” page of *****************************. This complaint was filed with the BBB before Sourcis, Inc. had Page 5 of 6 reasonable time to respond to complainant’s direct complaint to Sourcis, Inc. The professional negligence nature of the complaint cannot be properly adjudicated by the BBB.

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my deposit for gastric bypass surgery, and cancel within the time frame given and was asured i woould get my deposit back that was in march. till this day i have not received refund they refuse to give it

Desired Settlement: 500.00

Business Response: Company states: The consumer needs to contact Dr. ***** and we have communicated this to her multiple times. We have provided the contact information to her already. Switching Dr's does not change the fact where the money had gone which is with Dr. ***** when he left our office. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I did not hire Dr ***** I hired Mexico Bariatric. *** ***** the ower on one of his facebook post said that Dr ***** was not a share holder of vice president of the company he was just a doctor. I was also told by the coordinatior that if i wanted to cancel at any time i could and would get my deposit back. One of the main reasons i cancel with mexico bariatric is that not once but twice I felt lost with them. triying to get in touch with them was hard. when dr ***** left I was not notified by them and it took two weeks for me to speak to someone. after that the coordinatior that was working with me also left and again I was not inform of that. I sent *** ***** and Kathy Gonzalez and email more than 21 days before my procedure to cancel. also they did refund another patient who was also with Dr ***** her name is ****** ********. I

Consumer Response: Im trying to look for more 

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had scheduled to have bariatric surgery through Sourcis, Inc who is DBA as Mexico Bariatric Surgery in January of 2015. The surgery date was set for June 17th. I sent in a $500 deposit with a contract about the surgery and deposit. I tried to contact my surgery specialist in March and was unable to get a response either by email or by phone. Acutally the phone number kept telling me that it was no longer available. I sent in a letter to the same address that I sent my deposit to and told them I wanted to cancel the surgery. I got a call in April saying that my Doctor had left their program. They said that the Doctor had left with all of the money so they did not have access to it. But she gave me an email address of the person that would help me get in touch with the Doctor. So I emailed her and she immediately responded. She told me that her Doctor did not have any money and did not even have record that I had scheduled a date for surgery. She told me that Mexico Bariatric Surgery had lied to me and that I need to report it and try to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to have the $500 deposit back. Since apparently nothing had been reserved or scheduled.

Consumer Response: In regards to my complaint #******** with Sourcis dba Mexico Bariatric Surgery.  I received a phone call from ********* who was very apologetic to the miscommunication that I had received and she promptly sent my money back to me.   I am satisfied with this resolution and do not wish to have any further complaint with this company. 
 
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. 

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Mexico Bariatrics/Sourcis Inc to have a lapband taken out and a gastric sleeve revision. Final payment was made on on April 11th 2013 and I paid a total of $63,000 to MBC through Personal Checks, Credit card and Cashier Check. I have tried to work for months with the Mexico Bariatric Center to let them know I had a problem with my surgery. I was asked to get a fluoroscopic test done to prove that I did not have the gastric sleeve preformed. MBC state the test ws inclusive, and asked to get Endoscopy test. Final conclusion from the doctor states, "No Gastric Sleeve". My endoscopy the more elaborate test states that I did not have a Grastric sleeve even though I paid for the sleeve. I have now been told by the owner of MBC/Sourcis that I am on my own. The surgery doctor states that I should have had a swallow test done right after surgery to verify surgery completed. Since the swallow test was part of the procedure I contracted with MBC it was never completed, nor can they produce one which makes my case more relevant. I never had one done, and MBC can't produce the swallow test. This is a clear breech of contract with myself and the MBC. Mexico Bariatric Center states on their website that they are an industry leader in global medical tourism and weight loss surgery. This company is a third party with no medical knowledge and should not be allowed to schedule surgeries for anyone since they do not take the safety of the patient seriously. There are many complications could have had since this test was not done. I also was placed in a basement after my surgery without any nurses on the floor to help me if any emergency arised. It took a blown vein and a swollen hand to get the attention of someone that I need help ASAP. Please have someone review this business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund for the pain and suffering that I have endured. I will again have to have the correct surgery to get gastric sleeve completed. $6250.00 is what I paid to MBC. $447.00 I paid for the airfare to have the surgery not completed. $600 for the fluoroscopic test and $1500.00 for the Endoscopy Test. Total Compensation $8797.00

Business Response: SOURCis, Inc (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) strives itself on patient support and care. We are deeply saddened by the experience of ***** ******* ******* with our service, and we promise to do everything possible to resolve this situation quickly and fairly.

