BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SleepWell Specialty Mattresses
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 14, 2011 Business started: 10/09/2009 Business started locally: 10/09/2009 Business incorporated 10/09/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 160343. BBB confirmed that SleepWell Specialty Mattresses had not obtained a necessary license from Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Prasad, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Prasad, Owner
Business Category

Mattresses Beds - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Green Mattress, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers mattress retail services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2216 Fair Oaks Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95825

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has failed to honor a promised 15% discount on the mattress I purchased, despite numerous attempts on my part to contact the store. I purchased a mattress and mattress topper from Sleepwell on March 29, 2013. The store manager, ***, stated the mattress would arrive within 10 business days. That time came and went with no contact from Sleepwell. Finally almost a month after the purchase I contacted Sleepwell to find out what was going on. They determined that as the topper was not made, they had not delivered the mattress, and that was why there was a delay. Due to the delay and lack of communication on their part, they offered a 15% discount on the $1395 mattress (an amount of $226). I indicated that I no longer wanted the mattress topper as they had no idea when it would be ready. *** indicated that the mattress would be delivered, and he would send along a check with the delivery men for the discount and the reimbursement of the mattress topper. I asked that it just be reimbursed to my credit card, but he said too much time had passed, and they couldn't do that. The mattress was delivered April 30th without the check, and the delivery men said it was in the mail. I left a message for *** to ask about the check. He left me a message a week later saying it was going out Monday and I should receive it by Wednesday. Wednesday came and went, and I called numerous times, and my calls were never answered or returned. One day I called from a work phone, and reached ***, and he said the check had just arrived at his office, and he would send it out. I received a check May 31st, but the amount was only for the reimbursement of the mattress topper, and not the 15% discount. Since then I have called numerous times, let messages, which again have not been returned. I wrote through their e-mail system that I would dispute the charge with my credit card company and file a complaint with the BBB, and someone named ******* called me and apologized and said that the check should be coming in the mail, and is sent by the manufacturer of the bed, ***. He stated I should receive it within and week and he would follow-up to make sure I received it. The check did not arrive, and nobody from Sleepwell followed up with me. I contacted *** to see if they were sending a check, and they said they do not issue refunds or credits directly to consumers, and did not know of this issue. I once again tried to contact Sleepwell, and have not heard back. I did try to dispute this charge with my credit card company, Bank of America, and B of A has been told on three occasions that the manager was not in and to call back another day. B of A contacted the store on the days that Sleepwell said a manager would be in, and again were told that the manager would be back another day. It has been months, there has been extremely poor communication on the part of Sleepwell, and why do they fail to follow through with a promised discount? I would like to see this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to honor the promised 15% discount on the mattress I purchased, and send me a check or reimburse my credit card for the discount amount of $226.