Background:
***** ******* ******* originally contacted SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) on 3/1/13. She scheduled to have the Lap-Band removed and if possible, get sleeved on 4/9/13 for total cost of 6,300 USD (not $63,000) with Dr. ***** *****.

She successfully had surgery performed on April 9, 2013 (see attached report from the hospital). The swallow test after her original surgery was given to her and not Mexico Bariatric Center. While having her pre-op tests performed in the hospital in Mexico, one of the rooms had a problem with the air conditioner. While the room was being repaired, ***** was put into a converted room temporarily. She contacted our US patient coordinator who immediately made a call to Mexico and she was transferred to a regular room with a nurse who stayed the night with her. 

It is noteworthy to mention that there are no refund or rebates on revisional surgeries. There could be inflammation or other medical issues relating to the prior bariatric surgery, these can prevent the gastric sleeve procedure from safely being performed.

***** contacted Mexico Bariatric Center (MBC) with displeasure on 11/15/13 after she was in contact with Dr. ***** ***** and got upset with him. She complained about gaining weight and claimed that Dr. ***** ***** removed the Lap-Band but did not perform the gastric sleeve procedure.

Mexico Bariatric Center then contacted Dr. ***** ***** on behalf of the patient. Dr. ***** informed MBC that he did remove the Lap-Band and performed the gastric sleeve procedure on *****. Dr. ***** ***** also told MBC that he offered to redo the surgery for no fee for himself, but the hospital and all other expenses would still need to be paid. However, Mrs. ******* opted not to go with Dr. ***** ***** - and declined his offer.

Evidence:
We've been given conflicting reports on whether Mrs. ******* has undergone the gastric sleeve surgery. Documentation from Hospital Mi Doctor in Tijuana shows successful completion of Lap-Band removal and gastric sleeve surgery on the April 9th, 2013.

On December 17th 2013, ****** ****, MD, from **************** ****** ** ********, says there is, "no convincing evidence of gastric sleeve procedure". However, ******* *******, MD, also on December 17th 2013 at the ******* ************ ***********, P. C. reports, "there is redemonstration of postoperatiave changes in the stomach consistent with gastric sleeve procedure". 

In clearing up the issue, we talked with Dr. ***** *****, who says he performed a "loose sleeve", on the patient. A loose sleeve is a less restricting gastric sleeve procedure, which is done on patients with less severe BMI's.

Our Response:
Because we discontinued working with Dr. ***** ***** early part of 2013, we contacted Dr. ********* *****, another bariatric surgeon, to look at the facts of this case. Dr. ********* ***** looked at this case and deemed it inclusive, whether the surgery took place.

In an act of maintaining good faith, SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) offered ***** ******* ******* the following:
1. If there was no sleeve or plication done, Dr. ***** will perform gastric sleeve (normally $6600) and the only charge she will be responsible is the revision part ($1400) plus hernia repair* ($1000).
2. If the gastric sleeve was performed, she then would revise to gastric bypass surgery at Dr. ********* *****'s discretion. She will be given the special price of $7100 (normally $8300) for gastric bypass     revision plus hernia repair* ($1000) and she will be responsible for the full amount.

* The recent report shows ***** ******* ******* has a large Hiatal Hernia that needs to be repaired.

Our Stance:
***** ******* ******* declined our offer, then proceeded to suggest we owe her financial compensation. Even though ***** ******* *******, dissatisfied with Dr. ***** *****, has since contacted Dr. ***** ***** directly to book another bariatric surgery.

SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) fully paid for ***** ******* ******* original surgery to Dr. ***** *****. SOURCiS, Inc. has fulfilled its contractual obligations with Mrs. *******, and deems it unnecessary to provide compensation at this time.

We feel that we have gone above and beyond in this case. We have done substantial research on this case to see what the appropriate action is to be taken. We are happy to discuss this case further, and welcome any follow up.

About SOURCiS, Inc.:
SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) is a Medical Tourism facilitator connecting patients with physicians and surgeons in Mexico. In 2013, Mexico Bariatric Center has provided facilitation for hundreds of patients, a feat we can only achieve by being transparent in the Medical Tourism industry.

We do not promote ourselves or suggest we are medical professionals, doctors or physicians. In fact, our disclaimer located on every page of our site, as well as all of our documentation and contracts, prove this.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sourcis, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart